Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki and Takaku (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0167275), herein referred to as “Suzuki”, in view of Lee et. al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,293,935), herein referred to as “Lee”, and further in view of Jung et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2016/0150357), herein referred to as “Jung.” The Lee reference was provided in the information disclosure sheet dated March 21, 2023.
Regarding Claim 1,
Suzuki teaches: A device, comprising: a wireless transceiver; and
a microcontroller coupled to the wireless transceiver, the microcontroller configurable to:
receive a first command from a primary node via the wireless transceiver indicating an uplink allocation for the device
[0028] The single monitoring device B monitors the state of the assembled battery C on the basis of a cell voltage detection value of each of the battery modules M1 to Mn received wirelessly from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An. This monitoring device B successively reports monitoring results of the assembled battery C to a host control device that is not shown.
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
cause the wireless transceiver to turn ON at a beginning of the uplink allocation for the device in response to the first command; send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission in response to the first command;
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
[0036] The equalization processing unit 4 is an operation unit for operating the m discharge units 2 on the basis of operation commands input through the command reception unit 5. That is, when an equalization processing command for each battery cell of the first battery module M1 is input through the command reception unit 5, this equalization processing unit 4 equalizes each cell voltage by turning on or turning off each of the electronic switches in the m discharge units 2.
[0034] These discharge units 2 are constituted of an electronic switch such as a switching transistor having an on-state and an off-state operated by the equalization processing unit 4, and a resistor which is connected to the electronic switch in series and has a predetermined resistance. In the electronic switch of the discharge unit 2 corresponding to each battery cell, the on-state and an off-state for equalizing the m battery cells (i.e., charged states of the m battery cells) are set by the equalization processing unit 4.
receive a second command from the primary node via the wireless transceiver; send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission during the uplink allocation for the device
[0054] The data reception unit 14 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving the voltage detection value (i.e., cell voltage detection value), the electric field intensity value, and the like of each battery cell from the data transmission unit 7 described above. As illustrated, this data reception unit 14 includes an antenna for communication. Thereby, the data reception unit 14 receives radio waves propagated from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An using the antenna for communication. Such a data reception unit 14 outputs the voltage detection value and the electric field intensity value of each battery cell received from the data transmission unit 7 of each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An to the storage unit 11.
[0055] The command transmission unit 15 is a communication unit for wirelessly transmitting an equalization processing command, a voltage transmission command, and a selection command to the command reception unit 5 described above. This command transmission unit 15 dispatches the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command as radio waves (i.e., transmission waves) using the antenna for communication described above. Such a command transmission unit 15 includes a predetermined modulation circuit and generates transmission waves by performing modulation processing of the equalization processing command on the basis of a communication protocol determined in advance.
[0056] The data transmission unit 16 is a communication unit for transmitting various kinds of data other than the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command described above, namely, data necessary for each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An. This data transmission unit 16 dispatches various kinds of data other than the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command described above, as radio waves (i.e., transmission waves) using the antenna for communication described above. Similar to the command transmission unit 15, this data transmission unit 16 includes a predetermined modulation circuit and generates transmission waves by performing modulation processing of the data and the identification number on the basis of a communication protocol determined in advance.
Suzuki does not teach and cause the wireless transceiver to enter a low power mode after the data has been transmitted by the wireless transceiver in response to the first command.
However, Lee teaches and cause the wireless transceiver to enter a low power mode after the data has been transmitted by the wireless transceiver in response to the first command.
(Col. 7 Lines 60-67; Col. 8 Lines 1-29) FIG. 11. illustrates the basic functional flow of the steps required for operating the preferred WiBaAN technology. When the battery pack (10) is equipped in a system, the WiBaAN devices convert the mode from Factory to Standby mode (620). It attempts to cause both a plurality of S-BMUs (200) and an M-BMU (100) to enter Standby mode (620), which will perform basic system checking and diagnosis, basic RF communication channel checking, and the initial setting of RF radio parameters such as carrier frequency, LO frequency, signal bandwidth and gain, and so on. In Active mode (630), all of the S-BMUs (200) are monitoring their battery operation conditions and communicating with an M-BMU (100) to transfer battery monitor data or to control the battery operation by balancing or bypassing. The M-BMU (100) collects each battery's data sequentially based on predetermined period and sequence, and calculates the SoC and SoH of each battery and its pack. After one S-BMU (210) completes communication with an M-BMU (100), it automatically enters Sleep mode (640), while the next neighboring S-BMU (210) readies to move into Active mode (630). In Sleep mode (640), the S-BMU (210), and the unused building blocks in the RF radio are powered down to save power. After a predetermined time period defined by a watchdog, the S-BMU (210) starts to listen to the packet from the M-BMU (100) in order to wake up again. When the main power switch of the battery pack is turned down, the battery pack enters a power-down mode (650), which disables all the S-BMU (210) functions. During that period the M-BMU (100), which is powered by a dedicated battery, performs diagnosis of the system. A power-up signal (660) generated by M-BMU (100) drives all the S-BMUs (210) to Standby mode (620) from Power-Down mode (650).
Suzuki and Lee are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of entering a low power mode as taught by Lee so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Suzuki does not disclose in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in response to the second command and in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframe in response to the second command.
However, Jung discloses in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in response to the second command and in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframe in response to the second command.
[0176] In operation 711, the first electronic device 101 configures one or more data frames that include one or more pieces of information that have been analyzed and/or processed. When transmitting a single data frame, the first electronic device 101 may configure one or more low-power and short-range communication interfaces to be in the on-state. When transmitting a plurality of data frames that are distinguished from each other by different service identifiers, the first electronic device 101 may configure a plurality of tow-power and short-range communication interfaces (e.g., NAN, a BLE beacon, NFC, and/or ZigBee) to be in the on-state in order to transmit different data frames. The first electronic device 101 may configure such that two or more data frames, which are distinguished by different service IDs, are transmitted in sequence through a single low-power and short-range communication interface. The data frame may be configured in various manners, and other embodiments applicable to the data frame are described herein below.
Note: Applicant’s specification and claims merely lay out the term “superframe” but do not provide sufficient context. Therefore, this language is being interpreted broadly as frames.
Suzuki and Jung are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of a superframe as taught by Jung so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Regarding Claim 2,
Suzuki teaches: The device of claim 1, wherein the microcontroller is configurable to send data to the wireless transceiver that is indicative of a battery cell.
[0024] A monitoring target of such a battery monitoring system is an assembled battery C including n battery modules M1 to Mn. The n battery modules M1 to Mn include a plurality of (m) battery cells connected to each other in series and have the total voltage of the battery cells as an output voltage. Such n battery modules M1 to Mn are connected to each other in series. That is, the assembled battery C which is the monitoring target of the present embodiment is a secondary battery having the total voltage of then battery modules M1 to Mn, namely, the total voltage of nxm battery cells as an output voltage.
Regarding Claim 3,
Suzuki teaches: The device of claim 1, wherein, in response to the second command, the microcontroller is configurable to receive data from the wireless transceiver during uplink allocations for multiple other devices.
[0054] The data reception unit 14 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving the voltage detection value (i.e., cell voltage detection value), the electric field intensity value, and the like of each battery cell from the data transmission unit 7 described above. As illustrated, this data reception unit 14 includes an antenna for communication. Thereby, the data reception unit 14 receives radio waves propagated from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An using the antenna for communication. Such a data reception unit 14 outputs the voltage detection value and the electric field intensity value of each battery cell received from the data transmission unit 7 of each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An to the storage unit 11.
Regarding Claim 4,
Suzuki teaches: The device of claim 1, wherein: in response to the first command, the microcontroller is configurable to:
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
[0036] The equalization processing unit 4 is an operation unit for operating the m discharge units 2 on the basis of operation commands input through the command reception unit 5. That is, when an equalization processing command for each battery cell of the first battery module M1 is input through the command reception unit 5, this equalization processing unit 4 equalizes each cell voltage by turning on or turning off each of the electronic switches in the m discharge units 2.
[0034] These discharge units 2 are constituted of an electronic switch such as a switching transistor having an on-state and an off-state operated by the equalization processing unit 4, and a resistor which is connected to the electronic switch in series and has a predetermined resistance. In the electronic switch of the discharge unit 2 corresponding to each battery cell, the on-state and an off-state for equalizing the m battery cells (i.e., charged states of the m battery cells) are set by the equalization processing unit 4.
Suzuki does not disclose send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission one per superframe.
However, Jung discloses send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission one per superframe.
[0176] In operation 711, the first electronic device 101 configures one or more data frames that include one or more pieces of information that have been analyzed and/or processed. When transmitting a single data frame, the first electronic device 101 may configure one or more low-power and short-range communication interfaces to be in the on-state. When transmitting a plurality of data frames that are distinguished from each other by different service identifiers, the first electronic device 101 may configure a plurality of tow-power and short-range communication interfaces (e.g., NAN, a BLE beacon, NFC, and/or ZigBee) to be in the on-state in order to transmit different data frames. The first electronic device 101 may configure such that two or more data frames, which are distinguished by different service IDs, are transmitted in sequence through a single low-power and short-range communication interface. The data frame may be configured in various manners, and other embodiments applicable to the data frame are described herein below.
Note: Applicant’s specification and claims merely lay out the term “superframe” but do not provide sufficient context. Therefore, this language is being interpreted broadly as frames.
Suzuki and Jung are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of a superframe as taught by Jung so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Regarding Claim 5,
Claim 5 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Suzuki teaches: A non-transitory storage device storing software that, when executed by a microcontroller, causes the microcontroller to: receive a first command from a primary node via the wireless transceiver indicating an uplink allocation for a device
[0028] The single monitoring device B monitors the state of the assembled battery C on the basis of a cell voltage detection value of each of the battery modules M1 to Mn received wirelessly from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An. This monitoring device B successively reports monitoring results of the assembled battery C to a host control device that is not shown.
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
cause the wireless transceiver to turn ON at a beginning of the uplink allocation for the device in response to the first command; send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission in response to the first command;
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
[0036] The equalization processing unit 4 is an operation unit for operating the m discharge units 2 on the basis of operation commands input through the command reception unit 5. That is, when an equalization processing command for each battery cell of the first battery module M1 is input through the command reception unit 5, this equalization processing unit 4 equalizes each cell voltage by turning on or turning off each of the electronic switches in the m discharge units 2.
[0034] These discharge units 2 are constituted of an electronic switch such as a switching transistor having an on-state and an off-state operated by the equalization processing unit 4, and a resistor which is connected to the electronic switch in series and has a predetermined resistance. In the electronic switch of the discharge unit 2 corresponding to each battery cell, the on-state and an off-state for equalizing the m battery cells (i.e., charged states of the m battery cells) are set by the equalization processing unit 4.
receive a second command from the primary node via the wireless transceiver; send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission during the uplink allocation for the device least one other device
[0054] The data reception unit 14 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving the voltage detection value (i.e., cell voltage detection value), the electric field intensity value, and the like of each battery cell from the data transmission unit 7 described above. As illustrated, this data reception unit 14 includes an antenna for communication. Thereby, the data reception unit 14 receives radio waves propagated from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An using the antenna for communication. Such a data reception unit 14 outputs the voltage detection value and the electric field intensity value of each battery cell received from the data transmission unit 7 of each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An to the storage unit 11.
[0055] The command transmission unit 15 is a communication unit for wirelessly transmitting an equalization processing command, a voltage transmission command, and a selection command to the command reception unit 5 described above. This command transmission unit 15 dispatches the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command as radio waves (i.e., transmission waves) using the antenna for communication described above. Such a command transmission unit 15 includes a predetermined modulation circuit and generates transmission waves by performing modulation processing of the equalization processing command on the basis of a communication protocol determined in advance.
[0056] The data transmission unit 16 is a communication unit for transmitting various kinds of data other than the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command described above, namely, data necessary for each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An. This data transmission unit 16 dispatches various kinds of data other than the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command described above, as radio waves (i.e., transmission waves) using the antenna for communication described above. Similar to the command transmission unit 15, this data transmission unit 16 includes a predetermined modulation circuit and generates transmission waves by performing modulation processing of the data and the identification number on the basis of a communication protocol determined in advance.
Suzuki does not teach and cause the wireless transceiver to enter a low power mode after the data has been transmitted by the wireless transceiver in response to the first command.
However, Lee teaches and cause the wireless transceiver to enter a low power mode after the data has been transmitted by the wireless transceiver in response to the first command.
(Col. 7 Lines 60-67; Col. 8 Lines 1-29) FIG. 11. illustrates the basic functional flow of the steps required for operating the preferred WiBaAN technology. When the battery pack (10) is equipped in a system, the WiBaAN devices convert the mode from Factory to Standby mode (620). It attempts to cause both a plurality of S-BMUs (200) and an M-BMU (100) to enter Standby mode (620), which will perform basic system checking and diagnosis, basic RF communication channel checking, and the initial setting of RF radio parameters such as carrier frequency, LO frequency, signal bandwidth and gain, and so on. In Active mode (630), all of the S-BMUs (200) are monitoring their battery operation conditions and communicating with an M-BMU (100) to transfer battery monitor data or to control the battery operation by balancing or bypassing. The M-BMU (100) collects each battery's data sequentially based on predetermined period and sequence, and calculates the SoC and SoH of each battery and its pack. After one S-BMU (210) completes communication with an M-BMU (100), it automatically enters Sleep mode (640), while the next neighboring S-BMU (210) readies to move into Active mode (630). In Sleep mode (640), the S-BMU (210), and the unused building blocks in the RF radio are powered down to save power. After a predetermined time period defined by a watchdog, the S-BMU (210) starts to listen to the packet from the M-BMU (100) in order to wake up again. When the main power switch of the battery pack is turned down, the battery pack enters a power-down mode (650), which disables all the S-BMU (210) functions. During that period the M-BMU (100), which is powered by a dedicated battery, performs diagnosis of the system. A power-up signal (660) generated by M-BMU (100) drives all the S-BMUs (210) to Standby mode (620) from Power-Down mode (650).
Suzuki and Lee are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of entering a low power mode as taught by Lee so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Suzuki does not disclose in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in response to the second command and in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframe in response to the second command.
However, Jung discloses in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in response to the second command and in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframe in response to the second command.
[0176] In operation 711, the first electronic device 101 configures one or more data frames that include one or more pieces of information that have been analyzed and/or processed. When transmitting a single data frame, the first electronic device 101 may configure one or more low-power and short-range communication interfaces to be in the on-state. When transmitting a plurality of data frames that are distinguished from each other by different service identifiers, the first electronic device 101 may configure a plurality of tow-power and short-range communication interfaces (e.g., NAN, a BLE beacon, NFC, and/or ZigBee) to be in the on-state in order to transmit different data frames. The first electronic device 101 may configure such that two or more data frames, which are distinguished by different service IDs, are transmitted in sequence through a single low-power and short-range communication interface. The data frame may be configured in various manners, and other embodiments applicable to the data frame are described herein below.
Note: Applicant’s specification and claims merely lay out the term “superframe” but do not provide sufficient context. Therefore, this language is being interpreted broadly as frames.
Suzuki and Jung are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of a superframe as taught by Jung so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Regarding Claim 6,
Claim 6 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 7,
Claim 7 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Suzuki teaches: A device, comprising:
a wireless transceiver; and a microcontroller coupled to the wireless transceiver, the microcontroller configurable to: receive a first command from a primary node via the wireless transceiver during a first downlink allocation, the first command indicating an uplink allocation for the device
[0028] The single monitoring device B monitors the state of the assembled battery C on the basis of a cell voltage detection value of each of the battery modules M1 to Mn received wirelessly from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An. This monitoring device B successively reports monitoring results of the assembled battery C to a host control device that is not shown.
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
cause the wireless transceiver to turn ON at a beginning of the uplink allocation for the device in response to the first command; send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission in response to the first command;
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
[0036] The equalization processing unit 4 is an operation unit for operating the m discharge units 2 on the basis of operation commands input through the command reception unit 5. That is, when an equalization processing command for each battery cell of the first battery module M1 is input through the command reception unit 5, this equalization processing unit 4 equalizes each cell voltage by turning on or turning off each of the electronic switches in the m discharge units 2.
[0034] These discharge units 2 are constituted of an electronic switch such as a switching transistor having an on-state and an off-state operated by the equalization processing unit 4, and a resistor which is connected to the electronic switch in series and has a predetermined resistance. In the electronic switch of the discharge unit 2 corresponding to each battery cell, the on-state and an off-state for equalizing the m battery cells (i.e., charged states of the m battery cells) are set by the equalization processing unit 4.
receive a second command from the primary node via the wireless transceiver; send data to the wireless transceiver for wireless transmission during the uplink allocation for the device
[0054] The data reception unit 14 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving the voltage detection value (i.e., cell voltage detection value), the electric field intensity value, and the like of each battery cell from the data transmission unit 7 described above. As illustrated, this data reception unit 14 includes an antenna for communication. Thereby, the data reception unit 14 receives radio waves propagated from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An using the antenna for communication. Such a data reception unit 14 outputs the voltage detection value and the electric field intensity value of each battery cell received from the data transmission unit 7 of each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An to the storage unit 11.
[0055] The command transmission unit 15 is a communication unit for wirelessly transmitting an equalization processing command, a voltage transmission command, and a selection command to the command reception unit 5 described above. This command transmission unit 15 dispatches the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command as radio waves (i.e., transmission waves) using the antenna for communication described above. Such a command transmission unit 15 includes a predetermined modulation circuit and generates transmission waves by performing modulation processing of the equalization processing command on the basis of a communication protocol determined in advance.
[0056] The data transmission unit 16 is a communication unit for transmitting various kinds of data other than the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command described above, namely, data necessary for each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An. This data transmission unit 16 dispatches various kinds of data other than the equalization processing command, the voltage transmission command, and the selection command described above, as radio waves (i.e., transmission waves) using the antenna for communication described above. Similar to the command transmission unit 15, this data transmission unit 16 includes a predetermined modulation circuit and generates transmission waves by performing modulation processing of the data and the identification number on the basis of a communication protocol determined in advance.
Suzuki does not teach and cause the wireless transceiver to enter a low power mode after the data has been transmitted by the wireless transceiver in response to the first command.
However, Lee teaches and cause the wireless transceiver to enter a low power mode after the data has been transmitted by the wireless transceiver in response to the first command.
(Col. 7 Lines 60-67; Col. 8 Lines 1-29) FIG. 11. illustrates the basic functional flow of the steps required for operating the preferred WiBaAN technology. When the battery pack (10) is equipped in a system, the WiBaAN devices convert the mode from Factory to Standby mode (620). It attempts to cause both a plurality of S-BMUs (200) and an M-BMU (100) to enter Standby mode (620), which will perform basic system checking and diagnosis, basic RF communication channel checking, and the initial setting of RF radio parameters such as carrier frequency, LO frequency, signal bandwidth and gain, and so on. In Active mode (630), all of the S-BMUs (200) are monitoring their battery operation conditions and communicating with an M-BMU (100) to transfer battery monitor data or to control the battery operation by balancing or bypassing. The M-BMU (100) collects each battery's data sequentially based on predetermined period and sequence, and calculates the SoC and SoH of each battery and its pack. After one S-BMU (210) completes communication with an M-BMU (100), it automatically enters Sleep mode (640), while the next neighboring S-BMU (210) readies to move into Active mode (630). In Sleep mode (640), the S-BMU (210), and the unused building blocks in the RF radio are powered down to save power. After a predetermined time period defined by a watchdog, the S-BMU (210) starts to listen to the packet from the M-BMU (100) in order to wake up again. When the main power switch of the battery pack is turned down, the battery pack enters a power-down mode (650), which disables all the S-BMU (210) functions. During that period the M-BMU (100), which is powered by a dedicated battery, performs diagnosis of the system. A power-up signal (660) generated by M-BMU (100) drives all the S-BMUs (210) to Standby mode (620) from Power-Down mode (650).
Suzuki and Lee are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of entering a low power mode as taught by Lee so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Suzuki does not disclose in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in response to the second command and in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframe in response to the second command.
However, Jung discloses in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in response to the second command and in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframe in response to the second command.
[0176] In operation 711, the first electronic device 101 configures one or more data frames that include one or more pieces of information that have been analyzed and/or processed. When transmitting a single data frame, the first electronic device 101 may configure one or more low-power and short-range communication interfaces to be in the on-state. When transmitting a plurality of data frames that are distinguished from each other by different service identifiers, the first electronic device 101 may configure a plurality of tow-power and short-range communication interfaces (e.g., NAN, a BLE beacon, NFC, and/or ZigBee) to be in the on-state in order to transmit different data frames. The first electronic device 101 may configure such that two or more data frames, which are distinguished by different service IDs, are transmitted in sequence through a single low-power and short-range communication interface. The data frame may be configured in various manners, and other embodiments applicable to the data frame are described herein below.
Note: Applicant’s specification and claims merely lay out the term “superframe” but do not provide sufficient context. Therefore, this language is being interpreted broadly as frames.
Suzuki and Jung are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of a superframe as taught by Jung so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 13,
Suzuki teaches: A system, comprising: a primary node having a first radio;
a plurality of secondary nodes each having a respective second radio
[0028] The single monitoring device B monitors the state of the assembled battery C on the basis of a cell voltage detection value of each of the battery modules M1 to Mn received wirelessly from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An. This monitoring device B successively reports monitoring results of the assembled battery C to a host control device that is not shown.
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
wherein: in a first mode of operation of the primary node, each of the plurality of secondary nodes is configurable to wirelessly transmit data for reception by the primary node during an uplink allocation specific to each such secondary node while the other of the plurality of secondary nodes turn OFF their respective second radios
[0038] The command reception unit 5 is a communication unit for wirelessly receiving equalization processing commands, voltage transmission commands, or electric field intensity transmission commands from the monitoring device B.
[0036] The equalization processing unit 4 is an operation unit for operating the m discharge units 2 on the basis of operation commands input through the command reception unit 5. That is, when an equalization processing command for each battery cell of the first battery module M1 is input through the command reception unit 5, this equalization processing unit 4 equalizes each cell voltage by turning on or turning off each of the electronic switches in the m discharge units 2.
[0034] These discharge units 2 are constituted of an electronic switch such as a switching transistor having an on-state and an off-state operated by the equalization processing unit 4, and a resistor which is connected to the electronic switch in series and has a predetermined resistance. In the electronic switch of the discharge unit 2 corresponding to each battery cell, the on-state and an off-state for equalizing the m battery cells (i.e., charged states of the m battery cells) are set by the equalization processing unit 4.
and in a second mode of operation of the primary node, the plurality of secondary nodes are configurable to form a mesh network and wirelessly exchange data between the plurality of secondary nodes
[0026] A plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the n battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, a plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, the plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided with respective ones of the plurality of (n) battery modules M1 to Mn. These voltage detection devices A1 to An form a mesh network together with the monitoring device B through radio communication therebetween, detect voltages (i.e., voltages of respective cells) of the respective battery modules M1 to Mn corresponding thereto, and wirelessly transmit their voltage detection values (i.e., voltage information) together with identification numbers thereof to the monitoring device B via the mesh network.
Suzuki does not disclose the final limitation of this claim: wherein each secondary node of the plurality of secondary nodes is configurable to: transmit data in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in the second mode of operation; and receive data in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframes in the second mode of operation.
However, Jung discloses: wherein each secondary node of the plurality of secondary nodes is configurable to: transmit data in only one superframe of a plurality of superframes in the second mode of operation; and receive data in all but one superframe of the plurality of superframes in the second mode of operation.
[0176] In operation 711, the first electronic device 101 configures one or more data frames that include one or more pieces of information that have been analyzed and/or processed. When transmitting a single data frame, the first electronic device 101 may configure one or more low-power and short-range communication interfaces to be in the on-state. When transmitting a plurality of data frames that are distinguished from each other by different service identifiers, the first electronic device 101 may configure a plurality of tow-power and short-range communication interfaces (e.g., NAN, a BLE beacon, NFC, and/or ZigBee) to be in the on-state in order to transmit different data frames. The first electronic device 101 may configure such that two or more data frames, which are distinguished by different service IDs, are transmitted in sequence through a single low-power and short-range communication interface. The data frame may be configured in various manners, and other embodiments applicable to the data frame are described herein below.
Note: Applicant’s specification and claims merely lay out the term “superframe” but do not provide sufficient context. Therefore, this language is being interpreted broadly as frames.
Suzuki and Jung are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of a superframe as taught by Jung so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Regarding Claim 14,
Suzuki teaches: The system of claim 13, wherein the system is an automobile.
[0023] FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a schematic constitution of a battery monitoring system (i.e., battery monitoring device) of the present first embodiment.
[0024] A monitoring target of such a battery monitoring system is an assembled battery C including n battery modules M1 to Mn. The n battery modules M1 to Mn include a plurality of (m) battery cells connected to each other in series and have the total voltage of the battery cells as an output voltage. Such n battery modules M1 to Mn are connected to each other in series. That is, the assembled battery C which is the monitoring target of the present embodiment is a secondary battery having the total voltage of then battery modules M1 to Mn, namely, the total voltage of nxm battery cells as an output voltage.
[0025] According to the present embodiment, the assembled battery C is mounted in an electrically driven vehicle such as an electric car or a hybrid car and supplies DC power to a travelling motor (i.e., load) that is a travelling power source, for example. Such an assembled battery C is a lithium-ion battery or a fuel cell, for example, and outputs an output voltage of hundreds of volts.
Regarding Claim 15,
Suzuki teaches: The system of claim 13, wherein each of the plurality of second nodes is coupled to a battery cell, and the data includes a parameter of the battery cell.
[0026] A plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the n battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, a plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, the plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided with respective ones of the plurality of (n) battery modules M1 to Mn. These voltage detection devices A1 to An form a mesh network together with the monitoring device B through radio communication therebetween, detect voltages (i.e., voltages of respective cells) of the respective battery modules M1 to Mn corresponding thereto, and wirelessly transmit their voltage detection values (i.e., voltage information) together with identification numbers thereof to the monitoring device B via the mesh network.
Regarding Claim 16,
Suzuki does not teach all of the limitations of claim 16.
However, Lee teaches: The system of claim 13, wherein the second mode of operation of the primary node is a lower power mode than the first mode.
(Col. 7 Lines 60-67; Col. 8 Lines 1-29) FIG. 11. illustrates the basic functional flow of the steps required for operating the preferred WiBaAN technology. When the battery pack (10) is equipped in a system, the WiBaAN devices convert the mode from Factory to Standby mode (620). It attempts to cause both a plurality of S-BMUs (200) and an M-BMU (100) to enter Standby mode (620), which will perform basic system checking and diagnosis, basic RF communication channel checking, and the initial setting of RF radio parameters such as carrier frequency, LO frequency, signal bandwidth and gain, and so on. In Active mode (630), all of the S-BMUs (200) are monitoring their battery operation conditions and communicating with an M-BMU (100) to transfer battery monitor data or to control the battery operation by balancing or bypassing. The M-BMU (100) collects each battery's data sequentially based on predetermined period and sequence, and calculates the SoC and SoH of each battery and its pack. After one S-BMU (210) completes communication with an M-BMU (100), it automatically enters Sleep mode (640), while the next neighboring S-BMU (210) readies to move into Active mode (630). In Sleep mode (640), the S-BMU (210), and the unused building blocks in the RF radio are powered down to save power. After a predetermined time period defined by a watchdog, the S-BMU (210) starts to listen to the packet from the M-BMU (100) in order to wake up again. When the main power switch of the battery pack is turned down, the battery pack enters a power-down mode (650), which disables all the S-BMU (210) functions. During that period the M-BMU (100), which is powered by a dedicated battery, performs diagnosis of the system. A power-up signal (660) generated by M-BMU (100) drives all the S-BMUs (210) to Standby mode (620) from Power-Down mode (650).
Suzuki and Lee are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications in battery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzuki to include the concept of entering a low power mode as taught by Lee so as to conserve overall battery charge.
Regarding Claim 17,
Suzuki teaches: The system of claim 13, wherein: while the primary node is in the first mode of operation, each of the plurality of secondary nodes is configurable to receive network data from the primary node during a first downlink allocation associated with the primary node
[0026] A plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the n battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, a plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, the plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided with respective ones of the plurality of (n) battery modules M1 to Mn. These voltage detection devices A1 to An form a mesh network together with the monitoring device B through radio communication therebetween, detect voltages (i.e., voltages of respective cells) of the respective battery modules M1 to Mn corresponding thereto, and wirelessly transmit their voltage detection values (i.e., voltage information) together with identification numbers thereof to the monitoring device B via the mesh network.
and while the primary node is in the second mode of operation, each of the plurality of secondary nodes is configurable to share a second downlink allocation to exchange the data
[0074] In such a battery monitoring method for a battery monitoring system of the present embodiment, a mesh network for connecting each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An and the monitoring device B to each other is formed through radio communication between the voltage detection devices A1 to An. In addition, in the battery monitoring system of the present embodiment, the voltage detection devices A1 to An forming information transmission paths from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An to the monitoring device B are selected on the basis of the charged states of the battery modules M1 to Mn acquired by the voltage detection devices A1 to An. That is, the path selection units 13 judges whether or not each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An provided with the path selection unit 13 can form information transmission paths on the basis of the charged states of the battery modules M1 to Mn acquired by the voltage detection devices A1 to An to select an information transmission path. Namely, according to the battery monitoring system of the present embodiment, the information transmission paths can be formed in consideration of the charged states of the battery modules M1 to Mn. For example, information transmission paths can be formed such that no variation occurs in the charge amounts of the battery modules M1 to Mn.
Regarding Claim 18,
Suzuki teaches: The system of claim 17, wherein the primary node is configurable to indicate when a timeslot in which the second downlink allocation is to occur.
[0050] A timing when the path selection unit 13 performs an operation of selecting information transmission paths is not particularly limited. For example, the operation can be performed every time a command is transmitted from the monitoring device B to the voltage detection devices A1 to An. In addition, an operation of selecting a path may be performed by the path selection unit 13 at an interval of a certain period set in advance.
Regarding Claim 19,
Suzuki teaches: The system of claim 13, wherein: while the primary node is in the first mode of operation, each of the plurality of secondary nodes is configurable to receive network data from the primary node during a first downlink allocation associated with the primary node
[0026] A plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the n battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, a plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided in a manner corresponding to the battery modules M1 to Mn. That is, the plurality of (n) voltage detection devices A1 to An are provided with respective ones of the plurality of (n) battery modules M1 to Mn. These voltage detection devices A1 to An form a mesh network together with the monitoring device B through radio communication therebetween, detect voltages (i.e., voltages of respective cells) of the respective battery modules M1 to Mn corresponding thereto, and wirelessly transmit their voltage detection values (i.e., voltage information) together with identification numbers thereof to the monitoring device B via the mesh network.
and while the primary node is in the second mode of operation, each of the plurality of secondary nodes is configurable to transmit data during an uplink allocation specific to each such secondary node
[0074] In such a battery monitoring method for a battery monitoring system of the present embodiment, a mesh network for connecting each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An and the monitoring device B to each other is formed through radio communication between the voltage detection devices A1 to An. In addition, in the battery monitoring system of the present embodiment, the voltage detection devices A1 to An forming information transmission paths from each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An to the monitoring device B are selected on the basis of the charged states of the battery modules M1 to Mn acquired by the voltage detection devices A1 to An. That is, the path selection units 13 judges whether or not each of the voltage detection devices A1 to An provided with the path selection unit 13 can form information transmission paths on the basis of the charged states of the battery modules M1 to Mn acquired by the voltage detection devices A1 to An to select an information transmission path. Namely, according to the battery monitoring system of the present embodiment, the information transmission paths can be formed in consideration of the charged states of the battery modules M1 to Mn. For example, information transmission paths can be formed such that no variation occurs in the charge amounts of the battery modules M1 to Mn.
Regarding Claim 20,
Suzuki teaches: The system of claim 13, further comprising a battery pack including multiple battery cells, wherein subsets of the multiple battery cells are coupled to respective secondary nodes.
[0024] A monitoring target of such a battery monitoring system is an assembled battery C including n battery modules M1 to Mn. The n battery modules M1 to Mn include a plurality of (m) battery cells connected to each other in series and have the total voltage of the battery cells as an output voltage. Such n battery modules M1 to Mn are connected to each other in series. That is, the assembled battery C which is the monitoring target of the present embodiment is a secondary battery having the total voltage of then battery modules M1 to Mn, namely, the total voltage of nxm battery cells as an output voltage.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411