DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 7-26 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,736,692 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,350,992. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,736,692 and U.S. Patent No. 11,350,992 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26, lines 2-3 recites “at least one of reduce muscle sympathetic nerve activity (MSNA) in the patient or reduces whole body norepinephrine spillover in the patient.” It is at most unclear to the Examiner what Applicant is attempting to claim as this limitation is not clear. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted to mean -- includes at least one of reduced muscle sympathetic nerve activity (MSNA) in the patient or reduced whole body norepinephrine spillover in the patient --. It is also noted that this limitation is written in the alternative, and therefore does not require both reduced muscle sympathetic nerve activity (MSNA) in the patient and reduced whole body norepinephrine spillover in the patient. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Toth et al., (hereinafter ‘Toth,’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2016/0213313).
Regarding claim 21, Toth (Fig. 1) discloses a method comprising: delivering neuromodulation therapy to a first sympathetic nerve (renal artery 2) via an intravascular neuromodulation assembly (micro surgical tool 1610) to attenuate neural traffic along the first sympathetic nerve ([0053] “Where the methods are directed to treatment of subjects having one or more solid tumors, aspects of such embodiments may include methods where tumor tissue itself is not modulated as described herein. Instead, only nerve(s) operatively coupled to the tumor is modulated, e.g., ablated. As such, in these embodiments the tumor itself is not ablated.” See [0155] for application to sympathetic nerves associated with various organs), wherein the first sympathetic nerve innervates a secondary tissue site that is different than a primary tissue site that includes a malignant tumor in a patient ([0053]; [0096], “The non-limiting examples disclosed herein may be directed towards such configurations (e.g., to controllably provide neuromodulation procedures to an organ within a body, so as to controllably ablate renal nerves along a renal artery via an endoscopic or percutaneous procedure, to treat a cancerous tumor, to limit perineural invasion of cancerous cells into a nearby nerve, to alter a tumor microenvironment, etc.).” Also see [0109]-[0110] for treatment of progression of a cancerous tumor; [0122]); and delivering neuromodulation therapy to the second sympathetic nerve to attenuate neural traffic along the second sympathetic nerve (see [0122]-[0126], for “neuromodulating one or more nerves coupled to the tumor”), wherein attenuating neural traffic along the first sympathetic nerve and the second sympathetic nerve results in one or more of: a reduction in a tumor growth rate of the malignant tumor in the patient, a decrease in a frequency of metastasis of the malignant tumor, at least partial inhibition of vascularization of the malignant tumor, a decrease in a number of metastatic tumors derived from the malignant tumor in the patient, a decrease in a rate of colonization of circulating tumor cells at the secondary tissue site, or increased effectiveness of a chemotherapy agent on cancer cells derived from the malignant tumor (see [0109] for a method to “treat and/or slow the progression of a cancerous tumor”; also see [0110], “the present disclosure may be used to slow, hinder, and/or prevent perineural invasion of a cancerous tumor into a surrounding nerve structure. In aspects, a system, device, and/or method in accordance with the present disclosure may be used to interrupt, decrease, and/or stop neural communication to a cancerous tumor and/or the microenvironment surrounding the tumor (i.e., to interrupt nerve traffic to/from a cancerous tumor or the tissues thereby to the rest of the body).”).
Regarding claim 22, Toth discloses wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises delivering at least one of radio frequency energy, ultrasound energy, laser energy, or microwave energy via the neuromodulation assembly ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 23, Toth discloses wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises cooling tissue of the patient ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 24, Toth discloses wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises delivering a chemical to tissue of the patient (see [0017], for use of a “ highly specific denervating agent may be a neural targeting chemical, etc.” also see [0056], “In aspects, the method may include providing energy and/or a bolus of a chemical agent in an amount sufficient to provide a neural block to one or more regions of the neural circuit, and/or ablate one or more regions of the neural circuit.”).
Regarding claim 25, Toth discloses wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises at least partially ablating a respective one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve ([0053] “… only nerve(s) operatively coupled to the tumor is modulated, e.g., ablated. As such, in these embodiments the tumor itself is not ablated.” See also [0096], “The non-limiting examples disclosed herein may be directed towards such configurations (e.g., to controllably provide neuromodulation procedures to an organ within a body, so as to controllably ablate renal nerves along a renal artery via an endoscopic or percutaneous procedure, to treat a cancerous tumor, to limit perineural invasion of cancerous cells into a nearby nerve, to alter a tumor microenvironment, etc.).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth in view of Gnanashanmugam et al., (hereinafter ‘Gnanashanmugam,’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2013/0204068).
Regarding claim 7, Toth (Fig. 1) discloses a method comprising: intravascularly positioning a catheter assembly (micro surgical tool 1610) adjacent to a first sympathetic nerve (renal artery 2) innervating a first tissue site that is proximate to a malignant tumor in a patient ([0053] “Where the methods are directed to treatment of subjects having one or more solid tumors, aspects of such embodiments may include methods where tumor tissue itself is not modulated as described herein. Instead, only nerve(s) operatively coupled to the tumor is modulated, e.g., ablated. As such, in these embodiments the tumor itself is not ablated.” See [0155] for application to sympathetic nerves associated with various organs); delivering neuromodulation therapy to the first sympathetic nerve via the catheter to attenuate neural traffic along the first sympathetic nerve ([0053]; [0096], “The non-limiting examples disclosed herein may be directed towards such configurations (e.g., to controllably provide neuromodulation procedures to an organ within a body, so as to controllably ablate renal nerves along a renal artery via an endoscopic or percutaneous procedure, to treat a cancerous tumor, to limit perineural invasion of cancerous cells into a nearby nerve, to alter a tumor microenvironment, etc.).” Also see [0109]-[0110] for treatment of progression of a cancerous tumor; [0122]); and delivering neuromodulation therapy to a second sympathetic nerve innervating a second tissue site that is at risk of forming a metastatic tumor to attenuate neural traffic along the second sympathetic nerve (see [0122]-[0126], for “neuromodulating one or more nerves coupled to the tumor”).
Although Toth discloses neuromodulating one or more nerves coupled to the tumor, Toth is silent regarding wherein the second sympathetic nerve is associated with a different organ or tissue from the first tissue site and does not innervate the first tissue site.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gnanashanmugam teaches a similar method of performing neuromodulation, including innervating various organs and tissue sites. For example, in one embodiment, the method comprises performing bilateral pulmonary neuromodulation in either or both of the patient's left pulmonary artery or right pulmonary artery, and additionally or alternatively performing treatment concurrently on both right and left neural fibers that contribute to pulmonary function ([0191]; Figs.25A-26B). It is well known in the art (as can be seen in Gnanashanmugam) to provide neuromodulation to various sympathetic nerves associated with different organs and tissues in order to achieve a more full and complete treatment of the patient, thereby increasing efficacy and efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method as taught by Toth to include wherein the second sympathetic nerve is associated with a different organ or tissue from the first tissue site and does not innervate the first tissue site, as taught by Gnanashanmugam, in order to achieve a more full and complete treatment of the patient, thereby increasing efficacy and efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Toth discloses wherein delivering the neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises delivering ablative energy via the catheter ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 9, Toth discloses wherein delivering the neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises delivering electrical energy via the catheter ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 10, Toth discloses wherein delivering the neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises delivering thermal energy via the catheter ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 11, Toth discloses wherein delivering the neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises cooling tissue of the patient ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 12, Toth discloses wherein delivering the neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises neuromodulation therapy via an ultrasound transducer ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 13, Toth discloses wherein delivering the neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises delivering a chemical to tissue of the patient (see [0017], for use of a “ highly specific denervating agent may be a neural targeting chemical, etc.” also see [0056], “In aspects, the method may include providing energy and/or a bolus of a chemical agent in an amount sufficient to provide a neural block to one or more regions of the neural circuit, and/or ablate one or more regions of the neural circuit.”).
Regarding claim 14, Toth discloses wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to at least one of the first sympathetic nerve or the second sympathetic nerve comprises delivering at least one of radio frequency energy, ultrasound energy, laser energy, or microwave energy via a neuromodulation assembly carried by the catheter ([0016], “The energy may be thermal energy, RF (radio frequency) current, MW (microwave) current, ultrasound, MR (magnetic resonance) guided HIFU (high intensity focused ultrasound), radiation, cryotherapy, combinations thereof, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 15, Toth discloses wherein delivery of the neuromodulation therapy to the first sympathetic nerve (2) results in one or more of: a reduction in a tumor growth rate of the malignant tumor in the patient; a decrease in a frequency of metastasis of the malignant tumor; at least partial inhibition of vascularization of the malignant tumor; a decrease in number of metastatic tumors derived from the malignant tumor in the patient; or increased effectiveness of a chemotherapy agent on cancer cells derived from the malignant tumor (see [0109] for a method to “treat and/or slow the progression of a cancerous tumor”; also see [0110], “the present disclosure may be used to slow, hinder, and/or prevent perineural invasion of a cancerous tumor into a surrounding nerve structure. In aspects, a system, device, and/or method in accordance with the present disclosure may be used to interrupt, decrease, and/or stop neural communication to a cancerous tumor and/or the microenvironment surrounding the tumor (i.e., to interrupt nerve traffic to/from a cancerous tumor or the tissues thereby to the rest of the body).”).
Regarding claim 16, Toth in view of Gnanashanmugam teach each and every limitation of the method according to claim 7. In view of the prior modification of Toth in view of Gnanashanmugam, Gnanashanmugam necessarily teaches wherein there is a delay between delivering neuromodulation therapy to the first sympathetic nerve and delivering neuromodulation therapy to the second sympathetic nerve (see Figs. 25A-25H for delay caused by removal and readjustment of device to second tissue site).
Regarding claim 18, Toth discloses wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to the second sympathetic nerve decreases a rate of colonization of circulating tumor cells at the second tissue site by altering a microenvironment at the second tissue site to be less habitable to colonization ([0050], “Aspects of the invention include treatment of subjects suffering from neoplastic disease conditions, i.e., disease conditions characterized by the occurrence of unwanted cellular proliferation, e.g., as manifested by the appearance/growth of one or more solid tumors. By treatment is meant at least an amelioration of the symptoms associated with the disease condition afflicting the subject (i.e., host), where amelioration is used in a broad sense to refer to at least a reduction in the magnitude of a parameter, e.g., symptom, associated with the pathological condition being treated, such as size of tumor, rate of growth of tumor, spread of tumor, pain, etc.”).
Regarding claim 19, Toth discloses wherein attenuating neural traffic along the first sympathetic nerve at least one of decreases a number of circulating tumor cells in the patient; or inhibits at least one of lymphatic spread or hematogenous spread of tumor cells from the malignant tumor in the patient ([0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Toth discloses wherein the malignant tumor is located in the breast, colon, kidney, pancreas, liver, prostate, cervix or ovary of the patient (Fig. 1; [0052]; [0132], “micro surgical tool 1610 in accordance with the present disclosure is shown as placed into the renal artery 2 of a subject as coupled to a target organ 1 (i.e., here shown as a kidney)”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth in view of Gnanashanmugam, as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Brennan (hereinafter ‘Brennan’ U.S. PGPub. No. 2015/0088111).
Regarding claim 17, Toth in view of Gnanashanmugam teach each and every limitation of the method according to claim 7, but are silent regarding wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to the second sympathetic nerve reduces a level of whole body norepinephrine spillover.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Brennan teaches a similar method for neuromodulation comprising performing renal neuromodulation, thereby decreasing sympathetic renal nerve activity, wherein a marker of reducing sympathetic neural activity includes reducing whole body norepinephrine spillover ([0030]; [0036]). Further, in some instances the whole body norepinephrine spillover can be reduced by at least about twenty-percent within about three months ([0036]), wherein it is plausible that the majority of the reduction is within the first month. It is well known in the art (as can be seen in Brenan) to use such a reduction as a marker of treatment progression and effectiveness ([0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method as taught by Toth to include wherein delivering neuromodulation therapy to the second sympathetic nerve reduces a level of whole body norepinephrine spillover, as taught by Brennan. Doing so provides a measurable marker to monitor a decrease in sympathetic renal nerve activity ([0030]), thereby providing an improved method for monitoring progression and effectiveness of treatment.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth in view of Brennan.
Regarding claim 26, Toth discloses all of the limitations of the method according to claim 21, but is silent regarding wherein attenuating neural traffic along the first sympathetic nerve at least one of reduce muscle sympathetic nerve activity (MSNA) in the patient or reduces whole body norepinephrine spillover in the patient.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Brennan teaches a similar method for neuromodulation comprising performing renal neuromodulation, thereby decreasing sympathetic renal nerve activity, wherein a marker of reducing sympathetic neural activity includes reducing whole body norepinephrine spillover ([0030]; [0036]). Further, in some instances the whole body norepinephrine spillover can be reduced by at least about twenty-percent within about three months ([0036]), wherein it is plausible that the majority of the reduction is within the first month. It is well known in the art (as can be seen in Brenan) to use such a reduction as a marker of treatment progression and effectiveness ([0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method as taught by Toth to include wherein attenuating neural traffic along the first sympathetic nerve reduces whole body norepinephrine spillover in the patient, as taught by Brennan. Doing so provides a measurable marker to monitor a decrease in sympathetic renal nerve activity ([0030]), thereby providing an improved method for monitoring progression and effectiveness of treatment.
Conclusion
/C.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794