DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 12/24/2025. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species LL (Fig 45) (claims 1, 4, 5, 12-15 & 18) in the reply filed on 12/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner did not identify claim 1 as a generic claim. Although claim 1 may be generic to several of the species, the identified species are proper, distinct and independent. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 12-15 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano et al. (US 2012/0064288).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakano teaches a method for producing a structural medical device (Fig 22A) configured for installation into a prepared cavity (i.e., femur), comprising the steps of: a) manufacturing a body including a body (shown) portion sized for a pressfit fixation into the prepared cavity; and b) disposing a framework (23) within said body portion during said manufacturing step a) wherein said framework includes a set of one or more structural elements (23) configured to produce an anisotropic (as the framework and structure are not symmetric) bulk material property in said body portion.
Regarding Claims 4 & 14, Nakano teaches wherein said framework includes a first set (medial-lateral running chamber elements 23) of one or more structural elements and a second set (anterior-posterior running chamber elements 23) of one or more structural elements, each set of structural elements disposed in different non-overlapping regions of said body portion (as they run parallel with one another).
Regarding Claims 5 & 15, Nakano teaches wherein said first set of structural elements is different than said second set of structural elements (Fig 22A illustrates both a different size and orientation of the identified structural elements).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakano teaches wherein the prepared cavity includes a channel prepared in a long bone (i.e., femur) and wherein said body includes a stem (Fig 22A).
Regarding Claim 13, Nakano teaches wherein said body portion includes a foundation layer of said stem (solidified walls 21).
Regarding Claim 18, Nakano teaches wherein said step of manufacturing includes operating an additive manufacturing process [0069] configured to manufacture at least a portion of said body.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774