DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities.
In Figures 4 and 5, all of the lines, numbers, and letters are not clean, well-defined and sufficiently dark to permit adequate reproduction. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(l).
In Figure 5, the view numbers are used in association with brackets. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The prior rejection of claims 1-20 under §112(a) have been overcome by the response filed 04 February 2026, wherein Applicant amended the independent claims 1 and 10 to remove unsupported limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodel et al. (WO 2018/053274 A1) in view of Hodel et al. (US 2020/0337216 A1).
CLAIM 1 Hodel et al. ‘274 (“Hodel ‘274”) discloses a split gauge-wheel assembly (Figs. 32B, 32C, 32F) for a planter row unit (10), the assembly comprising:
an inner gauge wheel (52-1-i) configured to rotate about an axis (957-1);
an outer gauge wheel (52-1-o) configured to rotate about the axis (957-1), wherein the inner gauge wheel and outer gauge wheel define a gap therebetween; and
a knife (923-1, Fig. 32G) disposed in the gap between the inner gauge wheel (52-1-i) and the outer gauge wheel (52-1-o), the knife defining a flow channel (997) configured to deliver liquid at a rear end of the knife (relative to the direction of travel of the row unit).
Hodel ‘274, as embodied in Fig. 32x, fails to teach a scraper. However, Hodel et al. ‘216 (“Hodel ‘216”) shows a split gauge-wheel assembly (Figs. 33A-33G) including a knife (923) disposed in a gap between an inner gauge wheel (52-1-i) and an outer gauge wheel (52-1-o), and further including a scraper (879) connected to the knife, whereby the scraper is configured to remove soil and residue from the gap at a location trailing the gauge wheels axis (57) when the assembly travels in a normal forward direction. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected a scraper (Hodel ‘216, 879) to the prior art knife (Hodel ‘274, 923, Fig. 32G) in the manner suggested by Hodel ‘216. The motivation for making the modification would have been to include means for limiting soil spray during use (Hodel ‘216, [0125]), and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 2 In the prior art combination, the inner gauge wheel (Hodel ‘274, 52-1-i) and the outer gauge wheel (Hodel ‘274, 52-1-o) form a unitary structure.
CLAIM 3 In the prior art combination, the inner gauge wheel (Hodel ‘274, 52-1-i) and the outer gauge wheel (Hodel ‘274, 52-1-o) are each connected to a hub (Hodel ‘274, Fig. 32A, center hub).
CLAIM 4 In the prior art combination, Hodel ‘274 as embodied in Fig. 32x fails to teach expressly a gauge-wheel arm. However, with reference to the embodiment of Fig. 22A, Hodel ‘274 teaches a gauge wheel (Hodel ‘274, 52-1) comprising an inner gauge wheel (Hodel ‘274, 52-1-A) and an outer gauge wheel (Hodel ‘274, 52-1-B), wherein the inner and outer gauge wheels share a common axle connected to a gauge-wheel arm (Hodel ‘274, p. 12, ll. 26-30). Additionally, Hodel ‘216 teaches a gauge wheel arm (Hodel ‘216, 53-1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the prior art assembly such that it would have comprised a gauge-wheel arm (Hodel ‘216, 53-1) connected to the hub (Hodel ‘274, p. 12, ll. 26-30). The motivation for making the modification would have been to allow for various mounting positions of the gauge wheels relative to the row unit, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 7 In the prior art combination, the knife (Hodel ‘274, 923) is carried by an arm (Hodel ‘274, Fig. 32A, arm of bracket 21) pivotally attached (Hodel ‘274, Fig. 32A, via 125-1) to a frame of a row unit.
CLAIM 8 In the prior art combination, Hodel ‘274 as embodied in Fig. 32x fails to teach a biasing member. However, with reference to the embodiment of Fig. 26, Hodel ‘274 teaches a biasing member (86) configured to apply a force on the arm of the knife (Hodel ‘274, Fig. 32A, 923). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the prior art assembly such that it would have included a biasing member (Hodel ‘274, 86) configured to apply a force on the arm. The motivation for making the modification would have been to impart resiliency to the knife, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIM 9 In the prior art combination, the knife (Hodel ‘274, 923) defines a liquid flow channel (Hodel ‘274, 997) therein.
CLAIM 10 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 1. Additionally, Hodel ‘274 teaches a furrow-opening assembly (60) and a furrow-closing assembly (40).
CLAIM 11 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 1. Additionally, the row unit is configured to dispose fertilizer laterally from seed because the gap between the gauge wheels (Hodel ‘274, 52-1-I, 52-1-o) is laterally offset from any subsequently formed furrow, as indicated by the position of the gauge wheels relative to that of the furrow-opening assembly (Hodel ‘274, 60; Figs. 3, 5), and the flow channel (Hodel ‘274, 997) of the knife (Hodel ‘274, 923) is positioned within that gap.
CLAIM 12 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 2.
CLAIM 13 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 3.
CLAIM 14 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 4.
CLAIM 17 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 7.
CLAIM 18 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 8.
CLAIM 19 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 1.
CLAIM 20 All of the limitations recited therein are taught by the combination of Hodel ‘274 and Hodel ‘216, as applied above to claim 1. Additionally, Hodel ‘274 shows (Fig. 32B) a second split gauge-wheel assembly (52-2-i, 52-2-o), wherein the axis about which the gauge wheels of the first split gauge-wheel assembly rotate is angled with respect to the axis about which the gauge wheels of the second split gauge-wheel assembly rotate (Fig. 32C).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodel ‘274 et al. (WO 2018/053274 A1) in view of Hodel et al. (US 2020/0337216 A1).
CLAIMS 1 AND 10 Hodel ‘274, as embodied in Fig. 23, teaches all of the features of the claimed invention with the following exceptions.
Hodel ‘274 (Fig. 23) fails to teach expressly the knife (23; beginning on p. 11 at l. 32) disposed in the gap (110) between the inner and outer gauge wheels (52-1) and the knife defining a flow channel. However, in the alternative embodiment of Fig. 32x, Hodel ‘274 shows an assembly comprising a knife (923-1, Fig. 32G) disposed in the gap between an inner gauge wheel (52-1-i) and an outer gauge wheel (52-1-o), the knife defining a flow channel (997) configured to deliver liquid at a rear end of the knife (relative to the direction of travel of the row unit). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the knife (23) of the Fig. 23 embodiment such that it would have been disposed in the gap (110) and defined a flow channel, as suggested by the alternative embodiment of Fig. 32x. The motivation for making modification would have been to include means for applying additives to the soil adjacent the furrow in a known manner and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Hodel ‘274, as embodied in Fig. 23, teaches a scraper (99-c) disposed on the knife (23; beginning on p. 11 at l. 32) but fails to teach the scraper configured to remove soil and residue from the gap between the inner gauge wheel and the outer gauge wheel at a location trailing the axis when the row unit travels in a normal forward direction. Hodel et al. ‘216 shows a split gauge-wheel assembly (Figs. 33A-33G) including a knife (923) disposed in a gap between an inner gauge wheel (52-1-i) and an outer gauge wheel (52-1-o), and further including a scraper (879) connected to the knife, whereby the scraper is configured to remove soil and residue from the gap at a location trailing the gauge wheels axis (57) when the assembly travels in a normal forward direction. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the scraper (Hodel ‘274, 99-c) to the prior art knife (Hodel ‘274, 23) in the trailing configuration suggested by Hodel ‘216. The motivation for making the modification would have been to limit soil spray during use (Hodel ‘216, [0125]), and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIMS 5, 6, 15, 16 In the prior art combination, neither Hodel ‘274 nor Hodel ‘216 teaches the scraper (Hodel ‘274, 99-c) pivotally attached to the knife by a pivot bushing. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have pivotally connected the scraper to the knife with a pivot bushing, since the examiner takes Official Notice of the claimed structure as useful for imparting adjustability and reducing wear on structural members.
Response to Arguments
With respect to claims 5, 6, 15 and 16, the limitations recited therein are now taken as admitted prior art because Applicant failed to adequately traverse Official Notice taken by the examiner in the non-final action mailed 13 May 2025. See MPEP 2144.03.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hodel et al. (US 2020/0337216 A1).
/TARA MAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/tm/
18 February 2026