Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 5th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, and 9-16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20200284883 A1), hereinafter Ferreira, in view of Lundeen et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20210239995 A1), hereinafter Lundeen.
Regarding claim 1, Ferreira teaches an optoelectronic sensor for detecting an object in a monitored zone ([0402] The disclosure relates to a LIDAR Sensor System for environment detection, wherein the LIDAR Sensor System is designed to carry out repeated measurements for detecting the environment, wherein the LIDAR Sensor System has an emitting unit (First LIDAR Sensing System) which is designed to perform a measurement with at least one laser pulse and wherein the LIDAR system has a detection unit (Second LIDAR Sensing Unit), which is designed to detect an object-reflected laser pulse during a measurement time window.; [Fig. 76]; [2815] A first scanned laser beam 7614 (e.g. scanned into a first half of the FOV 7612) including first laser pulses may be reflected by a first object 7616 as a first reflected laser beam 7618) , comprising:
a light transmitter and transmission optics associated with the light transmitter in a transmission path for transmitting a light beam; ([2815] The laser sources 7602 and 7604 and the beam steering system 7610 may be part of the First LIDAR Sensing System 40.)
a light receiver and reception optics associated with the light receiver and offset from the transmission optics by a spacing in a reception path for receiving a light beam remitted by the object and for generating a received light spot on the light receiver;([2816] the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as a dual focus meta surface, which focusses the light echoes wavelength-dependent and/or polarization-dependent onto each one of a first sensor 7630 and a second sensor 7632) and
a control and evaluation unit configured to evaluate a received signal of the light receiver ([0402] Furthermore, the LIDAR system has a control device (LIDAR Data Processing System/Control and Communication System/LIDAR Sensor Management System), which is designed, in the event that at least one reflected beam component is detected, to associate the detected beam component on the basis of a predetermined assignment with a solid angle range from which the beam component originates.)
wherein the reception optics has at least one optical metaelement having a metasurface and/or a metamaterial ([2816] By way of example, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as one or more meta-surfaces. In various embodiments, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as a dual focus meta surface, which focusses the light echoes wavelength-dependent and/or polarization-dependent onto each one of a first sensor 7630 and a second sensor 7632)
and the reception optics is configured such that a displacement of the received light spot on the light receiver in a near zone of the optoelectronic sensor dependent on a distance of the object from the optoelectronic sensor is no larger than a full width at half maximum of the received light spot, ([2816] Alternatively, the optical component 7628 having one or more (e.g. multi-focus) meta-surface may be configured to focus the light echoes polarization-dependent onto each one of the first sensor 7630 and the second sensor 7632.) and
wherein the optoelectronic sensor further comprises an optical corrective element in the reception path that reduces a dependence of a reception level of the light receiver on the distance of the object from the optoelectronic sensor ([2816] By way of example, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as one or more meta-surfaces. In various embodiments, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as a dual focus meta surface, which focusses the light echoes wavelength-dependent and/or polarization-dependent onto each one of a first sensor 7630 and a second sensor 7632.),
Ferreira fails to teach the sensor wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase a size of the received light spot with decreasing distance of the object.
However, Lundeen teaches the sensor wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase a size of the received light spot with decreasing distance of the object ([0045] wherein said optical component comprises a diverging optical component producing a diverging angular light distribution,[0097] In accordance with various embodiments, a spaceplate may influence the phase properties, path, trajectory, convergence point, or focus point, of light which is either converging or diverging; [0095] one or more converging or diverging beams, in which an optical path of such beams can be substantially reduced in length via the introduction of a spaceplate as defined herein that maintains an incident angular distribution at its output while compressing an effective optical path of the system of the whole; [0108] Other optical devices that implicitly use imaging, a non-limiting example of which may be a grating spectrometer which employs a slit, or systems that manipulate light via its propagation, such as a solar concentrator, multiplane mode demultiplexer, or a multi-mode interferometer in integrated optics, may be similarly advantaged by such a system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the size configuring corrective element similar to Lundeen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the effective distinguishable distance to the target through optical correction, replacing the lens of Ferreira with that of Lundeen, as taught by Lundeen.
Regarding claim 2, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the reception optics is configured such that the displacement of the received light spot on the light receiver in the near zone of the sensor dependent on the distance of the object from the sensor is no larger than a half full width at half maximum of the received light spot ([2827]In case of a LIDAR system with conventional optics arrangements and an FOV 7612 of e.g. 12° in vertical direction and 60° in horizontal direction, typical sensor elements may have a size of 0.3 mm in vertical direction and 2.5 mm in horizontal direction, i.e. exhibiting a large aspect ratio of 8,33. In case of an angle-convergent multi-layer collection lens, the FOV 7612 may be focussed on a sensor element 52 with a much smaller aspect ratio, e.g at least smaller than 5, down to an aspect ratio of 1, e.g. a quadratic sensor element 52.).
Regarding claim 3, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the reception optics is configured such that the received light spot does not have any displacement dependent on the distance of the object from the sensor ([2816] Alternatively, the optical component 7628 having one or more (e.g. multi-focus) meta-surface may be configured to focus the light echoes polarization-dependent onto each one of the first sensor 7630 and the second sensor 7632.).
Regarding claim 4, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the optical metaelement has at least one metalens ([2827] In case of an angle-convergent multi-layer collection lens, the FOV 7612 may be focussed on a sensor element 52 with a much smaller aspect ratio, e.g at least smaller than 5, down to an aspect ratio of 1, e.g. a quadratic sensor element 52. This may allow for a smaller sensor and may avoid the loss of optical efficiency in the corners of the FOV 7612. Such a meta lens can be designed by providing a first surface of an optical component and a second surface of the optical component (opposite to the first surface) as a meta-surface.).
Regarding claim 5, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1,
Ferreira fails to teach the sensor wherein the optical metaelement has at least one spaceplate.
However, Lundeen teaches the sensor wherein the optical metaelement has at least one spaceplate ([0107] An ultrathin monolithic imaging system may be formed by, for instance, further integrating a metalens and a spaceplate directly on a sensor (FIG. 2C), in accordance with various embodiments.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the spaceplate similar to Lundeen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of making the overall optical device and sensor more compact than traditional optical devices.
Regarding claim 6, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the reception optics has at least one refractive and/or diffractive optics ([2832] The first meta-surface 7906 is configured to diffract light of different character (e.g. with respect to wavelength and/or polarization) convergently and divergently towards the second meta-surface 7908.).
Regarding claim 7, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the optical metaelement at least partly has the function of the reception optics ([Fig. 78]; [2827] In case of an angle-convergent multi-layer collection lens, the FOV 7612 may be focussed on a sensor element 52 with a much smaller aspect ratio, e.g at least smaller than 5, down to an aspect ratio of 1, e.g. a quadratic sensor element 52. This may allow for a smaller sensor and may avoid the loss of optical efficiency in the corners of the FOV 7612. Such a meta lens can be designed by providing a first surface of an optical component and a second surface of the optical component (opposite to the first surface) as a meta-surface.).
Regarding claim 9, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 8, wherein the optical metaelement at least partly has the function of both the reception optics and the optical corrective element ([Fig. 78]; [2827] In case of an angle-convergent multi-layer collection lens, the FOV 7612 may be focussed on a sensor element 52 with a much smaller aspect ratio, e.g at least smaller than 5, down to an aspect ratio of 1, e.g. a quadratic sensor element 52. This may allow for a smaller sensor and may avoid the loss of optical efficiency in the corners of the FOV 7612. Such a meta lens can be designed by providing a first surface of an optical component and a second surface of the optical component (opposite to the first surface) as a meta-surface.).
Regarding claim 10, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the reception optics images the remitted light beam for all the angles of incidence occurring over a range of the sensor on the light receiver such that an overmodulation of the light receiver is avoided ([2826] In various embodiments, the meta-surface provided on one or more surfaces (e.g. on two opposing surfaces) of an optical component of the Second LIDAR Sensing System 50 (in other words of an optical component in the receiver path of the LIDAR Sensor System 10) is provided to collect the echoes (reflected laser beam(s)) from a wide FOV 7612 onto a LIDAR sensor 52).
Regarding claim 11, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the reception optics images the remitted light beam for all the angles of incidence occurring over a range of the sensor on the light receiver such that a reception level of the light receiver remains constant ([2827] In case of an angle-convergent multi-layer collection lens, the FOV 7612 may be focussed on a sensor element 52 with a much smaller aspect ratio, e.g at least smaller than 5, down to an aspect ratio of 1, e.g. a quadratic sensor element 52. This may allow for a smaller sensor and may avoid the loss of optical efficiency in the corners of the FOV 7612).
Regarding claim 12, Ferreira teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1,
Ferreira fails to teach the sensor wherein the metaelement has a first part element for a reduction of a distance dependence of the received light spot position on a distance of the object and a second part element for an at least partial homogenization of a reception level at different distances of the object.
However, Lundeen teaches the sensor wherein the metaelement has a first part element for a reduction of a distance dependence of the received light spot position on a distance of the object and a second part element for an at least partial homogenization of a reception level at different distances of the object ([0097] In accordance with various embodiments, a spaceplate may influence the phase properties, path, trajectory, convergence point, or focus point, of light which is either converging or diverging. Such converging or diverging may be due to the presence of a focusing element, interchangeably referred to herein as a “lens”, which resides at least in part in the path of the light, wherein a focusing element or lens may be any one or more of, but is not limited to, a lens, a lens system, a metalens, a refracting element, a focusing element, a material which provides an optical power, a material which changes the angle of a ray of light, or the like; [0109] Combining this amplitude and phase behaviour, the Fourier transfer function of free space is H(k)=exp(ikzdeff). Therefore, a spaceplate, in accordance with various embodiments, may produce the same transfer function.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the multi-layered metaelement to reduce distance dependency and homogenize the reception level similar to Lundeen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of producing a sensor that can maintain image integrity despite a more compact design.
Regarding claim 15, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1, wherein the sensor is configured as a light barrier or as a distance measurement sensor in accordance with the time of light principle ([0402] The disclosure relates to a LIDAR Sensor System for environment detection, wherein the LIDAR Sensor System is designed to carry out repeated measurements for detecting the environment, wherein the LIDAR Sensor System has an emitting unit (First LIDAR Sensing System) which is designed to perform a measurement with at least one laser pulse and wherein the LIDAR system has a detection unit (Second LIDAR Sensing Unit), which is designed to detect an object-reflected laser pulse during a measurement time window).
Regarding claim 16, Ferreira teaches a method of detecting an object in a monitored zone ([0402] The disclosure relates to a LIDAR Sensor System for environment detection, wherein the LIDAR Sensor System is designed to carry out repeated measurements for detecting the environment, wherein the LIDAR Sensor System has an emitting unit (First LIDAR Sensing System) which is designed to perform a measurement with at least one laser pulse and wherein the LIDAR system has a detection unit (Second LIDAR Sensing Unit), which is designed to detect an object-reflected laser pulse during a measurement time window.; [Fig. 76]; [2815] A first scanned laser beam 7614 (e.g. scanned into a first half of the FOV 7612) including first laser pulses may be reflected by a first object 7616 as a first reflected laser beam 7618), comprising
a light transmitter transmitting a light beam; ([2815] The laser sources 7602 and 7604 and the beam steering system 7610 may be part of the First LIDAR Sensing System 40.),
imaging a light beam remitted by the object on a light receiver by reception optics arranged offset by a distance from the light transmitter; ([2816] the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as a dual focus meta surface, which focusses the light echoes wavelength-dependent and/or polarization-dependent onto each one of a first sensor 7630 and a second sensor 7632), and
generating a received signal with the light receiver, ([0402] Furthermore, the LIDAR system has a control device (LIDAR Data Processing System/Control and Communication System/LIDAR Sensor Management System), which is designed, in the event that at least one reflected beam component is detected, to associate the detected beam component on the basis of a predetermined assignment with a solid angle range from which the beam component originates.),
wherein the reception optics has at least one optical metaelement having a metasurface and/or a metamaterial ([2816] By way of example, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as one or more meta-surfaces. In various embodiments, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as a dual focus meta surface, which focusses the light echoes wavelength-dependent and/or polarization-dependent onto each one of a first sensor 7630 and a second sensor 7632) and
the reception optics is configured such that a displacement of the received light spot on the light receiver dependent on a distance of the object from a sensor including the light transmitter and the light receiver is reduced such that the displacement in a near zone of the sensor is no larger than a full width at half maximum of the received light spot, ([2816] Alternatively, the optical component 7628 having one or more (e.g. multi-focus) meta-surface may be configured to focus the light echoes polarization-dependent onto each one of the first sensor 7630 and the second sensor 7632.) and
wherein the sensor further comprises an optical corrective element in a reception path that reduces a dependence of a reception level of the light receiver on the distance of the object from the sensor ([2816] By way of example, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as one or more meta-surfaces. In various embodiments, the optical component 7628 may have one or more surface regions (which are in the receiving light path) configured as a dual focus meta surface, which focusses the light echoes wavelength-dependent and/or polarization-dependent onto each one of a first sensor 7630 and a second sensor 7632.).
Ferreira fails to teach the sensor wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase a size of the received light spot with decreasing distance of the object.
However, Lundeen teaches the sensor wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase a size of the received light spot with decreasing distance of the object ([0045] wherein said optical component comprises a diverging optical component producing a diverging angular light distribution,[0097] In accordance with various embodiments, a spaceplate may influence the phase properties, path, trajectory, convergence point, or focus point, of light which is either converging or diverging; [0095] one or more converging or diverging beams, in which an optical path of such beams can be substantially reduced in length via the introduction of a spaceplate as defined herein that maintains an incident angular distribution at its output while compressing an effective optical path of the system of the whole; [0108] Other optical devices that implicitly use imaging, a non-limiting example of which may be a grating spectrometer which employs a slit, or systems that manipulate light via its propagation, such as a solar concentrator, multiplane mode demultiplexer, or a multi-mode interferometer in integrated optics, may be similarly advantaged by such a system.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the size configuring corrective element similar to Lundeen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the effective distinguishable distance to the target through optical correction, replacing the lens of Ferreira with that of Lundeen, as taught by Lundeen.
Regarding claim 17, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1,
Ferreira fails to teach the sensor wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase the size of the received light spot with the decreasing distance of the object such that a reception level of the light receiver is independent of the distance of the object over a detection range.
However, Lundeen teaches the sensor wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase the size of the received light spot with the decreasing distance of the object such that a reception level of the light receiver is independent of the distance of the object over a detection range ([0097] In accordance with various embodiments, a spaceplate may influence the phase properties, path, trajectory, convergence point, or focus point, of light which is either converging or diverging; [0095] one or more converging or diverging beams, in which an optical path of such beams can be substantially reduced in length via the introduction of a spaceplate as defined herein that maintains an incident angular distribution at its output while compressing an effective optical path of the system of the whole;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the size configuring corrective element similar to Lundeen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the effective distinguishable distance to the target through optical correction, replacing the lens of Ferreira with that of Lundeen, as taught by Lundeen.
Regarding claim 18, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the method in accordance with claim 16,
Ferreira fails to teach the method wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase the size of the received light spot with the decreasing distance of the object such that a reception level of the light receiver is independent of the distance of the object over a detection range.
However, Lundeen teaches the method wherein the optical corrective element is configured to increase the size of the received light spot with the decreasing distance of the object such that a reception level of the light receiver is independent of the distance of the object over a detection range ([0097] In accordance with various embodiments, a spaceplate may influence the phase properties, path, trajectory, convergence point, or focus point, of light which is either converging or diverging; [0095] one or more converging or diverging beams, in which an optical path of such beams can be substantially reduced in length via the introduction of a spaceplate as defined herein that maintains an incident angular distribution at its output while compressing an effective optical path of the system of the whole;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the size configuring corrective element similar to Lundeen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the effective distinguishable distance to the target through optical correction, replacing the lens of Ferreira with that of Lundeen, as taught by Lundeen.
Claim 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of Lundeen, as applied to claim 12, further in view of Hu et al. (United states Patent No. 10979635 B2), hereinafter Hu.
Regarding claim 13, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 1,
Ferreira fails to teach the sensor wherein the transmission optics has a second optical metaelement.
However, Hu teaches the sensor wherein the transmission optics has a second optical metaelement ([Col: 15, lines 46-51] The 3D sensor 1100 includes a pattern projecting module 1110 with the first WFOV meta-lens 1112 and a light emitter array 1114 (e.g., a micro-LED or vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) array) and a camera module 1120 with the second WFOV meta-lens 1122 and photodetector array 1124.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the second optical device in the transmission path similar to Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of even more precisely directing the outgoing light beam in addition to the returned beam.
Regarding claim 14, Ferreira, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 13,
Ferreira fails to teach the sensor wherein the optical metaelement and the second optical metaelement are configured as a common metaelement.
However, Hu teaches the sensor wherein the optical metaelement and the second optical metaelement are configured as a common metaelement ([Col: 14, lines 39-44] FIGS. 10A and 10B illustrate the wide-angle imaging capability of the WFOV meta-lens 700. FIG. 10A shows the measurement setup 1000, where a laser 1010 illuminates an object 1014 through a diffuser 1012. The meta-lens 700 collects the light scattered by the object 1014 and projects it onto an InSb FPA camera 1030 through a mid-IR lens 1020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the common metaelement similar to Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of compacting the design of the overall sensor and reducing the number of overall parts in the device.
Claim 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of Lundeen, as applied to claims 17 and 18, further in view of Lin et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20170146806 A1), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 19, Ferrier, as modified, teaches the sensor in accordance with claim 17,
Ferrier fails to teach the sensor wherein the optical metaelement has a focal length that varies as a function of an angle of incidence of the received light beam.
However, Lin teaches the sensor wherein the optical metaelement has a focal length that varies as a function of an angle of incidence of the received light beam ([0051] In accordance with some embodiment of this invention, the sub-elements may each have a different focal length... shown in FIG. 8. In imaging system 800, each sub-lens 811-813 has a different focal length (f1<f2<f3).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the angle based focusing metaelement similar to Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of redirecting a variety of incoming light to focus on the desired sensor area depending on the angle of incidence impacting the optical metalelement.
Regarding claim 20, Ferrier, as modified, teaches the method in accordance with claim 18,
Ferrier fails to teach the method wherein the optical metaelement has a focal length that varies as a function of an angle of incidence of the received light beam.
However, Lin teaches the method wherein the optical metaelement has a focal length that varies as a function of an angle of incidence of the received light beam ([0051] In accordance with some embodiment of this invention, the sub-elements may each have a different focal length... shown in FIG. 8. In imaging system 800, each sub-lens 811-813 has a different focal length (f1<f2<f3).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ferreira to comprise the angle based focusing metaelement similar to Lin, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of redirecting a variety of incoming light to focus on the desired sensor area depending on the angle of incidence impacting the optical metalelement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the specific combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument on page 8 of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks made, regarding whether Ferreira et al discloses the newly modified limitation of the independent claim involving modifying eh size of the received light spot as a function of object distance, the examiner notes that while the prior art of Ferreira fails to teach this limitation, as noted in the Applicant initiated interview, the prior art of record as a whole, including the prior art of Lundeen, does teach this limitation. Lundeen teaches a optical lens and spaceplate designed to diverge the incoming light to a sensor in a manner that would modify the received light on the sensor at longer or shorter distances. Lundeen also teaches that while their system is directed for an intended use, the structure described is easily translated to any incoming light system. For this reason it would be obvious, as reasoned above, to one of ordinary skill in the art to use such a configuration in the way described in the newly amended claim limitation. As such the rejection has been modified but is otherwise maintained.
Further, the argument that the newly amended claims are not taught by Ferreira have been considered and are persuasive, however moot, as the newly arranged prior art of record, including that of Lin, shown above, teaches the newly amended claim limitations. Arguments for obviousness to combine the prior art of Lundeen and Lin in the manner described have been presented above, and as a result the rejection is maintained in this Non-Final Office Action.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/MARK HELLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645