DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the RCE correspondence filed 01/05/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS/Applicant Arguments, filed 12/05/2025 & RCE request for 01/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of claim amendment's warranting further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 11-14 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kompella et al (WO2019217469A1) (2019) in view of 3GPP TS 38.331 (2022) in further view of Lee et al (US20220045827) (hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 1, Kompella teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), of radio resource control (RRC) reestablishment ([0054]-[0058], explicitly addresses RRC connection reestablishment procedures and UE responses), the method comprising:
decoding a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) RRC reestablishment message ([0057], [0061]-[0063], UE receives and processes a downlink RRC Connection reestablishment message);
a message indicating a proactive grant UL resource for transmitting the RRC reestablishment complete message the proactive grant UL resource allocated to the UE without the UE transmitting a scheduling request to allocate an UL grant for the RRC reestablishment complete message ([0042], [0068]-[0072], [0077], [0094], [0099], UE continuously monitors PDCCH; BS sends gratuitous (proactive) uplink grant without waiting for a scheduling request; grant signaled via DCI0 on PDCCH; states that the eNb signals the gratuitous PUSCH grant by transmitting a DCI0 message on the PDCCH; [0094] repeats the same concept in the SRB1/SRB2 embodiment; and [0077] & [0099], explain that the UE continuously monitors the PDCCH to receive this grant);
transmitting the RRC reestablishment complete message in the proactive grant UL resource ([0057], [0070], [0075], UE transmits RRC Connection Re-establishment Complete on PUSCH using the gratuitous grant).
But Kompella fails to teach but 3GPP teaches releasing all configured grant UL resources before decoding the RRC reestablishment message as part of the same procedure (pg. 120 clause 5.3.7.2 Initiation of RRC Reestablishment; specifies that upon initiation of the RRC reestablishment procedure, the UEs shall reset MAC, release SpCellConfig, and release physical channel configuration, thereby removing prior uplink scheduling and cell configuration state; because these actions occur at the start of reestablishment—before the UE later receives and decodes the RRCReestablishment message on the PDSCH—the specification establishes that prior UL configuration is cleared prior to decoding the reestablishment message).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP because Kompella addresses reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, while 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. In implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella within a standardized cellular system, the skilled person would naturally look to 3GPP to ensure compliant handling of UL resources, particularly in scenarios such as connection reestablishment where previously configured UL resources may be released. Thus, 3GPP would be consulted to manage the lifecycle of CGs, and its teachings would be applied to the method of Kompella to ensure that proactive grants are issued only after any existing CGs have been properly cleared.
But 3GPP fails to teach monitoring a common search space for a PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message indicating a proactive grant UL resource for transmitting the RRC reestablishment complete message; decoding the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message based on C-RNTI allocated to the UE to determine the proactive grant UL resource.
However, Lee teaches monitoring a common search space for a PDCCH DCI format 0_0 ([0108]-[0119], teaches that the UE monitors PDCCH candidates in a common search space, performs blind decoding, and decodes DCI format 0_0, which schedules UL PUSCH resources, based on an RNTI such as C-RNTI, thereby teaching the claimed monitoring of a common search space for a PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message indicating UL grant resources);
decoding the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message based on C-RNTI allocated to the UE to determine the proactive grant UL resource ([0109]-[0115], [0117], [0119], Table 3, [0174]-[0175], UE monitors and decodes PDCCH via blind decoding, DCI format 0_0 schedules UL transmissions, and DCI decoding is performed based on an RNTI assigned to the UE, with C-RNTI explicitly identified as the UE-specified identifier used for such decoding), .
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 2, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method further comprising receiving an allocation for the common search space in a servingCellConfigCommon information element of a SIB1 ([0094], [0096] system information block 1 (SIB1) may be scheduled by specific PDCCH received by the UE).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 7, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method in which the monitoring includes receiving the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message from a gNB (Fig 5 UE and base station/gNB – PDCCH generation, PDCCH candidate monitoring in the configured search space for the DCI 0_0 message).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 8, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method in which the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message is a second PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message received during a second transmission time interval (TTI) that follows a first TTI after a first PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message cannot be received or decoded (Fig 5, ([0108]-[0109], [0119], [0131]-[0132], [0244] table 4, monitoring for PDCCH DCI format 0_0 messages— PDCCH candidate monitoring in the configured search space, monitor during specific time intervals, see DRX functionality during the On duration).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 9, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method further comprising transmitting a RACH request for requesting UL grant in response to no proactive grant being provided after multiple transmission time intervals (TTIs) ([0085], [0133], [0144]-[0145], [0164], RACH trigger in response to lack of configured UL grant, the UE may be configured with a periodic UL resource (CG) to transmit MBMS feedback—when the time advance timer (TAT) is running (i.e. UL sync timing is maintained) and any activated UL CG is mapped to…the UE can transmit PUSCH on the UL CG for MBMS feedback transmission to the network, but then if the TAT is not running or expires (i.e. timing is not maintained), or if there is no valid (activated) UL CG…the UE can deactivate the UL CG and trigger RACH to send MBMS feedback to the network—maps to limitation RACH is triggered when no valid CG is available, CGs are typically configured with a periodicity, and failure to receive a valid CG for a duration that spans multiple TTIs effectively means no proactive grant was provided; Fallback to RACH after periodic grant failure—The MBMS feedback information may be indicated by one of the RACH preamble, a MSGA and MSG3 –RRC release message…may be include periodic UL resource/config information. The RRC release message may also include RACH config information for MBMS-related feedback—this indicates that RACH-based MBMS feedback transmission is a fallback path, specifically where situations where the periodic (i.e. proactive) CG is not available; Lastly, multiple TTIs implied: structure of the periodic UL grants and their activation mechanisms—CGs are inherently periodic (i.e. available every X ms), if the UE checks for CGs at each interval but finds non activated or value (due to expired TAT, reconfiguration, or other triggers) it waits multiple intervals, after this waiting (i.e. absence of proactive grants for multiple TTIs) the UE initiates RACH).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 10, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method in which time and frequency domain resources for the proactive grant are indicated in separate fields of the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message (Fig 3, [0092], [0096], [0154] time and frequency domains, configuration information for each periodic UL resource (UL configured grant) includes frequency/time resource information—domain).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Claims 11-14 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kompella et al (WO2019217469A1) (2019) in view of 3GPP TS 38.321 (2020) in further view of Lee et al (US20220045827) (hereinafter "Lee") in further view of Cho et al (US20180020431).
Regarding claim 11, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches a method, performed by a RAN, of RRC reestablishment for a UE, the method comprising:
coding a PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message based on C-RNTI allocated to the UE to indicate a proactive grant UL resource for transmitting an RRC reestablishment complete message ([0108]-[0109], table 3 includes decoding of PDCCH candidates, decoding based on type3 – C-RNTI);
transmitting, in a common search space allocated to the UE, the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message indicating the proactive grant UL resource ([0108]-[0109], [0119], [0131]-[0133], [0144]-[0145], [0153]-[0155], [0157] [0160]-[0167] table 4 monitoring a PDCCH search space—includes a common search space—for DCI formats transmitted on the PDCCH including 0_0 message, UL configured grant, RRC message or reestablishment equivalent disclosed –the MBMS feedback may be triggered even when RRC is released via system information or a previous RRC release message that includes the CG configuration, this allows the UE to transmit without full RRC reactivation; if UL timing is not maintained, the UE may trigger RACH for feedback—a procedure that can involve MSGA/MSG3, which are used in RRC connection or reestablishment; alternative path via RACH and MSG3 –if CG is not available or active feedback may be sent via MSG3, which are part of RRC establishment/reestablishment procedures);
But Lee fails to teach in response to the UE receiving and decoding the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message, receiving the RRC reestablishment complete message, .
However, Cho teaches and in response to the UE receiving and decoding the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message, receiving the RRC reestablishment complete message in the proactive grant UL resource ( ([0020], describes a method for allocating resources to a UE in the context of RRC connection reestablishment; it mentions transmitting an RRC connection reestablishment complete message via the allocated UL resources).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Lastly, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 12, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method further comprising retransmitting the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message in a sequence of transmission time intervals (TTIs) ([0108]-[0109], [0119], [0131]-[0132], table 4 UE monitoring/RAN transmits a PDCCH search space—includes a common search space—for DCI formats transmitted on the PDCCH including 0_0 message, UL configured grant).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Lastly, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 13, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method further comprising transmitting an allocation for the common search space in a servingCellConfigCommon information element of a SIB 1 ([0094], [0096] system information block 1 (SIB1) may be scheduled by specific PDCCH received by the UE).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Lastly, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 14, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method in which the RAN comprises a gNB (Fig 5 UE and base station/gNB – PDCCH generation, PDCCH candidate monitoring in the configured search space for the DCI 0_0 message).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Lastly, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 19, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method in which the transmitting comprises transmitting the PDCCH DCI format 0_0 message from a gNB (Fig 5 UE and base station/gNB – PDCCH generation (transmitting), PDCCH candidate monitoring in the configured search space for the DCI 0_0 message).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Lastly, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 20, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches the method further comprising determining a number of retransmissions of proactive grant based on at least one of duplex configuration, slot format, or type of transport network deployed (Fig 3, [0130]-[0134], [0154] request of retransmission, one or more periodic UL resources (configured grants)), each configured grant can be associated to a configured grant index – retransmitted based on certain network parameters –period of UL resource, frequency/time resource information, and/or time offset at which the configured grant resource starts, slot formats).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Lastly, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Claims 3-6 & 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komepella in view of 3GPP in further view of Lee in further view of Cho and in further view of Chou (US20210258866) (hereinafter "Chou").
Regarding claim 3, Kompella, 3GPP and Lee fails to teach in which the UE is in communication with an O-RAN radio unit (O-RU), an O-RAN distributed unit (O-DU), and an O-RAN central unit (O-CU).
However, Chou teaches in which the UE is in communication with an O-RAN radio unit (O-RU), an O-RAN distributed unit (O-DU), and an O-RAN central unit (O-CU). (Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0112]-[0114], interface for communication purposes UE with O-RAN architecture, specific to UE communication with an O-RAN architecture—O-DU, O-CU, and O-RU).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 4, Kampella, 3GPP, and Lee fails to teach in which an access entity (AE) includes the O-RU and the O-DU.
However Chou teaches in which an access entity (AE) includes the O-RU and the O-DU (Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0107]-[0114], [0157]-[0159], O-RAN architecture description, interface between a UE and O-e/gNB as well as between the UE and O-RAN components –namely O-DU & O-RU,R RANs network nodes in Figs 1-6 can be configured in an O-RAN architecture format with Access Nodes (ANs) which contain certain O-RAN components).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 5, Kompella, 3GPP and Lee fails to teach the method and in which the transmitting causes the AE to forward the RRC reestablishment complete message through the transport network to the O-CU.
However, Cho teaches and in which the transmitting causes the AE to forward the RRC reestablishment complete message through the transport network to the O-CU ([0020], describes a method for allocating resources to a UE in the context of RRC connection reestablishment; it mentions transmitting an RRC connection reestablishment complete message via the allocated UL resources).
Lee and Cho are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transmitting or receiving signals in a wireless communications systems and communication control methods namely the use of configured grants in RRC establishment procedures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee and Cho to create a method for proactive grant allocation during a RRC reestablishment procedure.
Lee discloses a general method and apparatus for transmitting or receiving signal in wireless communication systems namely a method for periodic uplink resource configuration, such as a UL configured grant, for DL broadcast/multicast transmission for reporting multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) related feedback regardless of the state of the UE. Furthermore, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Combining the art of Lee and Cho would yield a method for proactive grant allocation during a RRC reestablishment procedure. The motivation for making such combination would be to achieve interoperability of radio resource components for low latency communication.
But Cho fails to disclose through the transport network to the O-CU.
However Chou discloses through the transport network to the O-CU (Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0107]-[0114], [0157]-[0159], O-RAN architecture description, interface between a UE and O-e/gNB as well as between the UE and O-RAN components –namely O-DU & O-RU, RANs network nodes in Figs 1-6 can be configured in an O-RAN architecture format with Access Nodes (ANs) which contain certain O-RAN components).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 6, Kompella, 3GPP fails to teach but Lee teaches further comprising receiving a PDSCH RRC reestablishment message provided from the O-CU ([0133], [0164], [0166]-[0173], reception of PDSCH with MBMS-related content—UE receives MCCH/MTCH transport blocks (TBs) and DCI indicating activation and a CG index based on G-RNTI for a PDCCH, that DCI triggers activation of a UL configured grant (CG) for MBMS feedback; RRC release with UL CG configuration—the RRC release message sent when the UE is released from connected mode can include periodic UL resource configuration info, such as UL CG settings; reactivation of UL resources after idle/inactive—upon receiving certain PDSCH/DCI signals, the UE may reactivate UL resources even when in idle/inactive status, and send MBMS feedback accordingly—RRC reestablishment message referring to specific message send during RRC reestablishment procedures, restoring or reestablishing radio bearers and configuration after radio link failure or handover—interpreting the limitation more broadly as receiving something over PDSCH that functionally reactivates or restores UL resources or connectivity for feedback transmission after being released or inactive – specifically: UE in idle/inactive receives DCI + TB on PDSCH, this information activates a CG and enables UL MBMS feedback, this restores UL communication, analogous in function to reestablishment).
But Lee fails to teach provided from the O-CU.
However, Chou teaches provided from the O-CU ((Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0107]-[0114], [0157]-[0159], O-RAN architecture description, interface between a UE and O-e/gNB as well as between the UE and O-RAN components –namely O-DU & O-RU, RANs network nodes in Figs 1-6 can be configured in an O-RAN architecture format with Access Nodes (ANs) which contain certain O-RAN components).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 15, Kompella, 3GPP and Lee fails to teach and in which the RAN comprises an O-RAN radio unit (0-RU), an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), and an O-RAN central unit (0-CU).
However, Chou teaches and in which the RAN comprises an O-RAN radio unit (0-RU), an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), and an O-RAN central unit (0-CU) (Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0112]-[0114], interface for communication purposes UE with O-RAN architecture, specific to UE communication with an O-RAN architecture—O-DU, O-CU, and O-RU).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 16, Kompella, 3GPP and Lee fails to teach in which the RAN includes an access entity (AE) and a transport network between the AE and the O-CU, the AE including the O-RU and the O-DU.
However, Chou teaches in which the RAN includes an access entity (AE) and a transport network between the AE and the O-CU, the AE including the O-RU and the O-DU (Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0107]-[0114], [0157]-[0159], O-RAN architecture description, interface between a UE and O-e/gNB as well as between the UE and O-RAN components –namely O-DU & O-RU,R RANs network nodes in Figs 1-6 can be configured in an O-RAN architecture format with Access Nodes (ANs) which contain certain O-RAN components).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 17, Kampella, 3GPP and Lee fails to teach the method in which the receiving further comprises forwarding from the AE the RRC reestablishment complete message through the transport network to the O-CU.
However Cho teaches in which the receiving further comprises forwarding from the AE the RRC reestablishment complete message through the transport network to the O-CU.
([0020], describes a method for allocating resources to a UE in the context of RRC connection reestablishment; it mentions transmitting an RRC connection reestablishment complete message via the allocated UL resources).
Lee and Cho are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of transmitting or receiving signals in a wireless communications systems and communication control methods namely the use of configured grants in RRC establishment procedures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee and Cho to create a method for proactive grant allocation during a RRC reestablishment procedure.
Lee discloses a general method and apparatus for transmitting or receiving signal in wireless communication systems namely a method for periodic uplink resource configuration, such as a UL configured grant, for DL broadcast/multicast transmission for reporting multimedia broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) related feedback regardless of the state of the UE. Furthermore, Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Combining the art of Lee and Cho would yield a method for proactive grant allocation during a RRC reestablishment procedure. The motivation for making such combination would be to achieve interoperability of radio resource components for low latency communication.
But Cho fails to disclose through the transport network to the O-CU.
However Chou discloses through the transport network to the O-CU (Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0107]-[0114], [0157]-[0159], O-RAN architecture description, interface between a UE and O-e/gNB as well as between the UE and O-RAN components –namely O-DU & O-RU, RANs network nodes in Figs 1-6 can be configured in an O-RAN architecture format with Access Nodes (ANs) which contain certain O-RAN components).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Regarding claim 18, Kompella and 3GPP fails to teach and Lee teaches teach further comprising transmitting a PDSCH RRC reestablishment message provided from the O-CU ([0133], [0164], [0166]-[0173], reception of PDSCH with MBMS-related content—UE receives MCCH/MTCH transport blocks (TBs) and DCI indicating activation and a CG index based on G-RNTI for a PDCCH, that DCI triggers activation of a UL configured grant (CG) for MBMS feedback; RRC release with UL CG configuration—the RRC release message sent when the UE is released from connected mode can include periodic UL resource configuration info, such as UL CG settings; reactivation of UL resources after idle/inactive—upon receiving certain PDSCH/DCI signals, the UE may reactivate UL resources even when in idle/inactive status, and send MBMS feedback accordingly—RRC reestablishment message referring to specific message send during RRC reestablishment procedures, restoring or reestablishing radio bearers and configuration after radio link failure or handover—interpreting the limitation more broadly as receiving something over PDSCH that functionally reactivates or restores UL resources or connectivity for feedback transmission after being released or inactive – specifically: UE in idle/inactive receives DCI + TB on PDSCH, this information activates a CG and enables UL MBMS feedback, this restores UL communication, analogous in function to reestablishment.
But Lee fails to teach provided from the O-CU.
However, Chou teaches provided from the O-CU ((Fig 6, 601 615 616 [0107]-[0114], [0157]-[0159], O-RAN architecture description, interface between a UE and O-e/gNB as well as between the UE and O-RAN components –namely O-DU & O-RU, RANs network nodes in Figs 1-6 can be configured in an O-RAN architecture format with Access Nodes (ANs) which contain certain O-RAN components).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kompella with 3GPP and further in view of Lee because these references address complementary aspects of UL resource handling during control-plane signaling. Kompella teaches reducing UL latency by providing a proactive (“gratuitous”) UL grant without waiting for a scheduling request, particularly for transmitting response messages such as RRC reestablishment complete. 3GPP defines the MAC-layer behavior governing configured UL grants, including the requirement that all corresponding UL grants are cleared when a CG is released by upper layers. Lee further describes NR-specific PDCCH monitoring and decoding of UL grant DCIs, including DCI format 0_0 and RNTI-based (e.g. C-RNTI) decoding within configured search spaces, thereby proving the concrete NR control channel framework in which a proactive UL grant would be detected and decoded by the UE. Cho discloses a method and apparatus for allocating UL resources in wireless communication system. Lastly, Chou discloses resource allocation and activation/deactivation configuration of O-RAN network slice subnets or logical network created on top of a shared physical network composed of sliced subnets (i.e. RAN, Core, and transport networks). Accordingly, a skilled person implementing the proactive UL grant technique of Kompella in a NR system would look to 3GPP to manage the release of existing configured-grant resources and to Lee to realize the DCI-based signaling and decoding behavior, and with combination would provide a standard compliant NR implementation of proactive UL grants by clearing existing CG resources and using DCI format 0_0 decoded with the UE’s C-RNTI on the PDCCH to reliably signal UL resources for control-plane message transmission without requiring a scheduling request.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al (US9055576B2) discloses UL resource allocation for LTE advanced
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419