Response to Amendments / Arguments
Regarding the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 102:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/17/2025, in view of the amended claims, have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. The Office acknowledges that 3GPP TR 33.847 does not explicitly disclose a PDU session release command message that does not include a remote UE ID. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn however the rejection is further maintained in view of 3GPP TS 23.502 (“Procedures for the 5G system (5GS) (3GPP TS 23.502 version 16.7.0 Release 16)”).
However, Applicant's arguments regarding the limitation "Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session authentication result message including the ID of the first remote UE, the PC5 channel release message is transmitted to the first UE based on the ID of the first remote UE and the PDU session is maintained for a second remote UE that is different from the first remote UE" are not persuasive. 3GPP TR 33.847 explicitly discloses this feature in Sections 6.25.2.3 and 6.25.2.4. Section 6.25.2.3 states "The SMF identifies the PDU Session/Relay UE SM context and removes Remote UE information from Relay UE SM context and may release any address allocated for the Remote UE. SMF configures the UPF to drop any remaining packets associated with the Remote UE. The SMF retains the N4 session with the DN-AAA to continue serving other UEs (including Relay UE) that are still sharing the PDU Session." Additionally, Section 6.25.2.4 states "In case of a failed re-A&A procedure, the relay initiates a PC5 link release procedure with Remote UE." These sections clearly teach that when a specific Remote UE fails authentication, the system identifies that specific Remote UE (using its ID), removes only that Remote UE's information, releases only that Remote UE's PC5 connection
DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 03/17/2025, in which, claims 1-8 and 10-15 are pending. Claims 1, 13, 14, and 15 are independent. Claim 9 has been cancelled.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3rd Generation Partnership Project (“Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on security aspects of enhancement for proximity based services in the 5G System (5GS) (Release 17) 3GPP TR 33.847 V1.0.0”, referred to as 3GPP TR 33.847) in view of 3GPP TS 23.502 (“Procedures for the 5G system (5GS) (3GPP TS 23.502 version 16.7.0 Release 16)” referred to as 3GPP TS 23.502).
In reference to claim 1, A method performed by a relay user equipment (UE), the method for updating authentication of a first remote UE, in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1 Provides for authentications of a Remote UE in communication with a wireless system. 3GPP TR 33.847 Figure 6.13.2.1-1 and Figure 6.13.2.2-1, Step 6 further provides for the updating of authentication for a UE in a wireless communication system, focusing on secondary authentication procedures for Remote UEs. 3GPP TR 33.847 Figure 6.25.2.2 further provides for a method performed by a relay UE for authenticating a remote UE.)
Establishing a packet data unit (PDU) session for a relay service (3GPP TR 33.847: 6.13.2.1 and 6.25.2.1 Provides for explicitly mentioning establishing a PDU session for relay services.) Performing a discovery procedure for the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: 6.13.2.1 step 2 and 6.25.2.1 step 2 Provides for a discovery procedure between the relay UE and the remote UE.) Performing a primary authorization of the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: 6.13.2.1 step 3 and 6.25.2.1 step 5 Provides for a primary authorization procedure for the remote UE. Receiving an authentication request message for a secondary authorization of the first remote UE from a network, wherein the authentication request message includes an ID of the first remote UE and authentication request information (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 6 Provides for the relay UE receiving an authentication command from the SMF, which includes the Remote User ID. 3GPP Figure 6.25.2 step 4 further provides for the relay UE receiving an authentication request message for secondary authorization, including the remote UE's ID.) Acquiring authentication response information by performing an authentication-related procedure with the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 7 Provides for the relay UE engaging in an authentication-related procedure with the Remote UE by exchanging EAP messages, which constitutes acquiring authentication response information. 3GPP TR 33.847 Figure 6.25.2.2 step 4 further provides for an authentication-related procedure between the relay UE and the remote UE.) Transmitting an authentication response message including the authentication response information and the ID of the first remote UE to the network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 8 Provides for transmitting an authentication response message (PDU Session Authentication Complete) that includes the Remote User ID and authentication response information (EAP message) to the network. 3GPP TR 33.847 6.25.2.2 further provides for the relay UE transmitting an authentication response message to the network, including the remote UE's ID and authentication information.)
Wherein the remote UE comprises the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Sections 6.13 and 6.25 Provides for remote UEs, which would include a first remote UE.)
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session authentication result message including the ID of the first remote UE, the PC5 channel release message is transmitted to the first UE based on the ID of the first remote UE and the PDU session is maintained for a second remote UE that is different from the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Section 6.25.2.3 and 6.25.2.4 Provides for where the network revokes authorization for a specific Remote UE (identified by its ID), resulting in the release of only that Remote UE's connection while maintaining the PDU session for other UEs sharing it.)
However, 3GPP TR 33.847 does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released. However 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches:
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released (3GPP TS 23.502: Clause 4.3.4.2, Step 2 discloses a PDU Session Release Command message that contains "the PDU Session ID and Cause" without including any UE-specific identifiers, which triggers the release of the entire PDU session.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of 3GPP TR 33.847, which provides a method for relay UE authentication procedures including selective release of specific remote UEs while maintaining PDU sessions for others, with the teachings of 3GPP TS 23.502, which introduces PDU session release commands that trigger complete session termination when no specific UE identifier is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate complete session release procedures into the relay authentication system to handle scenarios where the entire PDU session needs to be terminated rather than just individual UE connections. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide comprehensive session management capabilities that can handle both granular UE-specific releases and complete session terminations.
In reference to claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the network delivers the authentication response information for the first remote UE to an external data network, and wherein whether or not the secondary authentication of the first remote UE is successful is determined based on the external data network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Steps 9-11 Provides for the delivery of authentication response information (EAP messages) to an external data network (DN-AAA). The determination of authentication success or failure is based on the DN-AAA's response. 3GPP 6.25.2.2 Provides for a process where the network (specifically the SMF) receives information about the success or failure of the secondary authentication from an external data network (DN-AAA).)
In reference to claim 3, The method of claim 2, wherein the network acquires information regarding whether the secondary authentication of the first remote UE is successful from the external data network based on the authentication response information (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Steps 9-11 Provides for the network (SMF) acquires information about the success or failure of the authentication from the external data network (DN-AAA) based on the authentication response information (EAP messages).)
In reference to claim 4, The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the secondary authentication of the first remote UE being successful, the relay UE receives the ID of the first remote UE and authentication success information from the network, delivers the authentication success information to the first remote UE, and maintains the PDU session of the relay UE that is used by the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.2-1, Steps 11-13 Provides for the relay UE receiving authentication success information and the ID of the Remote UE from the network, delivering this success information to the Remote UE, and maintaining the PDU session.)
In reference to claim 5, The method of claim 1, wherein a PDU session release complete report is transmitted to the network after the PDU session is released (3GPP TR 33.847: 6.13.2.1 and 6.25.2.3 Provides for PC5 release, PDU session release, and network communication.)
In reference to claim 6, The method of claim 5, wherein the receiving the first message related to the PDU session comprises: based on the PDU session being used by only the first remote UE, receiving a PDU session release request command from the network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1 12.b Provides for Remote UE Release command being received at the Relay UE from the SMF (Network).)
In reference to claim 7, The method of claim 6, wherein the release cause value is delivered from the relay UE to the first remote UE, while the PC5 channel release procedure with the first remote UE is being performed (3GPP: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 12 Provides for the relay UE receiving a command to release the PC5 link with the Remote UE due to authentication failure.)
In reference to claim 8, The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the first message related to the PDU session comprises: based on the PDU session being used by the second remote UE that is different from the first remote UE, receiving the PDU session authentication result message from the network, and wherein the PDU session authentication result message further includes the release cause value indicating authentication failure (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 12 Provides for the relay UE receiving a command from the network that includes the Remote User ID and indicates authentication failure.)
In reference to claim 10, The method of claim 8, further comprising: performing a PC5 release procedure with the first remote UE based on the PDU session authentication result message, and transmitting a first remote UE report to the network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1 12c and 12d Provides for completing the PC5 link release procedure and then sending the Remote UE release command ACK to the network.)
In reference to claim 11, The method of claim 10, wherein, when the PDU session of the relay UE is not needed based on the first remote UE report, the network performs a PDU session release procedure with the relay UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1 12c Provides for the PDU sessions being released with the relay UE.)
In reference to claim 12, The method of claim 11, further comprising: based on the relay UE receiving the PDU session release command message from the network based on the PDU session release procedure, releasing the PDU session of the relay UE and transmitting a PDU session release response message to the network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 12 and Note 5 Provides for the relay UE receiving a release command and releasing the PC5 link, which implies the PDU session release procedure.)
In reference to claim 13, A relay user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system, the relay UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor in an operable manner and configured, when operated, to store instructions for the at least one processor to perform operation comprising (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1 Provides for authentications of a Remote UE in communication with a wireless system. 3GPP Figure 6.13.2.1-1 and Figure 6.13.2.2-1, Step 6 further provides for the updating of authentication for a UE in a wireless communication system, focusing on secondary authentication procedures for Remote UEs. 3GPP Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 6 further provides for the relay UE receiving an authentication command from the SMF, which includes the Remote User ID.) Establishing a packet data unit (PDU) session for a relay service (3GPP TR 33.847: 6.13.2.1 and 6.25.2.1 Provides for explicitly mentioning establishing a PDU session for relay services.) Performing a discovery procedure for the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: 6.13.2.1 step 2 and 6.25.2.1 step 2 Provides for a discovery procedure between the relay UE and the remote UE.) Performing a primary authorization of the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: 6.13.2.1 step 3 and 6.25.2.1 step 5 Provides for a primary authorization procedure for the remote UE.) Receiving an authentication request message for a secondary authorization of the first remote UE from a network, wherein the authentication request message includes an ID of the first remote UE and authentication request information (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 6 Provides for the relay UE receiving an authentication command from the SMF, which includes the Remote User ID. 3GPP Figure 6.25.2 step 4 further provides for the relay UE receiving an authentication request message for secondary authorization, including the remote UE's ID.) Acquiring authentication response information by performing an authentication-related procedure with the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 7 Provides for the relay UE engaging in an authentication-related procedure with the Remote UE by exchanging EAP messages, which constitutes acquiring authentication response information. 3GPP TR 33.847 Figure 6.25.2.2 step 4 further provides for an authentication-related procedure between the relay UE and the remote UE.) Transmitting an authentication response message including the authentication response information and the ID of the first remote UE to the network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 8 Provides for transmitting an authentication response message (PDU Session Authentication Complete) that includes the Remote User ID and authentication response information (EAP message) to the network. 3GPP 6.25.2.2 further provides for the relay UE transmitting an authentication response message to the network, including the remote UE's ID and authentication information.) Receiving a first message related to the PDU session including information related to a failure of the secondary authentication (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1 step 12 and 6.25.2.2 step 6 Provides for the relay UE receiving a message indicating the failure of secondary authentication.) Wherein the remote UE comprises the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Sections 6.13 and 6.25 Provides for remote UEs, which would include a first remote UE.)
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session authentication result message including the ID of the first remote UE, the PC5 channel release message is transmitted to the first UE based on the ID of the first remote UE and the PDU session is maintained for a second remote UE that is different from the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Section 6.25.2.3 and 6.25.2.4 Provides for where the network revokes authorization for a specific Remote UE (identified by its ID), resulting in the release of only that Remote UE's connection while maintaining the PDU session for other UEs sharing it.)
However, 3GPP TR 33.847 does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released. However 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches:
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released (3GPP TS 23.502: Clause 4.3.4.2, Step 2 discloses a PDU Session Release Command message that contains "the PDU Session ID and Cause" without including any UE-specific identifiers, which triggers the release of the entire PDU session.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of 3GPP TR 33.847, which provides a method for relay UE authentication procedures including selective release of specific remote UEs while maintaining PDU sessions for others, with the teachings of 3GPP TS 23.502, which introduces PDU session release commands that trigger complete session termination when no specific UE identifier is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate complete session release procedures into the relay authentication system to handle scenarios where the entire PDU session needs to be terminated rather than just individual UE connections. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide comprehensive session management capabilities that can handle both granular UE-specific releases and complete session terminations.
In reference to claim 14, A method performed by a network node for updating authentication of a first remote user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: Transmitting an authentication request message for authenticating the first remote UE to a relay UE that performs a relay service for the first remote UE by using a packet data unit (PDU) session, Wherein the authentication request message includes an ID of the first remote UE and authentication request information (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1 Provides for authentications of a Remote UE in communication with a wireless system. 3GPP Figure 6.13.2.1-1 and Figure 6.13.2.2-1, Step 6 further provides for the updating of authentication for a UE in a wireless communication system, focusing on secondary authentication procedures for Remote UEs. 3GPP Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 6 further provides for the relay UE receiving an authentication command from the SMF, which includes the Remote User ID.) Receiving , from the relay UE, an authentication response including authentication response information and the ID of the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 7 Provides for the relay UE engaging in an authentication-related procedure with the Remote UE by exchanging EAP messages, which constitutes acquiring authentication response information.) Delivering the authentication response information to an external data network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 8 Provides for transmitting an authentication response message (PDU Session Authentication Complete) that includes the Remote User ID and authentication response information (EAP message) to the network.) Receiving authentication result information associated with the first remote UE from the external data network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 11 Provides for that the authentication of the Remote UE is based on the authentication response information (EAP messages), culminating in an EAP-Success message indicating successful authentication.) Transmitting a first message related to the PDU session including the authentication result information to the relay UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 12 Provides for the relay UE receiving a command from the network that includes the Remote User ID and indicates authentication failure.)
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session authentication result message including the ID of the first remote UE, the PC5 channel release message is transmitted to the first UE based on the ID of the first remote UE and the PDU session is maintained for a second remote UE that is different from the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Section 6.25.2.3 and 6.25.2.4 Provides for where the network revokes authorization for a specific Remote UE (identified by its ID), resulting in the release of only that Remote UE's connection while maintaining the PDU session for other UEs sharing it.)
However, 3GPP TR 33.847 does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released. However 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches:
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released (3GPP TS 23.502: Clause 4.3.4.2, Step 2 discloses a PDU Session Release Command message that contains "the PDU Session ID and Cause" without including any UE-specific identifiers, which triggers the release of the entire PDU session.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of 3GPP TR 33.847, which provides a method for relay UE authentication procedures including selective release of specific remote UEs while maintaining PDU sessions for others, with the teachings of 3GPP TS 23.502, which introduces PDU session release commands that trigger complete session termination when no specific UE identifier is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate complete session release procedures into the relay authentication system to handle scenarios where the entire PDU session needs to be terminated rather than just individual UE connections. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide comprehensive session management capabilities that can handle both granular UE-specific releases and complete session terminations.
In reference to claim 15, A network operating in a wireless communication system, the network comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor in an operable manner and configured, when operated, to store instructions for the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: Transmitting an authentication request message for authenticating the first remote UE to a relay UE that performs a relay service for the first remote UE by using a packet data unit (PDU) session, Wherein the authentication request message includes an ID of the first remote UE and authentication request information (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1 Provides for authentications of a Remote UE in communication with a wireless system. 3GPP Figure 6.13.2.1-1 and Figure 6.13.2.2-1, Step 6 further provides for the updating of authentication for a UE in a wireless communication system, focusing on secondary authentication procedures for Remote UEs. 3GPP Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 6 further provides for the relay UE receiving an authentication command from the SMF, which includes the Remote User ID.) Receiving , from the relay UE, an authentication response including authentication response information and the ID of the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 7 Provides for the relay UE engaging in an authentication-related procedure with the Remote UE by exchanging EAP messages, which constitutes acquiring authentication response information.) Delivering the authentication response information to an external data network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 8 Provides for transmitting an authentication response message (PDU Session Authentication Complete) that includes the Remote User ID and authentication response information (EAP message) to the network.) Receiving authentication result information associated with the first remote UE from the external data network (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 11 Provides for that the authentication of the Remote UE is based on the authentication response information (EAP messages), culminating in an EAP-Success message indicating successful authentication.) Transmitting a first message related to the PDU session including the authentication result information to the relay UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Figure 6.13.2.1-1, Step 12 Provides for the relay UE receiving a command from the network that includes the Remote User ID and indicates authentication failure.)
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session authentication result message including the ID of the first remote UE, the PC5 channel release message is transmitted to the first UE based on the ID of the first remote UE and the PDU session is maintained for a second remote UE that is different from the first remote UE (3GPP TR 33.847: Section 6.25.2.3 and 6.25.2.4 Provides for where the network revokes authorization for a specific Remote UE (identified by its ID), resulting in the release of only that Remote UE's connection while maintaining the PDU session for other UEs sharing it.)
However, 3GPP TR 33.847 does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released. However 3GPP TS 23.502 teaches:
Wherein, based on the first message being a PDU session release command message including a release cause value without a remote UE ID, a PC5 channel release message is transmitted to a remote UE associated with the PDU session and the PDU session is released (3GPP TS 23.502: Clause 4.3.4.2, Step 2 discloses a PDU Session Release Command message that contains "the PDU Session ID and Cause" without including any UE-specific identifiers, which triggers the release of the entire PDU session.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of 3GPP TR 33.847, which provides a method for relay UE authentication procedures including selective release of specific remote UEs while maintaining PDU sessions for others, with the teachings of 3GPP TS 23.502, which introduces PDU session release commands that trigger complete session termination when no specific UE identifier is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate complete session release procedures into the relay authentication system to handle scenarios where the entire PDU session needs to be terminated rather than just individual UE connections. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide comprehensive session management capabilities that can handle both granular UE-specific releases and complete session terminations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432