DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to communications received 01/12/2026. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11, 14-15, 17-18, 20 have been amended. Claims 2, 9, 16 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments and response to the claims are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejections set forth in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (1) Briliauskas does not disclose…model updates sent from the perspective clients.
In response to argument (1), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Briliauskas discloses system receives an updated version of malware properties database or, at least, metadata and/or a hash of one or more newly-identified malicious files, from each of client devices…see col.15 lines 23-47. Examiner maintains that Briliauskas does disclose this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13,14, 15, 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Briliauskas et al (Pat. No. US 11593485) in view of Wiebe et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0349605).
As per claim 1, Briliauskas discloses a computer-implemented method for supervised anomaly detection in federated learning, the method comprising: generating, by a central server in a federated learning system a training dataset, the training dataset including malicious data samples and benign data samples, the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks (generating a predictive model for malware detection using federated learning…transmitting, to each of a plurality of remote devices, a copy of the predictive model, where the predictive model is configured to predict whether a file is malicious…generating a federated model by training the predictive model based on the model parameters received from each of the plurality of remote devices…labeling each file of a training data set as either malicious or clean…see col.1 lines 41-53, col.4 lines 44-46); training, by the central server, update-generating models on the malicious data samples and the benign data samples in the training dataset; generating, by the central server, benign model updates and malicious model updates, through training the update-generating models (…system receives metadata for the initial model trained by each of client devices…metadata may include, for example, an indication of a version (e.g., a version number) for the model trained by respective ones of client devices…the version of each model trained by client devices can then be compared to a current version of the model maintained by model generator (i.e., the initial model) to determine whether any of client devices had trained an old or out-of-date version of the initial model…system also receives an updated version of malware properties database or, at least, metadata and/or a hash of one or more newly-identified malicious files, from each of client devices…newly-identified malicious files may be files that were determined to be malicious on any of client devices…likewise, client devices may also send hashes and/or metadata of known clean files, to further improve malware properties database…see col.15 lines 23-47); and training, by the central server, an anomaly detector on the malicious model updates and the benign model updates (see col.17 line 49-col.18 line 20); deploying, by the server, the anomaly detector to the federated learning system, for supervised anomaly detection in the federated learning system (…transmit…malware detection model…to client device…see col.10 lines 63-65…generate a malware detection model via federated learning…see col.20 line 10…the malware detection model is a predictive model that classifies files…as either malicious or “clean”/non-malicious…the malware detection model is a supervised training model…see col.20 lines 34-38, col.23 lines 15-28).
receiving, by the central server, model updates sent from respective clients in the federated learning system (…system also receives metadata for the initial model trained by each of client devices…metadata may include, for example, an indication of a version (e.g., a version number) for the model trained by respective ones of client devices…system receives an updated version of malware properties database or, at least, metadata and/or a hash of one or more newly-identified malicious files, from each of client devices…newly-identified malicious files may be files that were determined to be malicious on any of client devices…likewise, client devices may also send hashes and/or metadata of known clean files…col.15 lines 23-47); running, by the central server, the anomaly detector to classify malicious ones and benign ones in the model updates sent from the respective clients (see col.15 line 48-col.16 line 11); flagging, by the central server, the malicious ones in the model updates sent from the respective clients; and excluding, by the central server, the malicious ones from aggregating the model updates sent from the respective clients (…system may compare the version (e.g., version number) of the model trained by each of client devices (e.g., determined based on model metadata) to a current version of the model maintained by system (e.g., the initial instantiation of the model)…if the version of the model trained by each of client devices matches the current version of the model, then the model parameters received from each of client devices may be considered valid…if it is determined that one or more of the client devices had trained an out-of-date model, the parameters transmitted by the offending client device(s) may be considered invalid…the invalid parameters are flagged, ignored, or deleted…see col. 22 lines 38-51). Briliauskas does not explicitly disclose the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks. However Wiebe discloses the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks (…a poisoning attack seeks to control a classifier by introducing malicious training data into the training set so that the adversary can force an incorrect classification for a subset of test vectors…see par. 32). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Wiebe in Briliauskas for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further prevent powerful adversary from learning information contributed to the clustering algorithm, therefore enhancing the security further…see Wiebe, par. 3-4.
As per claim 8, Briliauskas discloses a computer program product for supervised anomaly detection, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by one or more processors, the program instructions executable to: generate, by a central server in a federated learning system a training dataset, the training dataset including malicious data samples and benign data samples, the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks (generating a predictive model for malware detection using federated learning…transmitting, to each of a plurality of remote devices, a copy of the predictive model, where the predictive model is configured to predict whether a file is malicious…generating a federated model by training the predictive model based on the model parameters received from each of the plurality of remote devices…labeling each file of a training data set as either malicious or clean…see col.1 lines 41-53, col.4 lines 44-46); train, by the central server, update-generating models on the malicious data samples and the benign data samples in the training dataset; generate, by the central server, benign model updates and malicious model updates, through training the update-generating models (…system receives metadata for the initial model trained by each of client devices…metadata may include, for example, an indication of a version (e.g., a version number) for the model trained by respective ones of client devices…the version of each model trained by client devices can then be compared to a current version of the model maintained by model generator (i.e., the initial model) to determine whether any of client devices had trained an old or out-of-date version of the initial model…system also receives an updated version of malware properties database or, at least, metadata and/or a hash of one or more newly-identified malicious files, from each of client devices…newly-identified malicious files may be files that were determined to be malicious on any of client devices…likewise, client devices may also send hashes and/or metadata of known clean files, to further improve malware properties database…see col.15 lines 23-47); and train, by the central server, an anomaly detector on the malicious model updates and the benign model updates (see col.17 line 49-col.18 line 20); deploying, by the server, the anomaly detector to the federated learning system, for supervised anomaly detection in the federated learning system (…transmit…malware detection model…to client device…see col.10 lines 63-65…generate a malware detection model via federated learning…see col.20 line 10…the malware detection model is a predictive model that classifies files…as either malicious or “clean”/non-malicious…the malware detection model is a supervised training model…see col.20 lines 34-38, col.23 lines 15-28).
receive, by the central server, model updates sent from respective clients in the federated learning system (…system also receives metadata for the initial model trained by each of client devices…metadata may include, for example, an indication of a version (e.g., a version number) for the model trained by respective ones of client devices…system receives an updated version of malware properties database or, at least, metadata and/or a hash of one or more newly-identified malicious files, from each of client devices…newly-identified malicious files may be files that were determined to be malicious on any of client devices…likewise, client devices may also send hashes and/or metadata of known clean files…col.15 lines 23-47); run, by the central server, the anomaly detector to classify malicious ones and benign ones in the model updates sent from the respective clients (see col.15 line 48-col.16 line 11); flag, by the central server, the malicious ones in the model updates sent from the respective clients; and exclude, by the central server, the malicious ones from aggregating the model updates sent from the respective clients (…system may compare the version (e.g., version number) of the model trained by each of client devices (e.g., determined based on model metadata) to a current version of the model maintained by system (e.g., the initial instantiation of the model)…if the version of the model trained by each of client devices matches the current version of the model, then the model parameters received from each of client devices may be considered valid…if it is determined that one or more of the client devices had trained an out-of-date model, the parameters transmitted by the offending client device(s) may be considered invalid…the invalid parameters are flagged, ignored, or deleted…see col. 22 lines 38-51). Briliauskas does not explicitly disclose the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks. However Wiebe discloses the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks (…a poisoning attack seeks to control a classifier by introducing malicious training data into the training set so that the adversary can force an incorrect classification for a subset of test vectors…see par. 32). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Wiebe in Briliauskas for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further prevent powerful adversary from learning information contributed to the clustering algorithm, therefore enhancing the security further…see Wiebe, par. 3-4.
As per claim 15, Briliauskas discloses a computer system for supervised anomaly detection, the computer system comprising one or more processors, one or more computer readable tangible storage devices, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more computer readable tangible storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors, the program instructions executable to: generate, by a central server in a federated learning system a training dataset, the training dataset including malicious data samples and benign data samples, the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks (generating a predictive model for malware detection using federated learning…transmitting, to each of a plurality of remote devices, a copy of the predictive model, where the predictive model is configured to predict whether a file is malicious…generating a federated model by training the predictive model based on the model parameters received from each of the plurality of remote devices…labeling each file of a training data set as either malicious or clean…see col.1 lines 41-53, col.4 lines 44-46); train, by the central server, update-generating models on the malicious data samples and the benign data samples in the training dataset; generate, by the central server, benign model updates and malicious model updates, through training the update-generating models (…system receives metadata for the initial model trained by each of client devices…metadata may include, for example, an indication of a version (e.g., a version number) for the model trained by respective ones of client devices…the version of each model trained by client devices can then be compared to a current version of the model maintained by model generator (i.e., the initial model) to determine whether any of client devices had trained an old or out-of-date version of the initial model…system also receives an updated version of malware properties database or, at least, metadata and/or a hash of one or more newly-identified malicious files, from each of client devices…newly-identified malicious files may be files that were determined to be malicious on any of client devices…likewise, client devices may also send hashes and/or metadata of known clean files, to further improve malware properties database…see col.15 lines 23-47); and train, by the central server, an anomaly detector on the malicious model updates and the benign model updates (see col.17 line 49-col.18 line 20); deploying, by the server, the anomaly detector to the federated learning system, for supervised anomaly detection in the federated learning system (…transmit…malware detection model…to client device…see col.10 lines 63-65…generate a malware detection model via federated learning…see col.20 line 10…the malware detection model is a predictive model that classifies files…as either malicious or “clean”/non-malicious…the malware detection model is a supervised training model…see col.20 lines 34-38, col.23 lines 15-28).
receive, by the central server, model updates sent from respective clients in the federated learning system (…system also receives metadata for the initial model trained by each of client devices…metadata may include, for example, an indication of a version (e.g., a version number) for the model trained by respective ones of client devices…system receives an updated version of malware properties database or, at least, metadata and/or a hash of one or more newly-identified malicious files, from each of client devices…newly-identified malicious files may be files that were determined to be malicious on any of client devices…likewise, client devices may also send hashes and/or metadata of known clean files…col.15 lines 23-47); run, by the central server, the anomaly detector to classify malicious ones and benign ones in the model updates sent from the respective clients (see col.15 line 48-col.16 line 11); flag, by the central server, the malicious ones in the model updates sent from the respective clients; and exclude, by the central server, the malicious ones from aggregating the model updates sent from the respective clients (…system may compare the version (e.g., version number) of the model trained by each of client devices (e.g., determined based on model metadata) to a current version of the model maintained by system (e.g., the initial instantiation of the model)…if the version of the model trained by each of client devices matches the current version of the model, then the model parameters received from each of client devices may be considered valid…if it is determined that one or more of the client devices had trained an out-of-date model, the parameters transmitted by the offending client device(s) may be considered invalid…the invalid parameters are flagged, ignored, or deleted…see col. 22 lines 38-51). Briliauskas does not explicitly disclose the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks. However Wiebe discloses the malicious data samples generated using poisoning attacks (…a poisoning attack seeks to control a classifier by introducing malicious training data into the training set so that the adversary can force an incorrect classification for a subset of test vectors…see par. 32). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Wiebe in Briliauskas for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further prevent powerful adversary from learning information contributed to the clustering algorithm, therefore enhancing the security further…see Wiebe, par. 3-4.
As per claims 4, 11, 18, the combination of Briliauskas and Wiebe discloses wherein the anomaly detector is deployed on the central server (Briliauskas: see col.25 lines 7-9).
As per claims 6, 13, the combination of Briliauskas and Wiebe discloses wherein the benign data samples is a small fraction of a training dataset of federated learning (Briliauskas: see col.10 lines 40-50).
As per claims 3, 10, 17, the combination of Briliauskas and Wiebe discloses generating, by the central server, the benign model updates, through training the update-generating models on respective sets of the benign data samples; and generating, by the central server, the malicious model updates, through training the update- generating models on respective sets of the malicious data samples (Briliauskas: see col.20 lines 31-43, col.21 lines 17-21).
As per claims 5, 12, 19, the combination of Briliauskas and Wiebe discloses wherein the update-generating models are initially trained locally by respective clients in the federated learning system and uploaded to the central server, and then the central server uses the malicious data samples and the benign data samples to train the update-generating models (Briliauskas: see col.15 lines 1-18).
Claims 7, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Briliauskas et al (Pat. No. US 11593485) in view of Wiebe et al (Pub. No. US 2018/0349605) as applied to claims 1, 8, 15 above, and further in view of Chen (Pub. No. US 2019/0080089).
As per claims 7, 14, 20, the combination of Briliauskas and Wiebe does not explicitly disclose wherein the server constructs the malicious data samples by poisoning attacks which is constituted by poisoning patterns of different sizes or locations. However Chen discloses wherein the server constructs the malicious data samples by poisoning attacks which is constituted by poisoning patterns of different sizes or locations (…the machine learning system using the second subsystem or the third subsystem may provide resiliency against a large class of evasion attacks, which would otherwise weaken the machine learning system…the machine learning system may apply techniques of sparse representation or semi-supervised learning to represent or compress received signals to detect malware…evasion attacks such as data poisoning may attempt to corrupt training data see par. 21). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Chen in the combination of Briliauskas and Wiebe for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would improve the machine learning system to identify the most relevant and uncontaminated training samples, defend the machine learning framework, and produce stable and superior classification results…see Chen, par. 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to supervised anomaly detection in federated learning.
Jadav et al (Pub. No. US 2023/0421586); “Dynamically Federated Data Breach Detection”;
-Teaches dynamically federated data breach detection for cyber resilience…see par. 10.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GHAZAL B SHEHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499