DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1–8, 10 and 27-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter, specifically an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under the 35 U.S.C. §101 subject matter eligibility two-part analysis, Step 1 addresses whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP §2106.03. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 1] whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea). See MPEP §2106.04. If the claim is directed toward a judicial exception, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 2] whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. See MPEP §2106.04(d). Finally, if the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, it must additionally be determined in Step 2B whether the claim recites "significantly more" than the abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05.
Examiner note: The Office's 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) is currently found in the Ninth Edition, Revision 10.2019 (revised June 2020) of the Manual of Patent Examination Procedure (MPEP), specifically incorporated in MPEP §2106.03 through MPEP §2106.07(c).
Regarding Step 1
Claims 1-8, 10, are directed toward system (apparatus) and claims 27-35 are directed towards method (process) and 36-42 are directed towards product. Thus, all claims fall within one of the four statutory categories as required by Step 1.
Regarding Step 2A [prong 1]
The claims are directed to:
detecting misplaced items;
assigning tasks to users;
guiding users to locations;
reporting task completion.
These steps constitute organizing human activity and information processing, which are abstract ideas
Regarding Step 2A [prong 2]
The claims merely use generic XR devices, cameras, and servers to implement the abstract idea. No claim recites an improvement to:
camera operation,
XR rendering,
localization algorithms, or
computer networking.
Regarding Step 2B
The additional elements (notifications, navigation overlays, incentives, servers) are:
well-understood,
routine,
conventional.
They do not transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter.
Thus, after considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination and in ordered combination, it has been determined that the claims are not enough to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention since the claim limitations do not amount to a practical application or significantly more than an abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 1–8, 10 and 27-42 are directed to non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 27-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 2023/0274410, hereinafter Patil), in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0156695, hereinafter Zhang).
With respect to claims 1, 27 and 36 Patil discloses a feature of capturing shelf images using fixed cameras (¶¶ 31–34);
analyzing images to detect missing or misplaced retail items (¶¶ 41–44);
determining item identity and shelf location (¶¶ 45–47);
generating remediation tasks for store personnel (¶¶ 52–55);
transmitting task information via a backend server (¶¶ 56–58).
Patil does not explicitly disclose the feature of an augmented-reality device receiving tasks from a server, displaying a task notification with an option to accept, rendering AR navigation overlays guiding a user to a target indoor location, transmitting task acceptance and progress updates to the server.
However, Zhang teaches the feature of;
an augmented-reality device receiving tasks from a server (¶¶ 48–51);
displaying a task notification with an option to accept (¶¶ 52–54);
rendering AR navigation overlays guiding a user to a target indoor location (¶¶ 58–63);
transmitting task acceptance and progress updates to the server (¶¶ 64–66).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine:
Patil’s misplaced-item detection and task generation system, with Zhang’s AR navigation and task acceptance interface, in order to improve efficiency, reduce search time, and guide personnel directly to misplaced items.
This combination: involves analogous retail-store environments; applies a known navigation technique to a known retail problem; yields predictable results.
With respect to claims 2-4, 28-30 and 37-39 Patil discloses the feature of identifying multiple misplaced items and tracking their locations (¶¶ 44–47), and
Zhang teaches the feature of determining user position using spatial mapping and generating indoor navigation paths (¶¶ 36–39, 59–61).
With respect to claims 5-7, 31-33 and 40-42 Patil discloses the feature of verifying corrective actions and updating inventory status once items are relocated (¶¶ 60–63), and Zhangdiscloses the feature of transmitting task completion confirmations from AR devices (¶¶ 64–66).
With respect to claims 8, 10, 34 and 35 Patil discloses the feature of continuous shelf monitoring and repeated generation of remediation tasks (¶¶ 64–68).Providing incentives for task acceptance constitutes a known business practice implemented using generic computing systems.
Conclusion
/ROKIB MASUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627