DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 7-9, 10-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smeets, Bernard et al (PGPUB Document No. 20020118885), hereafter referred as to “Smeets”, in view of Bucciarelli, Todd (PGPUB Document No. 20200387995), hereafter, referred to as “Bucciarelli”, in view of Srinivasan, Venugopal et al (PGPUB Document No. 20140105448), hereafter, referred to as “Srinivasan”, in further view of Tighe, Rodgers et al (PGPUB Document No. 20090169001), hereafter, referred to as “Tighe”.
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Smeets teaches A method comprises: receiving, by a computing entity, a file retrieval request for a file, wherein the file includes a set of bit sequences(Smeets, para 0009 discloses method for retrieval of data represented by a set of symbols “The present invention is directed to a method and apparatus for the compression and retrieval of data representing a set of symbols”; where para 0036 further discloses that retrieval is related to sequences of bits “The sequence of bits output from the serializer is then encoded in step 63 where each symbol or glyph of the font is independently encoded with a code derived from the statistical model by either the arithmetic encoder 16 of FIG. 1 or the Huffman encoder 46 of FIG. 4 to provide the encoded codeword set representing the font. The encoded font is then stored in memory at step 64 for later retrieval…”); accessing, by the computing entity, an index table regarding the file, wherein the index table includes a plurality of images of symbols that correspond to a plurality of bit sequences(Smeets, para 0037 discloses symbols at an search index “the index tables are first searched in step 71 until the identifier for the encoded symbol is found. The address of the stored encoded symbol is then found using the identifier, step 72; and, finally, the codeword is retrieved and decoded, step 83, using the decoder of, for example”; where para 0036 further discloses index table having bit sequences “The sequence of bits output from the serializer is then encoded in step 63 where each …… As indicated above, the codewords are stored together with the index table and the length table”); and wherein a symbol of the plurality of images of symbols is representative of a bit sequence of a plurality of bit sequences(Smeets, para 0023 discloses symbols representing sequence of bits “The encoder of FIG. 1 is generally designated by reference number 10 and is composed of a plurality of modules. Initially, a two-dimensional bitmap 12 representing a symbol or glyph of a font, is converted to a sequence xn=x1, x2, . . . , xn of bits by a serialize module 14 by scanning the bitmap according to some specified rule”);
But Smeets does not explicitly teach graphically analyzing, by the computing entity, the plurality of images of symbols to identify a set of symbols associated with the set of bit sequences of the file request; sending, by the computing entity, a request including the set of symbols to a network device regarding the set of bit sequences; receiving, by the computing entity, the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols; reconstructing, by the computing entity, the file based on the set of bit sequences, wherein the bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into a portion of the file; and processing, by the computing entity, the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences.
However, in the same field of endeavor of symbol matching Bucciarelli teaches graphically analyzing, by the computing entity, the plurality of images of symbols to identify a set of symbols associated with the set of bit sequences of the file request (Bucciarelli, para 0072 discloses comparing symbol/image graphically for identification; which can similarly be applied for identifying a set of symbols associated to any content or bit sequences “match is determining if an image in a communication (e.g. MIMS) matches that of an image in the data structure/database that contains pre-defined text strings, images, audio clips and video clips of potential inappropriate or illegal content. Content analysis may incorporate image comparison, matrix comparison, raster comparison, pixel comparison…. service or computational model used to determine that an image is a close match to a defined or target content”; where Smeets in abstract discloses set of symbols and their association with bit sequesters),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of graphically analyzing symbol for identification of Bucciarelli into indexing bit sequencing with symbols of Smeets to produce an expected result of obtaining bit-sequences attached to symbol. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve system security by having traceability (Bucciarelli, para 0164),
But Smeets and Bucciarelli don’t explicitly teach sending, by the computing entity, a request including the set of symbols to a network device regarding the set of bit sequences; receiving, by the computing entity, the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols;
reconstructing, by the computing entity, the file based on the set of bit sequences, wherein the bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into a portion of the file; and processing, by the computing entity, the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences.
However, in the same field of endeavor of encoding/decoding symbols Srinivasan teaches sending, by the computing entity, a request including the set of symbols to a network device regarding the set of bit sequences(Srinivasan, para 0086 teaches sending symbols for symbol to bit conversion “extracts the number of symbols of a message after the synchronization symbol (block 1610). The message identifier sends the extracted symbols to the symbol-to-bit converter …”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of decrypting symbols to bit sequence of Srinivasan into indexing bit sequencing with symbols of Smeets and Bucciarelli to produce an expected result of decrypting the symbols. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to send symbol decoding request to a converter for decoding into bits for further utilization (Srinivasan, para 0086).
But Smeets, Bucciarelli and Srinivasan don’t explicitly teach receiving, by the computing entity, the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols; reconstructing, by the computing entity, the file based on the set of bit sequences, wherein the bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into a portion of the file; and processing, by the computing entity, the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences.
However, in the same field of endeavor of encoding/decoding data Tighe teaches receiving, by the computing entity, the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols(Tighe, para 0079 discloses receiving input for decrypting into bit sequencing “At step 316, decrypter 70 inputs the decrypted scramble key 62 into a transform function to determine the original order of segments 24 in bit sequence 14. Decrypter 70 may rearrange segments 24 into their original order”; where Smeets, para 0023 discloses symbols representing sequence of bits ); reconstructing, by the computing entity, the file based on the set of bit sequences(Tighe, para 0019 discloses by using index or map table encrypted/compressed bit sequences are getting re-constructed or decompressed “Characterization data 26 in a particular bit sequence 14 generally describes the compression of payload data in the particular bit sequence 14. Characterization data 26 may be an index, map, table, or other suitable information that decoder 80 may use to decompress the data in an encoded bit sequence 14 into a decompressed file format”),
Using the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art, examiner is interpreting the limitation “reconstructing, by the computing entity, the file based on the set of bit sequences” to mean decryption of decompression of bit sequence data.
wherein the bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into a portion of the file(Tighe, para 0033 discloses a portion a file (not meaningful as bit sequence by definition composed of binary digit zeros and ones ) can be reconstructed or converted/decoded to a meaningful/readable format “Decoder logic 56 generally comprises rules, algorithms, code, tables, and/or other suitable instructions for decoding one or more bit sequences 14.”); and processing, by the computing entity, the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences(Tighe, para 0019 discloses encrypted/compressed bit sequences are getting re-constructed or decompressed according to a song characteristics for becoming a meaningful information by mapping decompressed bit sequence to frequency band time domain of a song “if file 12 comprises a song, then characterization data 26 may map each segment 24 in bit sequence 14 to a respective frequency band and/or time domain of the song. Thus, system 10 may use characterization data 26 to reconstitute the particular file 12 in a decompressed format”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of reconstructing/decrypting bit sequence of Tighe into indexing bit sequencing with symbols of Smeets, Bucciarelli and Srinivasan to produce an expected result of decrypting the encrypted data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to transmit bit sequence data securely (Tighe, para 0010).
Claim 2 (Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 1 and Tighe further teaches wherein the file comprises one of: a data file; an application file; an operating system; and a driver (Tighe, para 0031 discloses encoding/decoding file or document “For a particular file 12, decoding may comprise decompressing bit sequence 14 into at least a portion of file 12 (e.g., image, song, document, etc.)” ).
Claim 3 (Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 1 and Smeets further teaches wherein the symbol comprises one or more of: a glyph; an alpha-numeric; and an image(Smeets, para 0012 discloses glyph as a symbol “the set of symbols comprises a font of individual symbols or glyphs”).
Claim 7(Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 1 and Tighe further teaches wherein the wherein the receiving a requested bit sequence further comprises one or more of: receiving one or more packets regarding the bit sequence(Tighe, para 018 packets of bit sequences which are to be sent/received as a part of the encrypting/decrypting process “each bit sequence 14 corresponds to at least a portion of file 12. Encoder 30 may package a particular bit sequence 14 as a Real-Time Protocol (RTP) packet” ); and receiving one or more frames regarding the bit sequence (Tighe, para 0055 discloses encoding bit sequence frame which is to be sent/received as a part of the encrypting/decrypting process “an image bit sequence 14 may comprise a frame layer, a scan layer, a segment layer, and a block layer. In the example described above, encrypter 40 encrypts characterization data 26 in the segment layer. In other embodiments, encrypter 40 may encrypt one or more scan headers in the scan layer. In yet other embodiments, encrypter 40 may encrypt one or more headers in the frame and/or block layers” ).
Claim 8(Previously Presented), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 1 and Tighe further teaches wherein the reconstructing the file further comprises: decompressing the bit sequence to recover the portion of the file(Tighe, element 320-322 of Fig. 4 and para 0019 disclose decompressing bit sequences to recover/display to user “Thus, system 10 may use characterization data 26 to reconstitute the particular file 12 in a decompressed format”).
Claim 9 (Previously Presented), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 1 and Tighe further teaches wherein the reconstructing the file further comprises: decrypting the bit sequence to recover the portion of the file(Tighe, para 0026 discloses decrypting bit sequences “network 60 may be communicatively coupled to decrypter 70. Decrypter 70 is generally operable to decrypt at least a portion of encrypted bit sequence 32”).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Smeets teaches A non-transitory computer readable memory comprises: a first memory section that stores operational instructions that, when executed by a computing entity, causes the computing entity to(Smeets, para 0009 discloses an apparatus/system for compressing and retrieval of data represented by symbols ): receive a file retrieval request for a file, wherein the file includes a set of bit sequences(Smeets, para 0009 discloses method for retrieval of data represented by a set of symbols “The present invention is directed to a method and apparatus for the compression and retrieval of data representing a set of symbols”; where para 0036 further discloses that retrieval is related to sequences of bits “The sequence of bits output from the serializer is then encoded in step 63 where each symbol or glyph of the font is independently encoded with a code derived from the statistical model by either the arithmetic encoder 16 of FIG. 1 or the Huffman encoder 46 of FIG. 4 to provide the encoded codeword set representing the font. The encoded font is then stored in memory at step 64 for later retrieval…”);
access an index table regarding the file, wherein the index table includes a plurality of images of symbols that correspond to a plurality of bit sequences(Smeets, para 0037 discloses symbols at an search index “the index tables are first searched in step 71 until the identifier for the encoded symbol is found. The address of the stored encoded symbol is then found using the identifier, step 72; and, finally, the codeword is retrieved and decoded, step 83, using the decoder of, for example”; where para 0036 further discloses index table having bit sequences “The sequence of bits output from the serializer is then encoded in step 63 where each …… As indicated above, the codewords are stored together with the index table and the length table”); and wherein a symbol of the plurality of images of symbols is representative of a bit sequence of a plurality of bit sequences(Smeets, para 0023 discloses symbols representing sequence of bits “The encoder of FIG. 1 is generally designated by reference number 10 and is composed of a plurality of modules. Initially, a two-dimensional bitmap 12 representing a symbol or glyph of a font, is converted to a sequence xn=x1, x2, . . . , xn of bits by a serialize module 14 by scanning the bitmap according to some specified rule”);
But Smeets does not explicitly teach graphically analyzing the plurality of images of symbols to identify a set of symbols associated with the set of bit sequences of the file request, and a second memory section that stores operational instructions that, when executed by the computing entity, causes the computing entity to: send a request including the set of symbols to a network device regarding the set of bit sequences; receive the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols; reconstruct the file based on the set of bit sequences, wherein the set of bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into the portion of the file; and process the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences.
However, in the same field of endeavor of symbol matching Bucciarelli teaches graphically analyzing the plurality of images of symbols to identify a set of symbols associated with the set of bit sequences of the file request (Bucciarelli, para 0072 discloses comparing symbol/image graphically for identification; which can similarly be applied for identifying a set of symbols associated to any content or bit sequences “match is determining if an image in a communication (e.g. MIMS) matches that of an image in the data structure/database that contains pre-defined text strings, images, audio clips and video clips of potential inappropriate or illegal content. Content analysis may incorporate image comparison, matrix comparison, raster comparison, pixel comparison…. service or computational model used to determine that an image is a close match to a defined or target content”; where Smeets in abstract discloses set of symbols and their association with bit sequesters),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of graphically analyzing symbol for identification of Bucciarelli into indexing bit sequencing with symbols of Smeets to produce an expected result of obtaining bit-sequences attached to symbol. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve system security by having traceability (Bucciarelli, para 0164),
But Smeets and Bucciarelli don’t explicitly teach and a second memory section that stores operational instructions that, when executed by the computing entity, causes the computing entity to: send a request including the set of symbols to a network device regarding the set of bit sequences; receive the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols; reconstruct the file based on the set of bit sequences, wherein the set of bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into the portion of the file; and process the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences.
However, in the same field of endeavor of encoding/decoding symbols Srinivasan teaches and a second memory section that stores operational instructions that, when executed by the computing entity, causes the computing entity to: send a request including the set of symbols to a network device regarding the set of bit sequences(Srinivasan, para 0086 teaches sending symbols for symbol to bit conversion “extracts the number of symbols of a message after the synchronization symbol (block 1610). The message identifier sends the extracted symbols to the symbol-to-bit converter …”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of decrypting symbols to bit sequence of Srinivasan into indexing bit sequencing with symbols of Smeets and Bucciarelli to produce an expected result of decrypting the symbols. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to send symbol decoding request to a converter for decoding into bits for further utilization (Srinivasan, para 0086).
But Smeets, Bucciarelli and Srinivasan don’t explicitly teach receive the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols; reconstruct the file based on the set of bit sequences, wherein the set of bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into the portion of the file; and process the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences.
However, in the same field of endeavor of encoding/decoding data Tighe teaches receive the set of bit sequences based on the set of symbols (Tighe, para 0079 discloses receiving input for decrypting into bit sequencing “At step 316, decrypter 70 inputs the decrypted scramble key 62 into a transform function to determine the original order of segments 24 in bit sequence 14. Decrypter 70 may rearrange segments 24 into their original order”; where Smeets, para 0023 discloses symbols representing sequence of bits ); reconstruct the file based on the set of bit sequences(Tighe, para 0019 discloses by using index or map table encrypted/compressed bit sequences are getting re-constructed or decompressed “Characterization data 26 in a particular bit sequence 14 generally describes the compression of payload data in the particular bit sequence 14. Characterization data 26 may be an index, map, table, or other suitable information that decoder 80 may use to decompress the data in an encoded bit sequence 14 into a decompressed file format”),
Using the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art, examiner is interpreting the limitation “reconstruct the file based on the set of bit sequences” to mean decryption of decompression of bit sequence data.
wherein the set of bit sequence includes a series of digital ones and zeros, and wherein the bit sequence has no meaning until reconstructed into the portion of the file (Tighe, para 0033 discloses a portion a file (not meaningful as bit sequence by definition composed of binary digit zeros and ones ) can be reconstructed or converted/decoded to a meaningful/readable format “Decoder logic 56 generally comprises rules, algorithms, code, tables, and/or other suitable instructions for decoding one or more bit sequences 14.”); and process the reconstructed file in accordance with a user application and an operating system to ascribe meaningful information to the set of bit sequences (Tighe, para 0019 discloses encrypted/compressed bit sequences are getting re-constructed or decompressed according to a song characteristics for becoming a meaningful information by mapping decompressed bit sequence to frequency band time domain of a song “if file 12 comprises a song, then characterization data 26 may map each segment 24 in bit sequence 14 to a respective frequency band and/or time domain of the song. Thus, system 10 may use characterization data 26 to reconstitute the particular file 12 in a decompressed format”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of reconstructing/decrypting bit sequence of Tighe into indexing bit sequencing with symbols of Smeets, Bucciarelli and Srinivasan to produce an expected result of decrypting the encrypted data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to transmit bit sequence data securely (Tighe, para 0010).
Claim 11(Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 10 and Tighe further teaches wherein the wherein the file comprises one of: a data file; an application file; an operating system; and a driver (Tighe, para 0031 discloses encoding/decoding file or document “For a particular file 12, decoding may comprise decompressing bit sequence 14 into at least a portion of file 12 (e.g., image, song, document, etc.)” ).
Claim 12(Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 10 and Smeets further teaches wherein the symbol comprises one or more of: a glyph; an alpha-numeric; and an image (Smeets, para 0012 discloses glyph as a symbol “the set of symbols comprises a font of individual symbols or glyphs”).
Claim 16 (Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 10 and Tighe further teaches wherein the wherein the second memory section further stores operational instructions that, when executed by the computing entity, causes the computing entity to the receive the requested bit sequence by one or more of: receiving one or more packets regarding the bit sequence (Tighe, para 018 packets of bit sequences which are to be sent/received as a part of the encrypting/decrypting process “each bit sequence 14 corresponds to at least a portion of file 12. Encoder 30 may package a particular bit sequence 14 as a Real-Time Protocol (RTP) packet” ); and receiving one or more frames regarding the bit sequence (Tighe, para 0055 discloses encoding bit sequence frame which is to be sent/received as a part of the encrypting/decrypting process “an image bit sequence 14 may comprise a frame layer, a scan layer, a segment layer, and a block layer. In the example described above, encrypter 40 encrypts characterization data 26 in the segment layer. In other embodiments, encrypter 40 may encrypt one or more scan headers in the scan layer. In yet other embodiments, encrypter 40 may encrypt one or more headers in the frame and/or block layers” ).
Claim 17(Previously Presented), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 10 and Tighe further teaches wherein the second memory section further stores operational instructions that, when executed by the computing entity, causes the computing entity to reconstruct the file further by: decompressing the bit sequence to recover a portion of the file (Tighe, element 320-322 of Fig. 4 and para 0019 disclose decompressing bit sequences to recover/display to user “Thus, system 10 may use characterization data 26 to reconstitute the particular file 12 in a decompressed format”).
Claim 18(Currently Amended), Smeets, Bucciarelli and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 10 and Tighe further teaches wherein the second memory section further stores operational instructions that, when executed by the computing entity, causes the computing entity to reconstruct the file further by: decrypting the bit sequence to recover a portion of the file (Tighe, para 0026 discloses decrypting bit sequences “network 60 may be communicatively coupled to decrypter 70. Decrypter 70 is generally operable to decrypt at least a portion of encrypted bit sequence 32”).
Claim 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smeets, Bernard et al (PGPUB Document No. 20020118885), hereafter referred as to “Smeets”, in view of Bucciarelli, Todd (PGPUB Document No. 20200387995), hereafter, referred to as “Bucciarelli”, in view of Srinivasan, Venugopal et al (PGPUB Document No. 20140105448), hereafter, referred to as “Srinivasan”, in view of Tighe, Rodgers et al (PGPUB Document No. 20090169001), hereafter, referred to as “Tighe”, in further view of Ko, Hyunsoo et al (PGPUB Document No. 20200154376), hereafter, referred to as “Ko”.
Claim 4(Previously Presented), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 3 and Bucciarelli further teaches wherein the graphically analyzing the image of the symbol to identify the symbol further comprises: graphically analyzing the symbol to identify the bit sequence(Bucciarelli, para 0072 discloses comparing symbol/image graphically for identification “match is determining if an image in a communication (e.g. MIMS) matches that of an image in the data structure/database that contains pre-defined text strings, images, audio clips and video clips of potential inappropriate or illegal content. Content analysis may incorporate image comparison, matrix comparison, raster comparison, pixel comparison…. service or computational model used to determine that an image is a close match to a defined or target content” ; further Smeets, para 0037 discloses index is being searched by symbols for codeword(bit sequence):
But Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe don’t explicitly teach wherein a data size of the symbol is less than a data size of the bit sequence.
However, in the same area of endeavor of bit sequence transmission Ko teaches wherein a data size of the symbol is less than a data size of the bit sequence(Ko, para 0188 discloses bit sequence is larger in size than its representative coded bits(symbol) “A bit stream including PBCH contents and a CRC is encoded by using a Polar code, resulting in coded bits of length 512. The coded bits are shorter than the scrambling sequence”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of having larger bit sequences to be coded with shorter bits of Ko into encrypting/decrypting bit sequence of Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe to produce an expected result of efficient transmission of data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to shorten the transmission time (Ko, para 0265).
Claim 13(Currently Amended), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 12 and Bucciarelli further teaches wherein the first memory section further stores operational instructions that, when executed by the computing entity, causes the computing entity to graphically analyze the image of the symbol to identify the symbol graphically analyze the symbol to identify the bit sequence(Bucciarelli, para 0072 discloses comparing symbol/image graphically for identification “match is determining if an image in a communication (e.g. MIMS) matches that of an image in the data structure/database that contains pre-defined text strings, images, audio clips and video clips of potential inappropriate or illegal content. Content analysis may incorporate image comparison, matrix comparison, raster comparison, pixel comparison…. service or computational model used to determine that an image is a close match to a defined or target content” ; further Smeets, para 0037 discloses index is being searched by symbols for codeword(bit sequence):
But Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe don’t explicitly wherein a data size of the symbol is less than a data size of the bit sequence.
However, in the same area of endeavor of bit sequence transmission Ko teaches wherein a data size of the symbol is less than a data size of the bit sequence (Ko, para 0188 discloses bit sequence is larger in size than its representative coded bits(symbol) “A bit stream including PBCH contents and a CRC is encoded by using a Polar code, resulting in coded bits of length 512. The coded bits are shorter than the scrambling sequence”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of having larger bit sequences to be coded with shorter bits of Ko into encrypting/decrypting bit sequence of Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe to produce an expected result of efficient transmission of data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to shorten the transmission time (Ko, para 0265).
Claim 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smeets, Bernard et al (PGPUB Document No. 20020118885), hereafter referred as to “Smeets”, in view of Bucciarelli, Todd (PGPUB Document No. 20200387995), hereafter, referred to as “Bucciarelli”, in view of Srinivasan, Venugopal et al (PGPUB Document No. 20140105448), hereafter, referred to as “Srinivasan”, in view of Tighe, Rodgers et al (PGPUB Document No. 20090169001), hereafter, referred to as “Tighe”, in further view of Das, Debendra et al (PGPUB Document No. 20090169001), hereafter, referred to as “Das”.
Claim 5(Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 1 and but don’t explicitly teach wherein the plurality of bit sequences comprises: an ordered sub-set of bit sequences of one or more collections of bit sequences.
However, in the same area of endeavor of bit sequence transmission Das teaches wherein the plurality of bit sequences comprises: an ordered sub-set of bit sequences of one or more collections of bit sequences (Das, para 0207 discloses transmitting bit sequences in ordered set “the physical layer packet including a first bit sequence corresponding to a first ordered set, and a second bit sequence corresponding to a second ordered set, the first bit sequence immediately adjacent to the second bit sequence”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of transmitting order set bit sequence of Das into encrypting/decrypting bit sequence of Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe to produce an expected result of transmitting error free data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have an option to check data errors easily (Das, abstract).
Claim 6(Original), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan, Tighe and Das teach all the limitations of claim 5 and Tighe further teaches further comprises: the one or more collections of bit sequences residing in a network that includes the network device (Tighe, para 0022 discloses bit sequences can be stored in encrypter “In some embodiments, encrypter memory 34 may store encrypted bit sequence 32 and encrypter logic 38”; para 0021 further discloses encryptor is a part of network router “In some embodiments, encrypter 40 is part of router 50. In other embodiments, encrypter 40 and/or encoder 30 are part of client 20”).
Claim 14(Currently Amended), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe teach all the limitations of claim 10 and but don’t explicitly teach wherein the plurality of bit sequences comprises: an ordered sub-set of bit sequences of one or more collections of bit sequences.
However, in the same area of endeavor of bit sequence transmission Das teaches wherein the plurality of bit sequences comprises: an ordered sub-set of bit sequences of one or more collections of bit sequences (Das, para 0207 discloses transmitting bit sequences in ordered set “the physical layer packet including a first bit sequence corresponding to a first ordered set, and a second bit sequence corresponding to a second ordered set, the first bit sequence immediately adjacent to the second bit sequence”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of transmitting order set bit sequence of Das into encrypting/decrypting bit sequence of Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan and Tighe to produce an expected result of transmitting error free data. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have an option to check data errors easily (Das, abstract).
Claim 15(Currently Amended), Smeets, Bucciarelli, Srinivasan, Tighe and Das teach all the limitations of claim 14 and Tighe further teaches further comprises: the one or more collections of bit sequences residing in a network that includes the network device (Tighe, para 0022 discloses bit sequences can be stored in encrypter “In some embodiments, encrypter memory 34 may store encrypted bit sequence 32 and encrypter logic 38”; para 0021 further discloses encryptor is a part of network router “In some embodiments, encrypter 40 is part of router 50. In other embodiments, encrypter 40 and/or encoder 30 are part of client 20”).
Response to Arguments
I. 35 U.S.C §101
The 101 non-statutory subject matter rejection to claim 10-18 has been withdrawn in response to amendments to claims.
II. 35 U.S.C §103
No addressable arguments were presented in REMARKS filed on 1/09/2026 and accordingly updated prior art rejection to claim 1-18 have been presented in the 35 U.S.C §103 rejection section of this office action.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH A DAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2164 /AMY NG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164