Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification (MPEP 608.01, ¶6.31).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 10, and 19 recite “each confidence measure based upon…”. The examiner recommends amending this to “wherein each confidence measure is based upon…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
First functional module, second functional module, third functional module, and EPD module
Functional modules are considered to be part of a processor, microprocessor, microcontroller, DSP, ASIC, FPGA or discrete circuitry, as shown in Fig 1 and paragraph 0050.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The applicant’s amendment integrates the abstract idea into a practical application by actively controlling a vehicle actuator, and thus the 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-10, 12, 15-19, 21, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arar (US20210182625A1) in view of Ahuja (US20200326667A1) and Malas (US20200074339A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arar teaches;
A driver monitoring method (taught as a distraction state network to estimate the distraction level of a vehicle driver, paragraph 0031) comprising:
performing data processing operations using multiple functional modules (shown in Fig 2, where data is passed through multiple modules including a facial landmark network, 220, and subsequently a drowsiness model, 250; wherein any number of network/models may be used, paragraph 0020) to process input data from one or more types of driver sensors (taught as receiving sensor data from one or more sensors, paragraph 0041, for example, cameras to monitor the state of the driver, paragraph 0053), estimate one or more driver characteristics based on the one or more types of driver sensors (taught as estimating states of a driver, such as drowsiness, paragraph 0028, cognitive load, paragraph 0030, and distraction, paragraph 0031), and operate one or more vehicle actuators to perform one or more vehicle actions based on the one or more estimated driver characteristics (taught as, upon determination of a distracted state, initiating operations such as an auto-pilot initiation, braking or turning operations or other actions, paragraph 0033) , each functional module configured to perform one or more data processing operations in order to process input data and generate output data (shown in Fig 2, where data is passed through multiple modules including a facial landmark network, 220, paragraph 0023, and subsequently a distraction/drowsiness model, 250, paragraph 0025); and
for [[each]] functional module, generating a confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the functional module (taught as, the models outputting a confidence score for facial landmarks, paragraph 0024, and using confidence values as inputs for drowsiness, paragraph 0028, and distraction, paragraph 0031; while this does not explicitly teach that each functional module performs a confidence scoring, at least a multiple number of them do, as any number of networks/models may be used in landmark detection, paragraph 0020),
wherein at least two of the functional modules are configured to operate logically sequentially (shown in Fig 2, where data is passed through multiple modules including a facial landmark network, 220, and subsequently a drowsiness model, 250) such that
a first of the functional modules provides the output data generated by the first functional module to a second of the functional modules (shown in Fig 2, where data is passed through multiple modules including a facial landmark network, 220, and subsequently a drowsiness model, 250, demonstrating a sequential process) and
wherein the multiple functional modules comprise heterogeneous functional modules configured to generate different types of output data of different dimensionalities (taught one network outputting two-dimensional positions of features of the subject’s face, paragraph 0025, and another network outputting a drowsiness state, such as a binary value, paragraph 0028; these indicate different dimensionalities where one is a 2d vector/matrix, plus confidence values, and another is a binary yes no, or a 1d output).
However, Arar does not explicitly teach; for each functional module, generating a confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the functional module each confidence measure based upon entropy of predictive distribution (EPD) values;
the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the second functional module is based at least partially on the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the first functional module;
and each confidence measure is determined as a scalar EPD value independent of a scale of variables of a predictive distribution associated with the corresponding functional module (emphasis added).
Ahuja teaches; for each functional module, generating a confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the functional module (taught as UE blocks being configured to calculate uncertainty estimates with respect to [each of] the sensors, paragraph 0027), each confidence measure based upon entropy of predictive distribution (EPD) values (taught as determining uncertainty estimates using predictive entropy, H(y*|x*, D), paragraphs 0123-0124);
and each confidence measure is determined as a scalar EPD value independent of a scale of variables of a predictive distribution associated with the corresponding functional module (indicated in the calculation of entropy, where the predictive entropy in equation 8 depends on probabilities and total number of output classes, neither of which should change from scale).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the entropy calculation as a measure of uncertainty/confidence as taught by Ahuja in the system taught by Arar in order to improve determination of uncertainty. As suggested by Ahuja, such a use of Entropy allows for capturing a combination of aleatoric and epistemic uncertainty in a single term (paragraph 0124, equation 8).
However, Ahuja does not explicitly teach; the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the second functional module is based at least partially on the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the first functional module.
Malas teaches; the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the second functional module is based at least partially on the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the first functional module (taught as determining respective information loss due to each link within a Markov chain [module, layers], paragraph 0083, being represented by entropy in equations 10a-10c)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure entropy is propagated in a system as suggested by Malas in the system taught by Arar in order to better account for uncertainty. As taught by Malas, the propagating effects of carious sources of uncertainty/entropy degrade the mutual information between the input and the output (paragraph 0039). Thus, it is important, from an information theory standpoint, to understand the loss of mutual information available between components in a systems level model to better account to information loss.
Regarding claim 3, Arar as modified by Ahuja and Malas teaches;
The method of Claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Arar does not explicitly teach; wherein the predictive distributions associated with the functional modules comprise at least one [examiner interprets this to indicate that only one of the following need be met] of:
a predictive precision modeled using a univariate Gaussian distribution;
a predictive precision modeled using a multivariate Gaussian distribution; and
a predictive precision based on uncertainties associated with a machine learning model's parameters and uncertainties due to distributional mismatches between datasets associated with the machine learning model.
Ahuja teaches; a predictive precision modeled using a univariate Gaussian distribution (taught as modeling layers within the multimodal fusion network with Gaussian distributions at each layer of the architecture, paragraph 0039, e.g. a Gaussian mixture model, paragraph 0062)
a predictive precision modeled using a multivariate Gaussian distribution (taught as implementing multivariate Gaussian models, paragraph 0062).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Gaussian models as taught by Ahuja in the system taught by Arar in order to improve modeling in a neural net architecture. As taught by Ahuja, using multivariate Gaussian models is advantageous as the features of hidden layers close to an output layer tend to be well represented by simpler Gaussian models, while features of hidden layers close to the input layer benefit from more precise modeling, for which Gaussian mixture models are a good fit (paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 6, Arar as modified by Ahuja and Malas teaches;
The method of Claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection), wherein:
a third of the functional modules provides the output data generated by the third functional module to the second functional module (exemplified in Fig 2, with a facial detection module, a facial landmark network module, a gaze/head pose/drowsiness model, and a visualizer module in sequence. Furthermore, ant number of machine learning models or networks [modules] may be used that determine output quantities from landmark and confidence value inputs, paragraph 0020).
However, Arar does not explicitly teach; the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the second functional module is based at least partially on (i) the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the first functional module and (ii) the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the third functional module.
Malas teaches; the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the second functional module is based at least partially on (i) the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the first functional module and (ii) the confidence measure associated with the output data generated by the third functional module (taught as determining respective information loss due to each link within a Markov chain [module, layers], paragraph 0083, being represented by entropy in equations 10a-10c; this propagation of entropy would include previous layers).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure entropy is propagated in a system as suggested by Malas in the system taught by Arar in order to better account for uncertainty. As taught by Malas, the propagating effects of carious sources of uncertainty/entropy degrade the mutual information between the input and the output (paragraph 0039). Thus, it is important, from an information theory standpoint, to understand the loss of mutual information available between components in a systems level model to better account to information loss.
Regarding claim 7, Arar as modified by Ahuja and Malas teaches;
The method of Claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Arar does not explicitly teach; of wherein each functional module includes or is associated with an EPD module.
Ahuja teaches; wherein each functional module includes or is associated with an EPD module (taught as calculating the layer/module computes predictive entropy, paragraph 0124, and further suggests several uncertainty detection modules, 112 and 114 separate from UE modules).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the entropy calculation as a part of a module to be used as a measure of uncertainty/confidence as taught by Ahuja in the system taught by Arar in order to improve determination of uncertainty. As suggested by Ahuja, such a use of Entropy allows for capturing a combination of aleatoric and epistemic uncertainty in a single term (paragraph 0124, equation 8).
Regarding claim 8, Arar as modified by Ahuja and Malas teaches;
The method of Claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection), wherein the one or more estimated driver characteristics comprise at least one [examiner interprets this to indicate that only one of the following need be met] of driver eyelid position, and a driver gaze direction (taught as the camera capturing images of the eyes of the user, and computing gaze direction, paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 9, Arar as modified by Ahuja and Malas teaches;
The method of Claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Arar further teaches; wherein the heterogeneous functional modules comprise (i) at least one functional module configured to capture images of one or more scenes (taught as a face detection [with input camera data that captures images, paragraph 0021], shown in Fig 2) and (ii) at least one functional module configured to process the images of the one or more scenes (taught as a face detection [with input camera data, paragraph 0021] and facial landmark network 220 [which processes the image to identify facial landmarks, paragraph 0023], shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claims 10, 12, 15-19, 21, and 24-27, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claims 1, 3, and 6-9. Therefore, claims 10, 12, 15-19, 21, and 24-27 are rejected under the same rationales as claims 1, 3, and 6-9, wherein;
Claims 10 and 19 correspond to claim 1,
Claims 12 and 21 correspond to claim 3,
Claims 15 and 24 correspond to claim 6,
Claims 16 and 25 correspond to claim 7,
Claims 17 and 26 correspond to claim 8, and
Claims 18 and 27 correspond to claim 9.
Claim(s) 4-5, 13-14, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arar (US20210182625A1)as modified by Ahuja (US20200326667A1) and Malas (US20200074339A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Cili (US20200053108A1).
Regarding claim 4, Arar as modified by Ahja and Malas teaches;
The method of Claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Arar does not explicitly teach; wherein the EPD value associated with the output data generated by the second functional module is determined as a conditional entropy, the conditional entropy based on (i) the EPD value associated with the output data generated by the first functional module and (ii) a joint entropy.
Cili teaches; wherein the EPD value associated with the output data generated by the second functional module is determined as a conditional entropy, the conditional entropy based on (i) the EPD value associated with the output data generated by the first functional module and (ii) a joint entropy (taught as determining relationships for various information measures with correlated variables, including a joint entropy and a conditional entropy, paragraph 0047).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement joint and conditional entropy considerations into a score as suggested by Cili in the system taught by Arar in order to improve certainty determinations. Such methods, as suggested by Cili, allow for determining mutual information between variables and determine importance of features (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 5, Arar as modified by Ahuja, Malas, and Cili teaches;
The method of Claim 4 (see claim 4 rejection). However, Arar does not explicitly teach; wherein the joint entropy is based on a joint probability associated with multiple discrete variables.
Cili teaches; wherein the joint entropy is based on a joint probability associated with multiple discrete variables (taught as a joint entropy being dependent on variables X and Y, paragraph 0047).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement joint and conditional entropy considerations into a score as suggested by Cili in the system taught by Patel in order to improve certainty determinations. Such methods, as suggested by Cili, allow for determining mutual information between variables and determine importance of features (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claims 13-14 and 22-23, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claims 4-5. Therefore, claims 13-14 and 22-23 are rejected under the same rationales as claims 4-5, where
Claims 13 and 22 correspond to claim 4, and
Claims 14 and 23 correspond to claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on pages 14-16 of the remarks that the claims re directed to eligible subject matter.
The examiner agrees, and withdraws the previous 101 rejection.
Applicant argues on pages 17-20 that the recited prior art does not sufficiently address the amended claim material.
The examiner agrees. However, a new rejection of the independent claims is made above, replacing the previously recited prior art with Arar, Ahuja, and Malas, which rectify the deficiencies identified in the arguments and the amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For further calculations of confidence in a model, pertaining to the independent claims; US20210319340A1
For further invocations of joint entropy, pertaining to claims 4-5, 13-14, and 22-23; US20130268465A1 and US20230229537A1
For detection of eyelids specifically in determining a driver characteristic, pertaining to, for example, claim 8; Bade US20200156649A1
/GABRIEL ANFINRUD/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662