DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claim 1 in the response filed on 12/23/2025 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 remain pending in the application
Claims 1-8 are examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Neither Henley nor Aizenberg teaches an apparatus designed to retain an anti-adhesive lubricant in contact with a lens or window of the endoscope during shipment.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the lubricant layer must be between the prism and the endoscope lens) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). The claim does not recite that the optical prism and connector are in direct contact with the lubricant. The claim only says that the lubricant must be in contact with a lens or window of the endoscope. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant also argues that the prior art contains no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine Henley's optical prism system with Aizenberg's anti-fouling coatings. However, "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971). Therefore, Henley in view of Aizenberg, does teach the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2014/0275771 to Henley et al. (hereinafter “Henley”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0136070 to Aizenberg et al. (hereinafter “Aizenberg”).
Regarding claim 1, Henley discloses an apparatus, comprising: an optical prism designed to displace a field of view offset angle of an endoscope (140, Fig. 2, [0057]); a connector (130, Fig. 3, [0061]) designed to affix the optical prism to a tip of an endoscope (104, Fig. 3, [0056]) that has a field of view at an initial offset angle displaced off-axis of the endoscope (Fig. 3), and to retain the optical prism against displacement forces during insertion of the endoscope into a body cavity (Fig. 3) ;the optical prism and connector designed to reduce the offset angle of the field of view of the endoscope toward on-axis relative to the initial offset when the prism and connector are affixed to an optical tip of the endoscope (Fig. 3, [0059]); wherein the optical prism and connector are affixed to the endoscope (Fig. 3) for shipment (intended use).
Henley fails to expressly teach designed to retain an anti-adhesive lubricant in contact with a lens or window of the endoscope during shipment.
However, Aizenberg teaches of an apparatus (Aizenberg: Fig. 1D) designed to retain an anti-adhesive lubricant in contact with a lens or window of the endoscope during shipment (Aizenberg: [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Henley to retain an anti-adhesive lubricant in contact with a lens or window of the endoscope during shipment, as taught by Aizenberg. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of repelling liquid ([0132] of Aizenberg).
Regarding claim 2, Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Henley further discloses wherein the optical prism is designed to reduce the offset angle of the endoscope's field of view to no more than 100 (Henley: [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the apparatus of claim 2, and Henley further discloses wherein the optical prism is designed to reduce the offset angle of the endoscope's field of view to no more than 5o (Henley: [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Henley, in view of Aizenberg, fails to expressly teach wherein the endoscope has a wetting surface treated to form a porous solid wetting surface designed to entrain an anti-adhesive lubricant in a layer over a lens or window of the endoscope.
However, Aizenberg further teaches (Aizenberg: Fig. 1D) wherein the endoscope has a wetting surface treated to form a porous solid wetting surface designed to entrain an anti-adhesive lubricant in a layer over a lens or window of the endoscope (Aizenberg: [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Henley, in view of Aizenberg, so that the endoscope has a wetting surface treated to form a porous solid wetting surface designed to entrain an anti-adhesive lubricant in a layer over a lens or window of the endoscope, as taught by Aizenberg. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of repelling liquid ([0132] of Aizenberg).
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henley, in view of Aizenberg, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2006/0276692 to Kucklick.
Regarding claim 4, Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the fails to expressly teach the optical prism is optically convex to magnify an image.
However, Kucklick teaches of an apparatus (Kucklick: Fig. 1) wherein the optical prism is optically convex to magnify an image (Kucklick: Fig. 6, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Henley, in view of Aizenberg, so that the optical prism is optically convex to magnify an image, as taught by Kucklick. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of providing a magnified view of an object within the surgical field (Kucklick: [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Henley, in view of Aizenberg, fails to expressly teach wherein the optical prism is optically concave to enlarge the endoscope's field of view.
However, Kucklick teaches of an apparatus (Kucklick: Fig. 1) wherein the optical prism is optically concave to enlarge the endoscope's field of view (Kucklick: Fig. 5, [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Henley, in view of Aizenberg, so that the optical prism is optically concave to enlarge the endoscope's field of view, as taught by Kucklick. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of providing a wide-angle view of the surgical field ([0026] of Kucklick).
Regarding claim 6, Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Henley, in view of Aizenberg, fails to expressly teach wherein the connector is designed to affix to the endoscope by mechanical forces.
However, Kucklick teaches of an apparatus (Kucklick: Fig. 1) wherein the connector is designed to affix to the endoscope by mechanical forces (Kucklick: [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Henley, in view of Aizenberg, so that the connector is designed to affix to the endoscope by mechanical forces, as taught by Kucklick. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of holding the connector onto the endoscope (Kucklick: [0025])
Regarding claim 7, Henley, in view of Aizenberg, teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Henley, in view of Aizenberg, fails to expressly teach further comprising: the connector is designed to affix an optical filter in series with the prism.
However, Kucklick teaches of an apparatus (Kucklick: Fig. 1) further comprising: the connector is designed to affix an optical filter in series with the prism (Kucklick: [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Henley, in view of Aizenberg, so that the connector is designed to affix an optical filter in series with the prism, as taught by Kucklick. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of reducing the light reflected into the arthroscope or to block certain wavelengths of light (Kucklick: [0029]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795