DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
As per instant Amendment, Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent claims. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
In attempt to promote compact prosecution, the Examiner has contacted the Applicants for possible amendments to move the case forward. However the Applicants and the Examiner could not come up with an agreement.
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 04/09/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments: “Hanafee, Ghetti, and Agrawal, taken individually or in combination, fails to teach or suggest that “retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application,” as recited in independent claims 1, 8 and 15.”
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner respectfully submits that Ghetti discloses retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application (Ghetti: col. 21 line 24-37 rules are typically stored in the exemplary cloud-based security platform 300 [] the FAFSS 100 may obtain rules from other third-party sources, such as other applications, web services, cloud computing services, etc. Generally, rules governing application behavior (e.g., functionality of websites, software programs, etc.) are loaded into and enforced in the FAFSS client modules 104A and 104B on a user's electronic computing device; col. 5 lines 23-26 the FAFSS cloud-based platform manages the rights of individual users who are permitted to send and/or access data or denied the ability to send and/or access data according to pre-defined policies and roles). More specifically, Ghetti discloses the key server 400 response to the cloud-based security platform 300 also includes metadata 124 about the original data (e.g., original author's role/department, date of creation, etc.). The cloud-based security platform 300 uses this metadata 124 and other sources of information to determine whether the client module 104B is authorized to access the original data based on pre-defined policies or access rights [col. 25 lines 4-11] and functionalities of the cloud-based platform services include the management of policies, delivery of application policies to FAFSS clients, and the adjudication of data protection policies. The FAFSS cloud-based platform manages the rights of individual users who are permitted to send and/or access data or denied the ability to send and/or access data according to pre-defined policies and roles [] pre-defined policies ensure that only authorized users (e.g., depending on their roles within an organization) are able to access certain data and resources [col. 5 lines 19-29]. Therefore, the examiner finds this argument not persuasive.
The amended claims 1, 8, and 15 have been addressed in rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanafee et al. (“Hanafee,” US 11151253) in view of Ghetti et al. (“Ghetti,” US 9608809) and Agrawal et al. (“Agrawal,” US 11757934).
Regarding claim 1: Hanafee discloses a computing system of a host provider, comprising:
a client entity (Hanafee: col. 7 lines 15-19 computing devices);
at least one memory that stores program code (Hanafee: fig. 5 item 508 memory); and
a processing system, comprising at least one processor (Hanafee: fig. 5 item 506 processing unit), that receives the program code from the at least one memory and, in response to at least receiving the program code, to:
a computing environment (Hanafee: fig. 1 item 110 cloud environment);
generate an instance of a servicing application in the computing environment for the client entity (Hanafee: col. 3 lines 1-3 the cloud environment 110 provides the application instance to the user; col. 7 lines 4-6 the cloud controller 220 creates the application instance 204 and/or other applications for one or more users);
retrieve a certificate of the servicing application from a first data structure in a secure storage device of the computing system (Hanafee: col. 3 lines 7-14 the application instance is provided with a certificate service component 120 [] a digital certificate that credentials the application instance as a trusted application instance; col. 5 lines 31-32 the certificate trust store 228 includes a listing of public keys for trusted applications).
Hanafee does not explicitly disclose determine that a client entity enrolls a computing environment in an information technology (IT) management service, the servicing application having no pre-authorized permissions within the computing system, retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application and the permission stored in the second data structure.
However, Ghetti discloses determine that a client entity enrolls a computing environment in an information technology (IT) management service (Ghetti: col. 60 lines 54-56 at step 1601, the enrollment service 201 generally determines whether the request is from a system administrator selecting users for silent enrollment; col 37 lines 40-42 many organizations manage their information technology with tools that can install software);
the servicing application having no pre-authorized permissions within the computing system (Ghetti: col. 16 line 52-53 data access may be allowed based on authentication of users; lines 60-63 the authentication aspects [] may provide the ability to manage the rights of individuals who are able to access data and/or programs according to pre-defined policies/roles);
retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application (Ghetti: col. 21 line 24-37 rules are typically stored in the exemplary cloud-based security platform 300 [] the FAFSS 100 may obtain rules from other third-party sources, such as other applications, web services, cloud computing services, etc. Generally, rules governing application behavior (e.g., functionality of websites, software programs, etc.) are loaded into and enforced in the FAFSS client modules 104A and 104B on a user's electronic computing device; col. 5 lines 23-26 the FAFSS cloud-based platform manages the rights of individual users who are permitted to send and/or access data or denied the ability to send and/or access data according to pre-defined policies and roles); and
the permission stored in the second data structure (Ghetti: col. 21 line 18-25 rules govern the rights of users to access data and/or associated software programs [] rules are typically stored in the exemplary cloud-based security platform 300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghetti with the system/method of Hanafee to include retrieve a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment. One would have been motivated to provide a cloud-based platform that orchestrates the management application of policies between the end user client and the server software (Ghetti: col. 4 lines 9-11).
Hanafee in view of Ghetti does not explicitly disclose provide the certificate to an identity service associated with the computing system; receive, from the identity service, an application authentication token determined by the identity service based at least on the certificate and perform an operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application.
However, Agrawal discloses provide the certificate to an identity service associated with the computing system (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 49-51 in step 4, user's web browser then sends the client certificate to the identity provider service which verifies the certificate using public-private key based authentication);
receive, from the identity service, an application authentication token determined by the identity service based at least on the certificate (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 52-54 in step 5, once the certificate has been authenticated, the identity provider service returns an authentication token back to the requestor); and
perform the IT management operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 55-57 in step 6, the requestor retries the access to the SaaS/private enterprise applications with the authentication token and is granted access to the application; col. 11 lines 14-16 the threat level may, for example, be determined by an IT/Control plane receiving information indicative of potential threats; col. 13 lines 46-48 the identity provider automatically denying user access to configured SaaS/private enterprise applications depending on the security policies of the organization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Agrawal with the system/method of Hanafee and Ghetti to include perform an operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application. One would have been motivated to securing user access to SaaS and/or private enterprise applications (Agrawal: col. 15 lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 5: Hanafee in view of Ghetti and Agrawal discloses the computing system of claim 1.
Ghetti further discloses wherein the servicing application is deployed to the computing system with no pre-authorized permissions via a secure application portal that is inaccessible outside of a domain of a host provider identifier (Ghetti: col. 16 line 52-53 data access may be allowed based on authentication of users; lines 60-63 the authentication aspects [] may provide the ability to manage the rights of individuals who are able to access data and/or programs according to pre-defined policies/roles; col. 22 lines 10-15 hypothetical corporate organization might define policy information regarding websites through its access control system. The FAFSS 100 system could use the policy knowledge in that access control system to restrict access to certain functionalities of various websites, such as file uploading).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6: Hanafee in view of Ghetti and Agrawal discloses the computing system of claim 5.
Hanafee further discloses wherein the certificate is generated by the host provider identifier and written to the first data structure in the secure storage subsequent to the servicing application being deployed to the computing system (Hanafee: col. 4 lines 15-25 the certificate service component 210 is provided by a certificate service master 212. The certificate service master 212 is a permanent entity in the cloud that keeps a copy of the certificate service component 201. The certificate service master 212 provides the copy of the certificate service component 210 to the application instance 204 when the application instance 204 is initialized or opened in the cloud environment 202); and
wherein the certificate is associated with the servicing application via the secure application portal (Hanafee: col. 4 lines 2-8 the application instance 204 is provided with a certificate service component 210 [] the digital certificate verifies the application instance as a trusted application instance).
Regarding claim 7: Hanafee in view of Ghetti and Agrawal discloses the computing system of claim 1.
Ghetti further discloses wherein the IT management operation includes at least one of:
altering of a configuration setting for at least one device associated with the computing environment;
installing a software update associated with an instance of an application in the computing environment;
creating or modifying a group in a directory for the computing environment; or
altering an access policy for the computing environment (Agrawal: col. 15 lines 11-15 the extended enterprise browser will monitor the user endpoint for installations of alternate web browsers. If any of these installations are detected, then the extended enterprise browser will notify the IT operator against this security violation. Further it will prevent access to private enterprise applications when accessed via the extended enterprise Browser [enforcing a security rule]).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8: Hanafee discloses a method, performed by a computing system of a host provider, comprising:
a client entity (Hanafee: col. 7 lines 15-19 computing devices);
a computing environment (Hanafee: fig. 1 item 110 cloud environment);
generating an instance of a servicing application in the computing environment for the client entity identifier (Hanafee: col. 3 lines 1-3 the cloud environment 110 provides the application instance to the user; col. 7 lines 4-6 the cloud controller 220 creates the application instance 204 and/or other applications for one or more users);
retrieving a certificate of the servicing application from a first data structure in a secure storage device of the computing system (Hanafee: col. 3 lines 7-14 the application instance is provided with a certificate service component 120 [] a digital certificate that credentials the application instance as a trusted application instance; col. 5 lines 31-32 the certificate trust store 228 includes a listing of public keys for trusted applications).
Hanafee does not explicitly disclose determine that a client entity enrolls a computing environment in an information technology (IT) management service, the servicing application having no pre-authorized permissions within the computing system, retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application and the permission stored in the second data structure.
However, Ghetti discloses determine that a client entity enrolls a computing environment in an information technology (IT) management service (Ghetti: col. 60 lines 54-56 at step 1601, the enrollment service 201 generally determines whether the request is from a system administrator selecting users for silent enrollment; col 37 lines 40-42 many organizations manage their information technology with tools that can install software);
the servicing application having no pre-authorized permissions within the computing system (Ghetti: col. 16 lines 60-63 the authentication aspects of the disclosed system may provide the ability to manage the rights of individuals who are able to access data and/or programs according to pre-defined policies/roles);
retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application (Ghetti: col. 21 line 24-37 rules are typically stored in the exemplary cloud-based security platform 300 [] the FAFSS 100 may obtain rules from other third-party sources, such as other applications, web services, cloud computing services, etc. Generally, rules governing application behavior (e.g., functionality of websites, software programs, etc.) are loaded into and enforced in the FAFSS client modules 104A and 104B on a user's electronic computing device; col. 5 lines 23-26 the FAFSS cloud-based platform manages the rights of individual users who are permitted to send and/or access data or denied the ability to send and/or access data according to pre-defined policies and roles); and
the permission stored in the second data structure (Ghetti: col. 21 line 18-25 rules govern the rights of users to access data and/or associated software programs [] rules are typically stored in the exemplary cloud-based security platform 300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghetti with the system/method of Hanafee to include retrieve a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment. One would have been motivated to provide a cloud-based platform that orchestrates the management application of policies between the end user client and the server software (Ghetti: col. 4 lines 9-11).
Hanafee in view of Ghetti does not explicitly disclose providing the certificate to an identity service associated with the computing system, receiving, from the identity service, an application authentication token determined by the identity service based at least on the certificate and performing an operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application.
However, Agrawal discloses providing the certificate to an identity service associated with the computing system (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 49-51 in step 4, user's web browser then sends the client certificate to the identity provider service which verifies the certificate using public-private key based authentication);
receiving, from the identity service, an application authentication token determined by the identity service based at least on the certificate (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 52-54 in step 5, once the certificate has been authenticated, the identity provider service returns an authentication token back to the requestor); and
performing an IT management operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 55-57 in step 6, the requestor retries the access to the SaaS/private enterprise applications with the authentication token and is granted access to the application; col. 11 lines 14-16 the threat level may, for example, be determined by an IT/Control plane receiving information indicative of potential threats).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Agrawal with the system/method of Hanafee and Ghetti to include performing an operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application. One would have been motivated to securing user access to SaaS and/or private enterprise applications (Agrawal: col. 15 lines 5-6).
Regarding claims 12-14: Claims 12-14 are similar in scope to claims 5-7, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15: Hanafee discloses a computer-readable storage medium having program instructions recorded thereon that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system of a host provider, perform a method comprising:
a client entity (Hanafee: col. 7 lines 15-19 computing devices);
a computing environment (Hanafee: fig. 1 item 110 cloud environment);
generating an instance of a servicing application in the computing environment for the client entity identifier (Hanafee: col. 3 lines 1-3 the cloud environment 110 provides the application instance to the user; col. 7 lines 4-6 the cloud controller 220 creates the application instance 204 and/or other applications for one or more users);
retrieving a certificate of the servicing application from a first data structure in a secure storage device of the computing system (Hanafee: col. 3 lines 7-14 the application instance is provided with a certificate service component 120 [] a digital certificate that credentials the application instance as a trusted application instance; col. 5 lines 31-32 the certificate trust store 228 includes a listing of public keys for trusted applications).
Hanafee does not explicitly disclose determine that a client entity enrolls a computing environment in an information technology (IT) management service, the servicing application having no pre-authorized permissions within the computing system,
retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application and the permission stored in the second data structure.
However, Ghetti discloses determine that a client entity enrolls a computing environment in an information technology (IT) management service (Ghetti: col. 60 lines 54-56 at step 1601, the enrollment service 201 generally determines whether the request is from a system administrator selecting users for silent enrollment; col 37 lines 40-42 many organizations manage their information technology with tools that can install software);
the servicing application having no pre-authorized permissions within the computing system (Ghetti: col. 16 line 52-53 data access may be allowed based on authentication of users; lines 60-63 the authentication aspects [] may provide the ability to manage the rights of individuals who are able to access data and/or programs according to pre-defined policies/roles);
retrieve, from a second data structure of the computing system, a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment by the instance of the servicing application (Ghetti: col. 21 line 24-37 rules are typically stored in the exemplary cloud-based security platform 300 [] the FAFSS 100 may obtain rules from other third-party sources, such as other applications, web services, cloud computing services, etc. Generally, rules governing application behavior (e.g., functionality of websites, software programs, etc.) are loaded into and enforced in the FAFSS client modules 104A and 104B on a user's electronic computing device; col. 5 lines 23-26 the FAFSS cloud-based platform manages the rights of individual users who are permitted to send and/or access data or denied the ability to send and/or access data according to pre-defined policies and roles); and
the permission stored in the second data structure (Ghetti: col. 21 line 18-25 rules govern the rights of users to access data and/or associated software programs [] rules are typically stored in the exemplary cloud-based security platform 300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghetti with the system/method of Hanafee to include retrieve a permission associated with an IT management operation, the permission limited to the performance of the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment. One would have been motivated to provide a cloud-based platform that orchestrates the management application of policies between the end user client and the server software (Ghetti: col. 4 lines 9-11).
Hanafee in view of Ghetti does not explicitly disclose providing the certificate to an identity service associated with the computing system, receiving, from the identity service, an application authentication token determined by the identity service based at least on the certificate and performing an IT management operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application.
However, Agrawal discloses providing the certificate to an identity service associated with the computing system (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 49-51 in step 4, user's web browser then sends the client certificate to the identity provider service which verifies the certificate using public-private key based authentication);
receiving, from the identity service, an application authentication token determined by the identity service based at least on the certificate (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 52-54 in step 5, once the certificate has been authenticated, the identity provider service returns an authentication token back to the requestor); and
performing an IT management operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application (Agrawal: col. 9 lines 55-57 in step 6, the requestor retries the access to the SaaS/private enterprise applications with the authentication token and is granted access to the application; col. 11 lines 14-16 the threat level may, for example, be determined by an IT/Control plane receiving information indicative of potential threats).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Agrawal with the system/method of Hanafee and Ghetti to include performing an operation in the computing environment by the instance of the servicing application based at least on the application authentication token providing authorization for the instance of the servicing application. One would have been motivated to securing user access to SaaS and/or private enterprise applications (Agrawal: col. 15 lines 5-6).
Regarding claims 19-20: Claims 19-20 are similar in scope to claims 5-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanafee et al. (“Hanafee,” US 11151253) in view of Ghetti et al. (“Ghetti,” US 9608809), Agrawal et al. (“Agrawal,” US 11757934) and Schoen et al. (“Schoen,” US 2015/0281225).
Regarding claim 2: Hanafee in view of Ghetti and Agrawal discloses the computing system of claim 1.
Hanafee in view of Ghetti and Agrawal does not explicitly disclose wherein the permission in the second data structure of the computing system comprises at least one minimal instance-specific permission that enables the instance of the servicing application to perform the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment.
However, Schoen discloses wherein the permission in the second data structure of the computing system comprises at least one minimal instance-specific permission that enables the instance of the servicing application to perform the IT management operation in the enrolled computing environment (Schoen: par. 0062 that each service account that is created or retrieved comprises a set of minimally scoped access permissions needed to access or perform a service on a resource and/or asset as requested by the client).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schoen with the system/method of Hanafee, Ghetti and Agrawal to include minimal instance-specific permission with the instance of the servicing application that enable the servicing application to perform the IT management operation in the computing environment. One would have been motivated to enhance network security by operating a service with machine generated authentication tokens for managing authentication tokens associated with one or more service accounts (Schoen: par. 0003).
Regarding claim 3: Hanafee in view of Ghetti and Agrawal discloses the computing system of claim 1.
Hanafee in view of Ghetti and Agrawal does not explicitly disclose wherein to generate the instance of the servicing application in the computing environment includes to generate a respective instance of the servicing application in at least one other of computing environments for different client entity identifiers.
However, Schoen discloses wherein to generate the instance of the servicing application in the computing environment includes to generate a respective instance of the servicing application in at least one other of computing environments for different client entity identifiers (Schoen: par. 0018 the authentication token management system may further arranged to generate authentication tokens that are unique so that no two service accounts in the SaaS systems may have the same authentication token).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schoen with the system/method of Hanafee, Ghetti and Agrawal to include generate a respective instance of the servicing application in at least one other of computing environments for different client entity identifiers. One would have been motivated to enhance network security by operating a service with machine generated authentication tokens for managing authentication tokens associated with one or more service accounts (Schoen: par. 0003).
Regarding claims 9-10: Claims 9-10 are similar in scope to claims 2-3, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 16-17: Claims 16-17 are similar in scope to claims 2-3, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanafee et al. (“Hanafee,” US 11151253) in view of Ghetti et al. (“Ghetti,” US 9608809), Agrawal et al. (“Agrawal,” US 11757934), Schoen et al. (“Schoen,” US 2015/0281225) and KOCH et al. (“Koch,” US 2023/0168992).
Regarding claim 4: Hanafee in view of Ghetti, Agrawal and Schoen discloses the computing system of claim 3.
Hanafee in view of Ghetti, Agrawal and Schoen does not explicitly disclose wherein to generate a respective instance of the servicing application in at least one other of computing environments includes to execute a subset of the respective instance of the servicing application in the at least one other computing environments and validate an execution result thereof prior to respective instances outside of the subset being executed.
However, Koch discloses wherein to generate a respective instance of the servicing application in at least one other of computing environments includes to execute a subset of the respective instance of the servicing application in the at least one other computing environments and validate an execution result thereof prior to respective instances outside of the subset being executed (Koch: par. 0045 orchestrator 110 running testing process 112 can include orchestrator 110 performing testing of an identified target software application. Orchestrator 110 running testing process 112 can include orchestrator 110 testing a target software application running on a target computing environment on a test computing environment. Orchestrator 110 running testing process 112 to perform a software test can include orchestrator 110 varying a software application performance impacting parameter value impacting the performance of the software application on the test computing environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koch with the system/method of Hanafee, Ghetti, Agrawal and Schoen to include validate an execution result thereof prior to respective instances outside of the subset being executed. One would have been motivated to adjusting a software application performance impacting parameter value impacting performance of a software application running within a computing environment (Koch: par. 0001).
Regarding claim 11: Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18: Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/FAHIMEH MOHAMMADI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439