DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 06/22/2026, in which claims 1, 6-21, 28 and 29 were amended and claims 2 and 22-27 are cancelled. Claims 1,3-21 and 28-29 are currently pending.
Applicant’s arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive for the
reasons that follow. Any rejection and objections not reiterated in this action have been
withdrawn. This action is FINAL.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code, specifically on Page 49, Line 21. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. Specifically, Page 49 includes an embedded hyperlink. See MPEP § 608.01.
Response to Amendment - Specification
Although Applicant filed a marked up and clean version of the specification on 06/22/2026, the specification is still objected to for containing embedded hyperlinks. The amendment to the specification removed the “www” when it should have removed the “https://”.
Respond to Amendment - Claim Objections
The previous objection of claim 2 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of the claim in the response filed on 06/22/2026.
Response to Amendments - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 06/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-21, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong et al (US 2018/0148717 A1) in view of Lambowitz et al (WO 2010/102085 A2). This is a previous rejection made in the Office Action mailed on 03/19/2026 and amended to address the amendments to the claims filed on 06/22/2026.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, Armstrong teaches that replicating the information stored in the nucleotide sequence of a circular RNA molecule by converting the RNA molecule into a circular DNA molecule wherein generating and amplifying circular DNA molecules from their circular RNA counterparts, rare or previously unknown circular RNAs are identified [0070-71]. Armstrong teaches a method of circRNA amplification by first combining an RNA template with one or more DNA primers and a mix of dNTPs for extending the primers for creating circular DNA [0082, 0093-0094 and 0104]. Armstrong teaches that after priming, a Protoscript II reverse transcriptase is added [0093-0094 and 0104] in order to produce concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA [0061-0068]. Armstrong teaches rolling circle replication of the circularized first strand cDNA molecules results in long DNA strands containing tandem repeats of the cDNA sequence, thus amplifying multiple cassette copies of the original circular RNA sequence [0060]. Armstrong teaches amplification of the circular DNA copy molecules by an isothermal polymerase (φ29) and a magnetic bead DNA cleanup step [0106]. Armstrong teaches amplification of a covalently closed circular DNA template with φ29 polymerase is expected to yield high molecular weight DNA products comprised of concatemers containing tandem repeats representing the original circular GFP control RNA template [0118]. Armstrong teaches the resulting sequence data was analyzed using the bioinformatic analysis method "CIRI" which identifies signatures (specifically backsplice junctions and GT-AT splicing signals), embedded in the sequence data, specific to circular DNA molecules constructed from circular RNA molecules (identifying the consensus sequence) therefore, the samples treated with the current method exhibited greater than 10-fold more circular RNA backsplice signals demonstrating that circular DNA molecule can be constructed and amplified from endogenous circular RNA molecules contained in biological samples [0107].
Armstrong does not teach the Group II intron reverse transcriptase.
Lambowitz teaches the group II intron RT assists RNA splicing by stabilizing the
catalytically active RNA structure and then remains bound to the excised intron RNA in a
ribonucleoprotein (RNP) that promotes intron mobility by a process termed "retrohoming” wherein retrohoming occurs by a mechanism in which the excised intron RNA in the RNPs inserts directly into a DNA target site and is reverse transcribed by the RT and during retrohoming, in which the group II intron facilitates targeting of the intron to appropriate DNA sequences, the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary
structures: thus, group II intron RTs must have high processivity and fidelity in order to
carry out their biological function [0053]. Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity, which can be beneficial because RNase H specifically degrades the RNA of RNA: DNA hybrids, which allows any RNA to be copied only once and can lead to reduced yields of full-length cDNA [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Armstrong to include the Group II intron reverse transcriptase as taught by Lambowitz because Armstrong teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use a method for identifying circRNA in a sample by combining a sample comprising circRNA with a reverse transcriptase and dNTPs in a reaction mixture for producing, by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA, a reaction product comprising concatemeric first cDNA strand molecule, and characterizing the concatemeric first strand cDNA to identify the circRNA and Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity leading to less degradation of RNA:DNA hybrids resulting in higher full-length cDNA yields as well as the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of higher cDNA yields as well as more stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures of the cDNA as taught by Lambowitz.
Regarding claim 6, Armstrong teaches a method of circRNA amplification by first combining an RNA template with one or more DNA primers and a mix of dNTPs for extending the primers for creating circular DNA [0082, 0093-0094 and 0104].
Regarding claims 7-10 and 12, Armstrong teaches rolling circle replication of the circularized first strand cDNA molecules which results in long DNA strands containing tandem repeats of the cDNA sequence, thus amplifying multiple cassette copies of the original circular RNA sequence [0060]. Armstrong teaches that the rolling circle cDNA replication of circular GFP RNA control wherein the first strand cDNA concatemer is 3x length of the original circRNA (~812 nt in length) with ~2400 nt in length which would comprise at least 3 complementary copies of the circRNA (Page 15, Fig. 9; [0027]). Armstrong teaches the long-read sequences of the cDNA sequencing and amplification purposes since fewer reads need to be generated for the same level of sensitivity of circular RNA detection when assaying with next-generation sequencing machines (ex. Illumin, Pacific Biosciences) [0051]. Armstrong teaches size separating the concatemeric first strand cDNA from non-concatemeric cDNA [0118-0120].
Regarding claim 11, Armstrong teaches the use of RNase R (a 3’ to 5’ RNase) and RNase H (a 5’ to 3’ RNase) for enriching the circRNA in the total RNA by degrading linear RNA [0076 and 0094].
Regarding claim 13, Armstrong does not teach wherein the sample contains circRNA and (a) does not include RNA depletion with an RNase.
Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity,
which can be beneficial because RNase H specifically degrades the RNA of RNA: DNA
hybrids, which allows any RNA to be copied only once and can lead to reduced yields of full
length cDNA [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Armstrong to include the sample contains circRNA and does not include RNA depletion with an RNase as taught by Lambowitz because Armstrong teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use a method for identifying circRNA in a sample by combining a sample comprising circRNA with a reverse transcriptase and dNTPs in a reaction mixture for producing, by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA, a reaction product comprising concatemeric first cDNA strand molecule, and characterizing the concatemeric first strand cDNA to identify the circRNA and Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity leading to less degradation of RNA:DNA hybrids resulting in higher full-length cDNA yields as well as the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of higher cDNA yields as well as more stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures of the cDNA as taught by Lambowitz.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Armstrong teaches the circRNA, DNA primers and reverse transcriptase were incubated for 10 min at 25° C., followed by 50 minutes at 42° C [0104].
Regarding claims 16-18, Armstrong teaches amplification of the circular DNA copy molecules by an isothermal polymerase (φ29) and a magnetic bead DNA cleanup step [0106]. Armstrong teaches the samples treated with the current method exhibited greater than 10-fold more circular RNA backsplice signals [0107].
Regarding claim 19, Armstrong teaches in order to digest and remove single-stranded linear cDNA (leaving only cccDNA), tl1e ligation products can be treated with an exonuclease that digests linear DNA, such as Exonuclease I or T5 Exonuclease [0087].
Regarding claim 20, Armstrong teaches rolling circle replication of the circularized first strand cDNA molecules results in long DNA strands containing tandem repeats of the cDNA sequence, thus amplifying multiple cassette copies of the original circular RNA sequence [0060]. Armstrong teaches amplification of a covalently closed circular DNA template with φ29 polymerase is expected to yield high molecular weight DNA products comprised of concatemers containing tandem repeats representing the original circular GFP control RNA template [0118]. Armstrong teaches the resulting sequence data was analyzed using the bioinformatic analysis method "CIRI" which identifies signatures (specifically backsplice junctions and GT-AT splicing signals), embedded in the sequence data, specific to circular DNA molecules constructed from circular RNA molecules (identifying the consensus sequence) therefore, the samples treated with the current method exhibited greater than 10-fold more circular RNA backsplice signals demonstrating that circular DNA molecule can be constructed and amplified from endogenous circular RNA molecules contained in biological samples [0107].
Regarding claim 21, Armstrong does not teach wherein the amount of cDNA copies of the circRNA in a concatemer provides at least 2-fold higher concentration of copies of the circRNA than can be obtained using a retroviral reverse transcriptase.
Lambowitz teaches unlike retroviral RTs, group II intron RTs lack an RNase H domain which can be beneficial because RNase H specifically degrades the RNA of RNA: DNA
hybrids, which allows any RNA to be copied only once and can lead to reduced yields of full
length cDNA [0052-0053]. Lambowitz teaches comparing the Group II intron RT (Tel4c RT) versus the MMLV RT (Superscript RT) such as, the 188-257 amplicon primer/probe set, 972,815 copies were detected with the MalE-RF-4c Tel4c RT versus 64,456 copies with Superscript RT at 6cPC (~15-fold difference) [0096].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Armstrong to include the Group II intron reverse transcriptase with a higher concentration as compared to concentration produced from retroviral reverse transcriptase as taught by Lambowitz because Armstrong teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use a method for identifying circRNA in a sample by combining a sample comprising circRNA with a reverse transcriptase (Protoscript II reverse transcriptase) and dNTPs in a reaction mixture for producing, by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA, a reaction product comprising concatemeric first cDNA strand molecule, and characterizing the concatemeric first strand cDNA to identify the circRNA and Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity leading to less degradation of RNA:DNA hybrids resulting in higher full-length cDNA yields as well as the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of higher cDNA yields as well as more stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures of the cDNA as taught by Lambowitz.
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Armstrong teaches that replicating the information stored in the nucleotide sequence of a circular RNA molecule by converting the RNA molecule into a circular DNA molecule wherein generating and amplifying circular DNA molecules from their circular RNA counterparts, rare or previously unknown circular RNAs are identified [0070-71]. Armstrong teaches a method of circRNA amplification by first combining an RNA template with one or more DNA primers and a mix of dNTPs for extending the primers for creating circular DNA [0082, 0093-0094 and 0104]. Armstrong teaches that after priming, a Protoscript II reverse transcriptase is added [0093-0094 and 0104] in order to produce concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA [0061-0068]. Armstrong teaches amplification of the circular DNA copy molecules by an isothermal polymerase (φ29) and a magnetic bead DNA cleanup step [0106]. Armstrong teaches the samples treated with the current method exhibited greater than 10-fold more circular RNA backsplice signals [0107].
Armstrong does not teach the Group II intron reverse transcriptase.
Lambowitz teaches the group II intron RT assists RNA splicing by stabilizing the
catalytically active RNA structure and then remains bound to the excised intron RNA in a
ribonucleoprotein (RNP) that promotes intron mobility by a process termed "retrohoming” wherein retrohoming occurs by a mechanism in which the excised intron RNA in the RNPs inserts directly into a DNA target site and is reverse transcribed by the RT and during retrohoming, in which the group II intron facilitates targeting of the intron to appropriate DNA sequences, the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary
structures: thus, group II intron RTs must have high processivity and fidelity in order to
carry out their biological function [0053]. Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity, which can be beneficial because RNase H specifically degrades the RNA of RNA:DNA hybrids, which allows any RNA to be copied only once and can lead to reduced yields of full-length cDNA [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Armstrong to include the Group II intron reverse transcriptase as taught by Lambowitz because Armstrong teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use a method for identifying circRNA in a sample by combining a sample comprising circRNA with a reverse transcriptase and dNTPs in a reaction mixture for producing, by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA, a reaction product comprising concatemeric first cDNA strand molecule, and characterizing the concatemeric first strand cDNA to identify the circRNA and Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity leading to less degradation of RNA:DNA hybrids resulting in higher full-length cDNA yields as well as the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of higher cDNA yields as well as more stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures of the cDNA as taught by Lambowitz.
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The previous rejection of claims 1-21, 28 and 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been maintained in view of Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 06/22/2026. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but have not been found to be persuasive.
Applicant arguments have not been found to be persuasive because Applicant argues Armstrong does not teach or suggest sequencing concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules and determining a consensus sequence from multiple repeat units contained within the concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules. Applicant continues to argue that while Armstrong generates concatemeric cDNA molecules, Armstrong does not identify any disclosure of comparing, aligning, or otherwise analyzing multiple repeat units contained within an individual concatemeric cDNA molecule to determine a consensus sequence corresponding to the circRNA. Applicant argues that Lambowitz does not remedy the deficiencies of Armstrong in teaching or suggesting the method of claim 1, nor does the combination of Armstrong and Lambowitz provide motivation to one of skill in the art to arrive at the claimed subject matter.
Although not specifically identified as consensus sequences, Armstrong teaches the resulting sequence data was analyzed using the bioinformatic analysis method "CIRI" which identifies signatures (specifically backsplice junctions and GT-AT splicing signals), embedded in the sequence data, specific to circular DNA molecules constructed from circular RNA molecules therefore, the samples treated with the current method exhibited greater than 10-fold more circular RNA backsplice signals demonstrating that circular DNA molecule can be constructed and amplified from endogenous circular RNA molecules contained in biological samples [0107]. Where “CIRI”, in general terms, is the process of sequencing the concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules and determining a consensus sequence from multiple repeat units contained within the concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules, wherein the consensus sequence corresponds to the circRNA. Lambowitz is only relied on for its teachings regarding the group II intron RT assists RNA splicing by stabilizing the catalytically active RNA structure and then remains bound to the excised intron RNA in a ribonucleoprotein (RNP) that promotes intron mobility by a process termed "retrohoming” wherein retrohoming occurs by a mechanism in which the excised intron RNA in the RNPs inserts directly into a DNA target site and is reverse transcribed by the RT and during retrohoming, in which the group II intron facilitates targeting of the intron to appropriate DNA sequences, the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures: thus, group II intron RTs must have high processivity and fidelity in order to carry out their biological function [0053] including the Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity, which can be beneficial because RNase H specifically degrades the RNA of RNA: DNA hybrids, which allows any RNA to be copied only once and can lead to reduced yields of full-length cDNA [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Armstrong to include the Group II intron reverse transcriptase as taught by Lambowitz because Armstrong teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use a method for identifying circRNA in a sample by combining a sample comprising circRNA with a reverse transcriptase and dNTPs in a reaction mixture for producing, by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA, a reaction product comprising concatemeric first cDNA strand molecule, and characterizing the concatemeric first strand cDNA to identify the circRNA and Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity leading to less degradation of RNA:DNA hybrids resulting in higher full-length cDNA yields as well as the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures.
Regarding claim 28, the claim recites transcribing a circular RNA using an Intron-RT to form a population of concatemeric cDNA molecules, sequencing the concatemeric cDNA molecules, and determining a consensus sequence from multiple repeat units contained within individual concatemeric cDNAs to determine transcription fidelity of an RNA polymerase. Applicant argues Armstrong nor Lambowitz teaches or suggests determining consensus sequences from repeated units within individual concatemeric cDNAs and using those consensus sequences to evaluate transcription fidelity of an RNA polymerase as required by claim 28.
As stated above, although not specifically identified as consensus sequences, Armstrong teaches the resulting sequence data was analyzed using the bioinformatic analysis method "CIRI" which identifies signatures (specifically backsplice junctions and GT-AT splicing signals), embedded in the sequence data, specific to circular DNA molecules constructed from circular RNA molecules therefore, the samples treated with the current method exhibited greater than 10-fold more circular RNA backsplice signals demonstrating that circular DNA molecule can be constructed and amplified from endogenous circular RNA molecules contained in biological samples [0107]. Where “CIRI”, in general terms, is the process of sequencing the concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules and determining a consensus sequence from multiple repeat units contained within the concatemeric first strand cDNA molecules, wherein the consensus sequence corresponds to the circRNA. Lambowitz is only relied on for its teachings regarding the group II intron RT assists RNA splicing by stabilizing the catalytically active RNA structure and then remains bound to the excised intron RNA in a ribonucleoprotein (RNP) that promotes intron mobility by a process termed "retrohoming” wherein retrohoming occurs by a mechanism in which the excised intron RNA in the RNPs inserts directly into a DNA target site and is reverse transcribed by the RT and during retrohoming, in which the group II intron facilitates targeting of the intron to appropriate DNA sequences, the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures: thus, group II intron RTs must have high processivity and fidelity in order to carry out their biological function [0053] including the Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity, which can be beneficial because RNase H specifically degrades the RNA of RNA: DNA hybrids, which allows any RNA to be copied only once and can lead to reduced yields of full-length cDNA [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Armstrong to include the Group II intron reverse transcriptase as taught by Lambowitz because Armstrong teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use a method for identifying circRNA in a sample by combining a sample comprising circRNA with a reverse transcriptase and dNTPs in a reaction mixture for producing, by rolling circle reverse transcription of the circRNA, a reaction product comprising concatemeric first cDNA strand molecule, and characterizing the concatemeric first strand cDNA to identify the circRNA and Lambowitz teaches Group II intron-derived RTs also lack RNase H activity leading to less degradation of RNA:DNA hybrids resulting in higher full-length cDNA yields as well as the group II intron RT must produce an accurate cDNA copy of the intron RNA, which is typically 2-2.5 kb long and folds into highly stable and compact secondary and tertiary structures.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA ROSE LIPPOLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/CELINE X QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637