DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 3/16/13, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a different combination of references for the newly amended limitations of claim 14 for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 16, 17, and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “alternately changing focus” in line 13. It is not clear what the limitation encompasses, and Applicant’s specification has not given and guidance as to what constitutes “alternately changing focus” (Ex. Blurring and increasing contrast, changing what part of the image is being highlighted, adding a backlight to an image object, etc.…).
Claims 16, 17, and 22-27 inherit the deficiencies of claim 14 and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16, 17, 22, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0056083 (Jin) in view US 2018/0055402 (Izvarina) in view of US 2008/0269652 (Reiner) in view of US 2019/0201691 (Poltorak).
Regarding claims 14, 16, 17, 22, 24, and 25, Jin discloses a device and methodology for optimizing stimulation (paragraphs 4-106; figure 3) where the device has the following components:
a controller (309) comprising a processor, an EEG amplifier, and memory (paragraphs 58 and 70; figure 3);
a first electrode (303) configured to detect electrical brain activity and coupled to the controller (paragraphs 36 and 70; figure 3);
a second electrode (306) configured to detect a reference signal and coupled to the controller (paragraphs 36 and 70; figure 3);
wherein the controller is configured to
generate and provide a stimulus to a subject through rhythmic stimulation frequencies in or around a desired EEG band (paragraphs 17, 52-54, 58-63, and 69; Administering stimulation requires the generation and providing of a stimulus.);
determine an optimal rhythmic stimulation frequency which optimizes an aspect of an EEG spectrum recorded while the stimulus is being delivered (paragraphs 5, 17, 52-54, 58-63, and 69; Adjustments of stimulation frequency after each pulse train for maximum settling time where maximum settling is correlated to pulse frequency matching resonant frequency); and
estimate the intrinsic frequency of the EEG band based on EEG data received from the subject (paragraphs 17, 52-55, 58-63, and 69).
However, Jin does not state that the electrodes are part of a headband or EEG cap nor does Jin disclose the use of rhythmic video images generated by one or more lights coupled to the controller. In a related area, Izvarina discloses methods and system for therapeutic neuromodulation (title and abstract). Of note is paragraph 72, which describes the electrodes used in the device and the use of headbands or caps (thus an EEG cap) to hold the electrodes in place. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jin to make the electrodes as part of an EEG cap or headband to hold the electrodes in place.
Jin and Izvarina do not state that the stimulus is a rhythmic video image comprising at least one of a flashing light, alternately changing colors, changing light intensity alternately changing focus and combination thereof, generated by one or more lights coupled to the controller.
In a related area, Reiner discloses a multimodal therapeutic system which uses massage, pulses of light, and pulses of sound (title and abstract; paragraphs 9-36). Reiner discloses the use of a controller (30) that controls speakers (26) to deliver sound, including pulsed sound, to the subject (abstract; paragraphs 6, 17, 25 and 33), light to deliver visible signals including pulsed light (abstract; paragraphs 6, 10, 11, 16, 17, 21, and 24-36; bulbs, light emitting diodes or other light producing material emit the light), and a massage system that exerts pressure on the skin (paragraphs 15, 22, 23, 34, and 35), thus meeting the limitations of claims 16 and 17. Reiner states that the combination of stimulation techniques provides stimulation that exceeds the expected results from single or paired techniques (paragraph 9). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jin and Izvarina to provide light, sound, and pressure stimuli devices coupled to the controller as taught by Reiner to provide better stimulation results than individual or paired stimulation and provide better relaxation.
Jin, Izvarian, and Reiner do not state that the stimulus is a rhythmic video image comprising at least one of a flashing light, alternately changing colors, changing light intensity alternately changing focus and combination thereof.
In a related area, Poltorak discloses methods and devices for transplanting emotional states (title; abstract) Poltorak discloses the use of video with flashing lights or with modulated intensities and rhythmic stimulation to produce entrainment effects, which makes the stimulation rhythmic video images comprising flashing lights or alternately changing light intensity (paragraphs 514, 1073 and 1304-1307). Note that due to the 112 issues regarding alternately changing focus, changing light intensities can be considered as changing focus. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Jin, Izvarian, and Reiner to stimulate using rhythmic video images comprising flashing lights, changing light intensity, and changing focus as taught by Poltorak to produce entrainment effects.
Claim(s) 23, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0056083 (Jin) in view US 2018/0055402 (Izvarina), US 2008/0269652 (Reiner) and 2019/0201691 (Poltorak) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of US 2019/0269328 (Porges).
Regarding claim 23, Jin, Izvarina, Reiner, and Poltorak disclose the limitations of claim 14 but do not state that the stimulus is alternatively changing colors. In a related area, Porges discloses system and methods for modulating physiological states using feedback mechanisms (title and abstract; paragraphs 24-26 and 84-101). Of note is paragraph 100 which the various types of visual stimuli in the feedback mechanism to the subject that can be applied. These stimuli parameters include modifications in playback speed, frame rates, color profiles, brightness/intensity of the images or videos played in display devices. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jin, Izvarina, Reiner, and Poltorak to include stimuli that comprise alternately changing colors as taught by Porges because it is one of several known stimulation types when applying visual feedback to a subject to modulate a physiological state to a chosen state.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Jin, Izvarina, Reiner, and Poltorak disclose the limitations of claim 14 but do not state that the stimulus includes alternatively changing colors. In a related area, Porges discloses system and methods for modulating physiological states using feedback mechanisms (title and abstract; paragraphs 24-26 and 84-101). Of note is paragraph 100 which the various types of visual stimuli in the feedback mechanism to the subject that can be applied. These stimuli parameters include modifications in playback speed, frame rates, color profiles, brightness/intensity of the images or videos played in display devices. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jin, Izvarina, Reiner, and Poltorak to include stimuli that comprise alternately changing colors as taught by Porges because it is one of several known stimulation types when applying visual feedback to a subject to modulate a physiological state to a chosen state. Due to the 112 issues of the claim, the combination of Jin, Izvarina, Reiner, Poltorak, and Porges would have a stimulation that has a flashing light, alternately changing colors, changing light intensity and alternately changing focus.
Jin, Izvarina, Reiner, Poltorak, and Porges do not state the presence of multiple rhythmic video images. However, the claims as written do not specify if the other images are different than the rhythmic video image provided by the device of Jin, Izvarina, Reiner, Poltorak, and Porges. Thus, the claim can be interpreted as a duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 Duplication of Parts).
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791