Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-8, 11-12, 14-25, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. US 20230217468 A1 (Domestic Priority December 30, 2021) in view of Ganesan et al. "NR Sidelink Enhancement in 3GPP Release 17," in Journal of ICT Standardization, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 79-90 (Priority May 26, 2021).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Hui discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (fig. 1A, mobile communication network that includes a wireless device, section 0052-0054), comprising: memory (fig. 15, either the processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 or a memory 1524, section 0220); and at least one processor (fig. 15, the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may comprise one or more processors, section 0221) coupled to the memory (fig. 15, the transmission processing system 1510, the transmission processing system 1520, the reception processing system 1512, and/or the reception processing system 1522 may be coupled to a memory, section 0220) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (fig. 15, memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code, section 0220), the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, to a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request for an IUC message (fig. 32, the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination, section 0471) indicating preferred resources or non-preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) for transmission of a signal by a third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497); receive, from the second UE, the IUC message indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (fig. 32, second wireless device may perform a resource selection procedure for selecting the set of preferred/non-preferred resources for the one or more first sidelink transmissions, section 0497; noted, the inter-UE coordination can be triggered based on the receiving of the request message, section 0471) for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497); and transmit an indication of transmission resources for the third UE based at least on the IUC message from the second UE that indicates the preferred resources or the non- preferred resources for transmission by the third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497).
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: transmit an indication of transmission resources for the third UE based at least on the IUC message from the second UE that indicates the preferred resources or the non- preferred resources for transmission by the third UE.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: transmit an indication of transmission resources for the third UE (fig. 1, sidelink UE autonomously selects sidelink resources from a pre-configured resource set for transmission over sidelink and transmitter UE selects a suitable resource from all nearby transmitting UEs, page 81 Ganesan) based at least on the IUC message from the second UE that indicates the preferred resources or the non- preferred resources for transmission (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) by the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 15, the processing system 1508/1518 may be connected to one or more peripherals 1516/1526 such as a satellite transceiver, section 0222).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the IUC message comprises the preferred resources for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (see, second set of resources reserved by a third wireless device as part of coordination information that comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources, section 0497).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the IUC message comprises the non-preferred resources for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (see, second set of resources reserved by a third wireless device as part of coordination information that comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources, section 0497).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the IUC request comprises at least one of an identity of an originator of the IUC request (fig. 17, the transmission of control information such as time/frequency resource allocation information (RB size, a number of retransmissions, etc.), demodulation related information (DMRS, MCS, RV, etc.), identifying information for a transmitting wireless device and/or a receiving wireless device, a process identifier (HARQ, etc.), or any other suitable control information within the sidelink control information, section 0231), a target UE of the IUC request (fig. 17, the transmission of control information such as identifying information for a transmitting wireless device and/or a receiving wireless device within the sidelink control information, section 0231), or a transmitting UE for determination of the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (fig. 17, the transmission of control information such as identifying information for a transmitting wireless device and/or a receiving wireless device within the sidelink control information, section 0231).
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7 (Original), the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first UE is the originator of the IUC request, the second UE is the target UE, and the third UE is the transmitting UE.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the first UE is the originator of the IUC request, the second UE is the target UE, and the third UE is the transmitting UE (fig. 3, a transmitter UE can request other UE for the transmission of inter-UE coordination message, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the IUC message comprises at least one of a UE identity associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message or an identity of an origination UE that generated the IUC message.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the IUC message comprises at least one of a UE identity associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) or an identity of an origination UE that generated the IUC message (fig. 3, a transmitter UE can request other UE for the transmission of inter-UE coordination message, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Original), the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select transmission resources for the transmission of the signal by the third UE based at least on the IUC message received from the second UE indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for transmission by the third UE (see, second set of resources reserved by a third wireless device as part of coordination information that comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources, section 0497).
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select transmission resources for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) based at least on the IUC message received from the second UE indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for transmission (fig. 3, a UE can trigger resource (re)selection mechanism to reselect the reserved resource transmitted in the first stage SCI once it receives the inter-UE coordination message containing not preferred/conflicted set of resource from other UE, page 84 Ganesan) by the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Hui discloses a method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting, to a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request for an IUC message (fig. 32, the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination, section 0471) indicating preferred resources or non-preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) for transmission of a signal by a third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497); receiving, from the second UE, the IUC message indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (fig. 32, second wireless device may perform a resource selection procedure for selecting the set of preferred/non-preferred resources for the one or more first sidelink transmissions, section 0497; noted, the inter-UE coordination can be triggered based on the receiving of the request message, section 0471) for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497); transmitting an indication of transmission resources for the third UE based at least on the IUC message from the second UE that indicates the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for transmission by the third UE.
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: transmitting an indication of transmission resources for the third UE based at least on the IUC message from the second UE that indicates the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for transmission by the third UE.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: transmitting an indication of transmission resources UE (fig. 1, sidelink UE autonomously selects sidelink resources from a pre-configured resource set for transmission over sidelink and transmitter UE selects a suitable resource from all nearby transmitting UEs, page 81 Ganesan) for the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan) based at least on the IUC message from the second UE that indicates the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for transmission (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) by the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Original), the method of claim 12, wherein the IUC message comprises at least one of a UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message or an identity of an origination UE that generated the IUC message.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 12, wherein the IUC message comprises at least one of a UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) or an identity of an origination UE that generated the IUC message (fig. 3, a transmitter UE can request other UE for the transmission of inter-UE coordination message, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 14, further comprising: selecting the transmission resources for the transmission of the signal by the third UE based at least on the IUC message received from the second UE indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for transmission by the third UE.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 14, further comprising: selecting the transmission resources () for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) based at least on the IUC message received from the second UE indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for transmission (fig. 3, a UE can trigger resource (re)selection mechanism to reselect the reserved resource transmitted in the first stage SCI once it receives the inter-UE coordination message containing not preferred/conflicted set of resource from other UE, page 84 Ganesan) by the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Hui discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE), comprising: memory (fig. 15, either the processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 or a memory 1524, section 0220); and at least one processor (fig. 15, the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may comprise one or more processors, section 0221) coupled to the memory (fig. 15, the transmission processing system 1510, the transmission processing system 1520, the reception processing system 1512, and/or the reception processing system 1522 may be coupled to a memory, section 0220) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (fig. 15, memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code, section 0220), the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a first UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request for an IUC message (fig. 32, second wireless device may perform a resource selection procedure for selecting the set of preferred/non-preferred resources for the one or more first sidelink transmissions, section 0497; noted, the inter-UE coordination can be triggered based on the receiving of the request message, section 0471) indicating preferred resources or non-preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) by a third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497) for transmission of a signal (fig. 33, the sidelink transmission from a transmitter such as a wireless device, section 0479); transmit, to the third UE via the first UE, transmission resources for the third UE, the transmission resources for the third UE being based on the IUC message (fig. 32, first wireless device may request coordination information (e.g., assistance information) for the one or more sidelink transmissions, section 0471) indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497).
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: transmit, to the third UE via the first UE, transmission resources for the third UE, the transmission resources for the third UE being based on the IUC message (fig. 32, first wireless device may request coordination information (e.g., assistance information) for the one or more sidelink transmissions, section 0471) indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497).
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: transmit, to the third UE via the first UE, transmission resources for the third UE, the transmission resources (fig. 1, sidelink UE autonomously selects sidelink resources from a pre-configured resource set for transmission over sidelink and transmitter UE selects a suitable resource from all nearby transmitting UEs, page 81 Ganesan) for the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan) being based on the IUC message indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for the transmission of the signal (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) by the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 16, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 15, the processing system 1508/1518 may be connected to one or more peripherals 1516/1526 such as a satellite transceiver, section 0217).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: monitor for one or more sidelink control information (SCI) comprising a resource reservation (fig. 20, SCI may comprise one or more second parameters such as resource reservation period that indicate a reservation period, section 0273).
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein monitoring for the one or more SCI occurs during a sensing window (fig. 24, 26, a wireless device may receive a SCI with a parameter sl-Sensing Window that may indicate a start of a sensing window, sections 0275, 0279).
Regarding claim 20 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more SCI are from one or more UEs within a vicinity of the second UE (see, during the sensing window, the wireless device may observe SCI transmitted by other wireless devices using the sidelink resource pool, section 0281).
Regarding claim 21 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the IUC message comprises the preferred resources for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (see, second set of resources reserved by a third wireless device as part of coordination information that comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources, section 0497).
Regarding claim 22 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the IUC message comprises the non-preferred resources for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (see, second set of resources reserved by a third wireless device as part of coordination information that comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources, section 0497).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), Hui discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the IUC request comprises at least one of an identity of an originator of the IUC request (fig. 29, requesting a set of resources for one or more sidelink transmissions via inter-UE coordination from an initial UE, section 0331), a target UE of the IUC request (fig. 26, 27, request message may comprise resource selection procedure related parameters, section 0324), or a transmitting UE for determination of the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (fig. 28, set of resources transmitted can comprise of non-preferred resources or preferred resources, section 0327)..
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 24 (Original), the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first UE is the originator of the IUC request, the second UE is the target UE, and the third UE is the transmitting UE.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first UE is the originator of the IUC request, the second UE is the target UE, and the third UE is the transmitting UE (fig. 3, a transmitter UE can request other UE for the transmission of inter-UE coordination message, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 25 (Original), the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the IUC message comprises at least one of a UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message or an identity of an origination UE that generated the IUC message.
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the IUC message comprises at least one of a UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) or an identity of an origination UE that generated the IUC message (fig. 3, a transmitter UE can request other UE for the transmission of inter-UE coordination message, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Regarding claim 28 (Currently Amended), Hui discloses a method of wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a first UE, an inter-ULE coordination (IUC) request for an IUC message (fig. 32, the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination, section 0471) indicating preferred resources or non-preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) for transmission of a signal by a third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497); and transmitting, to the first UE, the IUC message (fig. 32, first wireless device may request coordination information (e.g., assistance information) for the one or more sidelink transmissions, section 0471) indicating the preferred resources or the non- preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497).
Hui discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: transmitting, to the third UE via the first UE, transmission resources for the third UE, the transmission resources for the third UE being based on the IUC message (fig. 32, first wireless device may request coordination information (e.g., assistance information) for the one or more sidelink transmissions, section 0471) indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (fig. 26, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources for sidelink coordination, sections 0506-0509) for the transmission of the signal by the third UE (fig. 33, the transmission of a second set of resources comprising preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources by a third wireless device, section 0497).
However Ganesan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: transmitting, to the third UE via the first UE, transmission resources for the third UE, the transmission resources (fig. 1, sidelink UE autonomously selects sidelink resources from a pre-configured resource set for transmission over sidelink and transmitter UE selects a suitable resource from all nearby transmitting UEs, page 81 Ganesan) for the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan), being based on the IUC message (fig. 3, transmission of a second UE sidelink message to another UE, section 0105 Wu; noted, coordination information can be transmitted via sidelink communications link, section 0077 Wu) indicating the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources for the transmission of the signal (fig. 3, Assistance information such as inter-UE resource coordination message by transmitting a preferred or not preferred/conflicted set of resource can help in the candidate resource selection procedure of transmitter UE, pages 83-84 Ganesan) by the third UE (fig. 3, inter-UE coordination between 3 UEs where data can be sent to the UE-3 and transmitted to the UE-1 or UE-2, pages 83-84 Ganesan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the inter-UE coordination of Hui with the multiple UE as taught by Ganesan. The motivation would have been to study enhancements to Sidelink (SL) operations.
Regarding claim 29 (Original), Hui discloses the method of claim 28, further comprising: monitoring for one or more sidelink control information (SCI) comprising a resource reservation (fig. 20, SCI may comprise one or more second parameters such as resource reservation period that indicate a reservation period, section 0273).
Regarding claim 30 (Original), Hui discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the IUC request comprises at least one of an identity of an originator of the IUC request (fig. 29, requesting a set of resources for one or more sidelink transmissions via inter-UE coordination from an initial UE, section 0331), a target UE of the IUC request (fig. 26, 27, request message may comprise resource selection procedure related parameters, section 0324), or a transmitting UE for determination of the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources (see, wireless device may determine the coordination information for the inter-UE coordination based on the SCI, section 0483; noted, coordination information may comprise/indicate a set of preferred/non-preferred resources, section 0497).
Claims 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. US 20230217468 A1 (Domestic Priority December 30, 2021) in view of Ganesan et al. "NR Sidelink Enhancement in 3GPP Release 17," in Journal of ICT Standardization, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 79-90 (Priority May 26, 2021), in further view of Panzner et al. US 20230262685 A1 (Domestic Priority February 11, 2022).
The combination of Hui and Ganesan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9 (Original), the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message is for the third UE.
However Panzner from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message is for the third UE (see, the response to determining that the third device is in sidelink discontinuous reception inactive time comprises the determined at least one preferred resource, or at least one resource associated with the valid sidelink grant, section 0105 Panzner).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Hui and Ganesan with the third UE as taught by Panzner. The motivation would have been to improve the reusing of sidelink resources.
The combination of Hui and Ganesan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 26 (Original), the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message is for the third UE.
However Panzner from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the UE identity that is associated with the preferred resources or the non-preferred resources comprised within the IUC message is for the third UE (see, the response to determining that the third device is in sidelink discontinuous reception inactive time comprises the determined at least one preferred resource, or at least one resource associated with the valid sidelink grant, section 0105 Panzner).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Hui and Ganesan with the third UE as taught by Panzner. The motivation would have been to improve the reusing of sidelink resources.
Claims 10 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. US 20230217468 A1 (Domestic Priority December 30, 2021) in view of Ganesan et al. "NR Sidelink Enhancement in 3GPP Release 17," in Journal of ICT Standardization, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 79-90 (Priority May 26, 2021), in further view of Hong et al. US 20240244586 A1 (Foreign Priority August 4, 2021).
The combination of Hui and Ganesan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 10 (Original), the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second UE is the identity of the origination UE that generated the IUC message.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 8, the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second UE is the identity of the origination UE that generated the IUC message (see, UE-B may generate the signaling message, which is a signal requesting provision of inter-UE coordination information, and transmit the first signaling message to the UE-A, section 0098 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Hui and Ganesan with the third UE as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve transmission to a second and third UE.
The combination of Hui and Ganesan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 27 (Original), the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the second UE is the identity of the origination UE that generated the IUC message.
However Hong from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the second UE is the identity of the origination UE that generated the IUC message (see, UE-B may generate the signaling message, which is a signal requesting provision of inter-UE coordination information, and transmit the first signaling message to the UE-A, section 0098 Hong).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Hui and Ganesan with the third UE as taught by Hong. The motivation would have been to improve transmission to a second and third UE.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473