DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed 07/22/26.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 6, 7, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham et al. (US 2022/0181561 A1) in view of Kai et al. (US 2010/0187977 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/23/26 is overcome by the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of Claims 1-5, 8, and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham et al. (US 2022/0181561 A1) in view of Kai et al. (US 2010/0187977 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/23/26 is herein amended due to the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 6, 7, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2022/0231229 A1) in view of Kai et al. (US 2010/0187977 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/23/26 is overcome by the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of Claims 1-5, 8, and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2022/0231229 A1) in view of Kai et al. (US 2010/0187977 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 04/23/26 is herein amended due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5, 8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham et al. (US 2022/0181561 A1) in view of Kai et al. (US 2010/0187977 A1).
Fleetham et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising a light-emitting layer comprising a first host which is “partially or fully deuterated” (Abstract; [0007]); partial deuteration includes at least one hydrogen being replaced by deuterium, ranging from “at least 5%” to “at least 90%” of the hydrogens being replaced by deuterium ([0055]). The first host is of the following form:
(page 14) where X1-6 = C or N ([0212]), RA’-D’ = no substitution or maximum substitutions and includes hydrogen or substituent including deuterium which can joined or fused into a ring ([0045], [0051], [0215]-[0216]). An embodiment (first host) is disclosed:
(page 31). However, Fleetham et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1, particularly in regards to the nature of the L1-Ar1 and L2-Ar2 groups. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify the above compound as disclosed by Fleetham et al. such that R1-18 = deuterium, n1 = 3, Ra = deuterium, L1-2 = single bond, and Ar1-2 = unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 1, 1A, 1B, and 1C; Ra1-2 = Ra4 = deuterium of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1-III; corresponds to 1-62 as recited in Claim 8. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves the exchange of one group of substituents (D5-phenyls) for functional equivalents (an isotopic analogs, i.e., unsubstituted phenyls) (or merely an exchange of hydrogens for isotopic functional equivalents, i.e., deuteriums), which is easily envisioned from the disclosure of Fleetham et al. which teaches variable degrees of deuteration ranging from at least 5% to at least 90% of the first host, producing a compound that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties (as well as fully encompassed by Fleetham et al.’s general formula), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Fleetham et al. further discloses the following organic EL device for the construction of displays and the like ([0328]):
(Fig. 1) comprising substrate (110), anode (115), hole-injecting layer (120) (hole transport layer), hole-transporting layer (125) (hole transport auxiliary layer), electron-blocking layer (130), light-emitting layer (135), hole-blocking layer (140), electron-transporting layer (145), electron-injecting layer (150), protective layer (155), cathode (160), and barrier layer (170) (Fig. 1; [0333]); its inventive compounds serve as (first) host material in the light-emitting layer ([0006]). The light-emitting layer further comprises a (second) host material, which can be undeuterated ([0195]). Fleetham et al. discloses an “additional layer” (hole-injecting layer, hole-transporting layer, or layer adjacent to the light-emitting layer) which can also comprise its inventive (partially or fully deuterated) compounds ([0090], [0183]-[0184]). However, Fleetham et al. does not explicitly disclose a second compound as recited in the claims.
Kai et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 8) (second compound) such that R27-32 = hydrogen, n15 = 1, R50 = hydrogen, L4 = L6 = L8 = single bond, and R22 = R24 = substituted C5 heterocyclic group (phenyl-substituted pyridyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-IB-2. Kai et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with high efficiency and good driving stability (Abstract; [0018]). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound (33) as disclosed by Kai et al. into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Fleetham et al. (as additional, second host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Kai et al., which discloses that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with high efficiency and good driving stability.
10. Claims 1-5, 8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2022/0231229 A1) in view of Kai et al. (US 2010/0187977 A1).
Yang et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising a plurality of host materials comprising first and second host materials, the latter of which comprises compounds such as (Abstract; [0006]):
(page 103) such that L1-2 = single bond, and Ar1-2 = unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1 and wherein Dn represents “preferably an integer of 8 or more”; the deuteration leads to increase bond dissociation energy, improving stability of the molecule ([0070]). Yang et al. discloses that the term “a plurality of host materials” comprises “at least two host materials,” including other conventional materials ([0037]). However, Yang et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to produce a compound that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1, with Ra = R1-18 = deuterium (to produce 1-62 as recited in Claim 8). The motivation is provided by the fact that the production merely involves the exchange of one group of atoms (hydrogens) for functional equivalents (isotopic analogs, i.e., deuteriums), which is easily envisioned from the disclosure of Yang et al. which teaches a preferred deuteration of “8 or more” in order to improve stability of the molecule. However, Yang et al. does not explicitly disclose a second compound as recited in the claims.
Kai et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 8) (second compound) such that R27-32 = hydrogen, n15 = 1, R50 = hydrogen, L4 = L6 = L8 = single bond, and R22 = R24 = substituted C5 heterocyclic group (phenyl-substituted pyridyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-IB-2. Kai et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with high efficiency and good driving stability (Abstract; [0018]). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound (33) as disclosed by Kai et al. into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Yang et al. (as additional host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Kai et al., which discloses that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with high efficiency and good driving stability.
11. Claims 1-5, 8, 15-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham et al. (US 2022/0181561 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0053960 A1).
Fleetham et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising a light-emitting layer comprising a first host which is “partially or fully deuterated” (Abstract; [0007]); partial deuteration includes at least one hydrogen being replaced by deuterium, ranging from “at least 5%” to “at least 90%” of the hydrogens being replaced by deuterium ([0055]). The first host is of the following form:
(page 14) where X1-6 = C or N ([0212]), RA’-D’ = no substitution or maximum substitutions and includes hydrogen or substituent including deuterium which can joined or fused into a ring ([0045], [0051], [0215]-[0216]). An embodiment (first host) is disclosed:
(page 31). However, Fleetham et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1, particularly in regards to the nature of the L1-Ar1 and L2-Ar2 groups. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify the above compound as disclosed by Fleetham et al. such that R1-18 = deuterium, n1 = 3, Ra = deuterium, L1-2 = single bond, and Ar1-2 = unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 1, 1A, 1B, and 1C; Ra1-2 = Ra4 = deuterium of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1-III; corresponds to 1-62 as recited in Claim 8. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves the exchange of one group of substituents (D5-phenyls) for functional equivalents (an isotopic analogs, i.e., unsubstituted phenyls) (or merely an exchange of hydrogens for isotopic functional equivalents, i.e., deuteriums), which is easily envisioned from the disclosure of Fleetham et al. which teaches variable degrees of deuteration ranging from at least 5% to at least 90% of the first host, producing a compound that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties (as well as fully encompassed by Fleetham et al.’s general formula), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Fleetham et al. further discloses the following organic EL device for the construction of displays and the like ([0328]):
(Fig. 1) comprising substrate (110), anode (115), hole-injecting layer (120) (hole transport layer), hole-transporting layer (125) (hole transport auxiliary layer), electron-blocking layer (130), light-emitting layer (135), hole-blocking layer (140), electron-transporting layer (145), electron-injecting layer (150), protective layer (155), cathode (160), and barrier layer (170) (Fig. 1; [0333]); its inventive compounds serve as (first) host material in the light-emitting layer ([0006]). The light-emitting layer further comprises a (second) host material, which can be undeuterated ([0195]). Fleetham et al. discloses an “additional layer” (hole-injecting layer, hole-transporting layer, or layer adjacent to the light-emitting layer) which can also comprise its inventive (partially or fully deuterated) compounds ([0090], [0183]-[0184]). However, Fleetham et al. does not explicitly disclose a second compound as recited in the claims.
Park et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 7) (second compound) such that R25 = R28-32 = hydrogen, n15 = 1, R50 = hydrogen, L6 = L8 = single bond, R22 = R24 = unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl), and X4 = S of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-IB-1. Park et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with improved luminous efficiency, color purity, and lifetime ([0012]). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound 2-10 as disclosed by Park et al. into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Fleetham et al. (as additional, second host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Park et al., which discloses that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with improved luminous efficiency, color purity, and lifetime.
12. Claims 1-5, 8, 15-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2022/0231229 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0053960 A1).
Yang et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising a plurality of host materials comprising first and second host materials, the latter of which comprises compounds such as (Abstract; [0006]):
(page 103) such that L1-2 = single bond, and Ar1-2 = unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1 and wherein Dn represents “preferably an integer of 8 or more”; the deuteration leads to increase bond dissociation energy, improving stability of the molecule ([0070]). Yang et al. discloses that the term “a plurality of host materials” comprises “at least two host materials,” including other conventional materials ([0037]). However, Yang et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to produce a compound that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1, with Ra = R1-18 = deuterium (to 1-62 as recited in Claim 8). The motivation is provided by the fact that the production merely involves the exchange of one group of atoms (hydrogens) for functional equivalents (isotopic analogs, i.e., deuteriums), which is easily envisioned from the disclosure of Yang et al. which teaches a preferred deuteration of “8 or more” in order to improve stability of the molecule. However, Yang et al. does not explicitly disclose a second compound as recited in the claims.
Park et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 7) (second compound) such that R25 = R28-32 = hydrogen, n15 = 1, R50 = hydrogen, L6 = L8 = single bond, R22 = R24 = unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl), and X4 = S of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2-IB-1. Park et al. discloses its inventive compounds as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with improved luminous efficiency, color purity, and lifetime ([0012]). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound 2-10 as disclosed by Park et al. into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Yang et al. (as additional host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Park et al., which discloses that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with improved luminous efficiency, color purity, and lifetime.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant’s arguments on pages 21-28 with respect to the deficiencies of the previous rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786