DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 12/09/2025 (“Amendment”). Claims 1 and 3-10 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendment to claim 1.
The objection(s) to the drawings, specification, and/or claims, the interpretation(s) under 35 USC 112(f), and/or the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112 not reproduced below has/have been withdrawn in view of the corresponding amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “surrounding device” in claim 1, “measuring portion” in claims 1, 5, and 9, “fixing structure” in claim 4, “fixing element” in claims 4 and 5, and “measurement device” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,245,024 (“Montagnino”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0062843 (“Heston”) and US Patent Application Publication 2019/0374112 (“Kuo”).
Regarding claim 1, Montagnino teaches [a cuff] (Abstract), comprising: a covering bag (Fig. 1, blood pressure cuff 1 generally) including a surrounding device (Fig. 1, D-ring 26), a measuring portion (Fig. 1, non-stretchable bag 50 (accommodating an inflatable bladder 30 – col. 2, line 57 to col. 3, line 10)), and an elastic band portion (Fig. 1, tension sensor 70, constructed of a stretchable or expandable material – col. 2, lines 15-18; col. 3, lines 46-48, etc.), the measuring portion and the elastic band portion being connected in series (as shown in Fig. 1) to form a ring structure to locate the measuring portion at a pulse position to be measured (Figs. 2 and 3, via the D-ring 26 – also see col. 3, lines 26-42, col. 4, lines 21-28, etc.), wherein the measuring portion defines an accommodating space and is made of a non-elastic or inelastic material (as above, bag 50 is non-stretchable and accommodates an inflatable bladder therein), and the elastic band portion is made of an elastic material (as above, stretchable vs non-stretchable); and an air bag device having an elastic air bag, the air bag device being put into the accommodating space such that the elastic air bag and the measuring portion overlap (as above, the inflatable bladder 30 (col. 3, lines 1-3, elastic) which is accommodated in the non-stretchable bag 50 (and the bladder 30 has associated components such as e.g. a connection to tube 18)), … .
Montagnino is not explicit that its cuff is a tourniquet.
Heston teaches a tourniquet that is structured essentially like the device of Montagnino (Heston: Title, Abstract, Fig. 1 – including a surrounding device 28, an inflatable portion 14, and an elastic band 52).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cuff of Montagnino as a tourniquet cuff, as in Heston, for the purpose of facilitating arterial and venous occlusion (Heston: ¶ 0002), including in a manner that does not occlude the limb in an unpressurized state (Heston: Abstract).
Montagnino-Heston does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the ring structure forms a radial resonant ring at the pulse position to be measured, so as to undulate with relaxation and contraction of a pulse.
Kuo teaches a pulse-holding device 120, which is a tourniquet, that secures a sensing device at the position of the pulse and resonates with the pulse (Fig. 1, ¶¶s 0018, 0019, 0023, 0028, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the structure of the combination to form a radial resonant ring, as in Kuo, for the purpose of achieving resonance to thereby obtain more accurate measurements (Kuo: ¶ 0023).
Regarding claim 3, Montagnino-Heston-Kuo teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Montagnino-Heston-Kuo further teaches wherein the ring structure has a radial elasticity coefficient, and the radial elasticity coefficient is determined according to a frequency of a harmonic of a blood pressure wave to be measured (the pulse-holding device of Kuo has an elasticity coefficient corresponding to a frequency of a harmonic of a blood pressure wave (Kuo: Abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tailor the radial elasticity coefficient of the tourniquet of the combination according to a harmonic of a blood pressure wave, as in Kuo, for the purpose of increasing accuracy of pulse-based measurements (Kuo: ¶ 0019)).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagnino-Heston-Kuo in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0105676 (“Uesaka”).
Regarding claim 4, Montagnino-Heston-Kuo teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Montagnino-Heston-Kuo does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the covering bag further includes a fixing structure, the air bag device includes a fixing element, and the fixing element is coupled with the fixing structure to fix the covering bag and the air bag device.
Uesaka teaches a covering bag including a fixing structure (the holes in outer cloth 122 shown in Fig. 3 as accommodating tubes 132 and 133 and hook 134 of connecting member 103) and an air bag device including a fixing element (Figs. 4 and 5 show the tubes 132 and 133 and hook 134 that are part of the air bag) coupled with the fixing structure to fix the bag and device together (as shown in Figs. 2 and 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate fixing structure and elements into the combination as in Uesaka, for the purpose of integrating the bag with the cuff (Uesaka: ¶ 0051, via connecting member 103), for the purpose of ensuring that the elements did not slip with respect to each other, and for providing external access to the air bag.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0212671 (“Miller”).
Regarding claim 5, Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka teaches all the features with respect to claim 4, as outlined above. Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka does not appear to explicitly teach wherein a surface of the accommodating space of the measuring portion has a non-slip material part, and the non-slip material part is in contact with the fixing element to prevent displacement of the air bag device.
Miller teaches adding a non-slip material to a surface through which a tube passes (¶ 0077, inner surface 103 coated with an anti-slip agent).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a non-slip material with the holes of combination, through which the tubes protrude, as in Miller, for the purpose of preventing movement and slippage between the elements (Miller: ¶ 0077).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka-Miller in view of US Patent Application Publication 2006/0178584 (“Karo”).
Regarding claim 6, Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka-Miller teaches all the features with respect to claim 5, as outlined above. Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka-Miller further teaches wherein the fixing structure of the covering bag has a plurality of holes (Uesaka: Fig. 3, a hole for each of tubes 132 and 133 – see ¶ 0054, describing each of the tubes as protruding from the cloth), but does not appear to explicitly teach that it has a plurality of fixing holes (at least because there is only one hook portion 134 in Uesaka).
Karo teaches using multiple hook portions to secure a bag to a measurement device (Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plurality of fixing holes and associated hooks in the combination as in Karo, for the purpose of better securing the cuff to the measurement device (Karo: Fig. 2), and as a mere duplication of parts. A mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 7, Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka-Miller-Karo teaches all the features with respect to claim 6, as outlined above. Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka-Miller-Karo further teaches wherein the fixing element of the air bag device includes an air inlet pipe (Heston: Fig. 1, one of the ports 32 (¶ 0015); Uesaka: e.g. tube 132 of Fig. 3), an air outlet pipe (Heston: Fig. 1, the other of the ports 32 (¶ 0015). It would have been obvious to use separate ports for air inlet and outlet, as in Heston, for the purpose of achieving tourniquet cuff bladder air supply control as described in ¶ 0015), and a plurality of fixation pillars (based on the duplication of hooks as above), and the air inlet pipe and the air outlet pipe communicate with the elastic air bag (Heston: ¶ 0015).
Regarding claim 8, Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka-Miller-Karo teaches all the features with respect to claim 7, as outlined above. Montagnino-Heston-Kuo-Uesaka-Miller-Karo further teaches wherein after the air bag device is put into the accommodating space, the air inlet pipe, the air outlet pipe, and the plurality of fixation pillars respectively pass through corresponding holes and fixing holes, so that the tourniquet is coupled to a measurement device by the plurality of fixation pillars (as shown in e.g. Figs. 1-3 of Uesaka).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagnino-Heston-Kuo in view of US Patent 3,960,096 (“Zobel”).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Montagnino-Heston-Kuo teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Montagnino-Heston-Kuo does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the measuring portion and the elastic band portion are connected in series using elastomeric stitching, wherein the elastomeric stitching includes jump stitching or stitching with an elastic thread (although Montagnino: col. 3, lines 52-54 describe connecting the measuring portion and the elastic band portion using sewing).
Zobel teaches using elastic threads to stitch a more elastic material (an elastic cord) to a less elastic material (a mask, col. 3, lines 34-46).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the measuring portion and elastic band portion of the combination using an elastic thread, as in Zobel, as the application of a known technique for the purpose (Zobel: stitching to perform the sewing already described in Montagnino, which also involved joining a more elastic material to a less elastic material).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Both Montagnino and Heston teach the corresponding elements arranged in series, and therefore meet the claim language. Neither of these references require that the non-stretchable portion must entirely cover the arm (or more generally, the limb). In any case, the combination teaches the use of a resonant ring in a tourniquet, and applies that teaching to a tourniquet. Applicant has not addressed the teachings of Kuo, and has not argued against the motivations for combination. Therefore, the claims remain rejected in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
Since the claim amendment amounts to a broadening in scope and since the grounds for rejection are not changed, all claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791