Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments of independent claims 1 and 12 have overcome the prior art and are allowable.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9, 11-17, 21 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gusikhin, Gorsica in view of Gautama (US 2012/0115446) in further view of Qing (US 2012/0172060)
Regarding Claim 18,
Gusikhin (US 2015/0045988) teaches an interactive system, comprising:
a server coupled to one or more databases storing a user profile (Paragraph [0017] teaches a server coupled to databases)(Paragraph [0021] teaches profile data includes user data);
a shareable device comprising one or more processors, one or more memory devices storing a shareable device identifier, one or more feedback devices, and communication circuitry, wherein the shareable device is communicatively coupled to the server (Paragraph [0008, 0041] teaches vehicle computers in a car-sharing system), and wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a user identifier from a user device via the communication circuitry;
transmit the user identifier to the server via the communication circuitry; transmit the shareable device identifier to the server via the communication circuitry (Paragraph [0042] and Claim 17 teaches detecting a user device and transmit the identifier of the user device and the identifier of the vehicle to the server);
receive a pairing indication from the server via the communication circuitry based on the user identifier and the shareable device identifier (Paragraph [0044] teaches receiving pairing indication from the server);
and activate the one or more feedback devices based on the pairing indication (Paragraphs [0013][0066][0120-0122]).
Gusikhin teaches the interactive system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine that the shareable device is in an idle state; and transmit a return indication to the server via the communication circuitry, based on the determination that the shareable device is in the idle state
Gorsica (US 2021/0203747) teaches determining that the shareable device is in an idle state; and transmit a return indication to the server via the communication circuitry, based on the determination that the shareable device is in the idle state (Fig. 6 and associated text in particular 614 and paragraph [0110] teaches determining the shareable device is in “idle mode”)(Fig,. 8 and associated text, in particular Paragraph [0129] teaches an indication to the server that the user session has been ended)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gusikhin with the method of determining an idle state of a shareable device and sending an indication to a server subsequent to activating the one or more feedback devices and the results would be predictable (i.e. the shareable device would be determined to be idle and an indication would be returned to a server)
but does not explicitly teach determine that a first user profile of the plurality of user profiles is paired with a second shareable device of the plurality of shareable devices;
And pair a second user profile of the plurality of user profiles with the first shareable device based on the first user profile being paired with the second shareable device
Gautama (US 2012/0115446) teaches determine that a first user profile of the plurality of user profiles is paired with a second shareable device of the plurality of shareable devices;
And pair a second user profile of the plurality of user profiles with the first shareable device based on the first user profile being paired with the second shareable device (Paragraph [0034] teaches multiple profiles for multiple devices)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gusikhin with the pairing of a plurality of user profiles with a plurality of devices as taught by Gautama and the results would be predictable (i.e. there would be multiple profiles for a single individual for more than one device)
Gusikhin, Gorsica, Gautama still do not explicitly teach pairing based on the second shareable device being in non-idle state
Qing (US 2012/0172060) teaches pairing when a device being in non-idle state (Paragraph [0060] teaches directly performing pairing when device is in an active state)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gusikhin, Gorsica, Gautama to include pairing when a device is in a non-idle state and the results would be predictable (i.e. the device would be paired when in a non-idle state)
Regarding Claim 19,
Gusikhin, Gorsica, Gautam and Qing teaches the system of Claim 18 but does not explicitly teach cause the first shareable device to output a pairing indication based on pairing the second user profile with the first shareable device
The Examiner takes Official Notice that outputting a pairing indication based on pairing is well known
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gusikhin and Guatam to include a pairing indication based on pairing the second user profile with the first shareable device and the results would be predictable (i.e. pairing indication would occur after pairing)
Regarding Claim 20,
Gusikhin, Gorsica, Gautam and Qing teaches the system of Claim 19. Gusikhin teaches wherein the first shareable device comprises one or more feedback devices configured to activate based on the pairing indication (Paragraphs [0013][0066][0120-0122]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRIS C WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439