REISSUE OFFICE ACTION
This is a reissue office action for US Patent 9,131,257, which included original patent claims 1–56. Applicant requested amendment of the claims on 4/27/2026. Claims 57–75 are pending.
Declaration and Reason for Reissue
This Reissue has been filed pursuant to the original patent being at least partly inoperative or invalid by reason of “claiming more or less than he had the right”, specifically:
“Applicant submits U.S. Patent No. 9,131,257 is deemed wholly or partly inoperative or invalid by reason of the patentee claiming less than he had a right to claim in the patent. In particular, original claims 1–56 of the patent recite registering operation for registering a plurality of subscribers or viewing devices. As a result, claims 1-56 are too narrow to protect the disclosed invention. New independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-10 are provided to cover a “distribution system for an image distribution via a network, comprising a video capture device generating and transmitting image data of 360-degree video image; and a server receiving the transmitted image data and delivering the image data to a viewing device depending on a request from the viewing device.” New independent claim 11 is provided to cover a method of the same. All errors being corrected in this continuation application of a reissue application Serial No. 15/700,072 arose without deceptive intent” (10/20/2022 declaration p. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 57–75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 57 and 67 now require “the server is configured to perform at least some of image processing operations in real-time…wherein the at least some of image processing operations comprise geometric transformation to convert the 360-degree video image into a viewer-displayable view”. No teaching has been found in the disclosure to convert the 360-degree video image into a viewer-displayable view nor to do so in real-time. Examiner recognizes the citations provided by the applicant, yet a teaching for real-time “geometric transformations” is not sufficient to support the specifics of the present claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 251
Claims 57–75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being based upon new matter added to the patent for which reissue is sought. The added material which is not supported by the prior patent is detailed elsewhere in this office action, see “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 57–58 and 63–71 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 8,675,071 (Slavin), US 7,576,767 (Lee) and US 2010/0299630 (McCutchen).
57. A distribution system for an image distribution via a network, comprising:
“Techniques are described for video monitoring and alarm verification technology” (Slavin 1:32–33).
“the system 200 further includes network 205 and the sensors 220, the module 222, and the camera 230 are configured to communicate sensor and image/video data to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over network 205 (e.g., the Internet, cellular network, etc.)” (Slavin 10:48–52).
a video capture device having a plurality of cameras for capturing image data to generate 360-degree video image, and
Slavin does not appear to teach a plurality of cameras for generating 360-degree video images. Lee teaches a “Panoramic Vision System” (at Title) including multiple cameras and processing to create a composite 360-degree image. Lee also describes such use in surveillance system:
“The system uses image acquisition devices to capture a scene up to 360°…A display system is then used to display the resulting composite image” (Lee at Abstract).
“a plurality of image acquisition devices to capture image frame data from a scene and to generate image sensor inputs, said image frame data collectively covering up to a 360° field of view” (Lee 2:18–22).
“surveillance system covering up to 360° horizontal or 4π steradian field of view of the exterior and/or interior of a structure such as a building” (Lee 4:16–18).
“The pan and zoom functions are provided digitally by image processor 200” (Lee 12:54–55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have provided multiple cameras with that of Slavin in order to provide composite 360-degree video for the viewers. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that this would have provided more compelling video of the entire 360° scene and enabled zooming onto various subjects within the scene.
configured to transmit the captured image data to a server via a cellular communication link,
“the system 200 further includes network 205 and the sensors 220, the module 222, and the camera 230 are configured to communicate sensor and image/video data to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over network 205 (e.g., the Internet, cellular network, etc.)” (Slavin 10:48–52).
wherein the video capture device is configured to record the image data in case of detecting motion within a view range, and configured not to record the image data in case of detecting no motion within the view range;
“The camera 115 also may begin capturing video and initiate establishment of the connection with the mobile phone 130 based on the user 110 triggering a motion sensor (e.g., a Passive Infrared Motion detector) included in the camera 115. The camera 115 further may begin capturing and locally storing video based on the security system panel 120 detecting the door opening event or trigger of its own internal motion sensor and then initiate establishment of the connection with the mobile phone 130 based on the security system panel 120 detecting the alarm condition” (Slavin 3:13–22).
“a Passive Infra Red (PIR) motion sensor may be built into the camera 230 and used to trigger the camera 230 to capture one or more images when motion is detected. The camera 230 also may include a microwave motion sensor built into the camera and used to trigger the camera 230 to capture one or more images when motion is detected. The camera 230 may have a “normally open” or “normally closed” digital input that can trigger capture of one or more images when external sensors (e.g., the sensors 220, PIR, door/window, etc.) detect motion or other events. In some implementations, the camera 230 receives a software command to capture an image when external devices detect motion. The camera 230 may receive the software command from the controller 212 or directly from one of the sensors 220” (Slavin 7:62–8:9).
Slavin’s discussion of a “normally open” digital input that can trigger capture of images when the motion sensor detects a motion event indicates that the capture of images is started in association with the event and its initiation and is stopped in association with the event and its conclusion. In this manner the system is able to record each detected event and does not simply record forever upon the first detected event.
the server configured to register an authorized user to a service providing online viewing of video images, and
“a link that the recipient can use to log into an event portal that provides access to sensor status, live video, and/or saved video files relevant to the event. The link also may open a portal that displays a shared image of the customer web/mobile portal screen, allowing the customer to control what data/video/ image is shared with the recipient. In these implementations, the owner of the alarm system maintains control over the information from the monitoring system that is shared” (Slavin 2:28–36).
“For some customers, privacy is a significant issue for home use of video or still-image security cameras. For that reason, those customers often do not want anyone else (including central station operators and police) to have access to images or video captured by home security system cameras without the explicit permission of the system owner. In some implementations, the techniques described throughout this disclosure allow the system owner to share video and other event data with third parties (e.g., pre-specified third parties) in the event of an emergency without granting access during non-emergencies, which may be defined by the system owner” (Slavin 1:60–2:4).
receive the image data transmitted from the video capture device, and to deliver the image data to a viewing device depending on a request from the viewing device to display the video image on the viewing device,
“The monitoring application server 260 may store sensor and image/video data received from the monitoring system…The monitoring application server 260 also may make images/video captured by the camera 230 available to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over the network 205 (e.g., through a web portal)” (Slavin 8:49–58).
“the system 200 further includes network 205 and the sensors 220, the module 222, and the camera 230 are configured to communicate sensor and image/video data to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over network 205 (e.g., the Internet, cellular network, etc.)” (Slavin 10:48–52).
“The mobile phone 640 of the mom user includes a video display area 641 that displays the live video captured by the first camera 610 on the mobile phone 640” (Slavin 17:25–27).
“The mobile phone 640 of the mom user includes a video display area 641 that displays the live video captured by the first camera 610 on the mobile phone 640. The mobile phone 640 also displays a list of virtual buttons 642 and 643 that the mom user can activate to initiate sharing of the live video to one or more other devices. The mobile phone 640 further displays a start button 645 and a stop button 646 that the mom user can activate to control recording of the live video on electronic storage of the mobile phone 640” (Slavin 17:25–33).
wherein the server is configured to perform at least some of image processing operations in real-time while delivering a streaming video from the video capture device to the viewing device, and to deliver the processed video to the viewing device, wherein the at least some of image processing operations comprise geometric transformation to convert the 360-degree video image into a viewer-displayable view, and are distinct from user control operations of pan, tilt, or zoom;
Slavin does not teach real-time server image processing operations such as geometric transformation of 360° video for delivery to the viewing device. McCutchen however also teaches a system for remote delivery of video, including “immersive images” (360° video with moveable sub-regions of interest) from an online server to a custom viewing application:
“A content delivery and display solution includes a viewing application for displaying immersive images with a region of interest” (McCutchen at Abstract).
“This disclosure generally relates to a panoramic image reproduction system comprising an image server and a software application on a computing platform which allows for fuller appreciation of the inherent possibilities of wide field of view images” (McCutchen ¶ 0003).
“In immersive imaging, the image is typically too wide to be seen all at once, because it would appear distorted and includes an excess of detail, so a movable closeup region of interest (ROI) is usually extracted from within the larger immersive image which remains unseen. This approach is typically used in immersive still photography, and more recently, in immersive video imaging” (McCutchen ¶ 0006).
“The viewing application can be used for the display of either live or prerecorded images, including live immersive video streams, from local or online sources” (McCutchen ¶ 0009).
“This ROI can be generated from the source immersive image 68 by the server, according to instructions from the client viewing application, or the immersive image can be delivered to the client application and the ROI extracted locally” (McCutchen ¶ 0052).
“FIG. 8 shows an indication by means of rounded corners 84 on the viewing application window to indicate a navigable ROI is available” (McCutchen ¶ 0056).
“The viewing application can be used for the display of a live stream, including an immersive video stream, as part of a custom real-time online encoding and delivery media server system” (McCutchen ¶ 0081).
“As shown in the diagram of components in FIG. 21, the image from the immersive camera 180, preferably an uncompressed, lower-bandwidth stream 182 such as a raw Bayer pattern from the image sensors, goes through a switch 184, which sends one copy to a recorder 186 and a recorder local viewing 188, and the other to the live processing server. The Switch can be a simple Gigabit Ethernet Switch such as the 5 Port Linksys SLM2005, which is able to handle jumbo packets, and is non blocking. The server encodes and delivers the stream to the clients” (McCutchen ¶ 0083).
“ In each server, the image information is stitched into a continuous image, as is described in FIG. 25, and divided into two halves of a panoramic strip, which are stacked to better make use of the buffer structure of the codec. The compressed image stream from the codec is then presented as a streaming feed into a wide area network 194, and received by one or more client viewing application subscribing to the feed, as detailed in FIG. 26” (McCutchen ¶ 0087).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have provided such server image processing in real-time so that the users of Slavin could view and control various regions of interest within 360° video content in real-time.
the viewing device configured to access the image data corresponding to the video capture device via a custom GUI application on the viewing device, and
“The user device 240 may load or install the native surveillance application 242 based on data received over a network or data received from local media. The native surveillance application 242 runs on mobile devices platforms, such as iPhone, iPod touch, Blackberry, Google Android, Windows Mobile, etc. The native surveillance application 242 enables the user device 240 to receive and process image, video, and/or sensor data from the monitoring system” (Slavin 9:21–29).
the server is configured to temporarily allow access of at least one viewer to the image data over a network without being the authorized user.
“the one or more user devices 240, 250 initiate the sharing connection based on a user input command entered by a user after reviewing video or image data from the camera 230. In these implementations, the one or more user devices 240, 250 may provide the one or more third party devices 270, 280 with information needed to establish the sharing connection in response to the user input command. For instance, the information may include a link that opens a portal that displays a shared image of a portal screen (e.g., a customer web/mobile portal screen) that allows the user operating the user device to control what data/video/image is shared with the recipient operating the third party device. The information also may include credentials, such as a password, a machine token, etc. that the third party device can use to be authenticated to the user device. The credentials may be temporary or one-time access credentials to prevent the third party device from using the credentials to gain access to the monitoring system at a later date” (Slavin 12:22–39).
58. The distribution system according to claim 57, further comprising the viewing device configured to selectively display a view of the 360-degree video image from the image data.
As stated above for claim 57:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have provided multiple cameras with that of Slavin in order to provide composite 360-degree video for the viewers. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that this would have provided more compelling video of the entire 360° scene and enabled zooming onto various subjects within the scene.
63. The distribution system according to claim 57, wherein the server is configured to deliver the image data to the viewing device of a subscriber of a service for delivering the image data.
The “owner” user of Slavin (who specifies the third parties who may receive shared video content) is taken to represent an authorized participant or “subscriber” of Slavin’s video event portal which monitors the owner user’s property.
64. The distribution system according to claim 57, further comprising: a plurality of video capture devices including the video capture device; and the viewing device configured to display a view of the 360-degree video image selected among plural pieces of image data captured and transmitted from the plurality of video capture devices.
Slavin teaches providing multiple cameras for multiple coverage areas:
“As shown, a property 605 includes a first camera 610 located in a daughter's room, a second camera 620 located in a son's room, and a third camera 630 located in a dad's study” (Slavin 17:18–21).
As stated above for claim 57:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have provided multiple cameras with that of Slavin in order to provide composite 360-degree video for the viewers. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that this would have provided more compelling video of the entire 360° scene and enabled zooming onto various subjects within the scene.
65. The distribution system according to claim 57, further comprising the viewing device configured to display a view of the 360-degree video image by a custom graphical user interface (GUI) application.
“The user device 240 may load or install the native surveillance application 242 based on data received over a network or data received from local media. The native surveillance application 242 runs on mobile devices platforms, such as iPhone, iPod touch, Blackberry, Google Android, Windows Mobile, etc. The native surveillance application 242 enables the user device 240 to receive and process image, video, and/or sensor data from the monitoring system” (Slavin 9:21–29).
66. The distribution system according to claim 65, wherein the viewing device is configured to download the custom GUI application via a social networking site.
Slavin states that the application may be installed based on data received over a network. This represents downloading and installing the application. Slavin does not take time to explicitly state from where the application may be downloaded. However, the same structural configuration of the viewing device that would allow the application to be downloaded and installed from remote location A would likewise be present for downloading and installing from remote location B. The download location source does not impart any structural feature of the device.
Nonetheless, given that the user device would be connecting to Slavin’s portal server to view the video content, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have provided the application as a download from such a portal server. Slavin’s portal server represents a social networking site in that different user may chat with one another (e.g. Slavin at 15:24–27).
67. A method of distributing image data via a network, comprising:
“Techniques are described for video monitoring and alarm verification technology” (Slavin 1:32–33).
“the system 200 further includes network 205 and the sensors 220, the module 222, and the camera 230 are configured to communicate sensor and image/video data to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over network 205 (e.g., the Internet, cellular network, etc.)” (Slavin 10:48–52).
registering an authorized user to a service providing online viewing of video images;
“a link that the recipient can use to log into an event portal that provides access to sensor status, live video, and/or saved video files relevant to the event. The link also may open a portal that displays a shared image of the customer web/mobile portal screen, allowing the customer to control what data/video/ image is shared with the recipient. In these implementations, the owner of the alarm system maintains control over the information from the monitoring system that is shared” (Slavin 2:28–36).
“For some customers, privacy is a significant issue for home use of video or still-image security cameras. For that reason, those customers often do not want anyone else (including central station operators and police) to have access to images or video captured by home security system cameras without the explicit permission of the system owner. In some implementations, the techniques described throughout this disclosure allow the system owner to share video and other event data with third parties (e.g., pre-specified third parties) in the event of an emergency without granting access during non-emergencies, which may be defined by the system owner” (Slavin 1:60–2:4).
capturing image data to generate 360-degree video image by a plurality of cameras of a video capture device,
Slavin does not appear to teach a plurality of cameras for generating 360-degree video images. Lee teaches a “Panoramic Vision System” (at Title) including multiple cameras and processing to create a composite 360-degree image. Lee also describes such use in surveillance system:
“The system uses image acquisition devices to capture a scene up to 360°…A display system is then used to display the resulting composite image” (Lee at Abstract).
“a plurality of image acquisition devices to capture image frame data from a scene and to generate image sensor inputs, said image frame data collectively covering up to a 360° field of view” (Lee 2:18–22).
“surveillance system covering up to 360° horizontal or 4π steradian field of view of the exterior and/or interior of a structure such as a building” (Lee 4:16–18).
“The pan and zoom functions are provided digitally by image processor 200” (Lee 12:54–55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have provided multiple cameras with that of Slavin in order to provide composite 360-degree video for the viewers. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that this would have provided more compelling video of the entire 360° scene and enabled zooming onto various subjects within the scene.
wherein the video capture device is configured to record the image data in case of detecting motion within a view range, and configured not to record the image data in case of detecting no motion within the view range;
“The camera 115 also may begin capturing video and initiate establishment of the connection with the mobile phone 130 based on the user 110 triggering a motion sensor (e.g., a Passive Infrared Motion detector) included in the camera 115. The camera 115 further may begin capturing and locally storing video based on the security system panel 120 detecting the door opening event or trigger of its own internal motion sensor and then initiate establishment of the connection with the mobile phone 130 based on the security system panel 120 detecting the alarm condition” (Slavin 3:13–22).
“a Passive Infra Red (PIR) motion sensor may be built into the camera 230 and used to trigger the camera 230 to capture one or more images when motion is detected. The camera 230 also may include a microwave motion sensor built into the camera and used to trigger the camera 230 to capture one or more images when motion is detected. The camera 230 may have a “normally open” or “normally closed” digital input that can trigger capture of one or more images when external sensors (e.g., the sensors 220, PIR, door/window, etc.) detect motion or other events. In some implementations, the camera 230 receives a software command to capture an image when external devices detect motion. The camera 230 may receive the software command from the controller 212 or directly from one of the sensors 220” (Slavin 7:62–8:9).
Slavin’s discussion of a “normally open” digital input that can trigger capture of images when the motion sensor detects a motion event indicates that the capture of images is started in association with the event and its initiation and is stopped in association with the event and its conclusion. In this manner the system is able to record each detected event and does not simply record forever upon the first detected event.
transmitting the captured image data from the video capture device to a server via a cellular communication link; receiving, at the server, the image data transmitted from the video capture device;
“the system 200 further includes network 205 and the sensors 220, the module 222, and the camera 230 are configured to communicate sensor and image/video data to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over network 205 (e.g., the Internet, cellular network, etc.)” (Slavin 10:48–52).
“The monitoring application server 260 may store sensor and image/video data received from the monitoring system…The monitoring application server 260 also may make images/video captured by the camera 230 available to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over the network 205 (e.g., through a web portal)” (Slavin 8:49–58).
delivering the image data from the server to a viewing device depending on a request from the viewing device to display the video image on the viewing device,
“the system 200 further includes network 205 and the sensors 220, the module 222, and the camera 230 are configured to communicate sensor and image/video data to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over network 205 (e.g., the Internet, cellular network, etc.)” (Slavin 10:48–52).
“The mobile phone 640 of the mom user includes a video display area 641 that displays the live video captured by the first camera 610 on the mobile phone 640” (Slavin 17:25–27).
“The mobile phone 640 of the mom user includes a video display area 641 that displays the live video captured by the first camera 610 on the mobile phone 640. The mobile phone 640 also displays a list of virtual buttons 642 and 643 that the mom user can activate to initiate sharing of the live video to one or more other devices. The mobile phone 640 further displays a start button 645 and a stop button 646 that the mom user can activate to control recording of the live video on electronic storage of the mobile phone 640” (Slavin 17:25–33).
wherein the server performs at least some of image processing operations in real-time while delivering a streaming video from the video capture device to the viewing device, and delivers the processed video to the viewing device, wherein the at least some of image processing operations comprise geometric transformation to convert the 360-degree video image into a viewer-displayable view, and are distinct from user control operations of pan, tilt, or zoom;
Slavin does not teach real-time server image processing operations such as geometric transformation of 360° video for delivery to the viewing device. McCutchen however also teaches a system for remote delivery of video, including “immersive images” (360° video with moveable sub-regions of interest) from an online server to a custom viewing application:
“A content delivery and display solution includes a viewing application for displaying immersive images with a region of interest” (McCutchen at Abstract).
“This disclosure generally relates to a panoramic image reproduction system comprising an image server and a software application on a computing platform which allows for fuller appreciation of the inherent possibilities of wide field of view images” (McCutchen ¶ 0003).
“In immersive imaging, the image is typically too wide to be seen all at once, because it would appear distorted and includes an excess of detail, so a movable closeup region of interest (ROI) is usually extracted from within the larger immersive image which remains unseen. This approach is typically used in immersive still photography, and more recently, in immersive video imaging” (McCutchen ¶ 0006).
“The viewing application can be used for the display of either live or prerecorded images, including live immersive video streams, from local or online sources” (McCutchen ¶ 0009).
“This ROI can be generated from the source immersive image 68 by the server, according to instructions from the client viewing application, or the immersive image can be delivered to the client application and the ROI extracted locally” (McCutchen ¶ 0052).
“FIG. 8 shows an indication by means of rounded corners 84 on the viewing application window to indicate a navigable ROI is available” (McCutchen ¶ 0056).
“The viewing application can be used for the display of a live stream, including an immersive video stream, as part of a custom real-time online encoding and delivery media server system” (McCutchen ¶ 0081).
“As shown in the diagram of components in FIG. 21, the image from the immersive camera 180, preferably an uncompressed, lower-bandwidth stream 182 such as a raw Bayer pattern from the image sensors, goes through a switch 184, which sends one copy to a recorder 186 and a recorder local viewing 188, and the other to the live processing server. The Switch can be a simple Gigabit Ethernet Switch such as the 5 Port Linksys SLM2005, which is able to handle jumbo packets, and is non blocking. The server encodes and delivers the stream to the clients” (McCutchen ¶ 0083).
“ In each server, the image information is stitched into a continuous image, as is described in FIG. 25, and divided into two halves of a panoramic strip, which are stacked to better make use of the buffer structure of the codec. The compressed image stream from the codec is then presented as a streaming feed into a wide area network 194, and received by one or more client viewing application subscribing to the feed, as detailed in FIG. 26” (McCutchen ¶ 0087).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have provided such server image processing in real-time so that the users of Slavin could view and control various regions of interest within 360° video content in real-time.
accessing the image data corresponding to the video capture device via a custom GUI application on the viewing device, and
“The user device 240 may load or install the native surveillance application 242 based on data received over a network or data received from local media. The native surveillance application 242 runs on mobile devices platforms, such as iPhone, iPod touch, Blackberry, Google Android, Windows Mobile, etc. The native surveillance application 242 enables the user device 240 to receive and process image, video, and/or sensor data from the monitoring system” (Slavin 9:21–29).
at least one viewer is temporarily allowed access to the image data over a network without being the authorized user.
“the one or more user devices 240, 250 initiate the sharing connection based on a user input command entered by a user after reviewing video or image data from the camera 230. In these implementations, the one or more user devices 240, 250 may provide the one or more third party devices 270, 280 with information needed to establish the sharing connection in response to the user input command. For instance, the information may include a link that opens a portal that displays a shared image of a portal screen (e.g., a customer web/mobile portal screen) that allows the user operating the user device to control what data/video/image is shared with the recipient operating the third party device. The information also may include credentials, such as a password, a machine token, etc. that the third party device can use to be authenticated to the user device. The credentials may be temporary or one-time access credentials to prevent the third party device from using the credentials to gain access to the monitoring system at a later date” (Slavin 12:22–39).
68. The distribution system according to claim 57, wherein the viewing device is configured to: display an object for selecting a recording option; and save the image data on the server to play back the saved image data at later time, in response to selecting the object.
“The mobile phone 130 further displays a start button 135 and a stop button 136 that the mom user can activate to control recording of the live video on electronic storage of the mobile phone 130” (Slavin 3:31–34).
“the user device may provide the third party device with a link that the third party device can use to log into an event portal on the monitoring application server 260 that provides access to sensor status, live video, and saved clips relevant to the event. The material included in the event portal may be controlled by the user (e.g., using the user device) and access may be granted for a limited period of time” (Slavin 12:40–51).
“The monitoring application server 260 may store sensor and image/video data received from the monitoring system…The monitoring application server 260 also may make images/video captured by the camera 230 available to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over the network 205 (e.g., through a web portal). In this regard, the one or more user devices 240, 250 may display images/video captured by the camera 230 from a remote location. This enables a user to perceive images/video of the user's property from a remote location and verify whether or not an alarm event is occurring at the user's property” (Slavin 8:49–63).
Given Slavin’s teachings for providing start and stop buttons on the phone for the user to request selective recording of video, the teachings that the server stores recorded video and the teachings that the user controls the material included in the event portal, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have provided a button on the user phone to request recording of video to be stored at the server. Doing so would allow recorded video to be available to other users and would eliminate the need for large storage capacity on the user’s phone.
69. The method according to claim 67, further comprising: displaying an object for selecting a recording option; and saving the image data on the server to play back the saved image data at later time, in response to selecting the object.
“The mobile phone 130 further displays a start button 135 and a stop button 136 that the mom user can activate to control recording of the live video on electronic storage of the mobile phone 130” (Slavin 3:31–34).
“the user device may provide the third party device with a link that the third party device can use to log into an event portal on the monitoring application server 260 that provides access to sensor status, live video, and saved clips relevant to the event. The material included in the event portal may be controlled by the user (e.g., using the user device) and access may be granted for a limited period of time” (Slavin 12:40–51).
“The monitoring application server 260 may store sensor and image/video data received from the monitoring system…The monitoring application server 260 also may make images/video captured by the camera 230 available to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over the network 205 (e.g., through a web portal). In this regard, the one or more user devices 240, 250 may display images/video captured by the camera 230 from a remote location. This enables a user to perceive images/video of the user's property from a remote location and verify whether or not an alarm event is occurring at the user's property” (Slavin 8:49–63).
Given Slavin’s teachings for providing start and stop buttons on the phone for the user to request selective recording of video, the teachings that the server stores recorded video and the teachings that the user controls the material included in the event portal, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have provided a button on the user phone to request recording of video to be stored at the server. Doing so would allow recorded video to be available to other users and would eliminate the need for large storage capacity on the user’s phone.
70. The distribution system according to claim 57, wherein the server is configured to accommodate simultaneous logins to a website hosted on the server for providing the online viewing of the video images and multiple viewing of images by a plurality of viewers.
“The multi-user chat session may allow the mom user, the dad user, and the neighbor user to discuss the video that they are all simultaneously perceiving and come to a decision on how to handle the potential alarm situation” (Slavin 15:26–31).
71. The distribution system according to claim 57, wherein the authorized user has an option to share a login privilege with a plurality of viewers, and the server is configured to accommodate simultaneous logins to a website hosted on the server for providing the online viewing of the video images and multiple viewing of images by a plurality of viewers.
“the one or more user devices 240, 250 may provide the one or more third party devices 270,280 with permission or credentials to access the monitoring system directly or the monitoring application server 260 for a limited time” (Slavin 12:40–44).
“The multi-user chat session may allow the mom user, the dad user, and the neighbor user to discuss the video that they are all simultaneously perceiving and come to a decision on how to handle the potential alarm situation” (Slavin 15:26–31).
Claims 59–62 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being Slavin, Lee and McCutchen in view of US 2007/0024706 (Brannon).
59. The distribution system according to claim 58, further comprising a plurality of viewing devices including the viewing device, and configured to receive the image data from the server and to simultaneously display the 360-degree video image, wherein each of the viewing devices is configured to display a different view of the 360-degree video image.
Slavin teaches a plurality of viewing devices receiving the video content:
“The monitoring application server 260 may store sensor and image/video data received from the monitoring system…The monitoring application server 260 also may make images/video captured by the camera 230 available to the one or more user devices 240, 250 over the network 205 (e.g., through a web portal)” (Slavin 8:49–58).
“a link that the recipient can use to log into an event portal that provides access to sensor status, live video, and/or saved video files relevant to the event. The link also may open a portal that displays a shared image of the customer web/mobile portal screen, allowing the customer to control what data/video/ image is shared with the recipient. In these implementations, the owner of the alarm system maintains control over the information from the monitoring system that is shared” (Slavin 2:28–36).
While Slavin teaches sharing content related to the event with other viewers simultaneously, neither Slavin nor Lee appear to describe independent user control of the image data in order to independently view different portions of the video image.
Brannon also teaches a video distribution system where client viewers may each independently control aspects of the received video event scene for customized viewing/display:
“Systems and methods for providing high-quality region of interest (HQ-ROI) viewing within an overall scene by enabling one or more HQ-ROIs to be viewed in a controllable fashion” (Brannon at ABSTRACT).
Brannon notes the disadvantage with conventional video distribution where changing viewing parameters affects all viewers. Brannon further teaches improvements where each viewer may issue control commands to manipulate their own custom view of the event without affecting others:
“The disclosed systems and methods may be implemented in one embodiment to enable optimized simultaneous viewing of multiple video sources for each individual viewing client. This is in contrast to conventional video viewing systems . . . standard single-stream camera sources . . . are designed such that a configuration change for any of the above parameters affects all viewers” (Brannon ¶ 0033).
“a multi-stream video source may be optionally configured with the ability to spatially move the reference coordinates of an ROI stream within the scene's overall image, e.g., via some set of suitable control commands such as those implemented for Pan-Tilt-Zoom (PTZ) cameras. The ability to perform the ROI control logic may be implemented, for example, at a viewing application” (Brannon ¶ 0030).
“video source 102 may be configured to accept commands (e.g., `Pan and Tilt` commands) that allow the client viewing application 122 to move the spatial coordinates of the 320H.times.180V HQ-ROI view/stream around within the scene” (Brannon ¶ 0093).
“multi-stream HQ-ROI viewing capability may be implemented . . . to deliver two or more video streams to one or more viewing clients via a network medium. For example, as previously mentioned, a video source component and video access component may be separate components or integrated together as a single device, e.g., camera and stream server components may be one device.” (Brannon ¶ 0087).
“Video access component . . . to communicate these multiple digital video streams (not shown separately in FIG. 3) across computer network medium 112 to multiple viewing clients 120a through 120n” (Brannon ¶ 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have provided viewers of Slavin the ability to independently send control instructions for manipulating the video image so that each user can experience a customized viewing (e.g. panning, tilting and/or zooming) of the event. Doing so would have allowed the viewers to customize their viewing of such events.
60. The distribution system according to claim 59, wherein each of the viewing devices is configured to individually control a display of a common scene depending on user's operation without affecting other viewing devices.
See claim 59.
61. The distribution system according to claim 58, further comprising a plurality of viewing devices including the viewing device, wherein the viewing device is configured to perform a display control depending on user's pan/tilt/zoom operation without affecting other viewing devices.
See claim 59.
62. The distribution system according to claim 57, wherein the video capture device comprises two back to back cameras each having about 180-degree angle of view.
Lee’s 360-degree panoramic vision system does not appear to explicitly describe “two back to back cameras each having about 180-degree angle of view”.
However, given the teachings by Brannon to use multiple cameras that collectively cover a 360° field of view (e.g. 1:24–25, 2:18–21), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have any number of cameras with fields of view that can collectively cover 360°, including 2 x 180°.
Claims 72–73 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being Slavin, Lee and McCutchen in view of US 2002/0167590 (Naidoo).
72. The distribution system according to claim 57, wherein the video capture device is configured to be programmed to stop recording of the image data after a certain period of time.
Neither Slavin nor Lee appear to teach that the device is configured to be programmed to stop recording after a certain period of time. Naidoo teaches a security system with sensors to trigger video recording of an event (at Abstract, ¶ 0033–0034). Naidoo teaches that a user is able to adjust (i.e. “program”) the system to stop recording after certain time periods:
“the customer or remote user 16 may able to adjust said predetermined basis including without limitation adjusting the recording times, duration, and total length of recordings” (Naidoo ¶ 0058).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have configured the system of Slavin with programmable/adjustable recording durations. Doing so would have enabled the user to customize the recorded content. Doing so would have also enabled the user to choose a time period that meets a balance between preserving additional footage and saving resources related to media storage.
73. The method according to claim 67, wherein the video capture device is programmed to stop recording of the image data after a certain period of time.
See claim 72.
Claims 74–75 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Slavin, Lee and McCutchen in view of US 2010/0195810 (Mota).
74. The distribution system according to claim 57, wherein the video capture device is configured to record the image data in case of detecting sound, and configured not to record the image data in case of detecting no sound.
Slavin teaches video capture to be triggered on detected motion events, but not on detected sound events. Mota teaches a security system with a video camera which is triggered on detected motion and/or sound events:
“a security system having a camera, a sensor generating a signal in response to a triggering event, and a management module. The triggering event is one of…sound detection, motion detection…The management module is adapted to send data to be received by a remote communication device upon generation by the sensor of the signal generated in response to the triggering event” (Mota ¶ 0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have included a sound detection sensor with that of Slavin in order to trigger video in response to sounds. Doing so would allow the users of Slavin to investigate the monitored area in the event of a suspicious sound.
As stated above, Slavin’s capture of images is started in association with the detected event and its initiation and is stopped in association with the event and its conclusion. Triggering of video capture based on a detected sound event for the combination would likewise start and stop video capture in association with individual sound events.
75. The method according to claim 67, wherein the video capture device records the image data in case of detecting sound, and does not record the image data in case of detecting no sound.
See claim 74.
Response To Arguments
§ 103 – Prior Art
Applicant states:
“Slavin does not disclose or suggest a feature that the server performs a real-time image conversion processing on a streaming video while delivering the streaming video. Further, Slavin fails to disclose or suggest a feature that the server delivers a processed video” (4/27/2026 p. 9).
Examiner has addressed this new language in the rejections above.
Notification of Proceedings and Material Information
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which this patent is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY D CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/C. Michelle Tarae/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992 /M.F/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992