DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US PGPub 2019/0189521, hereinafter referred to as “Li”).
Li discloses the semiconductor method as claimed. See figures 20 and corresponding text, where Li teaches, in claim 1, a semiconductor device comprising:
a shallow trench isolation (STI) region (111) substrate contact located above a substrate (110); (figures 2 and 20; [0041-0043], [0100-0103]) a first epitaxy region (250) located on the substrate and at a bottom of the STI region substrate contact, and connecting the substrate and the substrate contact; and
a substrate contact (160) partially filling the STI region and in direct contact with the epitaxy region a second epitaxy region located below and in contact with a source/drain gate contact (figure 20; [0100-0103]) (See examiner’s interpretation below) .
.
Li teaches, in claim 2, wherein the first epitaxy region is grown on a well implant having a same type as the first epitaxy region ([0102-0103]).
Li teaches, in claim 3, wherein the first epitaxy region is selected from the group consisting of an n-type epitaxial region and a p-type epitaxial region ([0102-0103]).
Li teaches, in claim 4, further comprising: at least one additional contact, wherein the substrate contact and the at least one additional source/drain gate contact include a same metallic material ([0102-0103]).
Li teaches, in claim 5, a stacked field effect transistor (FET) device comprising: a shallow trench isolation (STI) region substrate contact located above a substrate; two types of epitaxy regions, wherein a first one of the two types of epitaxy region is located at a bottom of the STI region substrate contact, and connecting the substrate and the substrate contact; and a first substrate contact partially filling the STI region and in direct contact with the one type of epitaxy region located at the bottom of the STI region a second epitaxy region located below and in contact with a source/drain gate contact, wherein the first epitaxy region and the second epitaxy region are not within a same horizontal plane of the device ([0102-0103]).
Li teaches, in claim 6, wherein the one of the two types of first epitaxy region is located on a same type of a well implant ([0102-0103]).
Li teaches, in claim 7, wherein the first epitaxy region is selected from a group consisting of an n-type epitaxial region and a p-type epitaxial region ([0102-0103]).
Li teaches, in claim 8, further comprising: at least one additional source/drain gate contact, wherein the first substrate contact the source/drain gate contact and the at least one additional source/drain gate contact include a same metallic material ([0102-0103]).
Li teaches, in claim 21, further comprising: at least one additional source/drain gate contact, wherein the substrate contact, the source/drain gate contact and the at least one additional source/drain gate contact include a same metallic material ([0102-0103]).
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 January 7, 2026