DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment dated 4/17/2026 has been considered and entered into the record. Claim 25 has been amended to overcome its objection. New claims 26–30 have been added. Pending claims 1, 2, 7–9, 13–17, and 21–30 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7–9, 13–17, and 21–25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (US 2005/0084674 A1) in view of Bymark (WO 97/13589 A1).
Duncan teaches a metal wire product for rebar tying applications, where in the wire comprises an inner wire portion 210 and a coating layer 220 arranged on an outward facing surface of the wire. Duncan abstract, ¶ 17, Fig.2. The coated layer may comprise high density polyethylene (HDPE), hot melt adhesive, and may further comprise a coloring agent. Id. ¶¶ 5, 6, 8, 20, 29. The hot melt adhesive serves to bond the coating layer to the surface of the wire. Id. ¶ 29.
Duncan fails to teach the use of a bonding agent comprising a reactive adhesive.
Bymark teaches an epoxy composition comprising dispersed adhesive promoters to enhance adhesion to polyethylene and multi-layer composite coating systems useful for corrosion prevention to metal substrates such as reinforcing bars. Bymark abstract, 1:4–7 The dispersed adhesive promoter of the epoxy composition may comprise maleated-anhydride polyethylene. Id. at 3:10–12, 29–31. As such, the epoxy composition of Bymark may comprise an epoxy resin, an anhydride-modified polyethylene, and a polyethylene resin. Id. at 3:14–18.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the HDPE coating layer of Duncan with the epoxy composition of Bymark to further prevent corrosion on the metal wire product.
Claims 21–24 are rejected as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a high-density polyethylene as the dispersed adhesive promoter in Bymark as it would be compositionally similar to the HDPE used in Duncan thereby further enhancing the adhesion between the epoxy and HDPE. See Bymark at 4:15–23.
Claim(s) 1, 13, 21, and 26–30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan (US 2005/0084674 A1) in view of Romick (US 2017/0183506 A1).
Duncan teaches a metal wire product for rebar tying applications, where in the wire comprises an inner wire portion 210 and a coating layer 220 arranged on an outward facing surface of the wire. Duncan abstract, ¶ 17, Fig.2. The coated layer may comprise high density polyethylene (HDPE), hot melt adhesive, and may further comprise a coloring agent. Id. ¶¶ 5, 6, 8, 20, 29. The hot melt adhesive serves to bond the coating layer to the surface of the wire. Id. ¶ 29.
Duncan fails to teach the use of a bonding agent comprising a reactive adhesive, such as anhydride-modified HDPE.
Romick teaches the formation of a protective coating for a variety of end use applications including reinforcing bars. Romick abstract, ¶ 99. The protective coating comprises non-functionalized HDPE and a polymeric performance improving agent, such as maleic anhydride-functionalized HDPE. Id. ¶¶ 45–47, 59–63.
The ordinarily skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have added the maleic anhydride-functionalized HDPE as a polymeric performance improving agent to the HDPE coating of Duncan motivated by the desire to simultaneously provide particular performance characteristics, such as particular appearance properties and particular mechanical and chemical resistance properties for a coated article. See Romick ¶ 59.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify Duncan with the teachings of Bymark. In particular, Applicant contends that because Duncan uses a single protective polymer layer, it would not have been obvious to have modified the tie wire of Duncan with an intermediary layer, such as the epoxy resin/maleated-anhydride PE layer of Bymark. This argument is unpersuasive as the intermediary layer of Bymark is specifically designed to improve the adhesion of polyethylene layers to metal, such as those in Duncan. Accordingly, the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two teachings to arrive at a tie wire with protective coating that better adheres to the underlying metal wire.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786