DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the non-final rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the non-finality of that action is withdrawn.
Since a new Non-Final Office action follows, Applicants’ arguments will not be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 27–35 and 38–40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Koprowski et al. (US 2010/0184130 A1, “Koprowski”) in view of Andrianov et al., “Tobacco as a production platform for biofuel: overexpression of Arabidopsis DGAT and LEC2 genes increases accumulation and shifts the composition of lipids in green biomass,” Plant Biotechnology Journal 8:277–287 (2010) (“Andrianov”), and further in view of Shanklin et al. (US 2014/0031573 A1, “Shanklin”).
Claim 27: Koprowski teaches production of oil from transgenic vegetative plant biomass by increasing lipid accumulation through expression of genes encoding acyltransferases, including DGAT, together with transcription factors; teaches transcription factors including LEC1, LEC2, FUS3 and WRI1/WR1; and teaches transforming plants with polynucleotides encoding an acyltransferase and a transcription factor (Koprowski, ¶¶ [0014]–[0017], [0040], [0045]–[0046], [0058]–[0059]). Koprowski further teaches extracting oil from genetically modified green biomass and recovering the extracted oil for conversion to biofuel (¶¶ [0060]–[0062]).
Koprowski does not expressly teach a vegetative plant part having 5–25% total non-polar lipid resulting from co-expression of WRI1 and DGAT.
Andrianov teaches metabolic engineering of tobacco green biomass to increase lipid accumulation for biofuel production. Constitutive expression of Arabidopsis DGAT produced up to a 20-fold increase in TAG in tobacco leaves and approximately a twofold increase in extracted fatty acids, reaching about 5.8% of dry biomass in N. tabacum Wisconsin and about 6% in NC-55 tobacco; inducible expression of the lipid-regulating transcription factor LEC2 produced up to 6.8% total extracted fatty acids on a dry-weight basis (Andrianov, pp. 277–283, Abstract and Figs. 2 and 6).
Shanklin teaches that high oil content in vegetative plant tissue may be obtained by up-regulating fatty-acid synthesis and transfer of fatty acids into TAG (Shanklin, ¶ [0015]); that fatty-acid synthesis is up-regulated by ectopic expression of WRI1 (¶ [0016]); and, importantly, that expression of DGAT together with WRI1 enhances TAG accumulation because DGAT is limiting in conversion of FA-CoAs to TAG (¶ [0017]). Shanklin further demonstrates WRI1 and DGAT expression in Nicotiana benthamiana leaves and teaches WRI1/DGAT-containing combinations for increasing storage-oil accumulation in vegetative tissue (¶¶ [0013]–[0019], [0024]–[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the processes of Koprowski and Andrianov by co-expressing WRI1 and DGAT as taught by Shanklin because Shanklin teaches that WRI1 increases fatty-acid synthesis while DGAT enhances conversion of the resulting fatty acyl-CoAs into TAG, thereby further increasing storage-oil accumulation in vegetative tissue. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the amount of recoverable lipid from vegetative biomass for biofuel production.
Accordingly, the combined teachings render obvious extracting and recovering lipid from a collection of transgenic vegetative plant parts comprising exogenous polynucleotides encoding at least WRI1 and DGAT and having the claimed increased non-polar lipid content.
Claim 28: Koprowski further teaches physical/mechanical extraction of oil from green biomass, including pressing, and solvent extraction after drying and grinding the biomass (¶¶ [0060]–[0061]). Thus, the claimed pressing/grinding and/or organic-solvent extraction is taught.
Claim 29: Koprowski expressly teaches hexane as an organic solvent for extracting oil from genetically modified green biomass (¶ [0061]). Because claim 29 recites the solvents alternatively, the teaching of hexane satisfies the claimed limitation.
Claim 30: Koprowski teaches recovering oil from transformed plants and chemically converting the extracted oil into biodiesel by transesterification (¶¶ [0060]–[0062]). Thus, Koprowski teaches chemical conversion of the extracted lipid to an industrial product.
Claim 31: Koprowski further teaches transesterification in which vegetable oil is reacted with methanol to produce biodiesel (¶ [0062]), thereby teaching reaction of the non-polar lipid with an alcohol to form fatty-acid alkyl esters.
Claim 32: Koprowski further teaches carrying out the methanol transesterification in the presence of sodium hydroxide (¶ [0062]), thereby teaching the claimed reaction in the presence of a catalyst.
Claim 33: Koprowski further teaches analyzing extracted fatty acids from the transgenic tobacco leaves by quantitative gas chromatography and determining changes in fatty-acid composition (¶¶ [0127]–[0130]; Figs. 5–6). Because claim 33 requires one or more of the recited processing or analytical operations, Koprowski's fatty-acid-composition analysis satisfies the additional limitation.
Claim 34: Koprowski teaches that DGAT-overexpressing tobacco leaves exhibit a significant change in fatty-acid composition and expressly reports that oleate increased from approximately 1.5% in wild-type plants to approximately 20–25% of total extracted fatty acids in the transgenic plants (¶ [0128]). Thus, Koprowski teaches at least the claimed alternative wherein oleic acid constitutes at least 19% of the fatty-acid content. Claim 34 requires “one or more” of the recited fatty-acid characteristics; all of the alternatives need not be present.
Claim 35: Koprowski further teaches the same increase in oleate from approximately 1.5% in wild type to approximately 20–25% in transgenic tobacco and teaches that changes in the TAG fraction were even more pronounced, including increased oleic-acid-containing TAG species (¶¶ [0128]–[0129]). Thus, the increase in oleic acid substantially exceeds the claimed increase of at least 2% relative to the corresponding wild-type vegetative plant part.
Claim 38: The references as applied to claim 27 do not expressly state that the effect of WRI1/DGAT co-expression on non-polar lipid accumulation is mathematically greater than the additive effects obtained by expressing WRI1 and DGAT individually.
Shanklin, however, expressly teaches that WRI1 up-regulates fatty-acid synthesis and that expression of DGAT together with WRI1 enhances increases in TAG accumulation because DGAT is limiting in conversion of FA-CoAs to TAG (¶¶ [0015]–[0017]). Shanklin also teaches and experimentally evaluates WRI1 and DGAT expression in N. benthamiana leaves (¶¶ [0013]–[0014]) and teaches WRI1/DGAT-containing combinations for increasing storage oil in vegetative tissue (¶¶ [0019], [0024]–[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to carry out the WRI1/DGAT co-expression taught by Shanklin in the oil-producing vegetative plant tissue of Koprowski and Andrianov for the purpose of further increasing TAG/non-polar lipid accumulation. Because the modified process resulting from the combined teachings employs substantially the same WRI1/DGAT genetic modification in substantially the same vegetative plant tissue for the same purpose as the claimed process, obtaining the resulting degree of enhancement in non-polar lipid accumulation, including an enhancement greater than the additive effects of WRI1 and DGAT expressed individually, would have been an expected result of carrying out the obvious process and within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 39: Koprowski teaches increasing and extracting oil from green vegetative biomass, including tobacco leaves (¶¶ [0006], [0029], [0044], [0060]–[0061]). Andrianov likewise expressly demonstrates increased TAG and extracted fatty acids in transgenic tobacco leaves (pp. 277–283, Figs. 1–2), and Shanklin teaches WRI1/DGAT-containing expression systems in N. benthamiana leaves (¶¶ [0013]–[0017], [0029]). Thus, the vegetative plant part being a leaf is taught.
Claim 40: The references as applied to claim 27 do not expressly teach a total non-polar lipid content of 10–25% (w/w) dry weight.
Andrianov, however, teaches that metabolic engineering substantially increases lipid accumulation in tobacco vegetative tissue, including approximately 5.8–6.0% extracted fatty acids on a dry-weight basis upon DGAT expression and up to approximately 6.8% total extracted fatty acids upon expression of a lipid-regulating transcription factor (pp. 277–283, Abstract and Figs. 2 and 6). Shanklin further teaches that WRI1 increases fatty-acid synthesis and that expression of DGAT together with WRI1 enhances TAG accumulation because DGAT is limiting in conversion of FA-CoAs to TAG (¶¶ [0015]–[0017]), and teaches WRI1/DGAT-containing combinations for increasing storage oil in vegetative tissue (¶¶ [0019], [0024]–[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to carry out the WRI1/DGAT co-expression taught by Shanklin in the high-oil vegetative plant tissue of Koprowski and Andrianov for the purpose of further increasing TAG/non-polar lipid accumulation. Because the modified process resulting from the combined teachings employs substantially the same genetic modification in substantially the same vegetative plant tissue for the same purpose of increasing lipid accumulation as the claimed process, obtaining a higher total non-polar lipid content, including a content within the claimed range of 10–25% (w/w) dry weight, would have been an expected result of carrying out and routinely optimizing the obvious process. Determining the particular achievable lipid content would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Koprowski in view of Andrianov and Shanklin, as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Bouvier-Nave et al., “Involvement of the Phospholipid Sterol Acyltransferase1 in Plant Sterol Homeostasis and Leaf Senescence,” Plant Physiology 152:107–119 (2010) (“Bouvier-Nave”).
The references as applied to claim 27 do not expressly teach that the non-polar lipid comprises a modified level of the claimed sterol species relative to the corresponding wild-type vegetative plant part.
Bouvier-Nave teaches that sterol esters are a component of plant lipid metabolism and experimentally demonstrates altered sterol-ester levels in genetically modified Arabidopsis leaves relative to wild type. In particular, Bouvier-Nave reports that sterol-ester levels decreased in leaves of all mutant genotypes analyzed, demonstrating roles for ASAT1 and PSAT1 in leaf sterol acylation (Bouvier-Nave, pp. 107–110, Abstract; p.109, right col.; Fig. 2B at p.110). Bouvier-Nave further teaches that sterol esters constitute a storage pool of plant sterols (p.107, right col.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to obtain vegetative plant tissue according to the combined teachings of Koprowski, Andrianov, and Shanklin having a modified level of sterol ester relative to the corresponding wild-type tissue because Bouvier-Nave establishes that sterol-ester content is a known component of leaf lipid composition that is modified by alteration of plant lipid-metabolic pathways. Determining and obtaining such modified sterol-ester levels in the genetically modified high-lipid vegetative tissue would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Koprowski in view of Andrianov and Shanklin, as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Petrie et al. (US 9,127,288 B2; published as US 2011/0314725 A1, “Petrie”).
The references as applied to claim 27 do not expressly teach that TAG comprises at least 90% (w/w) of the non-polar lipid.
Petrie teaches that non-polar lipids include TAG, DAG, MAG, sterols, sterol esters, and wax esters and expressly teaches embodiments wherein at least 50%, preferably at least 70%, 80%, 90%, 91%, 92%, 93%, 94%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, or 99% of the fatty acids in the non-polar lipid are found as TAG (Petrie, col. 23, l.60–col.24, l.22). Petrie further teaches that such non-polar lipid may be present in or obtained from plant parts including leaves (col.24, ll.22–29).
Although Petrie expresses the percentages in terms of the fatty acids in the non-polar lipid that are found as TAG rather than expressly stating that TAG itself constitutes at least 90% by weight of the total non-polar lipid, Petrie clearly teaches progressively enriching plant non-polar lipid in TAG to very high levels, including embodiments in which 90–99% of the fatty acids of the non-polar lipid are present as TAG.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to produce the high-oil vegetative plant tissue resulting from the combined teachings of Koprowski, Andrianov, and Shanklin with TAG as the predominant non-polar storage lipid, including a TAG content of at least 90% (w/w) of the non-polar lipid, because Petrie teaches preferential enrichment of plant non-polar lipid in TAG to levels wherein 90–99% of its fatty acids are present as TAG. Determining the corresponding TAG proportion of the non-polar lipid and obtaining a highly TAG-enriched fraction would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771