DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wyatt (US 2021/0097943) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method, comprising: emitting light from a light source ([0068]); transmitting the light from the light source ([0068]) via a light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) to illuminate a light guide plate ([0304]) located remotely from the light source ([0068]); emitting light from the light guide plate ([0304]) to illuminate a display panel ([0274]) located remotely from the light source ([0068]); detecting ([0376]), via a photodiode ([0376], [0703]), a characteristic of light ([0459], and [0460]) transmitted by the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) at a location proximate the display panel ([0274]) and remote from the light source ([0068]); and determining, via one or more processors ([0274]) of an electronic headset device ([0667-0668]), a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) based at least in part on the characteristic ([0459], and [0460]) detected by the photodiode ([0376], [0703]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the one or more processors ([0274]) determines if the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above a threshold ([0713]), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) adjusts the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) to a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) below the threshold ([0713]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) turn off the light source ([0068]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the light source ([0068]) includes an RGB (red, green, and blue) laser, and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) adjusts the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of a color of the RGB laser ([0272]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the light source ([0068]) comprises multiple laser light source ([0068])s, each laser light source ([0068]) is coupled to a surface of the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) adjust the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of one laser light source ([0068]) of the multiple laser light source ([0068])s.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the one or more processors ([0274]) determines if the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) fluctuates between a first power and a second power level ([0529]; luminous intensity), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) fluctuates, the one or more processors ([0274]) stabilizes the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) at a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) below the threshold ([0713]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches a system, in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); comprising: one or more processors ([0274]); and one or more non-transitory computer readable media ([0275]) storing computer executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors ([0274]) to perform operations comprising: emitting light from a light source ([0068]), wherein the light is transmitted from the light source ([0068]) via a light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) to illuminate a light guide plate ([0304]) located remotely from the light source ([0068]), and light from the light guide plate ([0304]) illuminates a display panel ([0274]) located remotely from the light source ([0068]); detecting, via a photodiode ([0376], [0703]), a characteristic of light ([0459], and [0460]) transmitted by the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) at a location proximate the display panel ([0274]) and remote from the light source ([0068]); and determining, via the one or more processors ([0274]) of an electronic headset device ([0667-0668]), a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) based at least in part on the characteristic detected by the photodiode ([0376], [0703]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the photodiode ([0376], [0703]) comprises at least one of silicon ([0253]), germanium, gallium arsenide, and indium gallium arsenide, and the photodiode ([0376], [0703]) is configured to handle the power and spectrum of the light source ([0068]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the photodiode ([0376], [0703]) is coupled to the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) at an end surface of the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) or a side surface of the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the one or more processors ([0274]) determines if the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above a threshold ([0713]), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) adjusts the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) to a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) below the threshold ([0713]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) turn off the light source ([0068]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the light source ([0068]) includes an RGB (red, green, and blue) laser, and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) adjusts the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of a color of the RGB laser ([0272]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the light source ([0068]) comprises multiple laser light source ([0068])s, each laser light source ([0068]) is coupled to a surface of the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the one or more processors ([0274]) adjust the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of one laser light source ([0068]) of the multiple laser light sources ([0068]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the one or more processors ([0274]) determines if the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) fluctuates between a first power and a second power level ([0529]; luminous intensity), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) fluctuates, the one or more processors ([0274]) stabilizes the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) at a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) below the threshold ([0713]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches, in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); one or more non-transitory computer readable media ([0275]) storing instructions executable by a processor, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: emitting light from a light source ([0068]), wherein the light is transmitted from the light source ([0068]) via a light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) to illuminate a light guide plate ([0304]) located remotely from the light source ([0068]), and light from the light guide plate ([0304]) illuminates a display panel ([0274]) located remotely from the light source ([0068]); detecting, via a photodiode ([0376], [0703]), a characteristic of light ([0459], and [0460]) transmitted by the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter) at a location proximate the display panel ([0274]) and remote from the light source ([0068]); and determining, via the one or more processors ([0274]) of an electronic headset device ([0667-0668]), a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) based at least in part on the characteristic detected by the photodiode ([0376], [0703]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the processor determines if the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above a threshold ([0713]), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), processors ([0274]) adjusts the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) to a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) below the threshold ([0713]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the processor turns off the light source ([0068]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the light source ([0068]) includes an RGB (red, green, and blue) laser, and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the processor adjusts the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of a color of the RGB laser ([0272]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the light source ([0068]) comprises multiple laser light source ([0068])s, each laser light source ([0068]) is coupled to a surface of the light transmitting element ([0425]; color filter), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) is above the threshold ([0713]), the processor adjust the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of one laser light source ([0068]) of the multiple laser light source ([0068])s.
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 16, wherein D1 further teaches a Method of emitting light from a light source ([0068]), in at least ([0068], [0274], [0304], [0376], [0425], [0459-0460], [0529], ([0667-0668]), [0703]); wherein the processor determines if the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) fluctuates between a first power and a second power level ([0529]; luminous intensity), and in response to at least determining that the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) fluctuates, the processor stabilizes the power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) of the light source ([0068]) at a power level ([0529]; luminous intensity) below the threshold ([0713]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872