DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Na (US 2017/0062508).
Regarding Claim 1, Na discloses a time of flight sensor [Fig 9; 0090], comprising: at least one pixel, comprising: an epitaxially-grown germanium-based photosensitive structure comprising an upper portion and a trunk portion [#908, #910, #912 of Fig 9; 0081], a Si based silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure [#902-#906, #916, #920, #928-#936 of Fig 9; 0080-82]- a dielectric material layer arranged at least between the upper portion of the epitaxially-grown germanium-based photosensitive structure and the silicon- based photocurrent collecting structure, wherein the trunk portion of the epitaxially-grown germanium-based photosensitive structure is arranged within an aperture in the dielectric material layer [#906, #910, #942 of Fig 9; 0080-83];and at least one n-contact configured to collect electrons of a photocurrent and at least one p-contact configured to collect holes of the photocurrent, wherein the at least one n-contact and the at least one p-contact are arranged in the silicon- based photocurrent collecting structure [#916, #936 of Fig 9; 0080-84].
Regarding Claim 11, Na discloses a method for fabricating a time of flight sensor comprising at least one pixel, the method comprising: providing a silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure [#908, #910, #912 of Fig 9; 0081]; arranging a dielectric material layer on the silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure [#906, #910, #942 of Fig 9; 0080-83]; fabricating an aperture within the dielectric material layer; epitaxially growing a germanium-based photosensitive structure on the silicon- based photocurrent collecting structure, starting in the aperture [#906, #910, #942 of Fig 9; 0080-83]; wherein the germanium-based photosensitive structure comprises an upper portion and a trunk portion, wherein the trunk portion is arranged within the aperture and the upper portion is arranged above the dielectric material layer [#916, #936 of Fig 9; 0080-84]; and fabricating in the silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure at least one n-contact configured to collect electrons of a photocurrent and at least one p-contact configured to collect holes of the photocurrent [#916, #936 of Fig 9; 0080-84].
Regarding Claim 2, Na also discloses wherein the epitaxially- grown germanium-based photosensitive structure of the at least one pixel comprises a single trunk portion in the form of the said trunk portion [#908, #910, #912 of Fig 9; 0080-82; 0084].
Regarding Claim 3, Na also discloses wherein the epitaxially- grown germanium-based photosensitive structure comprises a second trunk portion arranged within a second aperture in the dielectric material layer [#908, #910, #912, #942 of Fig 9; 0080-82; 0084].
Regarding Claim 4, Na also discloses wherein a p-n junction within the silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure is arranged vertically below the trunk portion of the epitaxially-grown germanium-based photosensitive structure [#908, #910, #912 of Fig 9; 0080-82; 0084].
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Na also discloses wherein the at least one pixel comprises a first n-contact, and a second n-contact, and a first demodulation gate, and a second demodulation gate, wherein the first and the second demodulation gates are configured to direct the electrons of the photocurrent to either the first n- contact or the second n-contact [Fig 9, 11; 0015; 0083; 0090]
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Na also discloses wherein the at least one pixel comprises a first p-contact,and a second p-contact, and a third demodulation gate, and a fourth demodulation gate, wherein the third and the fourth demodulation gates are configured to direct the holes of the photocurrent to either the first-contact or the second p-contact [Fig 9, 11; 0015; 0083; 0090].
Regarding Claim 7, Na also discloses wherein the silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure includes an n-doped region configured to conduct the electrons of the photocurrent to the at least one n-contact and a p- doped region configured to conduct the holes of the photocurrent to the at least one p-contact, wherein the n-doped region and the p-doped region are both in contact with the epitaxially- grown germanium-based photosensitive structure [#902-#906, #916, #920, #928-#936 of Fig 9, 11; 0015; 0080-83; 0090].
Regarding Claim 8, Na also discloses wherein the n-doped region and the p-doped region are laterally juxtaposed [Fig 9, 11; 0015; 0080-83; 0090].
Regarding Claim 9, Na also discloses wherein a first one of the n-doped region and the p-doped region laterally surrounds the second one of the n- doped region and the p-doped region [Fig 9; 0080-82; 0084]
Regarding Claim 10, Na also discloses wherein the trunk portion has an aspect ratio in the range of 1:1 to 1:10 [#908, #910, #912, #942 of Fig 9; Fig 11; 0080-82; 0084].
Regarding Claim 12, Na also discloses: doping a first portion of the silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure to fabricate an n-doped region configured to conduct the electrons of the photocurrent to the at least one n- contact-i and doping a second portion of the silicon-based photocurrent collecting structure to fabricate a p-doped region configured to conduct the holes of the photocurrent to the at least one p- contact [#902-#906, #916, #920, #928-#936 of Fig 9, 11; 0015; 0080-83; 0090].
Regarding Claim 15, Na also discloses providing evaluation circuitry configured to use both the electrons and the holes of the photocurrent collected by the at least one n-contact and the at least one p-contact to measure a signal [Fig 9; Fig 11; 0080-82; 0084; 0090]
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645