DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action has been changed in response to the amendment filed on 7/21/2025.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 have been amended. Claims 7-11 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zee et al. (US-2019/0014515 hereinafter, Zee) in view of Park et al. (US-2021/0092725 hereinafter, Park) and Han et al. US-2020/0120547 hereinafter, Han).
Regarding claim 1, Zee teaches a communication control method (Pages 11-12 [0188]) comprising:
broadcasting, by a base station (Fig. 10 [12, 13 or 14]), system information (Fig. 10 [1001]) including a cell identifier allocated to a cell (Page 12 [0194] “Cell-IDs”) and a network slice identification information identifying a network slice supported by the cell; (Page 12 [0190, 0191 & 0194] “the message may be a System Information Block (SIB), which SIB comprises an indication of network slices supported by the RAN node 12, 13, 14. This indication may be a slice ID. The SIB may further comprise an indication of the networks supported by the RAN node 12, 13, 14, such as a PLMN-ID”, “the message may comprise a list of identifiers indicating which cells are supporting the first network slice. The identifiers are identifiers which are also broadcasted to the wireless device 10 from a RAN node 12, 13, 14. The identifiers may e.g. be identifiers comprised in a system information message, such as a SIB, broadcasted to the wireless device 10” and “Cell-ID list may be referred to as a slice supported Cell-ID List”) and
selecting, by a user equipment (Fig. 10 [10]), based on the system information, the cell supporting a predetermined network slice as a serving cell of the user equipment. (Fig. 12 [1203], Page 12 [0199-0204] and Pages 11-12 [0188] “In the embodiments herein, being associated with shall be interpreted as somehow being related to, this may e.g. be the wireless device 10 camping on or being connected to a cell which has support for the network and the network slice”)
Zee differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting the system information includes a cell identifier allocated to a cell belonging to an NPN (Non-Public Network) and frequency information indicating a frequency associated with the network slice identification information, wherein the user equipment includes an AS (Access Stratum) and a NAS (Non-Access Stratum) which is an upper layer of the AS.
In an analogous art, Park teaches a method and system for providing configuration information to wireless devices for access to base stations (Abstract) that includes broadcasting configuration parameters (Page 5 [0206]) that include cell identifiers linked to non-public networks (NPNs) (Page 18 [0312] and Page 19 [0319-0320] “a CAG is identified by a CAG identifier which is unique within the scope of a PLMN ID. A CAG cell may broadcast one or multiple CAG Identifiers per PLMN”) and broadcasting network slice information supported by the cell (Page 21 [0342] “NSSAI”) and frequency resource information of the first cell (Page 21 [0342] “frequency/bandwidth information” and for further reference, Pages 21-22 [0345-0347]), wherein the user equipment includes an AS (Access Stratum) (Page 2 [0051] and Page 14 [0283]) and a NAS (Non-Access Stratum) (Fig. 2B [231]) which is an upper layer of the AS. (i.e. the AS is for communications between the UE and the base station while NAS goes to the network as seen in Fig. 2B, therefore being considered the “upper layer”)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Zee after modifying it to incorporate the ability to broadcast configuration parameters including NPN cell identifiers, frequency information and network slice information of Park since it enables lower latency by providing the user equipment with the resources supported by base stations that the user equipment is allowed to access. (Park Page 18 [0312-0313])
Zee in view of Park differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting another cell is reselected by the user equipment according to a rule, the rule being that a frequency supporting the network slice identification information received by the AS from the NAS has higher priority than a frequency supporting none of the network slice identification information received by the AS from the NAS.
In an analogous art, Han teaches a method and system for cell reselection (Abstract) that includes an AMF (Fig. 2 [23]) for selecting a slice to be used by the UE ([0073]) via the control plane (Fig. 2 [23, Core network control plane device]) from the NSSAI (Page 6 [0073]) and providing cell reselection information to the UE which includes priority information corresponding to each of the network slices and the frequencies the network slices are provided upon. (Page 2 [0020-0021] and Page 7 [0081])
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Zee in view of Park after modifying it to incorporate the ability to provide cell reselection information and priority information for network slices corresponding to frequencies to a UE of Han since it enables selecting a specific frequency in order to receive a service provided by a specific network slice. (Han Page 1 [0004])
Regarding claim 2, Zee teaches a user equipment (Fig. 15 [10]) comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 15 [1502]) configured to receive from a base station (Fig. 10 [12-14]), a system information (Fig. 10 [1001]) including a cell identifier allocated to a cell (Page 12 [0194] “Cell-IDs”) and a network slice identification information identifying a network slice supported by the cell; (Page 12 [0190, 0191 & 0194] “the message may be a System Information Block (SIB), which SIB comprises an indication of network slices supported by the RAN node 12, 13, 14. This indication may be a slice ID. The SIB may further comprise an indication of the networks supported by the RAN node 12, 13, 14, such as a PLMN-ID”, “the message may comprise a list of identifiers indicating which cells are supporting the first network slice. The identifiers are identifiers which are also broadcasted to the wireless device 10 from a RAN node 12, 13, 14. The identifiers may e.g. be identifiers comprised in a system information message, such as a SIB, broadcasted to the wireless device 10” and “Cell-ID list may be referred to as a slice supported Cell-ID List”) and
a controller (Fig. 15 [1501]) configured to select (Page 13 [0215]), based on the system information, the cell supporting a predetermined network slice as a serving cell of the user equipment. (Fig. 12 [1203], Page 12 [0199-0204] and Pages 11-12 [0188] “In the embodiments herein, being associated with shall be interpreted as somehow being related to, this may e.g. be the wireless device 10 camping on or being connected to a cell which has support for the network and the network slice”)
Zee differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting the system information includes a cell identifier allocated to a cell belonging to an NPN (Non-Public Network) and frequency information indicating a frequency associated with the network slice identification information.
Zee differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting the system information includes a cell identifier allocated to a cell belonging to an NPN (Non-Public Network) and frequency information indicating a frequency associated with the network slice identification information, wherein the user equipment includes an AS (Access Stratum) and a NAS (Non-Access Stratum) which is an upper layer of the AS.
In an analogous art, Park teaches a method and system for providing configuration information to wireless devices for access to base stations (Abstract) that includes broadcasting configuration parameters (Page 5 [0206]) that include cell identifiers linked to non-public networks (NPNs) (Page 18 [0312] and Page 19 [0319-0320] “a CAG is identified by a CAG identifier which is unique within the scope of a PLMN ID. A CAG cell may broadcast one or multiple CAG Identifiers per PLMN”) and broadcasting network slice information supported by the cell (Page 21 [0342] “NSSAI”) and frequency resource information of the first cell (Page 21 [0342] “frequency/bandwidth information” and for further reference, Pages 21-22 [0345-0347]), wherein the user equipment includes an AS (Access Stratum) (Page 2 [0051] and Page 14 [0283]) and a NAS (Non-Access Stratum) (Fig. 2B [231]) which is an upper layer of the AS. (i.e. the AS is for communications between the UE and the base station while NAS goes to the network as seen in Fig. 2B, therefore being considered the “upper layer”)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Zee after modifying it to incorporate the ability to broadcast configuration parameters including NPN cell identifiers, frequency information and network slice information of Park since it enables lower latency by providing the user equipment with the resources supported by base stations that the user equipment is allowed to access. (Park Page 18 [0312-0313])
Zee in view of Park differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting another cell is reselected by the user equipment according to a rule, the rule being that a frequency supporting the network slice identification information received by the AS from the NAS has higher priority than a frequency supporting none of the network slice identification information received by the AS from the NAS.
In an analogous art, Han teaches a method and system for cell reselection (Abstract) that includes an AMF (Fig. 2 [23]) for selecting a slice to be used by the UE ([0073]) via the control plane (Fig. 2 [23, Core network control plane device]) from the NSSAI (Page 6 [0073]) and providing cell reselection information to the UE which includes priority information corresponding to each of the network slices and the frequencies the network slices are provided upon. (Page 2 [0020-0021] and Page 7 [0081])
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Zee in view of Park after modifying it to incorporate the ability to provide cell reselection information and priority information for network slices corresponding to frequencies to a UE of Han since it enables selecting a specific frequency in order to receive a service provided by a specific network slice. (Han Page 1 [0004])
Regarding claim 3, Zee teaches an apparatus (Fig. 15 [1501-1507]) for controlling a user equipment (Fig. 15 [10]), the apparatus comprising:
a processor (Fig. 15 [1501]) and a memory (Fig. 15 [1505]), the processor configured to:
receive from a base station (Fig. 10 [12-14]), system information (Fig. 10 [1001]) including a cell identifier allocated to a cell (Page 12 [0194] “Cell-IDs”) and a network slice identification information identifying a network slice supported by the cell; (Page 12 [0190, 0191 & 0194] “the message may be a System Information Block (SIB), which SIB comprises an indication of network slices supported by the RAN node 12, 13, 14. This indication may be a slice ID. The SIB may further comprise an indication of the networks supported by the RAN node 12, 13, 14, such as a PLMN-ID”, “the message may comprise a list of identifiers indicating which cells are supporting the first network slice. The identifiers are identifiers which are also broadcasted to the wireless device 10 from a RAN node 12, 13, 14. The identifiers may e.g. be identifiers comprised in a system information message, such as a SIB, broadcasted to the wireless device 10” and “Cell-ID list may be referred to as a slice supported Cell-ID List”) and
select (Page 13 [0215]), based on the system information, the cell supporting a predetermined network slice as a serving cell of the user equipment. (Fig. 12 [1203], Page 12 [0199-0204] and Pages 11-12 [0188] “In the embodiments herein, being associated with shall be interpreted as somehow being related to, this may e.g. be the wireless device 10 camping on or being connected to a cell which has support for the network and the network slice”)
Zee differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting the system information includes a cell identifier allocated to a cell belonging to an NPN (Non-Public Network) and frequency information indicating a frequency associated with the network slice identification information.
Zee differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting the system information includes a cell identifier allocated to a cell belonging to an NPN (Non-Public Network) and frequency information indicating a frequency associated with the network slice identification information, wherein the user equipment includes an AS (Access Stratum) and a NAS (Non-Access Stratum) which is an upper layer of the AS.
In an analogous art, Park teaches a method and system for providing configuration information to wireless devices for access to base stations (Abstract) that includes broadcasting configuration parameters (Page 5 [0206]) that include cell identifiers linked to non-public networks (NPNs) (Page 18 [0312] and Page 19 [0319-0320] “a CAG is identified by a CAG identifier which is unique within the scope of a PLMN ID. A CAG cell may broadcast one or multiple CAG Identifiers per PLMN”) and broadcasting network slice information supported by the cell (Page 21 [0342] “NSSAI”) and frequency resource information of the first cell (Page 21 [0342] “frequency/bandwidth information” and for further reference, Pages 21-22 [0345-0347]), wherein the user equipment includes an AS (Access Stratum) (Page 2 [0051] and Page 14 [0283]) and a NAS (Non-Access Stratum) (Fig. 2B [231]) which is an upper layer of the AS. (i.e. the AS is for communications between the UE and the base station while NAS goes to the network as seen in Fig. 2B, therefore being considered the “upper layer”)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Zee after modifying it to incorporate the ability to broadcast configuration parameters including NPN cell identifiers, frequency information and network slice information of Park since it enables lower latency by providing the user equipment with the resources supported by base stations that the user equipment is allowed to access. (Park Page 18 [0312-0313])
Zee in view of Park differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting another cell is reselected by the user equipment according to a rule, the rule being that a frequency supporting the network slice identification information received by the AS from the NAS has higher priority than a frequency supporting none of the network slice identification information received by the AS from the NAS.
In an analogous art, Han teaches a method and system for cell reselection (Abstract) that includes an AMF (Fig. 2 [23]) for selecting a slice to be used by the UE ([0073]) via the control plane (Fig. 2 [23, Core network control plane device]) from the NSSAI (Page 6 [0073]) and providing cell reselection information to the UE which includes priority information corresponding to each of the network slices and the frequencies the network slices are provided upon. (Page 2 [0020-0021] and Page 7 [0081])
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Zee in view of Park after modifying it to incorporate the ability to provide cell reselection information and priority information for network slices corresponding to frequencies to a UE of Han since it enables selecting a specific frequency in order to receive a service provided by a specific network slice. (Han Page 1 [0004])
Regarding claim 4, Zee in view of Park and Han teaches selecting, by the user equipment, the predetermined network slice. (Zee Fig. 12 [1203], Page 12 [0199-0204] and Pages 11-12 [0188] “In the embodiments herein, being associated with shall be interpreted as somehow being related to, this may e.g. be the wireless device 10 camping on or being connected to a cell which has support for the network and the network slice”)
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the limitations of claims 5 and 6 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 3 and 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew C Sams/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646