DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 05/06/2026. Claims 21-40 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 21, 35, 40 have been amended; claims 1-20 cancelled.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Final Office Action dated 02/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Specifically, the previously cited secondary reference Kuehl et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,419,148 A) is no longer applied in any rejections set forth in this Office Action. The newly cited reference Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0382336 A1) is applied in this Office Action to teach the newly added limitations recited in the independent claims 21, 35, 40. See detailed rejections in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27, 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 池淵 賢二 (JP 5456508 B2, hereinafter JP’508, previously cited) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0382336 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 21, JP’508 discloses an electric range (induction heating cooker 1, JP’508 Figs.2-3), comprising:
a case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) that defines an external appearance of the electric range (induction heating cooker 1, JP’508 Fig.3) (JP’508 Fig.3 shows that the main body 2 defines the external appearance of the induction heating cooker 1);
a heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) configured to heat an object (“cooking container”, JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph) to be heated (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph discloses: “On the top plate 3 corresponding to the induction heating coil 4 and the radiant heater 5, circular cooking container placement portions 8 and 9 are displayed by printing or the like in order to clearly indicate the place where the cooking container such as a pan is placed. Has been. In the embodiment, the induction heating coil 4 has a heating value of 200 volts and 1.5 Kw, and the radiant heater 5 has a heating value of 200 volts and 1.2 Kw, but is not limited thereto.”; therefore, the induction heating coil 4 configured to heat an object to be heated);
an upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) that is disposed under the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) to support the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.3-8 shows the support frame 4A disposed under the induction heating coil 4 to support the heating coil 4, this is also indicated by JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A”. Therefore, JP’508 discloses the support frame 4A disposed under the induction heating coil 4 to support the heating coil 4); and
a support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) disposed under the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.4-6, 8 show that the base member 20 disposed under the support frame 4A), wherein the support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) comprising a mount (mount includes the annotated frame and the annotated plurality of supports as shown in JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below because the definition of mount is “frame, support” – according to Merriam-Webster dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mount, accessed on 05/28/2026]; in this case, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows that the circuit board 25 is mounted on by the annotated frame and annotated plurality of supports) on which a printed circuit board (circuit board 25, JP’508 Figs.5, 7-8) (it is noted that the circuit board 25 is printed circuit board because JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 4 – paragraph 8 discloses: “The circuit board 25 has a configuration in which various electronic components (not shown) constituting the energization control circuit 26 of the induction heating coil 4 and the radiant heater 5are attached and these wirings (not shown) are printed.”) is mounted (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – paragraph 6 discloses: “the support 24 of the circuit board 25”) and a boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below) that supports the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.6 & 8 show that the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, this is also indicated by JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A, and is supported by a plurality of support columns 21 standing from a synthetic resin base member 20attached to the bottom wall 2A of the main body 2.”; therefore, JP’508 discloses boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A),
wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below) comprises a first boss (first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) configured to support the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (It is noted that JP’508 discloses the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, as explained in details above. Therefore, the first support column 21-1 supports the support frame 4A), and wherein the first boss (first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) comprises a body (body of the first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) comprising a lower end (lower end, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that contacts the support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) and an upper end (upper end, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that contacts the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (It is noted that JP’508 discloses the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, as explained in details above & as shown in JP’508 Figs.6, 8. Therefore, the upper end of the body of the first support column 21-1 contacts the support frame 4A) and having a shape of a cylinder (JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows that the first support column 21-1 comprises the body having a shape of a cylinder).
JP’508 does not disclose:
the body of the first boss having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end.
Lee teaches (Lee Fig.1):
the body of the first boss (body of the first boss 12-1, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end (lower end, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) to the upper end (upper end, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) (Lee annotated Fig.1 below shows the body of the first boss 12-1 having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP’508, by making the body of the first boss having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end, as taught by Lee, in order to improve load distribution and structural strength because the tapered configuration acts similarly to a structural cone, distributing bending loads more efficiently and reducing stress concentrations at the junction between the support column and the base member, where bending stresses are greatest. This reduces the likelihood of deformation, cracking, or breakage of the support column under loading. Additionally, the tapered configuration provides increased rigidity at the column root while reducing material usage and weight compared to a uniformly thick column.
Regarding claim 22, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 21, JP’508 also discloses further comprising:
an upper plate (upper plate includes the top plate frame 6 and the top plate 3, JP’508 Fig.2) disposed over the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 2 discloses: “The top plate 3 made of heat-resistant glass is in a state in which the peripheral portion is supported by a top plate frame 6 attached to the side wall 2B with screws so as to cover the upper surface opening of the main body 2.”; therefore, the upper plate includes the top plate frame 6 and the top plate 3 disposed over the main body 2) and having an upper surface (upper surface of the top plate 3, JP’508 Fig.2) on which the object (“cooking container”, JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph) to be heated is disposed (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph discloses: “On the top plate 3 corresponding to the induction heating coil 4 and the radiant heater 5, circular cooking container placement portions 8 and 9 are displayed by printing or the like in order to clearly indicate the place where the cooking container such as a pan is placed.”; therefore, JP’508 discloses the cooking container disposed on the upper surface of the top plate 3), wherein the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) is disposed under the upper plate (upper plate includes the top plate frame 6 and the top plate 3, JP’508 Fig.2) (the induction heating coil 4 is disposed under the top plate 3 because JP’508 Figs.2-3 shows that the induction heating coil 4 is located inside of the main body 2; additionally, JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 2 discloses the top plate 3 is disposed over the main body 2, as explained above; therefore, JP’508 discloses the induction heating coil 4 is disposed under the top plate 3).
Regarding claim 23, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 22, JP’508 also discloses
wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 in the rejection of claim 21 above) is closer to a front surface (front surface, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) than to a rear surface (rear surface, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) (It is noted that the boss portion having three support columns 21 configured to support the support frame 4A, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 21 above; therefore, the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, as shown in JP’508 Fig.5. Thus, since the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below shows that the boss portion is closer to the front surface of the main body 2 than to the rear surface of the main body 2).
Regarding claim 24, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 21, JP’508 also discloses wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) further comprises:
a boss bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that forms a bottom surface of the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) (JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows the boss bottom plate forms a bottom surface of the boss portion); and
wherein the first boss (first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) is disposed on an upper surface of the boss bottom plate (upper surface of the boss bottom plate, see the annotated boss bottom plate in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below).
Regarding claim 25, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 24, JP’508 also discloses
wherein the body (body of the first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) protrudes upwards from the boss bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below); and
wherein the first boss (first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) further comprises a rib (rib, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) radially formed along an outer circumferential surface of the body (body of the first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below).
Regarding claim 26, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 24, JP’508 also discloses wherein:
the mount (mount includes the frame and the plurality of supports as shown in JP’508 annotated Fig.9 in the rejection of claim 21 above; as cited and explained the interpretation of this limitation in the rejection of claim 21 above) comprises a mount bottom plate (mount bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) that forms a bottom surface of the mount (JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below shows the mount bottom plate forms a bottom surface of the mount) and a mount side plate (mount side plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) that extends upwardly from an edge (edge of the mount bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) of the mount bottom plate (mount bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below); and
the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) further comprises a second boss (second support column 21-2, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) secured to a securing portion (securing portion, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) that extends from the mount side plate (mount side plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) in a direction away from the boss portion (boss portion, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) (JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below shows the dark blue arrow represents the direction away from the boss portion), wherein the mount side plate (mount side plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) extends upwardly from a boundary between the mount bottom plate (mount bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) and the boss bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below).
Regarding claim 27, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 26, JP’508 also discloses
wherein the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) is supported by the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3), the first boss (first support column 21-1, see JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below), and the second boss (second support column 21-2, see JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below) (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A, and is supported by a plurality of support columns 21 standing from a synthetic resin base member 20 attached to the bottom wall 2A of the main body 2.”; it is noted that the plurality of support columns 21 comprises the first support column 21-1 and the second support column 21-2, as shown in JP’508 annotated Fig.9 below; therefore, the support frame 4A is supported by the first support column 21-1, the second support column 21-2 and the main body 2).
Regarding claim 35, JP’508 discloses an electric range (induction heating cooker 1, JP’508 Figs.2-3), comprising:
a case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) that defines an external appearance of the electric range (induction heating cooker 1, JP’508 Fig.3) (JP’508 Fig.3 shows that the main body 2 defines the external appearance of the induction heating cooker 1);
a heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) including a working coil (the heater 4 is induction heating coil 4, thus, it includes a working coil);
an upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) that is disposed under the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) to support the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.3-8 shows the support frame 4A disposed under the induction heating coil 4 to support the heating coil 4, this is also indicated by JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A”. Therefore, JP’508 discloses the support frame 4A disposed under the induction heating coil 4 to support the heating coil 4); and
a support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) disposed under the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.4-6, 8 show that the base member 20 disposed under the support frame 4A), wherein the support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) comprises a mount (mount includes the annotated frame and the annotated plurality of supports as shown in JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below because the definition of mount is “frame, support” – according to Merriam-Webster dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mount, accessed on 05/28/2026]; in this case, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows that the circuit board 25 is mounted on by the annotated frame and annotated plurality of supports) on which a printed circuit board (circuit board 25, JP’508 Figs.5, 7-8) (it is noted that the circuit board 25 is printed circuit board because JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 4 – paragraph 8 discloses: “The circuit board 25 has a configuration in which various electronic components (not shown) constituting the energization control circuit 26 of the induction heating coil 4 and the radiant heater 5are attached and these wirings (not shown) are printed.”) is mounted (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – paragraph 6 discloses: “the support 24 of the circuit board 25”) and a boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below) that supports the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.6 & 8 show that the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, this is also indicated by JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A, and is supported by a plurality of support columns 21 standing from a synthetic resin base member 20attached to the bottom wall 2A of the main body 2.”; therefore, JP’508 discloses boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A), wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below) comprises a plurality of bosses (three support columns 21, JP’508 Figs.5 & 9 below) that support the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.6 & 8 show that the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, this is also indicated by JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A, and is supported by a plurality of support columns 21 standing from a synthetic resin base member 20 attached to the bottom wall 2A of the main body 2.”; therefore, JP’508 discloses three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A), and wherein each of the plurality of bosses (each of the three support columns 21, JP’508 Figs.5 & 9 below) comprises a body (body of each of the three support columns 21, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) comprising a lower end (lower end, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that contacts the support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) and an upper end (upper end, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that contacts the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (It is noted that JP’508 discloses the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, as explained in details above & as shown in JP’508 Figs.6, 8. Therefore, the upper end of the body of each of the three support columns 21 contacts the support frame 4A) and having a shape of a cylinder (JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows that each of the three support columns 21 comprises the body having a shape of a cylinder)
JP’508 does not disclose:
the body of each of the plurality of bosses having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end.
Lee teaches (Lee Fig.1):
the body of each of the plurality of bosses (body of each of the plurality of bosses 12, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end (lower end, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) to the upper end (upper end, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) (Lee annotated Fig.1 below shows the body of each of the plurality of bosses 12 having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP’508, by making the body of each of the plurality of bosses having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end, as taught by Lee, in order to improve load distribution and structural strength because the tapered configuration acts similarly to a structural cone, distributing bending loads more efficiently and reducing stress concentrations at the junction between the support column and the base member, where bending stresses are greatest. This reduces the likelihood of deformation, cracking, or breakage of the support column under loading. Additionally, the tapered configuration provides increased rigidity at the column root while reducing material usage and weight compared to a uniformly thick column.
Regarding claim 36, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 35, JP’508 also discloses further comprising:
an upper plate (upper plate includes the top plate frame 6 and the top plate 3, JP’508 Fig.2) disposed over the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 2 discloses: “The top plate 3 made of heat-resistant glass is in a state in which the peripheral portion is supported by a top plate frame 6 attached to the side wall 2B with screws so as to cover the upper surface opening of the main body 2.”; therefore, the upper plate includes the top plate frame 6 and the top plate 3 disposed over the main body 2) and having an upper surface (upper surface of the top plate 3, JP’508 Fig.2) on which an object (“cooking container”, JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph) to be heated is disposed (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph discloses: “On the top plate 3 corresponding to the induction heating coil 4 and the radiant heater 5, circular cooking container placement portions 8 and 9 are displayed by printing or the like in order to clearly indicate the place where the cooking container such as a pan is placed.”; therefore, JP’508 discloses the cooking container disposed on the upper surface of the top plate 3), wherein the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) is disposed under the upper plate (upper plate includes the top plate frame 6 and the top plate 3, JP’508 Fig.2) (the induction heating coil 4 is disposed under the top plate 3 because JP’508 Figs.2-3 shows the induction heating coil 4 is inside of the main body 2; additionally, JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 2 discloses the top plate 3 is disposed over the main body 2, as explained above; therefore, JP’508 discloses the induction heating coil 4 is disposed under the top plate 3) and heats the object (“cooking container”, JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph) (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – last paragraph discloses: “On the top plate 3 corresponding to the induction heating coil 4 and the radiant heater 5, circular cooking container placement portions 8 and 9 are displayed by printing or the like in order to clearly indicate the place where the cooking container such as a pan is placed. Has been. In the embodiment, the induction heating coil 4 has a heating value of 200 volts and 1.5 Kw, and the radiant heater 5 has a heating value of 200 volts and 1.2 Kw, but is not limited thereto.”; therefore, the induction heating coil 4 configured to heat the cooking container).
Regarding claim 37, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 35, JP’508 also discloses
wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 in the rejection of claim 35 above) is closer to a front surface (front surface, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) than to a rear surface (rear surface, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) (It is noted that the boss portion having three support columns 21 configured to support the support frame 4A, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 35 above; therefore, the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, as shown in JP’508 Fig.5. Thus, since the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below shows that the boss portion is closer to the front surface of the main body 2 than to the rear surface of the main body 2).
Regarding claim 38, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 35, and JP’508 also discloses wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) comprises:
a bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that forms a bottom surface of the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) (JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows the boss bottom plate forms a bottom surface of the boss portion);
a side plate (boss side plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that extends upwardly from an edge (edge of the boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) of the bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below);
the plurality of bosses (three support columns 21, JP’508 Fig.5) that is disposed on an upper surface of the bottom plate (upper surface of the boss bottom plate, see the annotated boss bottom plate in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) and supports the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Fig.3) (t is noted that JP’508 discloses the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, as cited and explained in details in the rejection of claim 35 above.).
Regarding claim 39, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 38, and JP’508 also discloses:
wherein the body (body of each support column 21, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) (It is noted that JP’508 Fig.5 shows three support columns 21 and they are identical; therefore, only one support column 21 is annotated for illustration purposes) that protrudes upwardly from the bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below); and
wherein each of the plurality of bosses (each support column 21, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) further comprises a rib (ribs, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) (It is noted that JP’508 Fig.5 shows three support columns 21 and they are identical; therefore, only one support column 21 is annotated for illustration purposes) formed along an outer circumferential surface of the body (body of each support column 21, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) (It is noted that JP’508 Fig.5 shows three support columns 21 and they are identical; therefore, only one support column 21 is annotated for illustration purposes).
Regarding claim 40, JP’508 discloses an electric range (induction heating cooker 1, JP’508 Figs.2-3), comprising:
a case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) that defines an external appearance of the electric range (induction heating cooker 1, JP’508 Fig.3) (JP’508 Fig.3 shows that the main body 2 defines the external appearance of the induction heating cooker 1);
a heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) including a working coil (the heater 4 is induction heating coil 4, thus, it includes a working coil);
an upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) that is disposed under the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) to support the heater (induction heating coil 4, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.3-8 shows the support frame 4A disposed under the induction heating coil 4 to support the heating coil 4, this is also indicated by JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A”. Therefore, JP’508 discloses the support frame 4A disposed under the induction heating coil 4 to support the heating coil 4); and
a support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) disposed under the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.4-6, 8 show that the base member 20 disposed under the support frame 4A), wherein the support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) comprising a mount (mount includes the annotated frame and the annotated plurality of supports as shown in JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below because the definition of mount is “frame, support” – according to Merriam-Webster dictionary [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mount, accessed on 05/28/2026]; in this case, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows that the circuit board 25 is mounted on by the annotated frame and annotated plurality of supports) on which a printed circuit board (circuit board 25, JP’508 Figs.5, 7-8) (it is noted that the circuit board 25 is printed circuit board because JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 4 – paragraph 8 discloses: “The circuit board 25 has a configuration in which various electronic components (not shown) constituting the energization control circuit 26 of the induction heating coil 4 and the radiant heater 5are attached and these wirings (not shown) are printed.”) is mounted (JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – paragraph 6 discloses: “the support 24 of the circuit board 25”) and a boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below) that supports the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (JP’508 Figs.6 & 8 show that the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, this is also indicated by JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 3 – second paragraph from the bottom of the page 3 discloses: “The induction heating coil 4 is attached to the upper surface of a synthetic resin support frame 4A, and is supported by a plurality of support columns 21 standing from a synthetic resin base member 20attached to the bottom wall 2A of the main body 2.”; therefore, JP’508 discloses boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A), wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below) is closer to a front surface (front surface, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) than to a rear surface (rear surface, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) (It is noted that the boss portion having three support columns 21 configured to support the support frame 4A, as cited and explained above; therefore, the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, as shown in JP’508 Fig.5. Thus, since the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below shows that the boss portion is closer to the front surface of the main body 2 than to the rear surface of the main body 2),
wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 below) comprises a first boss (first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) configured to support the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (It is noted that JP’508 discloses the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, as explained in details above. Therefore, the first support column 21-1 supports the support frame 4A), and wherein the first boss (first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) comprises a body (body of the first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) comprising a lower end (lower end, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that contacts the support (base member 20, JP’508 Figs.3-9) and an upper end (upper end, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that contacts the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) (It is noted that JP’508 discloses the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, as explained in details above & as shown in JP’508 Figs.6, 8. Therefore, the upper end of the body of the first support column 21-1 contacts the support frame 4A) and having a shape of a cylinder (JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows that the first support column 21-1 comprises the body having a shape of a cylinder), and a rib (ribs, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) radially formed along an outer circumferential surface of the body (body of the first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) (JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows the ribs radially formed along outer circumferential surface of the body of the first support column 21-1).
JP’508 does not disclose:
the body of the first boss having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end
Lee teaches (Lee Fig.1):
the body of the first boss (body of the first boss 12-1, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end (lower end, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) to the upper end (upper end, Lee annotated Fig.1 below) (Lee annotated Fig.1 below shows the body of the first boss 12-1 having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP’508, by making the body of the first boss having a shape of a cylinder tapered from the lower end to the upper end, as taught by Lee, in order to improve load distribution and structural strength because the tapered configuration acts similarly to a structural cone, distributing bending loads more efficiently and reducing stress concentrations at the junction between the support column and the base member, where bending stresses are greatest. This reduces the likelihood of deformation, cracking, or breakage of the support column under loading. Additionally, the tapered configuration provides increased rigidity at the column root while reducing material usage and weight compared to a uniformly thick column.
Claims 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 池淵 賢二 (JP 5456508 B2, hereinafter JP’508, previously cited) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0382336 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Dehnert et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0374411 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 28, JP’508 in view of Lee teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 21, and JP’508 also disclose wherein:
the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) supports the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Fig.5) at a first portion (first portion is interpreted to be the portion that is under the upper surface of the support frame 4A, thus, the first portion is the portion that is supported by three support columns 21, JP’508 annotated Figs.4-6 below) (It is noted that the JP’508 Figs.4-6 below only show the first portion is at one or two locations under the upper surface of the support frame 4A, however, it is noted that the first portion is at three locations that are located below the upper surface of the support frame 4A, each location is supported by each of the three support columns 21) of the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Fig.5),
JP’508 does not explicitly disclose:
the case supports the upper bracket at a second portion of the upper bracket different from the first portion.
Dehnert teaches an induction cooking device (Dehnert Fig.1) comprising:
the case (housing 10 includes a front wall 12, a rear wall 14, two side walls 16 and a bottom panel 18; Dehnert Fig.1 & Par.0026) supports the upper bracket (supporting structure 24 having fixing elements 22, Dehnert Fig.1) (Dehnert Par.0030 teaches: “The fixing elements 22 are detachably or permanently connected to the supporting structure 24 of the corresponding induction coil 20.”; therefore, Dehnert teaches the fixing elements 22 can be permanently connected to the supporting structure 24 of the corresponding induction coil 20; thus, the fixing elements 22 are part of the supporting structure 24) at a second portion (second portion, Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below) of the upper bracket (supporting structure 24 having fixing elements 22, Dehnert Fig.1) different from the first portion (It is noted that the primary reference JP’508 already discloses the first portion is located at the bottom of the supporting structure of the induction heating coil and is located inside of the outer circumference of the center circle defined by the supporting structure, as shown in JP’508 annotated Figs.4-6 above, and as also cited and explained above. In this case, the secondary reference Dehnert teaches the second portion is located on extended fixing elements that are outside of the outer circumference of the center circle defined by the supporting structure, as shown in Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below. Therefore, in combination, JP’508 in view of Dehnert teaches the second portion is different from the first portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP’508 in view of Lee, by adding the fixing elements connected to the supporting structure of the corresponding induction coil, as taught by Dehnert, in order to fasten the induction coil to the side wall of the housing of the induction cooking device, as recognized by Dehnert [Dehnert, Par.0029]. The modification would help to keep the induction coil in its correct, designated position in order to ensure safety, stable operation, and proper heat transfer.
Regarding claim 29, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 28, and JP’508 also discloses wherein the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) comprises:
a first casing (first casing includes the bottom wall 2A, JP’508 Figs.3-4) that forms a bottom surface of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) (JP’508 Fig.3 shows that the bottom wall 2A forms a bottom surface of the main body 2);
a second casing (second casing includes side walls 2B, JP’508 Figs.3-4) that extends upwardly from an edge (edges of bottom wall 2A, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the first casing (first casing includes the bottom wall 2A, JP’508 Figs.3-4) and forms lateral surfaces of the case (main body 2, JP’508 Fig.3) (JP’508 Fig.3 shows side walls 2B extends upwardly from edges of the bottom wall 2A and forms lateral surfaces of the main body 2, additionally, JP’508 Translated Document [see attachment] on page 2 – second paragraph from the bottom the page 2 discloses: “The side wall 2B attached to the bottom wall 2A so as to surround the bottom wall 2A and the surrounding four sides forms a substantially rectangular case with an upper surface opening.”)
JP’508 does not explicitly disclose:
a third casing that is from some of edges of the second casing and supports the upper bracket.
Dehnert teaches an induction cooking device (Dehnert Fig.1) comprising:
a third casing (third casing, Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below) that is from some of edges (edge of the side wall 16 and edge of the rear wall 14, Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below) of the second casing (second casing includes two side walls 16, front wall 12 and rear wall 14, Dehnert Fig.1) and supports the upper bracket (supporting structure 24 having fixing elements 22, Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below) (Dehnert Par.0030 teaches: “The fixing elements 22 are detachably or permanently connected to the supporting structure 24 of the corresponding induction coil 20.”; therefore, Dehnert teaches the fixing elements 22 can be permanently connected to the supporting structure 24 of the corresponding induction coil 20; thus, the fixing elements 22 are part of the supporting structure 24; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 28 above. In this case, it is noted that this claim 29 (line 5) requires “a third casing that is from some of edges of the second casing”, therefore, the third casing is part of the second casing. Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below shows that the annotated third casing is part of the side wall 16; since the side wall 16 supports the annotated supporting structure 24 having fixing elements 22, therefore, the annotated third casing that is part of the side wall 16 also supports the annotated supporting structure 24 having fixing elements 22, see Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the JP’508 upper edges of the JP’508 second casing (see the JP’508 upper edges of four side walls 2B in JP’508 Figs.3-4) with the Dehnert upper edges of the Dehnert walls 16, 12 and 14 (see the Dehnert upper edges of the Dehnert walls 16, 12 and 14 in Dehnert Fig.1), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of forming side walls for the outer case of the electric range configured to support the top plate of the electric range where the object(s) to be heated is/are placed on to. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Regarding claim 30, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 29, and JP’508 also discloses
wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) is closer to a second-second casing (second-second casing is the front wall 2B, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) forming a front surface (as shown in JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the second casing (second casing includes side walls 2B, JP’508 Figs.3-4) than to a second-fourth (second-fourth casing is the rear wall 2B, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below)casing forming a rear surface (as shown in JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below) of the second casing (second casing includes side walls 2B, JP’508 Figs.3-4) (It is noted that the boss portion having three support columns 21 configured to support the support frame 4A, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 21 above; therefore, the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, as shown in JP’508 Fig.5. Thus, since the boss portion is right below the support frame 4A, JP’508 annotated Fig.3 below shows that the boss portion is closer to the front surface of the second casing than to the rear surface of the second casing).
Regarding claim 31, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 29, and also teaches
wherein the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Figs.3-8) is supported by the third casing (see the annotated third casing in the Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below; it is noted that the upper bracket is supported by the third casing is already explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 29 above) and the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Figs.5 & 9 in the rejection of claim 21 above; it is noted that JP’508 discloses the support frame 4A is supported by the boss portion having three support columns 21, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 21 above), and wherein the third casing (see the annotated third casing in the Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below, as already cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 29 above) supports a remaining portion (remaining portion, Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below) except for a front of the upper bracket (front of the upper bracket, Dehnert annotated Fig.1 below; it is noted that the upper bracket is the supporting structure 24 having fixing elements 22 in Dehnert Fig.1).
Regarding claim 32, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 31, and JP’508 also discloses wherein the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) comprises:
a bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that forms a bottom surface of the boss portion (boss portion having three support columns 21, see the annotated boss portion in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) (JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below shows the boss bottom plate forms a bottom surface of the boss portion);
a side plate (boss side plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) that extends upwardly from an edge (edge of the boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) of the bottom plate (boss bottom plate, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below);
the first boss (first support column 21-1, JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) which is disposed on an upper surface of the bottom plate (upper surface of the boss bottom plate, see the annotated boss bottom plate in the JP’508 annotated Fig.5 below) and supports the upper bracket (support frame 4A, JP’508 Fig.5) (It is noted that JP’508 discloses the boss portion having three support columns 21 that supports the support frame 4A, as cited and explained in details in the rejection of claim 21 above. Therefore, the first support column 21-1 supports the support frame 4A).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 池淵 賢二 (JP 5456508 B2, hereinafter JP’508, previously cited) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0382336 A1, newly cited), Dehnert et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0374411 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Matsui et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0152933 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 33, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 29, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert does not explicitly teach
wherein the case further comprises a bent portion formed along an edge of the first casing and having an upwardly convex shape.
Matsui teaches having induction cooking appliance (1, Matsui Fig.1) comprising a case (main case 22, Matsui Fig.1):
wherein the case (main case 22, Matsui Fig.1) further comprises a bent portion (bent portion, Matsui annotated Fig.1 below) formed along an edge of the first casing (edge of the first casing, Matsui annotated Fig.1 below; it is noted that the first casing is the bottom wall of the main case) and having an upwardly convex shape (Matsui annotated Fig.1 below shows the bent portion has upwardly convex shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the JP’508 edge of the JP’508 first casing (see the JP’508 edge of the bottom wall 2A in JP’508 Fig.3) with the Matsui edge of the bottom wall of the main case 22 (see the Matsui edge of the bottom wall in Matsui annotated Fig.1 above), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of forming bottom wall for the outer case of the electric range configured to hold and support heater(s) and electric components of the electric range. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 池淵 賢二 (JP 5456508 B2, hereinafter JP’508, previously cited) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0382336 A1, newly cited), Dehnert et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0374411 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Inukai et al. (WO 2019065251 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 34, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 29, JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert does not explicitly teach further comprising:
an operation unit including a plurality of input keys disposed between the upper bracket and the second casing.
Inukai teaches an induction heating cooker (as shown in Inukai Fig.1a-b) comprising:
an operation unit (operating unit 3a, Inukai Figs.1a & 6a) including a plurality of input keys (plurality of switch component 331a, Inukai Fig.6a) disposed between the upper bracket (wire fixing portion 12 having portions 129, Inukai Figs.3a & 7) and the second casing (side wall 202 of the second casing including side walls 202, 203, 204, 205; Inukai Fig.7) (Inukai Figs.7 & 9 show that the operating unit 3a having plurality of switch component 331a disposed between the wire fixing portion 12 having portions 129 and the side wall 202 of the second casing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP’508 in view of Lee and Dehnert, by making the JP’508 front side wall 2B (see the JP’508 annotated front wall 2B in JP’508 annotated Fig.3 in the rejection of claim 30 above) to extend toward the front in a way that the operation unit is in between the support frame of the heating coil and the front wall of the main case, as taught by Inukai, in order to improve ventilation and cooling for the electronic components of the operation unit because the main case of the induction cooking heater is designed with specific air vents and pathways to ensure proper airflow for cooling the internal electronics; therefore, placing the operation unit inside the main case ensures it benefits from designed cooling system, preventing overheating that could damage electronic components; thus, ensuring the induction cooking heater operates reliably.
Conclusion
The prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Hosoi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,777,163 B2) discloses an induction heating cooking apparatus including a top plate on which a cooking pot is placed, a coil, an inverter board, a supporting bed, a board holder and elastic bodies. The coil induction-heats the cooking pot. The inverter board is mounted with components for driving the heating coil. The supporting bed is disposed above the inverter board and supports the heating coil. The supporting bed is provided with a push-up boss, and is pushed upward to the top plate via the push-up boss. The board holder is provided with three or more number of support bosses, and holds the inverter board. Each of the elastic bodies intervenes between the supporting bed and one of the support bosses.
Arnal Valero et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,009,962 B2) discloses a domestic appliance device with at least one electronics carrier unit, at least one metallic carrier unit, and at least one plug connection unit.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 05/28/2026