DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 30-June-2025, has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, , 15, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25-27 have been amended, and claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 11, 13-15, 17, and 20-28 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pp. 9-11, filed 30-June-2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 11, 13-15, 17, and 20-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Watte (Pub. No. US 2014/0280522 A1, hereinafter “Watte”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 20, 22, 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrov et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0054776 A1, hereinafter “Petrov”) in view of Momchilov et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0261260 A1, hereinafter “Momchilov”) further in view of Watte.
Regarding claim 1, Petrov teaches:
receiving, at a cross-platform service at the client device, a request for data associated with a record at a database system [on behalf of the application extension from the native application]; downloading, by the cross-platform service from a server of the database system coupled to the client device over a network, the data associated with the record from a database at the database system to a local cache at the client device, resulting in retrieved data responsive to the request (Petrov – the update request module may be configured to determine whether an update request should be sent to the weather data server network (i.e. database system). The update request module determines this information by receiving the current location of the mobile computing device from the location manager module and applying the algorithm in Fig. 3. The local weather and locations data cache may be configured to store the weather data that the mobile computing device receives from the weather data server network. The data management module may issue a request to the weather data server network for updated weather data via the network interface module [0035]. Also see [0045-0046], where the weather data is requested from the weather data server network, and is stored in the local weather and locations data cache.)
Petrov does not appear to teach:
on behalf of the application extension from the native application
providing, by the cross-platform service, the retrieved data to the application extension via the native application, wherein the application extension is configurable to generate a component of the GUI display using the retrieved data
monitoring, by the cross-platform service at the client device, the local cache for a change to a subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record
and in response to the change to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record at the local cache at the client device: retrieving, by the cross-platform service, updated data for the subscribed field associated with the record from the local cache at the client device
and automatically pushing, by the cross-platform service, the updated data for the subscribed field from the local cache to the application [extension] at the client device via the native application at the client device, wherein the application [extension] is configurable to automatically generate an updated component of the GUI display using the updated data to asynchronously update the component of the GUI display [generated by the application extension] in response to the change to the subscribed field at the local cache
application extension
application extension
GUI display generated by the application extension
However, Momchilov teaches:
on behalf of the application extension from the native application (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101].)
providing, by the cross-platform service, the retrieved data to the application extension via the native application, wherein the application extension is configurable to generate a component of the GUI display using the retrieved data (Momchilov – the browser may be configured to generate the user interface based upon a user interface cache, and the application may be configured to obtain the user interface cache from a resource. By way of example, the code may be a browser extension and the application may be further configured to store the user interface cache in the memory, obtain updates to the user interface cache from the resource, and provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates [0008].)
application extension (Momchilov – the browser may be configured to generate the user interface based upon a user interface cache, and the application may be configured to obtain the user interface cache from a resource. By way of example, the code may be a browser extension and the application may be further configured to store the user interface cache in the memory, obtain updates to the user interface cache from the resource, and provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates [0008].)
application extension (Momchilov – the browser may be configured to generate the user interface based upon a user interface cache, and the application may be configured to obtain the user interface cache from a resource. By way of example, the code may be a browser extension and the application may be further configured to store the user interface cache in the memory, obtain updates to the user interface cache from the resource, and provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates [0008].)
GUI display generated by the application extension (Momchilov – the browser may be configured to generate the user interface based upon a user interface cache, and the application may be configured to obtain the user interface cache from a resource. By way of example, the code may be a browser extension and the application may be further configured to store the user interface cache in the memory, obtain updates to the user interface cache from the resource, and provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates [0008].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov and Momchilov before them, to modify the system of Petrov with the teachings of Momchilov of on behalf of the application extension from the native application, providing, by the cross-platform service, the retrieved data to the application extension via the native application, wherein the application extension is configurable to generate a component of the GUI display using the retrieved data. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates, application extension, GUI display generated by the application extension (Momchilov - [0008]).
Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
monitoring, by the cross-platform service at the client device, the local cache for a change to a subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record
and in response to the change to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record at the local cache at the client device: retrieving, by the cross-platform service, updated data for the subscribed field associated with the record from the local cache at the client device
and automatically pushing, by the cross-platform service, the updated data for the subscribed field from the local cache to the application [extension] at the client device via the native application at the client device, wherein the application [extension] is configurable to automatically generate an updated component of the GUI display using the updated data to asynchronously update the component of the GUI display [generated by the application extension] in response to the change to the subscribed field at the local cache
However, Watte teaches:
monitoring, by the cross-platform service at the client device, the local cache for a change to a subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes (i.e. monitors) to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
and in response to the change to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record at the local cache at the client device: retrieving, by the cross-platform service, updated data for the subscribed field associated with the record from the local cache at the client device (Watte – see [0209], where when a cache invalidation event is received from the queuing system, the local caching component re-fetches (i.e. retrieves) the data.)
and automatically pushing, by the cross-platform service, the updated data for the subscribed field from the local cache to the application [extension] at the client device via the native application at the client device, wherein the application [extension] is configurable to automatically generate an updated component of the GUI display using the updated data to asynchronously update the component of the GUI display [generated by the application extension] in response to the change to the subscribed field at the local cache (Watte – see [0208-0209], where the user interface component displays the data that is received from the local caching component. When a cache invalidation even is received from the queuing system, the local caching component re-fetches the data, and pushes the new data into the user interface component, which re-formats and re-displays the data.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov and Momchilov with the teachings of Watte of monitoring, by the cross-platform service at the client device, the local cache for a change to a subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record, and in response to the change to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record at the local cache at the client device: retrieving, by the cross-platform service, updated data for the subscribed field associated with the record from the local cache at the client device, and automatically pushing, by the cross-platform service, the updated data for the subscribed field from the local cache to the application [extension] at the client device via the native application at the client device, wherein the application [extension] is configurable to automatically generate an updated component of the GUI display using the updated data to asynchronously update the component of the GUI display [generated by the application extension] in response to the change to the subscribed field at the local cache. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Claims 8 and 15 correspond to claim 1 and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 3, Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
wherein: monitoring the local cache comprises subscribing a data change listener associated with a loader associated with the GUI display at the cross-platform service to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record in the local cache
However, Watte teaches:
wherein: monitoring the local cache comprises subscribing a data change listener associated with a loader associated with the GUI display at the cross-platform service to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record in the local cache (Watte – see [0162], where as a result of the data transfer architecture, the standard HTTP protocol is augmented with additional metadata. This additional metadata can indicate a message queue to which the client can connect, and addressing data within that message queue on which the client can listen to hear about updates (i.e. subscribe to a data change listener) to particular resources/endpoints. Also see [0210-0211], where when the user dismisses the information display of the given URI through whatever means, the user interface component (i.e. GUI display) removes itself from the set of listeners on the local cache for the given URI component. The local cache can, when the set of listeners for a particular URI is empty, drop subscriptions to the given endpoint from the messaging system, to conserve system resources, because no display of the data is currently needed on the client system. Examiner interprets that)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of wherein: monitoring the local cache comprises subscribing a data change listener associated with a loader associated with the GUI display at the cross-platform service to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record in the local cache. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Claims 10 and 17 correspond to claim 3 and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 6, Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
wherein: monitoring the local cache comprises subscribing to the subscribed field of the record via an application programming interface (API) associated with a data service at the client device configurable to provide indication of the change to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record at a cache associated with the data service
However, Watte teaches:
wherein: monitoring the local cache comprises subscribing to the subscribed field of the record via an application programming interface (API) associated with a data service at the client device configurable to provide indication of the change to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record at a cache associated with the data service (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes (i.e. monitors) to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available. Also see [0148] where the host site may also include an application programming interface (API) with which the host site may interact with other network entities. The API and web interface, which users may interact with, may be configured to interact with the message queue system either directly or via an interface.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of wherein: monitoring the local cache comprises subscribing to the subscribed field of the record via an application programming interface (API) associated with a data service at the client device configurable to provide indication of the change to the subscribed field of the retrieved data associated with the record at a cache associated with the data service. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Claims 13 and 20 correspond to claim 6 and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
wherein retrieving the updated data associated with the record comprises the API associated with the data service pushing the updated data to the cross-platform service
However, Watte teaches:
wherein retrieving the updated data associated with the record comprises the API associated with the data service pushing the updated data to the cross-platform service (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes (i.e. monitors) to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available. Also see [0148] where the host site may also include an application programming interface (API) with which the host site may interact with other network entities. The API and web interface, which users may interact with, may be configured to interact with the message queue system either directly or via an interface. See [0208-0209], where the user interface component displays the data that is received from the local caching component. When a cache invalidation even is received from the queuing system, the local caching component re-fetches the data, and pushes the new data into the user interface component, which re-formats and re-displays the data.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of wherein retrieving the updated data associated with the record comprises the API associated with the data service pushing the updated data to the cross-platform service. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 11, Petrov teaches:
wherein the instructions are configurable to cause the processor to monitor the record at the database system for the change to the data associated with the record at the database system and retrieve the updated data associated with the record from the database system (Petrov – if the mobile computing device has travelled beyond a predetermined geospatial radius from the previously stored location, the mobile device application may automatically request the most up-to-date weather data for the current location from the weather data server network [0036].)
Regarding claim 22, Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
wherein monitoring the local cache comprises monitoring the local cache at the client device for the change to a value of the subscribed field of the record in response to the native application downloading updated values for data fields of the record from the database system to the local cache over a network
However, Watte teaches:
wherein monitoring the local cache comprises monitoring the local cache at the client device for the change to a value of the subscribed field of the record in response to the native application downloading updated values for data fields of the record from the database system to the local cache over a network (Watte – see [0208-0209], where the user interface component displays the data that is received from the local caching component. When a cache invalidation even is received from the queuing system, the local caching component re-fetches the data, and pushes the new data into the user interface component, which re-formats and re-displays the data.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of wherein monitoring the local cache comprises monitoring the local cache at the client device for the change to a value of the subscribed field of the record in response to the native application downloading updated values for data fields of the record from the database system to the local cache over a network. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Regarding claim 24, Petrov teaches:
wherein: the change to the retrieved data associated with the record comprises a data service at the client device synchronizing the retrieved data with a server-side action at the database system (Petrov – the weather data server may also be configured to detect when the device has travelled beyond a pre-defined radius such that the weather data server network may push (i.e. synchronize) the most up-to-date weather data automatically, without receiving a request from the mobile computing device [0036].)
responsive to the server-side action at the database system (Petrov – the weather data server may also be configured to detect when the device has travelled beyond a pre-defined radius such that the weather data server network may push (i.e. synchronize) the most up-to-date weather data automatically, without receiving a request from the mobile computing device [0036].)
Petrov does not appear to teach:
and the application extension automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to
However, Momchilov teaches:
and the application extension automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101]. The processor further runs code (e.g. a browser extension) configured to cause the application to connect with the host computing device using the connection and display a virtual session responsive to initiation by the browser [0076].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Momchilov of and the application extension automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates (Momchilov - [0008]).
Regarding claim 25, Petrov teaches:
wherein the server-side action comprises a different user updating the [subscribed] field of the record at the database system from a different client device (Petrov – the weather server network may be configured to receive weather data, including forecasted weather data, from one or a combination of external weather sources or vendors, such as, for example, the National Weather Service, the National center for Atmospheric Research, and/or others [0026].)
Petrov does not appear to teach:
subscribed field
However, Watte teaches:
subscribed field (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of subscribed field. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Regarding claim 26, Petrov teaches:
wherein the application [extension] is configurable to automatically generate a user notification of an updated value for the [subscribed] field of the record (Petrov – to determine whether an update is required, the update request module may query the data management module to determine if the weather data stored in the local weather and locations data cache is based on the current location and/or time. If the data management module determines that the weather data is current, or up-to-date, the data management module may display the weather data on the user interface. However, if the data management module determines that the weather data is not current or not up-to-date, the data management module may issue a request ot the weather data server network for updated weather data via the network interface module [0035].)
Petrov does not appear to teach:
application extension
subscribed field
However, Momchilov teaches:
application extension (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101]. The processor further runs code (e.g. a browser extension) configured to cause the application to connect with the host computing device using the connection and display a virtual session responsive to initiation by the browser [0076].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Momchilov of application extension. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates (Momchilov - [0008]).
Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
subscribed field
However, Watte teaches:
subscribed field (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of subscribed field. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Regarding claim 27, Petrov teaches:
wherein: the change to the retrieved data associated with the record comprises a data service at the client device synchronizing the retrieved data with a server-side action at the database system (Petrov – the weather data server may also be configured to detect when the device has travelled beyond a pre-defined radius such that the weather data server network may push (i.e. synchronize) the most up-to-date weather data automatically, without receiving a request from the mobile computing device [0036].)
and the application [extension] automatically generates an indication of an updated field value for the [subscribed] field of the record resulting from the server-side action responsive to the server-side action at the database system (Petrov – to determine whether an update is required, the update request module may query the data management module to determine if the weather data stored in the local weather and locations data cache is based on the current location and/or time. If the data management module determines that the weather data is current, or up-to-date, the data management module may display the weather data on the user interface. However, if the data management module determines that the weather data is not current or not up-to-date, the data management module may issue a request ot the weather data server network for updated weather data via the network interface module [0035].)
Petrov does not appear to teach:
application extension
subscribed field
However, Momchilov teaches:
application extension (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101]. The processor further runs code (e.g. a browser extension) configured to cause the application to connect with the host computing device using the connection and display a virtual session responsive to initiation by the browser [0076].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Momchilov of application extension. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates (Momchilov - [0008]).
Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
subscribed field
However, Watte teaches:
subscribed field (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of subscribed field. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Regarding claim 28, Petrov teaches:
wherein: the client device comprises a mobile device; the native application comprises a field service application comprising native application code downloaded and installed at the mobile device (Petrov – the mobile computing device may be a cellular telephone, a smart phone, a pager, a personal digital assistant, a portable computer, or any other electronic device capable of receiving weather information [0024]. The mobile computing device may include the user interface and a mobile device application [0033].)
Petrov does not appear to teach:
the application extension comprises a customization using application extension code integrated with the native application code and configurable to provide a custom GUI display component integrated into the GUI display generated by the field service application; and the component comprises the custom GUI display component
However, Momchilov teaches:
the application extension comprises a customization using application extension code integrated with the native application code and configurable to provide a custom GUI display component integrated into the GUI display generated by the field service application; and the component comprises the custom GUI display component (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101]. The processor further runs code (e.g. a browser extension) configured to cause the application to connect with the host computing device using the connection and display a virtual session responsive to initiation by the browser [0076].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Momchilov of the application extension comprises a customization using application extension code integrated with the native application code and configurable to provide a custom GUI display component integrated into the GUI display generated by the field service application; and the component comprises the custom GUI display component. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates (Momchilov - [0008]).
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrov in view of Momchilov further in view of Watte further in view of Hannemann (Patent No. US 11,422,668 B1, hereinafter “Hannemann”).
Regarding claim 21, Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
wherein monitoring the local cache comprises monitoring the local cache at the client device for the change to a value of the [subscribed] field of the record in response to user interaction with another component of the GUI display to input or modify the value of the [subscribed] field
the subscribed field
the subscribed field
However, Watte teaches:
the subscribed field (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
the subscribed field (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of subscribed field. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Petrov modified by Momchilov and Watte does not appear to teach:
wherein monitoring the local cache comprises monitoring the local cache at the client device for the change to a value of the [subscribed] field of the record in response to user interaction with another component of the GUI display to input or modify the value of the [subscribed] field
However, Hannemann teaches:
wherein monitoring the local cache comprises monitoring the local cache at the client device for the change to a value of the [subscribed] field of the record in response to user interaction with another component of the GUI display to input or modify the value of the [subscribed] field (Hannemann – any input events received by current version user interface are also received and processed at updated version user interface, which receives corresponding information regarding any input events, and processes the input events accordingly. Updated version user interface may obtain such information from current version user interface, or by monitoring the internal state cache in real time [Col. 10 lines 20-33].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov, Watte and Hannemann before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Hannemann of wherein monitoring the local cache comprises monitoring the local cache at the client device for the change to a value of the [subscribed] field of the record in response to user interaction with another component of the GUI display to input or modify the value of the [subscribed] field. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to update in a way that is seamless to the user, so that the user is always running a most up-to-date version of a native application, and the update does not interfere with the user’s work (Hannemann - [Col. 1 lines 25-33]).
Regarding claim 23, Petrov teaches:
receiving the request comprises receiving the request in response to a user interacting with the component of the GUI display (Petrov – a method for updating weather data includes presenting a user interface having an interactive map. The interface allows users to input a location on said interactive map. The method further includes the step of submitting a request, which may be an automatic request, for data based on the inputted location [0010].)
Petrov does not appear to teach:
generated by the application extension
the change to the retrieved data comprises the user modifying a value for the [subscribed] field of the record to an updated value via a second component of the GUI display generated by the native application; and [the application extension] automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to reflect the value responsive to the user modifying the value for the [subscribed] field of the record via the second component of the GUI display generated by the native application to synchronize the component of the GUI display generated [by the application extension] with the updated data associated with the record in the local cache
subscribed field
application extension
subscribed field
by the application extension
However, Momchilov teaches:
generated by the application extension (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101]. The processor further runs code (e.g. a browser extension) configured to cause the application to connect with the host computing device using the connection and display a virtual session responsive to initiation by the browser [0076].)
application extension (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101]. The processor further runs code (e.g. a browser extension) configured to cause the application to connect with the host computing device using the connection and display a virtual session responsive to initiation by the browser [0076].)
by the application extension (Momchilov – the browser extension (i.e. application extension) may be downloaded from an online marketplace as a plugin app to the particular browser (i.e native application) being used [0101]. The processor further runs code (e.g. a browser extension) configured to cause the application to connect with the host computing device using the connection and display a virtual session responsive to initiation by the browser [0076].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Momchilov of generated by the application extension, application extension, by the application extension. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide the stored user interface cache to the browser through the browser extension responsive to unavailability of the cloud authentication store to provide updates (Momchilov - [0008]).
Petrov modified by Momchilov does not appear to teach:
the change to the retrieved data comprises the user modifying a value for the [subscribed] field of the record to an updated value via a second component of the GUI display generated by the native application; and [the application extension] automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to reflect the value responsive to the user modifying the value for the [subscribed] field of the record via the second component of the GUI display generated by the native application to synchronize the component of the GUI display generated [by the application extension] with the updated data associated with the record in the local cache
subscribed field
subscribed field
However, Watte teaches:
subscribed field (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
subscribed field (Watte – see [0205-0206], where the local caching component subscribes to real-time cache invalidation if the server response indicates that such invalidation is available.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Watte of subscribed field. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a data caching system that is subject to frequent changes or updated more efficient (Watte - [0007]).
Petrov modified by Momchilov and Watte does not appear to teach:
the change to the retrieved data comprises the user modifying a value for the [subscribed] field of the record to an updated value via a second component of the GUI display generated by the native application; and [the application extension] automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to reflect the value responsive to the user modifying the value for the [subscribed] field of the record via the second component of the GUI display generated by the native application to synchronize the component of the GUI display generated [by the application extension] with the updated data associated with the record in the local cache
However, Hannemann teaches:
the change to the retrieved data comprises the user modifying a value for the [subscribed] field of the record to an updated value via a second component of the GUI display generated by the native application; and [the application extension] automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to reflect the value responsive to the user modifying the value for the [subscribed] field of the record via the second component of the GUI display generated by the native application to synchronize the component of the GUI display generated [by the application extension] with the updated data associated with the record in the local cache (Hannemann – any input events (i.e. modifying a value, see Col. 13 lines 29-37) received by current version user interface are also received and processed at updated version user interface, which receives corresponding information regarding any input events, and processes the input events accordingly. Updated version user interface may obtain such information from current version user interface, or by monitoring the internal state cache in real time [Col. 10 lines 20-33].)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, having the teachings of Petrov, Momchilov, Watte and Hannemann before them, to modify the system of Petrov, Momchilov and Watte with the teachings of Hannemann of the change to the retrieved data comprises the user modifying a value for the [subscribed] field of the record to an updated value via a second component of the GUI display generated by the native application; and [the application extension] automatically generates the updated component of the GUI display to reflect the value responsive to the user modifying the value for the [subscribed] field of the record via the second component of the GUI display generated by the native application to synchronize the component of the GUI display generated [by the application extension] with the updated data associated with the record in the local cache. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to update in a way that is seamless to the user, so that the user is always running a most up-to-date version of a native application, and the update does not interfere with the user’s work (Hannemann - [Col. 1 lines 25-33]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANJIT P DORAISWAMY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166