DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8-9 are original. Claims 3, 10-12, 19, and 22-23 are cancelled. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 7 is as previously presented. Claims 13-18 and 20-21 are withdrawn. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-9, 13-18, and 20-21 are currently pending and claims 1-2 and 4-9 are considered below.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on 09/25/2025 has been entered. Applicant's amendment overcomes the existing claim objection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitation "of the a plurality of differing fire threat detector types'' in line 30 of claim 1. However, it is suggested to amend to -of the plurality of differing fire threat detector types-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a contained environment within a structure” in lines 1-2 of claim 6, but claim 1 recites the limitation “a contained environment within a structure” in lines 1-2 of claim 1. It is unclear if there are separate “contained environments within a structure” or if these are the same “contained environment within a structure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meier (US 8,925,642) in view of Colling (US 11,992,715), and Diaz (US 2021/0370111).
Regarding claim 1, Meier discloses, a system (Fig. {3, 6-7}, all structural elements) for selectively suppressing a detected fire threat (Col. 9: Ln. 31-40) in a contained environment (Fig. 6-7, 504 & 602) within a structure (Fig. 6, 600), the system comprising:
a detector (Fig. 3, 316), the detector configured to detect a fire threat condition (Col. 9: Ln. 31-40) in a fire threat location (Fig. 6-7, 504 & 602) within the structure;
a plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Col. 10: Ln. 45-54 – “device for detecting fire”), said plurality of fire threat detector types configured to detect differing fire threat conditions, said differing fire threat conditions comprising smoke (Col. 10: Ln. 45-54 – “smoke sensor”; A smoke sensor detects smoke.), heat (Col. 10: Ln. 45-54 – “heat sensor”; A heat detector detects heat.), and flame (Col. 10: Ln. 45-54 – “infrared sensor”; An infrared detector detects a flame.), said plurality of fire threat detector types comprising a smoke detector (Col. 10: Ln. 45-54 – “smoke sensor”), a flame detector (Col. 10: Ln. 45-54 – “infrared sensor”), and a heat detector (Col. 10: Ln. 45-54 – “heat sensor”);
a processor (Col. 9: Ln. 20-22 – “centralized aircraft processor”), said processor in communication with the detector (Fig. 3 shows the fire detector connected to the controller which includes the processor.), said processor further in communication with the plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Fig. 3 shows the fire detector which comprises said plurality of fire threat detector types connected to the controller which includes the processor.);
at least one controller (Fig. 3, 314), said controller configured to receive a signal from the processor and said controller further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the detector, said controller further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Fig. 3; Col. 9: Ln. 20-30; The at least one controller, processor and detector communicate via signals.);
a plurality of fire suppressant types (Fig. 3 & 7, 318; Col.8 : Ln. 62 to Col. 9: Ln. 8), said plurality of fire suppressant types comprising a gaseous fire suppressant material (Col.8 : Ln. 62 to Col. 9: Ln. 8 – “Halon 1301”), and a liquid fire suppressant material (Col.8 : Ln. 62 to Col. 9: Ln. 8 – “water”), each of said plurality of fire suppressant types configured to be housed in a plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies (Fig. 3, {310, 312, 320}), each of said plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies in communication with the at least one controller (Fig. 3);
a plurality of dispensers (Fig. 7, {304 inside of 504 & 304 inside of 602}), at least one of said plurality of dispensers in communication said plurality of separate and different fire suppressant type supplies (Fig. 3 & 7);
wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release one of said plurality of fire suppressant types delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers (Col. 6: Ln. 32-38; Col. 9: Ln. 62 to Col. 10: Ln. 9)
Meier does not disclose a plurality of detectors, each of said plurality of detectora temperature change detector; a plurality of fire suppressant types, said plurality of fire suppressant types comprising a solid fire suppressant material; wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release one of said plurality of fire suppressant types delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to the selected fire threat condition detected by at least one of the plurality of differing fire threat detector types in the fire threat location within the structure;
wherein each of said plurality of fire threat detector types is configured to detect a subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location located within the structure; and
wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release at least one of the plurality of fire suppressant types delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to at least one of the first fire threat condition and further in response to the subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location.
However, Colling teaches a prior art comparable fire extinguishing system (Fig. 4 & 7, all structural elements) for selectively suppressing a detected fire threat (Col. 11: Ln. 28-31) in a contained environment within a structure (Fig. 4, 1), the system comprising:
a plurality of detectors (Fig. 4, 80), each of said plurality of detectors configured to detect a fire threat condition (Col. 11: Ln. 20-27) in a fire threat location (Col. 11: Ln. 12-14; Fig. 4, {80, 90-92, 110}) within the structure;
a plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Col. 11: ln. 14-20), said plurality of fire threat detector types configured to detect differing fire threat conditions, said differing fire threat conditions comprising smoke (Col. 11: ln. 14-20 – “presence of smoke”) , heat (Col. 11: ln. 14-20 – “temperature”), and flame (Col. 11: ln. 14-20 – “pictures of fire”), said plurality of fire threat detector types comprising a smoke detector (Col. 11: ln. 14-20 –“ smoke detector”), a flame detector (Col. 11: ln. 14-20 – “camera”), and a temperature change detector (Col. 11: ln. 14-20 –“ temperature detector”);
a processor (Fig. 7, 210; Col. 13: Ln. 39-45), said processor in communication with the plurality of detectors (Col. 11: Ln. 16-24), said processor further in communication with the plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Col. 11: Ln. 14-24; The least one controller (Fig. 4, 200 & 300) is in communication with the plurality of detectors and the processor is part of the at least on controller and thus in communication with the processor.);
at least one controller (Fig. 4, 200 & 300), said controller configured to receive a signal from the processor (Col. 13: Ln. 39-45; The processor is part of the least one controller is in and thus communicates with the controller via signals.) and said controller further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the plurality of detectors (Col. 11: Ln. 14-20), said controller further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Col. 11: Ln. 14-20);
a plurality of fire suppressant types (Col. 6: Ln. 39-41), said plurality of fire suppressant types comprising a solid fire suppressant material (Col. 6: Ln. 43-44 – “dry powder”), and a liquid fire suppressant material (Col. 6: Ln. 43-44 – “water”), each of said plurality of fire suppressant types configured to be housed in a plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies (Fig. 4, 430-432), each of said plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies in communication with the at least one controller (Col. 7: Ln. 15-22);
a plurality of dispensers (Fig. 4, 71), at least one of said plurality of dispensers in communication said plurality of separate and different fire suppressant type supplies (Fig. 4);
wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release one of said plurality of fire suppressant types delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to the selected fire threat condition detected by at least one of the a (see claim objection) plurality of differing fire threat detector types in the fire threat location within the structure (Col. 7: Ln. 15-21; Col. 7: Ln. 63 to Col. 8: Ln. 12);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique (a plurality of detectors, each of said plurality of detectors configured to detect a fire threat condition in a fire threat location within the structure; said plurality of fire threat detector types comprising a temperature change detector; a plurality of fire suppressant types comprising a solid fire suppressant material and a liquid fire suppressant material wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release one of said plurality of fire suppressant types delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to the selected fire threat condition detected by at least one of the plurality of differing fire threat detector types in the fire threat location within the structure.) as taught by Colling, into the system disclosed by Meier to most efficiently suppress the fire (Col. 2: Ln. 34-42) and yielding the predictable result of suppressing a fire with a reasonable expectation of success.
Meier in view of Colling does not teach wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release at least one of the plurality of fire suppressant types delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to at least one of the first fire threat condition and further in response to the subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location.
However, Diaz teaches a prior art comparable system (Fig. 1, 100) for selectively suppressing (Para. 0038 – “selectively activate”) a detected fire threat in a contained environment (Fig. 1, 192) within a structure (Fig. 1, 190), the system comprising:
a plurality of detectors (Fig. 1, 110; Para. 0023 –“ thermal monitoring sub-system 110 comprises multiple thermocouples”; Fig. 4, 198), each of said plurality of detectors configured to detect a fire threat condition (Para. 0034 – “Fire Event”; Thermocouples detect temperature and smoke detectors detect smoke which are each fire thread conditions.) in a fire threat location (Fig. 2A, 194c) within the structure (Para. 0034 – “FIG. 2A illustrates an example in which fire suppression controller 130 has identified a fire event in cargo zone 194c, e.g., based on the temperature input from thermal monitoring sub-system 110.”);
a plurality of differing fire threat detector types, said plurality of fire threat detector types configured to detect differing fire threat conditions, said differing fire threat conditions comprising smoke and heat, said plurality of fire threat detector types comprising a smoke detector (Fig. 4, 198), and a temperature change detector (Para. 0023 –“Thermocouple”; Para. 0047);
a processor (Para. 0023 – “thermal monitoring sub-system 110 has multiple and redundant sensors and multiple controller channels to prevent false alarms”; The thermal monitoring sub system must have a processor to manage multiple controller channels.), said processor in communication with the plurality of detectors (The thermal monitoring system must be in communication with the multiple thermocouples to monitor the temperatures.), said processor further in communication with the plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Para. 0024 – “In some examples, the results of the temperature monitoring (provided by thermal monitoring sub-system 110) are combined with other inputs, such as smoke detection, gas analysis, and the like.”);
at least one controller (Fig. 2A, 130), said controller configured to receive a signal from the processor (Para. 0026 – “fire suppression controller 130 is configured to receive the temperature”) and said controller further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the plurality of detectors (Para. 0032 – “fire suppression controller 130 receives input from … one or more other sensors (e.g., smoke detectors, suppressant amount sensor)”), said controller further configured to receive a signal from at least one of the plurality of differing fire threat detector types (Para. 0032) ;
a plurality of fire suppressant types, said plurality of fire suppressant types comprising a gaseous fire suppressant material (Para. 0028 – “Some examples of fire suppressant material driver 142 include but are not limited to a pressurized gas (e.g., nitrogen … In some examples, fire suppressant material driver 142 and fire suppressant material storage 143 is the same components, e.g., a pressurized agent”), and a solid fire suppressant material (Para. 0027 – “foam”), each of said plurality of fire suppressant types configured to be housed in a plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies (Fig. 2A, 142 & 143), each of said plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies in communication with the at least one controller (Para. 0028 – “fire suppression controller 130 is configured to control and selectively activate fire suppressant material driver 142” ;Para. 0029 – “Fire suppressant material storage 143 is equipped with a sensor for monitoring the remaining amount of the fire suppressant material in fire suppressant material storage 143. The output of this sensor is provided to fire suppression controller 130”);
a plurality of dispensers (Fig. 2A, 122; 122 includes 128.), at least one of said plurality of dispensers in communication said plurality of separate and different fire suppressant type supplies (Fig. 2A shows communication of the at least one of said plurality of dispensers in communication said plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies.; Para. 0030 – “fire suppression controller 130 is configured to control and selectively activate fire suppressant material driver 142”);
wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release one of said plurality of fire suppressant types (Para. 0031 – “In some examples, one or more distributors 128 are configured to generate mist in at least a corresponding one of multiple cargo zones 194.”; Mist is derived from water.) delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to the selected fire threat condition detected at in the fire threat location within the structure (Fig. 6, {610, 620, 630 & 640};Fig. 2A; Para. 0034);
wherein each of said plurality of detector types is configured to detect a subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location located within the structure (Fig. 6 step 620 analyzes the temperature from step 610 and receives input from the smoke sensors from step 612 regarding each of the possible fire thread locations (cargo zones) and then determines if a fire threat condition exists. If a first fire threat exists it proceeds to step 640, and then continues back to step 610, 620, 612, and 630 to determine if a subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location located within the structure); and
wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release at least one of the plurality of fire suppressant types (Para. 0031 – “In some examples, one or more distributors 128 are configured to generate mist in at least a corresponding one of multiple cargo zones 194.”; Mist is derived from water.) delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to at least one of the first fire threat condition (Fig. 6 shows 610, 620, 630, and 640 shows the process of activating the system in response to a fire threat condition by activating the fluid distribution components 122 which are connected to the distributers in Fig. 2A) and further in response to the subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location (If a first fire threat exists it proceeds to step 640, and then continues back to step 610, 620, 612, and 630 to determine if the system needs to be activated in response to the subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique (wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is configured to release at least one of the plurality of fire suppressant types delivered to the at least one of the plurality of dispensers in response to at least one of the first fire threat condition and further in response to the subsequent fire threat condition in the fire threat location) as taught by Diaz, into the system taught by Meier in view of Colling to respond to subsequent fire threats and yielding the predictable result of suppressing a fire and a subsequent fire with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Meier in view of Colling and Diaz teaches the system of Claim 1.
Meier further discloses wherein at least one of said plurality of dispensers is in communication with more than one of the plurality of fire suppressant type supplies (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Meier in view of Colling and Diaz teaches the system of Claim 1.
Meier further discloses wherein the contained environment comprises a storage compartment (Fig. 6-7, 504 & 602; Col. 6: Ln. 34-38).
Regarding claim 5, Meier in view of Colling and Diaz teaches the system of Claim 1.
Meier further discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of separate fire suppressant type supplies is located remotely from the fire threat location (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Meier in view of Colling and Diaz teaches the system of Claim 1.
Meier further discloses wherein the fire threat location is located within a contained environment (Fig. 6, 504 & 602) within the structure (Fig. 6, 600).
Regarding claim 7, Meier in view of Colling and Diaz teaches the system of Claim 1.
Colling further teaches wherein a detected fire threat condition comprises a detected multi-type fire threat (Col. 11: ln. 14-20; Temperature, presence of smoke, smoke particles, gas, and pictures of fire is a multi-type fire threat.).
Regarding claim 8. Meier in view of Colling and Diaz teaches the system of Claim 1.
Meir further discloses said vehicle is a crewed aircraft (Col. 12: Ln. 38-40).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meier in view of Colling, Diaz, and Wheeler (US 2,964,114).
Regarding claim 9, Meier in view of Colling, and Diaz teaches the system of Claim 1 but does not teach wherein a building comprising the system of Claim 1.
However, Wheeler teaches a building (Ti. – “airplane hangar”) comprising a structure (Col. 1: Ln. 30 – “airplane”; Fig. 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the system (Fig. {3, 6-7}, all structural elements) enclosed within the structure (Fig. 6, 600) taught by Meier in view of Colling and Diaz into the building taught by Wheeler to protect the structure from the elements (Col. 1: Ln. 31-33) and yielding the predictable result of a building comprising the system of claim 1, with a reasonable expectation of success of placing the structure inside the building.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, and 4-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW DOMENIC ONDREJCAK/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 February 12, 2026
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752