DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 16th July 2026.
Claims 1 , 5-6, 10 and 14-15 were amended; no claims were cancelled; new claims 16-17 were added; therefore, claims 1-17 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 12-14, filed on 27th March 2026 have been fully considered and not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, page 13, filed on 16th July 2026, that the main charge storage FD1 shown in Fig. 2 of Sa is part of a pixel 200, and is not a separate element from the plurality of photosensitive sensor pixels, as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in paragraph [0041] of Sa’s invention, a pixel array 200 includes two part 20 and 22 wherein each part consisting of a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 and charge storage units FD2 and FD3. Since each part 20 and 22 has individual photo-electro conversion unit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that part 20 and 22 are individual pixel which is included in a pixel array 200. As the result, the charge storage unit FD1 is considered as an individual element outside of each of the plurality pixels (pixel 20 and pixel 22).
Furthermore, in current case, paragraph [0025]-[0026] states that pixel array includes two photo-sensitive sensor pixels 110-1 and 110-2 with drain terminals 113-1 and 113-2 in Fig. 1. The drain terminal is a terminal that allows to drain the generated charge carriers from the respective photo-sensitive sensor pixel. As the result, the pixel as stated in the current case is referred to a photo-electro conversion unit with a drain terminal to drain the generated charge carries from the respective photo-electro conversion unit which is exact the same as Sa’s invention of part 20 and 22. Therefore, consider part 20 and 22 as individual pixel 20 and 22, the main charge storage unit FD1 would be an individual element outside of each of the plurality pixel (pixel 20 and pixel 22). Therefore, Sa’s invention satisfied the claim limitation. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikumandla et al. (US 20130181119 A1, hereinafter “Bikumandla”), modified in view of Sa et al. (US 20120262616 A1, hereinafter “Sa”), in view of Van Dyck (EP 3392674 A1, hereinafter “Van Dyck”.
Regarding claim 1, Bikumandla teaches a Time-of-Flight, (ToF) sensor, comprising:
a plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels comprising a plurality of drain terminals, wherein each photo-sensitive sensor pixel of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels comprises at least two charge storages and a drain terminal, of the plurality of drain terminals, coupled to the at least two charge storages such that each drain terminal of the plurality of drain terminals is coupled to the at least two charge storages that are included in a respective photo-sensitive sensor pixel for outputting current based on charge levels of the at least two charge storages (Bikumandla; Fig. 2, [0022], pixel 219 (one of the plurality of pixels included in the pixel array 133, Fig. 1A, [0018]) includes photodiode 221; 1st/2nd charge storage 223/227; both connected to a terminal 233 (equivalent to drain terminal) to a gate terminal of 231 for readout. Since pixel 219 is one of the pixels included in the pixel array 133, implies a plurality of sensor pixels each comprises a plurality of drain terminals; [0024], enable transistor 235 is coupled between first charge storage (223) and readout note 233, which selectively couples first charge storage 223 to readout node 233. When transistor 235 is OFF the signal at readout node 233 is representative of the total charge from storage 227; when transistor 235 is ON, the signal at the readout node 233 is the sum of total charge from storage 223 and 227 (equivalent to outputting current based on charge levels of the at least two charge storages)); and
wherein, for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements, the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels are configured to (Bikumandla; Fig. 1A, [0018], time of flight sensing system 101 includes light source 103 emits pulses light 105 to an object 107. Reflected light 109 is directed from object 107 to time of flight pixel array 113; Fig. 3A-3B, [0026], timing diagrams that describe the operation time of flight sensing system with time of flight pixel array as described in connection with Fig. 1-Fig. 2):
via the first drain terminals, output a respective first current from each photosensitive sensor pixel of the first subset in order to drain a first part of charge carriers via the first currents, wherein the charge carriers are generated in the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements by the incident light (Bikumandla; Fig. 5, [0040], shows time of flight sensing system 501 includes a time of flight pixel array 513 (same as pixel array 113 of Fig. 1A), readout circuitry 553, function logic 555 and control circuitry 557; [0042], after each pixel has accumulated its Q1 and Q2 charge information in the respective charge storage device as discussed above, the Q2 and Q1+Q2 signals are readout by readout circuitry 553 and transferred to function logic 555 for processing. (equivalent to via the first drain terminals, drain a first part of charge carriers, via the first currents, generated in the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements). Function logic 555 may determine the time of flight and distance information for each pixel or function logic may also store the time of flight information and/or even manipulate the time of flight information. Readout circuitry 553 may readout a row of image data at a time along readout column line or may readout the image data using a variety of other techniques, such as a serial readout or a full parallel readout of all pixels simultaneously; implies the signal of each drain terminals of each pixels will be collected for time of flight measurement); and
selectively store a second part of the charge carriers in the at least two charge storages of only one photo-sensitive sensor pixel of the first subset of the plurality of photo- sensitive sensor pixels (Bikumandla; [0024], when transistor 235 is OFF the signal at readout node 233 is representative of the total charge from storage 227; when transistor 235 is ON, the signal at the readout node 233 is the sum of total charge from storage 223 and 227; Fig. 3A, [0026], a timing diagram that shows an example of modulated pulses of emitted light 305, and the corresponding pulses of reflected light 309, relative to switching modulation signals TX1 325 and TX2 329. Clearly seen in Fig. 3A the charge is selectively distributed in two charge storage unit 223/227 by control the switch 225/229 using modulation signal TX1 325/TX2 329),
Bikumandla does not teach,
a first common charge storage coupled to first drain terminals of the plurality of drain terminals, wherein the first drain terminals correspond to at least a first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels such that the first common charge storage is configured to simultaneously receive first currents from the first drain terminals in order to accumulate first electrical energy output from the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels by the first currents,
wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels.
for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor.
wherein the first common charge storage is configured to accumulate first electrical energy output conveyed by first currents output by the first drain terminals and output first data indicative of the accumulated first electrical energy output.
Sa teaches,
a first common charge storage coupled to first drain terminals of the plurality of drain terminals, wherein the first drain terminals correspond to at least a first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels such that the first common charge storage is configured to simultaneously receive first currents from the first drain terminals in order to accumulate first electrical energy output from the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels by the first currents (Sa; Fig. 2, [0041], pixel 200 includes the power supply VDD, the reset switching unit RX, the main charge storage unit FD1 (equivalent to common charge storage), the drive switching unit DX, the select switching unit SX and the output terminal Vout. Pixel 200 also includes two distribution circuit 20/22. Each includes a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 (clearly seen from the Figure that first common charge storage is coupled to the drain terminals of PD1 and PD2), a transfer switching unit TX1/TX2, a distribution switching unit PDCX1/PDCX2, a sub-charge storage unit FD2/FD3. Two distribution circuits 20/22 include the PD1/PD1 and charge storage FD2/FD3, while sharing the main charge storage unit FD1, the power supply VDD and the output unit. Since plural distribution circuits can share the devices, the installation area for the devices can be reduced so that the integration degree of the apparatus can be improved).
wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels (Sa; [0041] of Sa’s invention, a pixel array 200 includes two part 20 and 22 wherein each part consisting of a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 and charge storage units FD2 and FD3. Since each part 20 and 22 has individual photo-electro conversion unit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that part 20 and 22 are individual pixel which is included in a pixel array 200. As the result, the charge storage unit FD1 is considered as an individual element outside of each of the plurality pixels (pixel 20 and pixel 22)).
wherein the first common charge storage is configured to accumulate first electrical energy output conveyed by first currents output by the first drain terminals and output first data indicative of the accumulated first electrical energy output (same as above; furthermore, though Sa’s invention has one sub-charge storage in each PD and shares same main charge storage, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize Bikumandla’s invention with two charge storages in one PD modified in view of Sa’s invention with common charge storage to further include the charge storage capability such that light having the high intensity of illumination can be sensed, thereby improving the sensitivity while maintaining the high fill factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the photo charges converted under the high intensity of illumination can be sensed by combining a sub-charge storage unit and a main charge storage unit so that light having high intensity of illumination can be sensed and improves the sensitivity while maintaining the high fill factor. Furthermore, since plural distribution circuits can share the devices, the installation area for the devices can be reduced so that the integration degree of the apparatus can be improved (Sa; [0010], [0041]; please also see the response to the argument part above).
However, Bikumandla modified in view of Sa still not teach,
for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor.
Van Dyck disclosed in paragraph [0076], the light received in the 3rd well may also include reflections of projected spots arriving from highly reflective objects outside the range covered by the operation of the 1st well and the 2nd well, and the accumulated charges may accordingly be used to detect such objects. This implies the ToF measurement includes highly reflective objects outside the range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor taught by Van Dyck with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to identify highly reflective objects such as traffic signs, license plates, etc., is especially problematic when the pixels are used in sensors for automotive applications and overcome the short-range saturation problem for pixels used in range-gating based imaging systems (Van Dyck; [0006]-[0007], [0076]). In combination of Bikumandla’s invention of “the first drain terminals, output a respective first current….”with Van Dyck ‘s invention of “the ToF measurement caused by objects located outside a target measurement range of ToF sensor”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the method of Bikumandla’s invention does not involve any limitation of whether the detecting object is outside of the range or not. Therefore, the combination should read on the limitation of the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Bikumandla as modified above teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 1, wherein the first common charge storage is coupled to the plurality of drain terminals of all of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels (Sa; Fig. 2, [0041], pixel 200 includes the main charge storage unit FD1 (equivalent to common charge storage), two distribution circuit 20/22. Each includes a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 (clearly seen from the Figure that first common charge storage is coupled to the drain terminals of PD1 and PD2 each has charge storage FD1/FD2; see above mapping in claim1), and wherein, for the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements, all of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels are configured to (Bikumandla; Fig. 1A, [0018], time of flight sensing system 101 includes light source 103 emits pulses light 105 to an object 107. Reflected light 109 is directed from object 107 to time of flight pixel array 113; Fig. 3A-3B, [0026], timing diagrams that describe the operation time of flight sensing system with time of flight pixel array as described in connection with Fig. 1-Fig. 2):
via the plurality of drain terminals, drain the first part of the charge carriers generated in the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels by the incident light caused by the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range (Van Dyck; [0076], see above mapping in claim 1) of the ToF sensor (Bikumandla; Fig. 5, [0040], shows time of flight sensing system 501 includes a time of flight pixel array 513 (same as pixel array 113 of Fig. 1A), readout circuitry 553, function logic 555 and control circuitry 557; [0042], after each pixel has accumulated its Q1 and Q2 charge information in the respective charge storage device as discussed above, the Q2 and Q1+Q2 signals are readout by readout circuitry 553 and transferred to function logic 555 for processing. (equivalent to via the first drain terminals, drain a first part of charge carriers, via the first currents, generated in the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements). Function logic 555 may determine the time of flight and distance information for each pixel or function logic may also store the time of flight information and/or even manipulate the time of flight information; implies the signal of each drain terminals of each pixels will be collected for time of flight measurement); and
selectively store the second part of the charge carriers in the at least two charge storages of each of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels (Bikumandla; [0024], when transistor 235 is OFF the signal at readout node 233 is representative of the total charge from storage 227; when transistor 235 is ON, the signal at the readout node 233 is the sum of total charge from storage 223 and 227. Fig. 3A, [0026], a timing diagram that shows an example of modulated pulses of emitted light 305, and the corresponding pulses of reflected light 309, relative to switching modulation signals TX1 325 and TX2 329. Clearly seen in Fig. 3A the charge is selectively distributed in two charge storage unit 223/227 by control the switch 225/229 using modulation signal TX1 325/TX2 329).
Regarding claim 4, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 1, wherein, for the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements, the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels are configured to drain, via the first drain terminals, less than 5 % of charge carriers generated in the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements by incident light caused by one or more objects located inside the measurement range of the ToF sensor (Bikumandla; [0036], Fig. 3B, illustrates an example in which the light source is OFF 355 for one or more periods to allow a background signal measurement 359 to be taken. Background signals from the first and second charge storage devices 223 and 227 are measured periodically when the photodiode 221 is not illuminated with the reflected light 309. This measurement may be taken at the end of the light OFF 355 period as shown. This measurement may be representative of ambient light and/or dark current in the pixel (One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ambient light and/or dark current is less than 5 % of charge carriers generated as expected), which would add noise to the time of flight calculations. In one example, this background signal measurement 359 may be stored as calibration information and may be subtracted from the measurements taken during the light ON 353 periods to compensate for background noise when determining the time of flight measurements of TTOF 317).
Regarding claim 5, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 1, wherein the first common charge storage is configured to accumulate the first electrical energy output conveyed by the first currents output by the first drain terminals (Sa; Fig. 2, [0041], pixel 200 includes the power supply VDD, the reset switching unit RX, the main charge storage unit FD1 (equivalent to common charge storage), the drive switching unit DX, the select switching unit SX and the output terminal Vout. Pixel 200 also includes two distribution circuit 20/22. Each includes a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 (clearly seen from the Figure that first common charge storage is coupled to the drain terminals of PD1 and PD2), a transfer switching unit TX1/TX2, a distribution switching unit PDCX1/PDCX2, a sub-charge storage unit FD2/FD3. Two distribution circuits 20/22 include the PD1/PD1 and charge storage FD2/FD3, while sharing the main charge storage unit FD1, the power supply VDD and the output unit) for only one of the plurality of first ToF measurements such that the first data is indicative of an amount of electrical energy accumulated for the one of the plurality of first ToF measurements (Bikumandla; Fig. 3B, [0036], illustrates an example in which the light source is OFF 355 for one or more periods to allow a background signal measurement 359 to be taken. In this example, background signals from the first and second charge storage devices 223 and 227 are measured periodically when the photodiode 221 is not illuminated with the reflected light 309. This measurement may be taken at the end of the light OFF 355 period as shown; Fig. 5, [0042], functional logic 555 may determine the time of flight and distance information for each pixel).
Regarding claim 6, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 1, wherein the first common charge storage is configured to accumulate the first electrical energy output conveyed by the first currents output by the first drain terminals (Sa; Fig. 2, [0041], pixel 200 includes the power supply VDD, the reset switching unit RX, the main charge storage unit FD1 (equivalent to common charge storage), the drive switching unit DX, the select switching unit SX and the output terminal Vout. Pixel 200 also includes two distribution circuit 20/22. Each includes a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 (clearly seen from the Figure that first common charge storage is coupled to the drain terminals of PD1 and PD2), a transfer switching unit TX1/TX2, a distribution switching unit PDCX1/PDCX2, a sub-charge storage unit FD2/FD3. Two distribution circuits 20/22 include the PD1/PD1 and charge storage FD2/FD3, while sharing the main charge storage unit FD1, the power supply VDD and the output unit) for at least two of the plurality of first ToF measurements such that the first data is indicative of an amount of electrical energy accumulated for the at least two of the plurality of first ToF measurements (Bikumandla; Fig. 3B, [0035], illustrates an example where charge is allowed to accumulate in charge storage devices 223/227 over a plurality of cycles reflected light 309. The charge information is read out from pixel 219 during periods in which the light source is on 353 at the times indicated by RO 357, which occurs after a plurality of reflected light pulsed are allowed to illuminate the photodiode 221 and have charge Q1/Q2 transferred to charge storage 223/227. In so doing, charge is allowed to accumulate in charge storage 223/227 over a plurality of cycles, which provides improve an signal to noise ratio compared to a TOF calculation based on only a single light pulse; Fig. 5, [0042], readout circuitry 553 may readout a row of image data at a time along readout column lines or may readout the image data using a variety of other techniques, such as a serial readout or a full parallel readout of all pixels simultaneously, implies to readout the signals for at least two of the plurality of ToF measurements).
Regarding claim 7, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
an illumination element configured to emit a plurality of sequences of light pulses to a scene for the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements, wherein the illumination element is configured to pause light emission in a respective pause interval between succeeding ones of the plurality of sequences of light pulses (Bikumandla; Fig. 3B, [0036], illustrates an example in which the light source is OFF 355 for one or more periods to allow a background signal measurement 359 to be taken. In this example, background signals from the first and second charge storage devices 223 and 227 are measured periodically when the photodiode 221 is not illuminated with the reflected light 309. This measurement may be taken at the end of the light OFF 355 period as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 7, wherein each pause interval is longer than twice a propagation time for a light pulse from the ToF sensor to a distant end of the target measurement range of the ToF sensor (Bikumandla; Fig. 3B, [0036], illustrates an example in which the light source is OFF 355 for one or more periods to allow a background signal measurement 359 to be taken).
Regarding claim 9, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 1.
Bikumandla does not teach, further comprising:
processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the first data, whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene.
Van Dyck teaches, further comprising:
processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the first data, whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene (Van Dyck; [0076], the light received in the 3rd well may also include reflections of projected spots arriving from highly reflective objects outside the range covered by the operation of the 1st well and the 2nd well, and the accumulated charges may accordingly be used to detect such objects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the first data, whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene taught by Van Dyck with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to identify highly reflective objects such as traffic signs, license plates, etc., is especially problematic when the pixels are used in sensors for automotive applications and overcome the short-range saturation problem for pixels used in range-gating based imaging systems (Van Dyck; [0006]-[0007], [0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Bikumandla teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a Time-of-Flight (ToF) sensor comprising:
a plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels comprising a plurality of drain terminals, wherein each photo-sensitive sensor pixel of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels comprises at least two charge storages and a drain terminal, of the plurality of drain terminals, coupled to the at least two charge storages such that each drain terminal of the plurality of drain terminals is coupled to the at least two charge storages that are included in a respective photo-sensitive sensor pixel for outputting current based on charge levels of the at least two charge storages (Bikumandla; Fig. 2, [0022], pixel 219 (one the pixels included in the pixel array 133, Fig. 1A, [0018]) includes photodiode 221; 1st/2nd charge storage 223/227; both connected to a terminal 233 (equivalent to drain terminal) to a gate terminal of 231 for readout. Since pixel 219 one of the pixels included in the pixel array 133, implies a plurality of sensor pixels each comprises a plurality of drain terminals; [0024], enable transistor 235 is coupled between first charge storage (223) and readout note 233, which selectively couples first charge storage 223 to readout node 233. When transistor 235 is OFF the signal at readout node 233 is representative of the total charge from storage 227; when transistor 235 is ON, the signal at the readout node 233 is the sum of total charge from storage 223 and 227 (equivalent to outputting current based on charge levels of the at least two charge storages));
wherein, for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements, the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels are configured to (Bikumandla; Fig. 1A, [0018], time of flight sensing system 101 includes light source 103 emits pulses light 105 to an object 107. Reflected light 109 is directed from object 107 to time of flight pixel array 113; Fig. 3A-3B, [0026], timing diagrams that describe the operation time of flight sensing system with time of flight pixel array as described in connection with Fig. 1-Fig. 2):
via the first drain terminals, output a respective first current form each photo-sensitive sensor pixel of the first subset in order to drain a first part of charge carriers via the first currents, generated in the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements by incident light caused by the incident light (Bikumandla; Fig. 5, [0040], shows time of flight sensing system 501 includes a time of flight pixel array 513 (same as pixel array 113 of Fig. 1A), readout circuitry 553, function logic 555 and control circuitry 557; [0042], after each pixel has accumulated its Q1 and Q2 charge information in the respective charge storage device as discussed above, the Q2 and Q1+Q2 signals are readout by readout circuitry 553 and transferred to function logic 555 for processing. (equivalent to via the first drain terminals, drain a first part of charge carriers, via the first currents, generated in the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements). Function logic 555 may determine the time of flight and distance information for each pixel or function logic may also store the time of flight information and/or even manipulate the time of flight information. Readout circuitry 553 may readout a row of image data at a time along readout column line or may readout the image data using a variety of other techniques, such as a serial readout or a full parallel readout of all pixels simultaneously; implies the signal of each drain terminals of each pixels will be collected for time of flight measurement); and
selectively store a second part of the charge carriers in the at least two charge storages of only one photo-sensitive sensor pixel of the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels (Bikumandla; [0024], when transistor 235 is OFF the signal at readout node 233 is representative of the total charge from storage 227; when transistor 235 is ON, the signal at the readout node 233 is the sum of total charge from storage 223 and 227. Fig. 3A, [0026], a timing diagram that shows an example of modulated pulses of emitted light 305, and the corresponding pulses of reflected light 309, relative to switching modulation signals TX1 325 and TX2 329. Clearly seen in Fig. 3A the charge is selectively distributed in two charge storage unit 223/227 by control the switch 225/229 using modulation signal TX1 325/TX2 329),
an application processor coupled to the ToF sensor,
wherein the ToF sensor further comprises interface circuitry configured to output the first data to the application processor (Bikumandla; Fig. 5, [0040], shows time of flight sensing system 501 includes a time of flight pixel array 513 (same as pixel array 113 of Fig. 1A), readout circuitry 553, function logic 555 and control circuitry 557; [0042], after each pixel has accumulated its Q1 and Q2 charge information in the respective charge storage device as discussed above, the Q2 and Q1+Q2 signals are readout by readout circuitry 553 and transferred to function logic 555 for processing), and
Bikumandla does not teach,
a first common charge storage coupled to first drain terminals of the plurality of drain terminals, wherein the first drain terminals correspond to at least a first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels such that the first common charge storage is configured to simultaneously receive first currents from the first drain terminals in order to accumulate first electrical energy output from the first subset of the plurality of photo- sensitive sensor pixels by the first currents,
wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels.
for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor.
wherein the first common charge storage is configured to accumulate the first electrical energy output conveyed by the first currents that are output by the first drain terminals, and output first data indicative of the accumulated first electrical energy output; and
wherein the application processor is configured to determine based on the first data whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene.
Sa teaches,
a first common charge storage coupled to first drain terminals of the plurality of drain terminals, wherein the first drain terminals correspond to at least a first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels such that the first common charge storage is configured to simultaneously receive first currents from the first drain terminals in order to accumulate first electrical energy output from the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels by the first currents (Sa; Fig. 2, [0041], pixel 200 includes the power supply VDD, the reset switching unit RX, the main charge storage unit FD1 (equivalent to common charge storage), the drive switching unit DX, the select switching unit SX and the output terminal Vout. Pixel 200 also includes two distribution circuit 20/22. Each includes a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 (clearly seen from the Figure that first common charge storage is coupled to the drain terminals of PD1 and PD2), a transfer switching unit TX1/TX2, a distribution switching unit PDCX1/PDCX2, a sub-charge storage unit FD2/FD3. Two distribution circuits 20/22 include the PD1/PD1 and charge storage FD2/FD3, while sharing the main charge storage unit FD1, the power supply VDD and the output unit. Since plural distribution circuits can share the devices, the installation area for the devices can be reduced so that the integration degree of the apparatus can be improved).
wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels (Sa; [0041] of Sa’s invention, a pixel array 200 includes two part 20 and 22 wherein each part consisting of a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 and charge storage units FD2 and FD3. Since each part 20 and 22 has individual photo-electro conversion unit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that part 20 and 22 are individual pixel which is included in a pixel array 200. As the result, the charge storage unit FD1 is considered as an individual element outside of each of the plurality pixels (pixel 20 and pixel 22)).
wherein the first common charge storage is configured to accumulate first electrical energy output conveyed by first currents output by the first drain terminals and output first data indicative of the accumulated first electrical energy output (same as above; furthermore, though Sa’s invention has one sub-charge storage in each PD and shares same main charge storage, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize Bikumandla‘s invention with two charge storages in one PD modified in view of Sa’s invention with common charge storage to further includes the charge storage capability such that light having the high intensity of illumination can be sensed, thereby improving the sensitivity while maintaining the high fill factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the photo charges converted under the high intensity of illumination can be sensed by combining a sub-charge storage unit and a main charge storage unit so that light having high intensity of illumination can be sensed and improves the sensitivity while maintaining the high fill factor. Furthermore, since plural distribution circuits can share the devices, the installation area for the devices can be reduced so that the integration degree of the apparatus can be improved (Sa; [0010], [0041]; please also see the response to the argument part above).
However, Bikumandla modified in view of Sa still not teach,
for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor.
wherein the application processor is configured to determine based on the first data whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene.
Van Dyck disclosed in paragraph [0076], the light received in the 3rd well may also include reflections of projected spots arriving from highly reflective objects outside the range covered by the operation of the 1st well and the 2nd well, and the accumulated charges may accordingly be used to detect such objects. This implies the ToF measurement from 1st/2nd wells includes highly reflective objects outside the range.
Van Dyck further teaches, wherein the application processor is configured to determine based on the first data whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene (Van Dyck; [0052], appropriate processing means 240 are configured to calculate the distance to the object as a function of the first amount of reflected light and the second amount of reflected light; [0076], the light received in the 3rd well may also include reflections of projected spots arriving from highly reflective objects outside the range covered by the operation of the 1st well and the 2nd well, and the accumulated charges may accordingly be used to detect such objects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; wherein the application processor is configured to determine based on the first data whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene taught by Van Dyck with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to identify highly reflective objects such as traffic signs, license plates, etc., is especially problematic when the pixels are used in sensors for automotive applications and overcome the short-range saturation problem for pixels used in range-gating based imaging systems (Van Dyck; [0006]-[0007], [0076]). In combination of Bikumandla’s invention of “the first drain terminals, output a respective first current….”with Van Dyck ‘s invention of “the ToF measurement caused by objects located outside a target measurement range of ToF sensor”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the method of Bikumandla’s invention does not involve any limitation of whether the detecting object is outside of the range. Therefore, the combination should read on the limitation of the claim.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, modified in view of Sa, in view of Van Dyck, in view of Otake et al. (US 20200083265 A1, hereinafter “Otake”).
Regarding claim 3, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 1, wherein:
for the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements, the second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels are configured to (Bikumandla; Fig. 1A, [0018], time of flight sensing system 101 includes light source 103 emits pulses light 105 to an object 107. Reflected light 109 is directed from object 107 to time of flight pixel array 113; Fig. 3A-3B, [0026], timing diagrams that describe the operation time of flight sensing system with time of flight pixel array as described in connection with Fig. 1-Fig. 2):
via the second drain terminals, drain a third part of the charge carriers generated in the second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements by the incident light of the ToF sensor (Bikumandla; Fig. 5, [0040], shows time of flight sensing system 501 includes a time of flight pixel array 513 (same as pixel array 113 of Fig. 1A), readout circuitry 553, function logic 555 and control circuitry 557; [0042], after each pixel has accumulated its Q1 and Q2 charge information in the respective charge storage device as discussed above, the Q2 and Q1+Q2 signals are readout by readout circuitry 553 and transferred to function logic 555 for processing. (equivalent to via the first drain terminals, drain a first part of charge carriers, via the first currents, generated in the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels during the at least one of the plurality of first ToF measurements). Function logic 555 may determine the time of flight and distance information for each pixel or function logic may also store the time of flight information and/or even manipulate the time of flight information. Readout circuitry 553 may readout a row of image data at a time along readout column line or may readout the image data using a variety of other techniques, such as a serial readout or a full parallel readout of all pixels simultaneously; implies the signal of each drain terminals of each pixels will be collected for time of flight measurement); and
selectively store a fourth part of the charge carriers in the at least two charge storages of each of the second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels (Bikumandla; [0024], when transistor 235 is OFF the signal at readout node 233 is representative of the total charge from storage 227; when transistor 235 is ON, the signal at the readout node 233 is the sum of total charge from storage 223 and 227; Fig. 3A, [0026], a timing diagram that shows an example of modulated pulses of emitted light 305, and the corresponding pulses of reflected light 309, relative to switching modulation signals TX1 325 and TX2 329. Clearly seen in Fig. 3A the charge is selectively distributed in two charge storage unit 223/227 by control the switch 225/229 using modulation signal TX1 325/TX2 329), and
Bikumandla does not teach,
the second common charge storage is configured to accumulate second electrical energy conveyed by second currents output by the second drain terminals and output second data indicative of the accumulated second electrical energy.
At least one of the plurality of first ToF measurement by the incident light caused by the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range.
the first common charge storage is coupled to only the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels,
the ToF sensor further comprises a second common charge storage coupled to second drain terminals, of the plurality of drain terminals, of a second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels, the second subset being different from the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels,
Sa teaches,
the second common charge storage is configured to accumulate second electrical energy conveyed by second currents output by the second drain terminals and output second data indicative of the accumulated second electrical energy (Sa; Fig. 2, [0041], pixel 200 includes the power supply VDD, the reset switching unit RX, the main charge storage unit FD1 (equivalent to common charge storage), the drive switching unit DX, the select switching unit SX and the output terminal Vout. Pixel 200 also includes two distribution circuit 20/22. Each includes a photo-electro conversion unit PD1/PD2 (clearly seen from the Figure that first common charge storage is coupled to the drain terminals of PD1 and PD2), a transfer switching unit TX1/TX2, a distribution switching unit PDCX1/PDCX2, a sub-charge storage unit FD2/FD3. Two distribution circuits 20/22 include the PD1/PD1 and charge storage FD2/FD3, while sharing the main charge storage unit FD1, the power supply VDD and the output unit. Since plural distribution circuits can share the devices, the installation area for the devices can be reduced so that the integration degree of the apparatus can be improved; furthermore, though Sa’s invention has one sub-charge storage in each PD and shares same main charge storage, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize Bikumandla‘s invention with two charge storages in one PD modified in view of Sa’s invention with common charge storage to further includes the charge storage capability such that light having the high intensity of illumination can be sensed, thereby improving the sensitivity while maintaining the high fill factor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a common charge storage to collect charges from the drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor taught by Van Dyck with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the photo charges converted under the high intensity of illumination can be sensed by combining a sub-charge storage unit and a main charge storage unit so that light having high intensity of illumination can be sensed and improves the sensitivity while maintaining the high fill factor. Furthermore, since plural distribution circuits can share the devices, the installation area for the devices can be reduced so that the integration degree of the apparatus can be improved (Sa; [0010], [0041]).
However, Bikumandla modified in view of Sa still not teach,
At least one of the plurality of first ToF measurement by the incident light caused by the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range.
the first common charge storage is coupled to only the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels,
the ToF sensor further comprises a second common charge storage coupled to second drain terminals, of the plurality of drain terminals, of a second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels, the second subset being different from the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels,
Van Dyck disclosed in paragraph [0076], the light received in the 3rd well may also include reflections of projected spots arriving from highly reflective objects outside the range covered by the operation of the 1st well and the 2nd well, and the accumulated charges may accordingly be used to detect such objects. This implies the ToF measurement from 1st/2nd wells includes highly reflective objects outside the range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor taught by Van Dyck with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to identify highly reflective objects such as traffic signs, license plates, etc., is especially problematic when the pixels are used in sensors for automotive applications and overcome the short-range saturation problem for pixels used in range-gating based imaging systems (Van Dyck; [0006]-[0007], [0076]). In combination of Bikumandla’s invention of “the first drain terminals, output a respective first current….”with Van Dyck ‘s invention of “the ToF measurement caused by objects located outside a target measurement range of ToF sensor”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the method of Bikumandla’s invention does not involve any limitation of whether the detecting object is outside of the range. Therefore, the combination should read on the limitation of the claim.
However, Bikumandla modified in view of Sa, in view of Van Dyck still not teach,
the first common charge storage is coupled to only the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels,
the ToF sensor further comprises a second common charge storage coupled to second drain terminals, of the plurality of drain terminals, of a second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels, the second subset being different from the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels,
Otake disclosed the pixel disclosed the pixel array unit 120 includes a plurality of pixel blocks 205 is disposed in a 2D lattice array. Each block of the pixel blocks 205 includes 4 pixels 201 (Otake; Fig. 2, [0038], [0039]); [0041], 4 photodiodes 250 in the pixel block 205 share a floating diffusion layer 270 (equivalent to the common charge storage and only couple to a 1st set of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels), and the electric charge from the photodiodes 250 is stored in the floating diffusion layer 270. Fig. 2 also shows that there are more than one set of pixel blocks 205 each of which has a common charge storage 270 (4 common charge storage 270 are shown in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a common charge storage to collect charges from the drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor taught by Van Dyck, include two common charge storage to couple two different set of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels separately taught by Otake with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to separate collecting the electric charge from different set of the plurality of photodiodes using different common charge storage (Otake; [0038]-[0041]). Predictably to collect different electric charge from different set of the photodiodes which may have different properties for further signal process.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikumandla , modified in view of Sa, in view of Van Dyck, in view of Hurwitz et al. (US 20210356568 A1, hereinafter “Hurwitz”).
Regarding claim 10, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 9.
Bikumandla does not teach, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene by comparing the accumulated first electrical energy output indicated by the first data to a threshold value.
Hurwitz teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene by comparing the accumulated first electrical energy output indicated by the first data to a threshold value (Hurwitz; [0151], optionally, the image acquisition system 300 may also be configured to consider the magnitude of sampled accumulated charge when determining proximity in order to exclude charge samples from pixels that are likely to have been imaging an object outside of the designed range of the proximity mode. The further an object is from the camera system, the lower accumulated charge will be on the image sensor 120 for an image of the object. Therefore, the image acquisition system 300 may have a minimum threshold amount of charge that corresponds to imaging an object at the limit of the designed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the first data, whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene taught by Van Dyck, include wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene by comparing the accumulated first electrical energy indicated by the first data to a threshold value taught by Hurwitz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to compare the magnitude of sampled accumulated charge with a threshold value to determine and exclude the object outside the designed range for accurate measurement (Hurwitz; [0151]).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikumandla , modified in view of Sa, in view of Van Dyck, in view of Pitts (US 20220268902 A1, hereinafter “Pitts”).
Regarding claim 11, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 9.
Bikumandla doesn’t teach, wherein, if it is determined that the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene, the processing circuitry is configured to flag distance data indicating one or more distances to one or more objects located in the scene as potentially ambiguous, the distance data being generated by the processing circuitry based on outputs of the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels for the plurality of first ToF measurements.
Pitts disclosed, the pattern validator 228 may further validate the incoming spatial pattern 310 based on a time that the incoming spatial pattern 310 was detected at the detector 216. In particular, if the time between emission of the device-identifying spatial pattern 300 and detection of the incoming spatial pattern 310 exceeds a threshold time (based on a distancing range of the device), the pattern validator 228 may determine that the detected incoming spatial pattern 310 is invalid (Pitts; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the first data, whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene taught by Van Dyck, include the processor determine the object in the scene is outside the target measurement range and flag distance data as potentially ambiguous taught by Pitts with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to determine and identify a potential invalid distance data which is present in the scene but outside the target measurement range and mark the data as invalid (Pitts; [0036]).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikumandla , modified in view of Sa, in view of Van Dyck, in view of Zhang (CN 109031333 B, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 12, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 9.
Bikumandla doesn’t teach, wherein, if it is determined that the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene, the processing circuitry is configured to:
control the ToF sensor to perform a plurality of second ToF measurements with a modulation frequency different than a modulation frequency used for the plurality of first ToF measurements; and
generate distance data indicating one or more distances to one or more objects located in the scene based on outputs of the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels for the plurality of first ToF measurements and the plurality of second ToF measurements.
Zhang disclosed when the first real-time distance falls outside the measurement distance range of the light wave of the initial modulation frequency, the initial modulation frequency is adjusted to be a new modulation frequency (adjacent to the initial modulation frequency in the present modulation frequency sequence). The real-time distance of the moving target is measured through emitting a light wave of the new modulation frequency, and the second real-time distance is obtained. The second real-time distance is used as the real-time distance of the moving target. During the displacement process of the moving target, frequency of the light wave is adjusted in time to accurately measure the real-time distance of the moving target (Zhang; [0013], [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the first data, whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene taught by Van Dyck, include adjusting the modulation frequency when the target is present in the scene but outside the target measurement distance taught by Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to dynamically adjust the modulation frequency to a new modulation frequency such that when the target is moving outside of the target measurement distance, the second real-time distance acquisition module can be used to measure the real-time distance of the moving target by emitting light wave of the new modulation frequency, obtain the second real-time distance of the moving target (Zhang; [0013], [0014]).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bikumandla , modified in view of Sa, in view of Van Dyck, in view of Argast (DE 19707417 A1, hereinafter “Argast”).
Regarding claim 13, Bikumandla teaches the ToF sensor as recited in claim 9.
Bikumandla doesn’t teach, wherein, if it is determined that the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene, the processing circuitry is configured to:
control the ToF sensor to perform a plurality of second ToF measurements using a second target measurement range that extends beyond the target measurement range of the ToF sensor for the plurality of first ToF measurements; and
generate distance data indicating one or more distances to one or more objects located in the scene based on outputs of the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels for the plurality of second ToF measurements.
Argast disclosed, if the object/reflector 6 is arranged outside the distance measurement range M(D1), then distance measurement is no longer possible with the 1st sensor element 1a. The second sensor element 1b is provided to extend the distance measurement range M(D1) to larger distance measurement range M(D2) (Argast; Fig. 4, [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the ToF sensor taught by Bikumandla to include at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; a first common charge storage to collect charges from the first drain terminals; wherein the first common charge storage is an element separate from the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels taught by Sa, include for at least one of a plurality of first ToF measurements of incident light that is caused by one or more objects located outside a target measurement range of the ToF sensor; processing circuitry configured to determine, based on the first data, whether the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in a scene taught by Van Dyck, include determining that the objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene, the processing circuitry is configured to extends the second target measurement range for detecting the object which is presented in the scene but located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor taught by Argast with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to determine the object is presented in the scene but located outside the target measurement range where the 1st sensor element is no longer measure the distance of the object. And the processor is configured to use the 2nd sensor elements which provides to extend the distance measurement range for detecting the object which is presented in the scene but located outside the target measurement range of ToF sensor (Argast; Fig. 4, [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other feature,
Regarding claim 16,
wherein, if the first data indicates that the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene and the second data indicates that no objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene, the processing circuitry is configured to:
control the ToF sensor to perform the plurality of second ToF measurements by controlling read-out circuitry of the ToF sensor to read-out the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels but not the second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels for the plurality of second ToF measurements; or
control the ToF sensor to perform the plurality of second ToF measurements by controlling an illumination element of the ToF sensor to emit light to a first part of the scene sensed by the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels but not to a second part of the scene sensed by the second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels.
Claim 17 similarly include allowable subject matter due to its dependence on claim 16.
Claim 14 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor render obvious the following element, along with all other feature:
Regarding claim 14,
wherein, if the first data indicates that the one or more objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene and the second data indicates that no objects located outside the target measurement range of the ToF sensor is present in the scene, the processing circuitry is configured to control the ToF sensor to perform the plurality of second ToF measurements by:
controlling read-out circuitry of the ToF sensor to read-out the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels but not the second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels for the plurality of second ToF measurements; or
controlling an illumination element of the ToF sensor to emit light to a first part of the scene sensed by the first subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels but not to a second part of the scene sensed by the second subset of the plurality of photo-sensitive sensor pixels.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645