DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/23/26 has been entered. Claims 11, 31-36, and 38-39 remain pending in the application. Claim(s) 1-10, 12-30, and 37 have been canceled. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 12/23/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Language from the reference(s) is shown in quotations. Limitations from the claims are shown in quotations within parenthesis. Examiner explanations are shown in italics.
Claims 11, 36, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewer et al. (WO 2014066668 A1), in view of Chiola et al. (US 3582264 A).
Regarding claim 11, Brewer teaches that “methods are described for the recovery and separation of the rare earth elements from ore, tailings, or any other solid source” (which reads upon “a method for the selective separation of rare earth elements, comprising the steps of”, as recited in the instant claim; abstract). Brewer teaches “the extraction and separation of REE oxides, hydroxides, salts and organometallic compounds through the use of mechanochemistry” (which reads upon “digesting a rare earth oxide powder”, as recited in the instant claim; page 2). Brewer teaches that “in the case of the method titration is used by adding a solution stepwise which contains a precipitating compound such as sodium hydroxide, or oxalic acid to a solution containing REE compound, and that a variety of other acids may be used including nitric acid, hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid, trichloroacetic acid, phosphoric acid, formic acid, acetic acid, propionic acid, carbonic acid mixtures of these or other suitable acids” (which reads upon “in nitric acid to form a first rare earth solution comprising solubilized rare earth elements”, as recited in the instant claim; page 5). Brewer teaches that “the base may be selected from sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, sodium bicarbonate, calcium carbonate, ammonium hydroxide, potassium carbonate, lithium hydroxide, mixtures of these, or other suitable bases” (which reads upon “contacting the first rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide”, as recited in the instant claim; page 5). Brewer teaches that “the addition of a precipitating agent to the REE containing solution causes the REE to come out of solution as a solid which is no longer soluble in the original solvent” (which reads upon “to precipitate a first precipitation product and form a second rare earth solution”, as recited in the instant claim; page 5). Brewer teaches that “the pH 1 adjusted solution was then titrated with a base (i.e., NaOH or KOH) to various pH end points” (page 8). Brewer teaches that “at those end points, specific materials precipitated and the solution was centrifuged to separate the precipitated solid material from the solution” (which reads upon “separating the first precipitation product from the second rare earth solution”, as recited in the instant claim; page 8). Brewer teaches that “at each endpoint, the solution was decanted from the solid precipitate and titrated to the next end point” (which reads upon “increasing the pH of the second rare earth solution to precipitate additional rare earth elements from the second rare earth solution as a first intermediate particulate feed”, as recited in the instant claim; page 8). Brewer teaches that “as the pH of the solution increased each REE element precipitated selectively and was collected for further verification of the purity and identity of the REE present” (which reads upon “increasing the pH of the second rare earth solution to precipitate additional rare earth elements from the second rare earth solution as a first intermediate particulate feed”, as recited in the instant claim; page 9). Brewer is silent regarding digesting the first intermediate particulate feed in nitric acid to form a third rare earth solution; and contacting the third rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide to precipitate a second precipitation product and form a fourth rare earth solution, which amounts to a repetition of the process performed. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Brewer to include digesting the first intermediate particulate feed in nitric acid to form a third rare earth solution; and contacting the third rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide to precipitate a second precipitation product and form a fourth rare earth solution so that the REE product recovered will become purer and more impurities can be removed. Mere duplication of known elements has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960).
Brewer is silent regarding the %HNO3. Regarding the subject limitations, in order to carry out the invention of Brewer, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary %HNO3 used in rare earth extraction processes. Chiola provides this teaching. Chiola is similarly concerned with the process for separating the lighter rare earth elements from heavier rare earth elements (abstract). Chiola teaches “an improvement to a process for separating and purifying rare earth material wherein a first extraction step is used to separate the light and heavy rare earths and thereafter the phase containing the heavier rare earths is further processed to separate the particular rare earth desired from the other heavier rare earths” (column 2, lines 50-64). Chiola teaches “scrubbing the organic extraction phase that is loaded with the heavier rare earths with an aqueous acidic scrub solution, adjusting the pH of the aqueous acidic solution after scrubbing to between about 5 and 7 and adding the adjusted solution to the extraction step at an intermediate stage to thereby increase the efficiency of the extraction step” (column 2, lines 50-64). Chiola teaches that “the organic extractant solution after it leaves the initial feed solution entry extraction stage is scrubbed with an aqueous acidic solution that has a relatively low pH, generally below about 1” (column 3, lines 34-48). Chiola teaches that “any mineral acid such as nitric, hydrochloric, and sulfuric can be used, it is preferred to use nitric acid from an efficiency and cost standpoint” (column 3, lines 49-51). Chiola teaches that “aqueous ammonium hydroxide solutions containing from about 5% to about 20% by weight of ammonium hydroxide are especially preferred” (column 3, lines 34-48). Chila gives concentrations of the ammonium hydroxide solution in percentage, but only gives concentration of the nitric acid solution in pH. It is necessary to convert the claim’s concentration into pH to compare to the prior art. Density of 18% HNO₃ is about 1.12 g/mL. For 1 L (1000 mL) of solution, the mass is 1120g. 1120 x 18% = 201.6 g HNO3. Molecular weight of HNO₃ = 63 g/mol. 201.6 / 63 = 3.2 mol. pH = -log10 (3.2) = -0.5. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Here, the claimed range of at least about 18%, which corresponds to less than or equal to about -0.5 pH lies inside the range disclosed by the prior art of less than 1. Accordingly, the prior art renders the claim obvious. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of Brewer, adjusting and varying the %HNO3, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Chiola, motivated to perform a conventional rare earth extraction process using known and tested amounts of HNO3.
Regarding claim 36, modified Brewer teaches the method of claim 11 as stated above. Brewer teaches that “the process has been shown to extract > 90% of the REE from both simulate and actual ore samples” (page 7; REE must be solubilized to be recovered). Brewer teaches “nearly 100% recovery of the REE compounds” (page 5).
Regarding claims 38-39, modified Brewer teaches the method of claim 11 as stated above. Brewer teaches that “the pH 1 adjusted solution was then titrated with a base (i.e., NaOH or KOH) to various pH end points” (page 8). Brewer is silent regarding the exact pH end points used. Regarding the subject limitations, in order to carry out the invention of Brewer, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary pH end points used in rare earth extraction processes. Chiola provides this teaching. Chiola is similarly concerned with the process for separating the lighter rare earth elements from heavier rare earth elements (abstract). Chiola teaches “an improvement to a process for separating and purifying rare earth material wherein a first extraction step is used to separate the light and heavy rare earths and thereafter the phase containing the heavier rare earths is further processed to separate the particular rare earth desired from the other heavier rare earths” (column 2, lines 50-64). Chiola teaches “scrubbing the organic extraction phase that is loaded with the heavier rare earths with an aqueous acidic scrub solution, adjusting the pH of the aqueous acidic solution after scrubbing to between about 5 and 7 and adding the adjusted solution to the extraction step at an intermediate stage to thereby increase the efficiency of the extraction step” (column 2, lines 50-64). Chiola teaches that “the pH of the scrub solution, after scrubbing, is below about 3” (column 3, lines 34-48). Chiola teaches that “it is adjusted to a pH of about 5 to about 7 by the addition of a base” (which reads upon “wherein the step of contacting the first rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide results in a pH of at least about pH 4”, as recited in instant claim 38; which reads upon “wherein the step of contacting the first rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide results in a pH of not greater than about pH 5.5”, as recited in instant claim 39; column 3, lines 34-48). Chiola teaches that “aqueous ammonium hydroxide solutions containing from about 5% to about 20% by weight of ammonium hydroxide are especially preferred” (column 3, lines 34-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of Brewer, adjusting and varying the pH, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Chiola, motivated to perform a conventional rare earth extraction process using known and tested pH end points.
Claims 31-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewer et al. (WO 2014066668 A1) and Chiola et al. (US 3582264 A), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 1098361 C), as machine translated.
Regarding claims 31-33 and 35, modified Brewer teaches the method of claim 11 as stated above.
Brewer is silent regarding the starting composition of the rare earth oxide powder. Brewer teaches that “methods are described for the recovery and separation of the rare earth elements from ore, tailings, or any other solid source” (abstract).
Li is similarly concerned with rare earth oxides (paragraph [0006]). Li teaches “a process for extracting and separating cerium and thorium from bastnaesite leachate” (paragraph [0004]). Li teaches that “the back-extraction solution containing cerium organic phase was treated as in Example 1 to obtain cerium oxide” (which reads upon “rare earth oxide powder”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0023]). Li teaches that “the CeO<sub>2</sub> extraction recovery rate was 91%, and the CeO<sub>2</sub>/REO ratio was 99.99%” (which reads upon “wherein the rare earth oxide powder comprises at least about 90, 95, or 97% rare earth metals”, as recited in instant claims 31-33; which reads upon “wherein the rare earth oxide powder comprises not greater than about 0.02% base metals”, as recited in instant claim 35; paragraph [0023]). Li teaches that “the contents of rare earth impurities were as follows: 0.002% La, 0.0006% Pr, 0.0014% Nd, Sm < 0.0005%, Eu < 0.0005%, Gd < 0.0005%, Tb < 0.0005%, Dy < 0.0005%, Ho < 0.0005%, Er < 0.0005%, Tm < 0.0005%, Yb < 0.0005%, Lu < 0.0005%, Y < 0.0005%” (paragraph [0023]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the CeO powder of Li in the method of Brewer because Brewer teaches that any solid source may be used.
Claims 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewer et al. (WO 2014066668 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20140170039 A1).
Regarding claims 31-36, Brewer teaches that “methods are described for the recovery and separation of the rare earth elements from ore, tailings, or any other solid source” (which reads upon “a method for the selective separation of rare earth elements, comprising the steps of”, as recited in the instant claim; abstract). Brewer teaches “the extraction and separation of REE oxides, hydroxides, salts and organometallic compounds through the use of mechanochemistry” (which reads upon “digesting a rare earth oxide powder”, as recited in the instant claim; page 2). Brewer teaches that “in the case of the method titration is used by adding a solution stepwise which contains a precipitating compound such as sodium hydroxide, or oxalic acid to a solution containing REE compound, and that a variety of other acids may be used including nitric acid, hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid, trichloroacetic acid, phosphoric acid, formic acid, acetic acid, propionic acid, carbonic acid mixtures of these or other suitable acids” (which reads upon “in nitric acid to form a first rare earth solution comprising solubilized rare earth elements”, as recited in the instant claim; page 5). Brewer teaches that “the base may be selected from sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, sodium bicarbonate, calcium carbonate, ammonium hydroxide, potassium carbonate, lithium hydroxide, mixtures of these, or other suitable bases” (which reads upon “contacting the first rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide”, as recited in the instant claim; page 5). Brewer teaches that “the addition of a precipitating agent to the REE containing solution causes the REE to come out of solution as a solid which is no longer soluble in the original solvent” (which reads upon “to precipitate a first precipitation product and form a second rare earth solution”, as recited in the instant claim; page 5). Brewer teaches that “the pH 1 adjusted solution was then titrated with a base (i.e., NaOH or KOH) to various pH end points” (page 8). Brewer teaches that “at those end points, specific materials precipitated and the solution was centrifuged to separate the precipitated solid material from the solution” (which reads upon “separating the first precipitation product from the second rare earth solution”, as recited in the instant claim; page 8). Brewer teaches that “at each endpoint, the solution was decanted from the solid precipitate and titrated to the next end point” (which reads upon “increasing the pH of the second rare earth solution to precipitate additional rare earth elements from the second rare earth solution as a first intermediate particulate feed”, as recited in the instant claim; page 8). Brewer teaches that “as the pH of the solution increased each REE element precipitated selectively and was collected for further verification of the purity and identity of the REE present” (which reads upon “increasing the pH of the second rare earth solution to precipitate additional rare earth elements from the second rare earth solution as a first intermediate particulate feed”, as recited in the instant claim; page 9). Brewer is silent regarding digesting the first intermediate particulate feed in nitric acid to form a third rare earth solution; and contacting the third rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide to precipitate a second precipitation product and form a fourth rare earth solution, which amounts to a repetition of the process performed. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Brewer to include digesting the first intermediate particulate feed in nitric acid to form a third rare earth solution; and contacting the third rare earth solution with ammonium hydroxide to precipitate a second precipitation product and form a fourth rare earth solution so that the REE product recovered will become purer and more impurities can be removed. Mere duplication of known elements has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960).
Brewer is silent regarding wherein, just prior to the contacting step, the first rare earth solution has nitric acid concentration of at least about 18% HNO3.
Li is similarly concerned with a process of separating and purifying thorium, more specially, to a process of purifying thorium by solvent extraction (paragraph [0002]). Li teaches that “the process of separating and purifying thorium according to the present invention not only solves the technical problems in the prior art, but also reduces the cost and allows obtaining thorium with higher purity” (paragraph [0007]). Li teaches that “mixing a thorium enrichment with an inorganic acid to produce a feed” (paragraph [0009]). Li teaches that “the inorganic acid may be one or more selected from the group consisting of hydrochloric acid, nitric acid and sulfuric acid” (paragraph [0016]). Li teaches that “the feed contains thorium in a concentration of 0.5-1.5 mol/l and the inorganic acid in a concentration of 0.5-5 mol/l” (which reads upon “just prior to the contacting step, the first rare earth solution has nitric acid concentration of at least about 18% HNO3”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0017]).
It is necessary to convert the claim’s concentration into mol/l to compare to the prior art. Density of 18% HNO₃ is about 1.12 g/mL. For 1 L (1000 mL) of solution, the mass is 1120g. 1120 g/l x 18% = 201.6 g/l HNO3. Molecular weight of HNO₃ = 63 g/mol. 201.6 g/l / 63 g/mol = 3.2 mol/l. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Here, the claimed range of at least about 18%, which corresponds to greater than or equal to about 3.2 mol/l overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art of 0.5-5 mol/l. Accordingly, the prior art renders the claim obvious. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of Brewer, adjusting and varying the %HNO3, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Li, motivated to perform a conventional rare earth extraction process using known and tested amounts of HNO3 in the feed solution.
Brewer is silent regarding the starting composition of the rare earth oxide powder. Brewer teaches that “methods are described for the recovery and separation of the rare earth elements from ore, tailings, or any other solid source” (abstract).
Li teaches that “the thorium compound in the thorium enrichment may be thorium oxalate, thorium hydroxide, thorium nitrate, thorium chloride, thorium oxide, or a mixture thereof” (paragraph [0031]). Li teaches that “based on the total weight of the thorium enrichment, thorium compound is included in an amount of 80-99% by weight and the remaining are impurities such as rare earths, iron, etc” (which reads upon “wherein the rare earth oxide powder comprises at least about 90%, 95%, or 97% rare earth metals on a metals basis”, as recited in instant claims 31-33; paragraph [0031]). Li teaches that “the weight percentage of thorium (ThO2) was 91%, and the content of the impurity uranium was 5%” (which reads upon instant claim 34; paragraph [0075]). Li teaches that “the thorium enrichment may be a thorium regenerant recovered and enriched from the processing of Panxi bastnasite, Baotou mixed bastnasite-monazite ore, monazite ore or other ores” (which reads upon instant claim 35; paragraph [0032]). Li teaches that “the thorium product produced by this process may have a purity of 99.995-99.999%, preferably 99.998-99.999%, with a recovery of 98% or more” (which reads upon instant claim 36; paragraph [0044]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thorium regenerant recovered and enriched from the processing of Panxi bastnasite, Baotou mixed bastnasite-monazite ore, monazite ore or other ores of Li in the method of Brewer because Brewer teaches that any solid source may be used. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. Here Li teaches that a thorium regenerant recovered and enriched from the processing of Panxi bastnasite, Baotou mixed bastnasite-monazite ore, monazite ore or other ores are known materials suitable as a source of rare earth metals for an extraction process.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewer et al. (WO 2014066668 A1) and Chiola et al. (US 3582264 A), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Calkins et al. (US 2815264 A).
Regarding claim 34, modified Brewer teaches the method of claim 11 as stated above.
Brewer is silent regarding wherein the metal impurities in the rare earth oxide powder comprise thorium and uranium. Brewer teaches that “methods are described for the recovery and separation of the rare earth elements from ore, tailings, or any other solid source” (abstract).
Calkins is similarly concerned with a process for the recovery of thorium, uranium, and rare earths from their ores, particularly monazite sand (column 1, lines 15-17). Calkins teaches that “the most important source of thorium and the rare earths is monazite sand” (column 1, lines 18-20). Calkins teaches that “the rare earth oxide content may run as high as 86%, the thorium oxide content as high as 10%, and the uranium oxide (U3O8) as high as 1%” (which reads upon “wherein the metal impurities in the rare earth oxide powder comprise thorium and uranium”, as recited in the instant claim; column 1, lines 18-30).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use monazite sand in the method of Brewer, as taught by Calkins because the most important source of thorium and the rare earths is monazite sand and because Brewer teaches that any solid source can be used. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. Here Calkins teaches that monazite sand is a known material suitable as a source of rare earth metals for an extraction process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Chiola et al. does not disclose or suggest this concentration nitric acid (remarks, page 6). This is not found convincing because Chiola teaches a pH range which corresponds to an overlapping concentration of nitric acid, as stated above.
Applicant argues that Chiola et al. is directed to a method wherein an aqueous feed stream containing a mixture of both lighter and heavier rare earth elements flows through a plurality of extraction stages and an organic extractant solution that preferentially extracts the heavier rare earth elements flows counter-current to and in contact with the aqueous feed stream (remarks, page 6). This is not found convincing because Chiola is not relied upon to teach the processing steps, only the pH of the solution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Specifically, old dependent claim 37 was not previously examined in combination with the other dependent claims. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The Examiner requests that interviews not be scheduled during the last week of each fiscal quarter or the last half of September, which is the end of the fiscal year. Q4: 9/21-9/30/26; Q1: 1/4-1/8/27.
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733