DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 17/822,675 filed 8/26/2022 which claims priority from Provisional Application No. 63/260,680 filed 8/27/2021. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The amendment presented on 3/20/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 8, 12, and 14, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections – Withdrawn
The previous Double Patenting rejection of claims 1, 8, and 14 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection have been considered, however, they are unpersuasive.
Specifically, Applicant quotes the specification in stating the hyperlink generation and removal may occur simultaneously or concurrently in an independent manner.
The Examiner appreciates the intention; however, the claim language creates dependence instead of independence. The issue is not whether the hyperlink generation and removal can occur concurrently. Rather, the issue is whether the removal of the second hyperlink can be dependent on two different conflicting conditions. The final limitation in the claim requires the generation of the first hyperlink and removal of the second hyperlink to “occur concurrently”; this makes the removal of the second hyperlink a dependent on (1) generation of the first hyperlink. The limitation that states “removing the second hyperlink from the document when the user does not interact with the second hyperlink for a third threshold period of time” makes the removal of the second hyperlink a dependent on (2) no user interaction with the second hyperlink for a threshold period of time. The claim is not structured in a way that requiring both of these dependencies is clear. For example, according to the claim, if the real time user’s interaction is with the second hyperlink, a first hyperlink is generated and the second hyperlink cannot be removed because of the recent interaction with it. The Examiner recommends constructing the limitations such that either, (a) the dependencies (1) and (2) are alternatives of each other, or (b) remove the “concurrent” limitation altogether.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Mason (US 2013/0054371 A1), Pla (US 20210303107 A1), and Makhlouf, have been considered, and in view of amended claim language, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
However, several contentions are not persuasive.
Applicant discusses in the Remarks and Declaration received 3/20/2026 that the removal of the hyperlink would be the eliminating of the code associated with the hyperlink. However, the claims never describe the removal of the hyperlink to be the eliminating of code. In fact, the only refence to code in the claims indicates that code “remains”. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “remove” allows Mason and Makhlouf to be applied.
Indeed, the specification provides examples of hyperlink removal with: “A hyperlink may be removed, e.g., code associated with the hyperlink adjusted to plain text” at [0068] and “the hyperlink may be removed, which may include, for example, decoupling the anchor of the hyperlink from the destination” at [0099]. As previously shown, Mason suggests the advertisement/augmented content (hyperlinks) “may be removed, hidden or otherwise undisplayed after a predetermined time period or after user activity” (Mason, [0291]). Here, at least “hidden” and “removed” are presented as alternatives which suggests two different/distinct functionalities. Also, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “removing the [second] hyperlink” can include displacing/relocating it from a main area of focus such as what occurs in Figure 3D of Makhlouf. Until the claim language indicates that the removal of a hyperlink is either adjusting the code associated with the hyperlink to plain text or decoupling the anchor of the hyperlink from the destination, then the “removal” in Mason and Makhlouf are construable as equivalent to the “removal” in the claims.
Applicant further contends the combination of Mason and Makhlouf does not teach or suggest a two-stage hyperlink lifecycle as claimed. However, again, Mason is relied on to suggest two different/distinct types of functions (hiding and removing) can be performed pertaining to a hyperlink after a predetermined time period. Makhlouf is relied on to suggest a two-stage process of phasing out a hyperlink. The Examiner previously explained that the first stage of moving the hyperlink from a main area of focus after a first amount of time could be construed as the claimed “hiding”, and the second stage of removing the hyperlink all together after a second amount of time could be construed as the claimed removing. As shown in updated citations to Makhlouf below, the secondary viewing area can be part of a distinct window displayed on a separate display device from the display device displaying the main viewing area (Makhlouf, col 4, lines 1-26). Therefore, Makhlouf’s moving the icon to a separate display is clearly construable as hiding the icon (from the first display).
Therefore, Mason, Pla, and Makhlouf are maintained as applicable to limitations discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly in claims 8 and 14), it is not clear what dictates the removal of the second hyperlink. The final limitation of “wherein generation of the first hyperlink and removal of the second hyperlink occur concurrently” directly contradicts “removing the second hyperlink from the document when the user does not interact with the second hyperlink for a third threshold of time”. Specifically, if the first hyperlink is displayed based on real-time interaction, then, according to (1), the second hyperlink is removed based on the real-time interaction (“concurrently”); which contradicts (2), using a threshold of time to remove the second hyperlink, as recited by the second limitation above. A similar contradiction is created by the amendments to claims 8 and 14; the second hyperlink removal is tied to both of the display of the first hyperlink and a second period of time, however, not in an alternative way.
Dependent claims not mentioned inherit the deficiencies of their parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason (US 2013/0054371 A1), in view of Pla (US 2021/0303107 A1), and further in view of Makhlouf et al. (US 10,182,272 A1, patented 1/15/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Mason teaches a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks, comprising:
monitoring a … user’s interaction with a document via algorithms of a hyperlink generation engine implemented at a processor of a client system [Fig. 5K, (596), Paras. 162, 177, 180, system detecting user movements with mouse/cursor within the document];
identifying a structural element in the document of interest to the user, based on the …user’s interaction and a set of rules input to the hyperlink generation engine [Fig. 5K, (582-590), Paras. 166-172, system matching content to keywords, construed as a set of rules, within the document for hyperlink generation];
and automatically modifying the structural element to include the first hyperlink [Fig. 5K, (592-594), Paras. 173-176, modify the keywords selected to include a hyperlink]; and
…automatically displaying the modified structural element in the document at a display device [Figs. 4B, 5K, (410, 594), Paras. 105, 176, display the keyword with hyperlink displayed using different styles and/or colors].
based on the … user’s interaction with the document, hiding a second hyperlink from the document, such that the second hyperlink disappears from the display device while code associated with the second hyperlink remains when the user does not interact with the second hyperlink for a second threshold period of time [Mason, Paras. 0098-0100, 0291, the hyperlinks can be hidden and/or removed after a predetermined amount of time or inactivity. Generated advertisement links include code. As “hidden” is presented as an alternative to “remove”, “hidden” is interpreted as that code remains].
However, Mason does not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the user’s interaction is] real-time;
following monitoring the real-time user’s interaction with the document, [performing the identifying]; [and]
following identifying a structural element in the document of interest to the user, generating a first hyperlink using the hyperlink generation engine…,
wherein generation of the first hyperlink and removal of the second hyperlink occur concurrently.
Pla discloses an electronic device displays augmented content related to a portion of content in accordance with detection of movement of the user's head and detection of the user's gaze in accordance with some embodiments (Pla, abstract). As shown in FIG. 7C, the gaze 716a of the user is at a location of a respective word 718a (“Lorem”) of the content item. In response to detecting the gaze 716a of the user on the respective word 718a the electronic device 101 displays the word 718a with a modified appearance, such as displaying the word 718a in bold typeface as shown in FIG. 7I (Pla, [0133]). The electronic device 101 first displays an indication that the electronic device 101 is about to display the augmented content 720 (e.g., changing the appearance of the word to which the gaze is directed) and then, if the head movement is maintained or continued and the gaze is held (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 1 second, 2 seconds, construed as real-time) on word 718a, the electronic device 101 displays the augmented content 720a (Pla, [0121], [0134], [0390]-[0391], Figure 7J). If it is detected that the user looks at a different word, augmented content for the different word is displayed (Pla, [0136]-[0138]). Stopping display of one word in bold while displaying another word in bold occurs concurrently (Pla, [0139]). In some embodiments, the augmented content 720 is displayed overlaid on or proximate to the word to which the augmented content 720 corresponds (Pla, [0140]). The augmented content can be a website preview associated with a hyperlink (Pla, [0132], [0376], [0381])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason and Pla that a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction would include [the user’s interaction is] real-time; following monitoring the real-time user’s interaction with the document, [performing the identifying]; [and] following identifying a structural element in the document of interest to the user, generating a first hyperlink using the hyperlink generation engine. With both Mason and Pla augmenting a structural element in documents, with Mason augmenting the elements with hyperlinks, and with Pla additionally disclosing the augmented content can be a preview of a website associated with a hyperlink and the identifying and augmenting the elements after real-time detection of interaction with the elements, for example, with user gaze detection, as well as concurrently stopping displaying one element while displaying another, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction would include [the user’s interaction is] real-time; following monitoring the real-time user’s interaction with the document, [performing the identifying]; [and] following identifying a structural element in the document of interest to the user, generating a first hyperlink using the hyperlink generation engine in order to only augment content a user has placed their attention upon and avoiding cluttering. Generating hyperlinks for structured elements in a document before or after interaction are obvious variants of each other in view of the current limitations that describe the display of the hyperlinks after the interaction. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction.
However, Mason and Pla may not explicitly teach every aspect of
removing the second hyperlink from the document when the user does not interact with the second hyperlink for a third threshold period of time, the third threshold period of time longer than the second threshold period of time.
Makhlouf discloses system and method for distributing media content (Makhlouf, abstract). The method includes displaying a hyperlink as an iconic advertisement within media content. After a first time period, the icon is moved from a main viewing area to a secondary viewing area, construable as hidden from a main viewable area. If there is no interaction with the icon after a second time period, remove the icon from the secondary viewing area (Makhlouf, claim 10). The second time period could be longer than the first time period because it is based on the content being viewed (Makhlouf, col 2, lines 53-62, Figures 3A-3D). The secondary viewing area can be part of a distinct window displayed on a separate display device from the display device displaying the main viewing area (Makhlouf, col 4, lines 1-26, therefore, moving the icon to a separate display is clearly construable as hiding the icon). Therefore, Makhlouf suggests at least two stages of hiding and removing an advertising hyperlink from a display after a two associated time periods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason and Pla with Makhlouf that a method for automatically inserting and removing hyperlinks would include hiding the hyperlink after a first time period and removing the hyperlink after a second time period. With Mason and Makhlouf adding hyperlinks to content, with Mason suggesting two options for removing hyperlinks being hiding and removing, and with Makhlouf additionally disclosing a first stage of moving the hyperlink from a main content area to a separate display after a first time period and a second stage of removing the hyperlink all together from the main content area after a second time period, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks would include hiding the hyperlink after a first time period and removing the hyperlink after a second time period because if hyperlinks are generated based on a determined interest, it is beneficial to have the hyperlink disappear, but not be removed right away, so as to not steal the focus of a user but allowing the user to return to redisplay and access it providing for the greatest chance of the hyperlink leaving an impression on the viewer in the case of advertising. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically inserting and removing hyperlinks.
Regarding claim 3, Mason and Pla with Makhlouf teach the method of claim 1, wherein the structural element is one of a term, a phrase, an icon, or an image [Mason, Para. 49, content to be modified can be keywords (i.e. terms, phrase, etc.) and images; Pla, Paras. 133, 136, words or images].
Regarding claim 4, Mason and Pla with Makhlouf teach the method of claim 1, wherein automatically modifying the structural element to include the first hyperlink includes converting the structural element to an anchor of the first hyperlink, and wherein converting the structural element includes modifying an appearance of the structural element [Mason, Fig. 5K, (592-594), Paras. 173-176, modify the keywords selected to include a hyperlink].
Regarding claim 5, Mason and Pla with Makhlouf teach the method of claim 1, wherein the structural element is identified to be of interest to the user based on a positioning of a cursor over of the structural element [Mason, Fig. 5K, (596), Paras. 162, 177, 180, system detecting user movements with mouse/cursor within the document to determine items of interest].
Regarding claim 6, Mason and Pla with Makhlouf teach the method of claim 1, wherein automatically modifying the structural element to include the first hyperlink includes modifying the structural element when the user stops navigating the document and maintains the structural element within a visible screen of the display device for a predetermined period of time [Mason, Fig. 8C, (855), Para. 280, determining content within a visible portion of the display to determine keywords for selection].
Regarding claim 7, Mason and Pla with Makhlouf teach the method of claim 1 further comprising displaying an Easter egg in response to the user performing a predetermined set of actions, and wherein instructions for the predetermined set of actions are displayed at the display device [Mason, Fig. 4D, Paras. 113-114, displaying a hyperlink with multiple actions and links].
Claims 8, 9, and 12-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason (US 2013/0054371 A1), in view of Pla (US 2021/0303107 A1), and further in view of Kassoway et al. (US 2011/0015996 A1, hereinafter “Kassoway”).
Regarding claim 8, Mason teaches a method for modifying a presentation of hyperlinks in a document, comprising:
monitoring, using a processor, a user engagement with a document, …; [Fig. 5K, (596), Paras. 162, 177, 180, system detecting user movements with, and positions of, a mouse/cursor within the document];
…
following generating the first hyperlink, automatically inserting, using the processor, a first hyperlink into a first region of the document based on a first period of time of a user engagement with the first region, the first region of the document displayed at a display device [Mason, Fig. 5K, Paras. 162-180, monitoring user interactions with the document and determining keywords to generate hyperlinks for display]; and
while automatically inserting the first hyperlink, automatically modifying, using the processor, a second hyperlink to disappear from a second region of the document based on a second period of time without user engagement while code associated with the second hyperlink remains, the second region separate and distanced from the first region and also displayed at the display device [Mason, Paras. 0098-0100, 0291, the hyperlinks can be hidden and/or removed after a predetermined amount of time or inactivity. Generated advertisement links include code. As “hidden” is presented as an alternative to “remove”, “hidden” is interpreted as that code remains].
However, Mason does not explicitly teach every aspect of
monitoring, using a processor, a real-time user engagement with a document; [and]
following monitoring the real-time user engagement with the document, automatically identifying, using the processor, a structural element in the document of interest to the user based on the real-time user engagement with the document, and generating a first hyperlink associated with the structural element…,
wherein automatically inserting a first hyperlink and automatically modifying the second hyperlink occur concurrently.
Pla discloses an electronic device displays augmented content related to a portion of content in accordance with detection of movement of the user's head and detection of the user's gaze in accordance with some embodiments (Pla, abstract). As shown in FIG. 7C, the gaze 716a of the user is at a location of a respective word 718a (“Lorem”) of the content item. In response to detecting the gaze 716a of the user on the respective word 718a the electronic device 101 displays the word 718a with a modified appearance, such as displaying the word 718a in bold typeface as shown in FIG. 7I (Pla, [0133]). The electronic device 101 first displays an indication that the electronic device 101 is about to display the augmented content 720 (e.g., changing the appearance of the word to which the gaze is directed) and then, if the head movement is maintained or continued and the gaze is held (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 1 second, 2 seconds, construed as real-time) on word 718a, the electronic device 101 displays the augmented content 720a (Pla, [0121], [0134], [0390]-[0391], Figure 7J). If it is detected that the user looks at a different word, augmented content for the different word is displayed (Pla, [0136]-[0138]). Stopping display of one word in bold while displaying another word in bold occurs concurrently (Pla, [0139]). In some embodiments, the augmented content 720 is displayed overlaid on or proximate to the word to which the augmented content 720 corresponds (Pla, [0140]). The augmented content can be a website preview associated with a hyperlink (Pla, [0132], [0376], [0381]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason and Pla that a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction would include monitoring, using a processor, a real-time user engagement with a document; [and] following monitoring the real-time user engagement with the document, automatically identifying, using the processor, a structural element in the document of interest to the user based on the real-time user engagement with the document, and generating a first hyperlink associated with the structural element. With both Mason and Pla augmenting a structural element in documents, with Mason augmenting the elements with hyperlinks, and with Pla additionally disclosing the augmented content can be a preview of a website associated with a hyperlink and the identifying and augmenting the elements after real-time detection of interaction with the elements, for example, with user gaze detection, as well as concurrently stopping displaying one element while displaying another, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction would include monitoring, using a processor, a real-time user engagement with a document in order to only augment content a user has placed their attention upon and avoiding cluttering. Generating hyperlinks for structured elements in a document before or after interaction are obvious variants of each other in view of the current limitations that describe the display of the hyperlinks after the interaction. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction.
However, Mason and Pla may not explicitly teach every aspect of
the user engagement being a cursor positioned within a threshold distance of a point of interest in the document.
Kassoway discloses an intext or keyword-based augmentation technique that conveniently provides a viewer search results from one or more search engines based on the content of the keyword(s). A convenient search unit (CSU) is displayed responsive to a viewer's interaction with content of a current destination page, such as user placing the mouse over a predetermined keyword) (Kassoway, abstract). The augmented keywords are generated hyperlinks (Kassoway, at least [0099], [0110], [0136]). The processes of Figures 8 and 9 describe embodiments where the augmenting of a keyword occurs responsive to the position of the cursor being “near”. as oppose to “over”, a keyword, construed as threshold distance (Kassoway, steps 815 or 915, [0226], [0234], Figures 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason and Pla with Kassoway that a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user engagement would include the user engagement being a cursor positioned within a threshold distance of a point of interest in the document. With Mason, Pla, and Kassoway augmenting a structural element in documents, and with Kassoway additionally disclosing the augmenting can occur when a cursor is moved near a keyword in text, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user engagement would include the user engagement being a cursor positioned within a threshold distance of a point of interest in the document in order to only augment content a user has placed their attention upon and avoiding cluttering. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction.
Regarding claim 9, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the method of claim 8, wherein automatically inserting the first hyperlink includes configuring an appearance of the first hyperlink to be gradually modified, and wherein a gradual modification of the appearance of the first hyperlink includes one or more of changing a typeface, a color, a boldness, an underlining, and adding motion at the first hyperlink [Mason, Paras. 56, 107, generating a hyperlink includes altering the style (i.e. font, underline, bold, etc.) and color, of the keyword(s) within the document].
Regarding claim 12, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the method of claim 8, wherein a timer is initiated when the cursor moves away from the second hyperlink by the threshold distance. More specifically, a viewer moving the pointer away from the activated keyword starts a timer (Kassoway, [0093]).
Regarding claim 13, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the method of claim 8, wherein each of automatically inserting the first hyperlink and automatically modifying the second hyperlink to disappear is executed based on a set of rules defined by a user [Para. 96, user preferences for determined augmented (i.e. hyperlinks) content].
Regarding claim 14, Mason teaches a system for automatically modifying hyperlinks, comprising:
a document displayed at a display device [Mason, Fig. 5I, (130, 517), Para. 138, document displayed on a display of the user device]; and
a processor, communicatively coupled to the display device and configured with executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that [Mason, Fig. 1B, (101, 112), Paras. 60-61, the CPU and memory storing instructions to be executed to perform the following], when executed, cause the processor to:
monitor a…user’s interaction with the document, … [Mason, Fig. 5K, (596), Paras. 162, 177, 180, system detecting user movements with, and positions of, a mouse/cursor within the document];
automatically… insert a first hyperlink into a first region of the document based on a first period of time of user engagement with the first region [Mason, Fig. 5K, (592-594), Paras. 173-176, modify the keywords selected to include a hyperlink];
automatically hide a second hyperlink from a second region of the document based on a second period of time without user engagement while retaining code associated with the second hyperlink, the second region separate and distanced from the first region [Mason, Paras. 0098-0100, 0291, the hyperlinks can be hidden and/or removed after a predetermined amount of time or inactivity. Generated advertisement links include code. As “hidden” is presented as an alternative to “remove”, “hidden” is interpreted as that code remains].
However, Mason does not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the user’s interaction is] real-time; [and]
following monitoring the real-time user’s interaction with the document, automatically identify a structural element in the document of interest to the user based on the real-time user’s interaction and a set of rules, generate a first hyperlink associated to the structural element.
wherein automatically hiding the second hyperlink and displaying the document at the display device with the first hyperlink visible occur concurrently
Pla discloses an electronic device displays augmented content related to a portion of content in accordance with detection of movement of the user's head and detection of the user's gaze in accordance with some embodiments (Pla, abstract). As shown in FIG. 7C, the gaze 716a of the user is at a location of a respective word 718a (“Lorem”) of the content item. In response to detecting the gaze 716a of the user on the respective word 718a the electronic device 101 displays the word 718a with a modified appearance, such as displaying the word 718a in bold typeface as shown in FIG. 7I (Pla, [0133]). The electronic device 101 first displays an indication that the electronic device 101 is about to display the augmented content 720 (e.g., changing the appearance of the word to which the gaze is directed) and then, if the head movement is maintained or continued and the gaze is held (e.g., 0.5 seconds, 1 second, 2 seconds, construed as real-time) on word 718a, the electronic device 101 displays the augmented content 720a (Pla, [0121], [0134], [0390]-[0391], Figure 7J). If it is detected that the user looks at a different word, augmented content for the different word is displayed (Pla, [0136]-[0138]). Stopping display of one word in bold while displaying another word in bold occurs concurrently (Pla, [0139]). In some embodiments, the augmented content 720 is displayed overlaid on or proximate to the word to which the augmented content 720 corresponds (Pla, [0140]). The augmented content can be a website preview associated with a hyperlink (Pla, [0132], [0376], [0381]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason and Pla that a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction would include [the user’s interaction is] real-time; [and] following monitoring the real-time user’s interaction with the document, automatically identify a structural element in the document of interest to the user based on the real-time user’s interaction and a set of rules, generate a first hyperlink associated to the structural element. With both Mason and Pla augmenting a structural element in documents, with Mason augmenting the elements with hyperlinks, and with Pla additionally disclosing the augmented content can be a preview of a website associated with a hyperlink and the identifying and augmenting the elements after real-time detection of interaction with the elements, for example, with user gaze detection, as well as concurrently stopping displaying one element while displaying another, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction would include [the user’s interaction is] real-time; [and] following monitoring the real-time user’s interaction with the document, automatically identify a structural element in the document of interest to the user based on the real-time user’s interaction and a set of rules, generate a first hyperlink associated to the structural element in order to only augment content a user has placed their attention upon and avoiding cluttering. Generating hyperlinks for structured elements in a document before or after interaction are obvious variants of each other in view of the current limitations that describe the display of the hyperlinks after the interaction. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction.
However, Mason and Pla may not explicitly teach every aspect of
the user engagement being a cursor positioned within a threshold distance of a point of interest in the document.
Kassoway discloses an intext or keyword-based augmentation technique that conveniently provides a viewer search results from one or more search engines based on the content of the keyword(s). A convenient search unit (CSU) is displayed responsive to a viewer's interaction with content of a current destination page, such as user placing the mouse over a predetermined keyword) (Kassoway, abstract). The augmented keywords are generated hyperlinks (Kassoway, at least [0099], [0110], [0136]). The processes of Figures 8 and 9 describe embodiments where the augmenting of a keyword occurs responsive to the position of the cursor being “near” a keyword, construed as threshold distance (Kassoway, steps 815 or 915, [0226], Figures 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason and Pla with Kassoway that a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user engagement would include the user engagement being a cursor positioned within a threshold distance of a point of interest in the document. With Mason, Pla, and Kassoway augmenting a structural element in documents, and with Kassoway additionally disclosing the augmenting can occur when a cursor is moved near a keyword in text, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user engagement would include the user engagement being a cursor positioned within a threshold distance of a point of interest in the document in order to only augment content a user has placed their attention upon and avoiding cluttering. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically inserting hyperlinks based on identifying user interaction.
Regarding claim 15, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the system of claim 14, wherein the first hyperlink is automatically inserted and the second hyperlink is automatically removed based on a hyperlink generation engine configured with algorithms defining how hyperlinks are added and removed [Mason, Paras. 96, 291, based on the hyperlink algorithm and user preferences, generating and removing hyperlinks].
Regarding claim 16, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the system of claim 14, wherein the second hyperlink is automatically removed when a period of time elapses without user interaction with the second hyperlink, and wherein the period of time is monitored via a timer [Mason, Para. 291, removing hyperlinks based on a certain amount of time].
Regarding claim 17, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the system of claim 14, wherein the timer is one of invisible or displayed at a visible portion of the document at the display device [Mason, Para. 291, removing hyperlinks based on a certain amount of time (i.e. predetermined)].
Regarding claim 18, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the system of claim 14, wherein the first hyperlink is displayed by rotating the first hyperlink through a series of related anchors and corresponding destinations according to a predetermined passage of time [Mason, Fig. 4D-E, Paras. 56, 107, 112-114, generating a hyperlink that can be located at different portions of the document and can be modified based on the user actions (i.e. moving to another section of the document with the same keywords)].
Regarding claim 19, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the system of claim 14, wherein the first hyperlink is automatically inserted by adding the first hyperlink to an element around an image of the document or to at least one portion of the image, and wherein an appearance of the first hyperlink changes according to a predetermined time interval [Mason, Fig. 5K, (592-594), Paras. 56, 107, 173-176, 291, modify the keywords selected to include or remove a hyperlink (i.e. altering the style and color or removing hyperlink); Pla, [0133]-[0135], continuing gaze over time causes augmentations to change].
Regarding claim 20, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the system of claim 14, wherein the second hyperlink is hidden prior to being removed [Mason, Para. 291, hiding and/or removing the hyperlinks after user inactivity or a certain period of time].
Claim 10, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason and Pla with Kassoway, in view of Bates et al. (US 8,311,900 B1, hereafter referred to as “Bates”).
Regarding claim 10, Mason and Pla with Kassoway teach the method of claim 8, wherein automatically inserting the first hyperlink includes displaying a pop-up with the first hyperlink presented in the pop-up … [Mason, Fig. 4C, (460), Paras. 111-112, displaying the hyperlink and/or content within a pop-up window; Pla, [0132], [0376], [0381], the augmented content can be a website preview associated with a hyperlink.] Additionally, Kassoway discloses that the augmentation, on mouse-over, includes a multi-layered pop-up with advertisements assigned to each clickable layer (tab) according to a designated sequence (Kassoway, Figures 4C and 4D, [0049]).
However, Mason, Pla, and Kassowayit may not explicitly teach every aspect of
replacing a first product hyperlink in the pop-up with a second product hyperlink after a threshold duration of time passes.
Bates discloses various embodiments for providing separate views for items (Baters, abstract). A cursor 282 has hovered over the item result 212. The separate view may be rendered automatically upon selecting or hovering over the item result 212 (Bates, col 5, line 64 - col 6, line 11). Figures 3-6 depict the pop-over window showing products with their hyperlinks. The toggle tool 348, 351 may be selectable so as to enable an automatic sequential rendering of item results (products) from the pool of items, with each item being rendered for a time period (Bates, col 8, lines 61-64, claims 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason, Pla, and Kassoway with Bates that a method for displaying hyperlinks and their previews would include displaying the content of the previews including products for periods of time before replacing the products with other products. With Mason and Pla augmenting content with displays of hyperlinks, with Pla, Kassoway, and Bates disclosing previewing the content of the hyperlinks, and with Bates additionally disclosing automatic sequential rendering of item results (products) from the pool of items, with each item being rendered for a time period within the preview, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying hyperlinks and their previews would include displaying the content of the previews including products for periods of time before replacing the products with other products in order to allow present more than one option to a user which is advantageous in advertising. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying hyperlinks and their previews.
Claim 11, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason, Pla, and Kassoway, in view of Makhlouf, and further in view of Bryar et al. (US 7,467,349 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Mason, Pla, and Kassoway teach the method claim 8, wherein automatically modifying the second hyperlink to disappear includes hiding the second hyperlink …, and removing the second hyperlink …; [Para. 291, hiding and/or removing the hyperlink according to the rules].
However, Mason, Pla, and Kassoway may not explicitly teach every aspect of
hiding the second hyperlink when the user does not interact with the second hyperlink for a first threshold of time,
and removing the second hyperlink when the user does not interact with the second hyperlink for a second threshold period of time, the second threshold period of time longer than the first threshold period of time.
Makhlouf discloses system and method for distributing media content (Makhlouf, abstract). The method includes displaying a hyperlink as an iconic advertisement within media content. After a first time period, the icon is moved from a main viewing area to a secondary viewing area. If there is no interaction with the icon after a second time period, remove the icon from the secondary viewing area (Makhlouf, claim 10). The second time period could be longer than the first time period because it is based on the content being viewed (Makhlouf, col 2, lines 53-62). The secondary viewing area can be part of a distinct window displayed on a separate display device from the display device displaying the main viewing area (Makhlouf, col 4, lines 1-26, therefore, moving the icon to a separate display is clearly construable as hiding the icon). Therefore, Makhlouf suggests at least two stages of hiding and removing an advertising hyperlink from a display after a two associated time periods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Mason, Pla, and Kassoway with Makhlouf that a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks would include hiding the hyperlink after a first time period and removing the hyperlink after a second time period. With Mason and Makhlouf adding hyperlinks to content, and with Makhlouf additionally disclosing moving the hyperlink from a main content area to a separate display after a first time period and removing the hyperlink all together after a second time period, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for automatically inserting hyperlinks would include hiding the hyperlink after a first time period and removing the hyperlink after a second time period in order to allow the greatest chance of the hyperlink leaving an impression on the viewer in the case of advertising. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically inserting hyperlinks.
But, Mason, Pla, and Kassoway, with Makhlouf do not explicitly teach configuring the second hyperlink to appear to fade away. However, Bryar teaches configuring the second hyperlink to appear to fade away [Fig. 7, Col. 10, lines 5-18, Col. 17, line 49 – Col. 18, line 3, altering the size, color, format, of the hyperlink based on user interaction. Changing the size to be smaller and less prominent (i.e. fade away)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the dynamic hyperlink interface of Mason and incorporate the style and format changes to hyperlinks of Bryar to allow the system to alter the display of hyperlinks according to a set of rules.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify and include the style and format changes to hyperlinks to allow the user to view hyperlinks according to interests (i.e. prominence), creating an efficient and user friendly interface.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Abraham (US 2016/0357253 A1) – generating links for text within a document based on a the text a user is looking at.
McBearty (US6,848,077 B1) - generating hyperlinks within a document.
Van De Kerkhof (US 2020/0410157 A1) – generating hyperlinks within a document.
Singh (US 11,586,286 B1) – real-time gaze tracking causes augmenting of web elements.
Okamoto (US 6,572,660 B1) – hyperlinks are added at specific locations of the cursor.
Aoki (US 2003/0016253 A1) – hyperlinks are removed/hidden after a period of time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171