DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 14-18, 22, 23, 26, and 27 are pending. New claims 28-31 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 have been fully considered and they are partially persuasive. Applicant argues that the Examiner has not established a prima facie case of obviousness as the cited art, alone or in any combination fails to teach or suggest any of the following aspects of the currently claimed invention: (1) a TBS formed from a nonwoven fabric having a basis weight from 4 to 8 gsm and a microporous film as recited in independent claims 1 and 18; and (2) a TBS in which the films consists of a microporous film as recited in dependent claim 28 (and further claims 29-31). However, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Claim 1 has been amended to recite “wherein the nonwoven fabric has a basis weight from 4 to 8 grams-per-square-meter (gsm); and (ii) a “film comprising a microporous film”. The argument that the currently claimed invention has “the film consists of a microporous film” does not apply to claim 1. LaVon teaches a thin moisture vapor permeable film used in conjunction with a microporous film to form a laminate film structure (col. 10, line 60 through col. 11, line 8). Thus, LaVon does teach a microporous film. The ‘comprising’ language used in the independent claims is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional unrecited elements, compositional components, or steps. The rejection of claims 1-12, 14-18, 22-23, and 26-27 stands.
Applicant further argues that LaVon expressly teaches away from the currently claimed invention as recited in new dependent claims 28-31. This portion of Applicant’s arguments is persuasive as new claim 28, recites “the film consists of the microporous film”. A new reference for newly submitted claims 28-31 follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 14-18, 22, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaVon et al. USPN 5938648.
As to claim 1, LaVon teaches a textile backsheet (TBS) 10 (LaVon Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
(i) a nonwoven fabric 14 (col. 5, lines 28-31; lines 50-56); and
(ii) a microporous film 12 (col. 10, line 60 through col. 11, line 8) that is vapor-permeable and liquid impermeable (col. 9, lines 65-67), wherein the nonwoven fabric is bonded to the microporous film via an adhesive layer (col. 7, lines 26-29; col. 11, lines 8-17);
wherein the TBS has:
(a) a basis weight from 10 grams-per-square-meter (gsm) to 20 gsm – where LaVon teaches an example of a nonwoven blend sheet material having a basis weight of 9.9 g/m2 to 28.3 g/m2 (col. 26, lines 21-23), which has values in the claimed range.
LaVon does not teach an abrasion resistance grade (“Grade”) of at least 3.0 as determined by SS-EN ISO 12945-2. However, when the structure or composition recited in the reference is substantially the same as that of the claims of the instant invention, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112-2112.01). A prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except for an abrasion resistance grade of having specific value of 3.0 as determined according to the claimed test method. The examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties that anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has a basis for shifting the burden of proof to the Applicant. In this case, LaVon discloses a backsheet comprising a breathable film of the claimed materials adhered to one or more nonwovens having the claimed basis weight where the composite web has moisture vapor transmission rates with the claimed values. Thus, one skilled in the art has reason to expect an abrasion resistance grade falling within the claimed range.
LaVon teaches the microporous film laminate film structure /substrate composite is a has a moisture vapor transmission rate (MVTR) comprising at least 4000 g/m2/24 hrs (LaVon col. 11, lines 9-16 and 62-67; col. 46, lines 37-42). LaVon does not teach the MVTR measured as determined according to NWSP 070.4.RO. However, the testing method for a material or structural property does not impart a patentable weight. The property is attributed to the material and structure, not the testing method. As such, a reference does not need to recite the specific test method to read on the claim limitation. Additionally, since LaVon teaches the materials and structure of the claimed invention, and obviously includes a backsheet composite that would achieve the claimed results when testing in same manner.
As to claim 2, the nonwoven fabric has a first basis weight from about 4 gsm to about 10 gsm - where LaVon teaches an example of a nonwoven blend sheet material having a basis weight of 9.9 g/m² to 28.3 g/m2 (col. 26, lines 21-23; Table 4), which has values in the claimed range.
As to claim 3, the nonwoven fabric 14 comprises at least one spunbond layer, at least one meltblown layer, at least one carded layer, or any combinations thereof (LaVon col. 5, lines 50-56).
As to claim 4, LaVon teaches the nonwoven fabric 14, 16 comprises one or more spunbond layers - where LaVon teaches substrates 14 and 16 may be polyethylene spunbonded webs (LaVon Figure 2; col. 5, lines 50-56).
As to claim 9, LaVon teaches the microporous film comprises a thickness from 10 to 200 microns - where LaVon teaches laminating the substrates 14, 16 to a very thin film (<25 microns) (col. 6, lines 27-28; col. 7, lines 4-6, Table 4; col. 12, lines 5-14) and <25 microns has values in the claimed range of 10 to 200 microns.
As to claim 10, LaVon refers to the microporous film layer in terms of "a microporous film" (col. 10, lines 60-62), which suggests the film 12 comprises a single-layer film, unless otherwise noted.
As to claim 14, Lavon teaches the present invention substantially as claimed, but does not teach the TBS has a first ratio between a machine direction tensile strength (MDTS) at peak (N / 25 mm) and a basis weight of the TBS (gsm) from 1:1 to 1.5:1. LaVon teaches the backsheet has a tensile strength and a basis weight (LaVon Table 4). One having ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine through routine experimentation the tensile strength to basis weight ratio for desired breathability, conformability, and softness of the backsheet laminate.
As to claim 15, LaVon teaches that preferably a composite sheet material to be used as the backsheet in an absorbent article has an elongation of at least 30%, and more preferably of at least 50% in both machine and cross directions (col. 13, lines 35-44), which has values in the claimed range of from about 40% to about 100%. LaVon does not specifically teach the elongation at peak is determined by the ASTM D5035. However, the testing method for a material or structural property does not impart a patentable weight. The property is attributed to the material and structure, not the testing method. As such, a reference does not need to recite the specific test method to read on the claim limitation. Additionally, since LaVon teaches the materials and structure of the claimed invention, the reference obviously includes a backsheet composite that would achieve the claimed results when testing in same manner.
As to claim 16, LaVon teaches an absorbent article 250, comprising:
(i) a TBS 247 according to claim 1 (Figure 7; col. 34, lines 55 through col. 35, line 2; col. 37, lines 38-42);
(ii) a liquid permeable topsheet 249; and
(iii) an absorbent body 275 located between the TBS 247 and the liquid permeable topsheet 249.
As to claim 17, Lavon teaches the absorbent article 250 comprises a diaper (Fig. 7; col. 37, lines 38-42).
As to claim 18, LaVon teaches a method of forming a textile backsheet (TBS), comprising:
(i) providing or forming a nonwoven fabric 14 (col. 5, lines 28-31; lines 50-56); and
(ii) providing for forming a microporous film 12 (col. 10, line 60 through col. 11, line 8), that is vapor-permeable and liquid impermeable (col. 9, lines 65-67)
(iii) bonding the nonwoven fabric to the film via an adhesive layer to form the TBS;
(col. 7, lines 26-29; col. 11, lines 8-17);
wherein the TBS has:
(a) a basis weight from 10 grams-per-square-meter (gsm) to 20 gsm – where LaVon teaches an example of a nonwoven blend sheet material having a basis weight of 9.9 g/m2 to 28.3 g/m2 (col. 26, lines 21-23), which has values in the claimed range.
LaVon does not teach an abrasion resistance grade (“Grade”) of at least 3.0 as determined by SS-EN ISO 12945-2. However, when the structure or composition recited in the reference is substantially the same as that of the claims of the instant invention, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112-2112.01). A prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except for an abrasion resistance grade of having specific value of 3.0 as determined according to the claimed test method. The examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties that anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has a basis for shifting the burden of proof to the Applicant. In this case, LaVon discloses a backsheet comprising a breathable film of the claimed materials adhered to one or more nonwovens having the claimed basis weight where the composite web has moisture vapor transmission rates with the claimed values. Thus, one skilled in the art has reason to expect an abrasion resistance grade falling within the claimed range.
LaVon teaches the microporous film laminate/nonwoven substrate composite has a moisture vapor transmission rate (MVTR) comprising at least 4000 g/m2/24 hrs (LaVon col. 11, lines 9-16 and 62-67; col. 46, lines 37-42). LaVon does not teach the MVTR measured as determined according to NWSP 070.4.RO. However, the testing method for a material or structural property does not impart a patentable weight. The property is attributed to the material and structure, not the testing method. As such, a reference does not need to recite the specific test method to read on the claim limitation. Additionally, since LaVon teaches the materials and structure of the claimed invention, Lavon obviously includes a backsheet composite that would achieve the claimed results when tested in same manner.
As to claim 22, LaVon teaches the nonwoven fabric 14, 16 comprises one or more spunbond layers comprising bi-component fibers (LaVon col. 6, lines 18-20).
As to claim 23, LaVon does not specifically teach the nonwoven fabric 14, 16 comprises one or more spunbond layers and one or more meltblown layers. However, LaVon does teach the selection of materials for a nonwoven web provide the desired softness and breathability and suitable materials for the nonwoven fabric includes spunbond webs, meltblown webs, carded webs and the like (col. 43, lines 37-39). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to modify the composite with at least one spunbond and at least one meltblown layer since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to claim 26, the microporous film consists of one or more microporous film layers (LaVon col. 10, lines 60-62).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaVon as applied to claim 1 above in view of Collier, IV et al. US Patent Application Publication 2004/0224136.
As to claim 5, LaVon teaches the present invention substantially as claimed. LaVon does not teach the nonwoven fabric comprises a high-loft nonwoven fabric having a density of less than 60 kg/m*, a thickness comprising from 0.3 mm to 3 mm, or both. Collier teaches high loft low density nonwoven webs for use in absorbent articles where the laminate nonwoven fabrics may be given appropriate functionalities such as breathability and fluid barrier properties (Collier paragraph 0007). Collier teaches the nonwoven web including web laminates may particularly be utilized to obtain breathable liquid-barrier layers having a soft cloth-like feel for use in garment outer covers and the like (Collier paragraph 0024). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary sklll in the art before the invention was originally filed to modify the nonwoven of LaVon with the high loft nonwoven of Collier for the benefits taught in Collier.
Collier/LaVon teaches the lofty webs have a density range of from .04 to .0003 g/cc, which meets the claimed density of less than 60 kg/m3. Collier further teaches the nonwoven web has a bulk to about 0.1 inches in the Z axis (Collier paragraph 0011).
As to claim 6, LaVon/Collier teaches the nonwoven fabric comprises a first plurality of multi-component crimped fibers – where Collier teaches crimped bicomponent fibers for the high loft, low density nonwoven webs (paragraphs 0006, 0008-0009, ad 0018-0019).
As to claim 7, LaVon/Collier teach the multi-component crimped fibers comprise continuous fibers (Collier paragraph 0008).
As to claim 8, Lavon/Collier teach the multi-component crimped fibers comprise crimped continuous spunbond fibers (Collier paragraph 0008).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaVon as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Haffner et al. USPN 6045900.
As to claim 12, LaVon teaches the present invention substantially as claimed. LaVon teaches the microporous film comprises a multi-layer film (col. 10, line 60 through col. 11, line 16). LaVon does not teach the microporous film comprising at least a first skin layer and a core layer, wherein the first skin layer has a first thickness and the core layer has a second thickness, and the first thickness is less than the second thickness. Haffner teaches a breathable multilayer film for use as a barrier layer (Haffner col. 2, lines 53-60). Haffner teaches the film comprises multi-layer film 52 having a first skin layer 56a and a core layer 54 comprising a microporous film – where Haffner teaches the composition of the base film 54 corresponds to the breathable base layer 14 and the composition of the layers 56a and 56b can correspond to the layer 16 (Haffner col. 7, lines 29-35; col. 11, lines 27-43). The breathable base layer and the outer layers comprise at least one of a thermoplastic urethane, a polyether-block-amide copolymer, a polyether-block-ester copolymer, polyester- block-amide copolymer, or a copolyester thermoplastic elastomer (Haffner col. 7, line 49 through col. 9, line 4). Haffner further teaches the thickness of the outer layer 56a, 56b is less than the core of the film 54 (Haffner Fig. 2.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the multi-layer film of LaVon with the structure of the multi-layer film of Haffner since both are from the same field of endeavor and solve the same problem of providing barrier materials.
Claims 1 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormack et al. US Patent Application Publication 2005/0043460 in view of Autran et al. US Patent Application Publication 2007/0287348.
As to claim 1, McCormack teaches a microporous product used as a textile backsheet (TBS), comprising:
(i) a nonwoven fabric, wherein the nonwoven fabric has a basis weight from 4 to 8 grans-per-square-meter (gsm). McCormack actually teaches the nonwoven fabrics have a basis weight between 10 g/m2 and 50 g/m2 (para. 0099), which is slightly above the claimed basis weight range of 4 to 8 g/m2. However, McCormack teaches a breathable microporous film for use as an outercover/backsheet in a personal care absorbent article from the same field of endeavor as the present invention, thus, discovering optimum values only involves routine skill in the art, In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
(ii) a film comprising a microporous film that is vapor-permeable and liquid impermeable, wherein the nonwoven fabric 50 is bonded to the microporous film 10 via an adhesive layer 30 (McCormack Fig. 2; para. 0091);
wherein the TBS has
(a) a basis weight from 10 (gsm) to 20 gsm – where McCormack in para. 0098, incorporates by reference Kieffer et al. USPN 4789699, who teaches a laminate elastic web having a basis weight of preferably 10-30 gsm, which has values in the claimed range (Kieffer col. 13, line 67 through col. 14, line 23).
McCormack does not teach an abrasion resistance grade ("Grade") of at least 3.0 as determined by SS-EN ISO 12945-2. However, when the structure or composition recited in the reference is substantially the same as that of the claims of the instant invention, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112- 2112.01). A prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except for an abrasion resistance grade of having specific value of 3.0 as determined according to the claimed test method. The examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties that anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has a basis for shifting the burden of proof to the Applicant. In this case, McCormack discloses a backsheet comprising a breathable film of the claimed materials adhered to one or more nonwovens having the claimed basis weight where the composite web has moisture vapor transmission rates with the claimed values. Thus, one skilled in the art has reason to expect an abrasion resistance grade falling within the claimed range. (b) an abrasion resistance grade ("Grade") of at least 3.0 as determined by SS-EN ISO 12945-2.
McCormack teaches the breathable film has a breathability greater than about 1,000 g/m2/24 hours. However, McCormack does not teach the microporous film has a moisture vapor transmission rate (MVTR) comprising at least 4000 g/m²/24 hr. . Autran teaches an absorbent article having a microporous backsheet (Autran paras. 0069, 0076-0079, 0084), having a MVTR of 1,000 g/m2 per day to about 10,000 g/m2 per day, or about 1,000 g/m2 day to about 6,000 g/m2 day (Autran para. 0084). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the breathable film of McCormack with a MVTR as taught in Autran since both references are from the same field of endeavor and teach a microporous film/nonwoven laminate used as an outer cover or backsheet.
(b) the TBS has a MVTR comprising at least 4000 g/m²/24 hr (Autran para. 0084).
McCormack does not teach the MVTR measured as determined according to NWSP 070.4.RO. However, the testing method for a material or structural property does not impart a patentable weight. The property is attributed to the material and structure, not the testing method. As such, a reference does not need to recite the specific test method to read on the claim limitation. Additionally, since McCormack teaches the materials and structure of the claimed invention, and obviously includes a backsheet composite that would achieve the claimed results when testing in same manner.
As to claim 28, the film consists of the microporous film (Autran para. 0069).
As to claim 29, McCormack teaches the film 10 is a single-layer film (McCormack para. 0091; Autran para. 0069).
As to claim 30, the microporous film consists of a multi-layer film (Autran para. 0069).
As to claim 31, the multi-layer film includes a first skin layer, a second skin layer, and a core layer, wherein the core layer is located between the first skin layer and the second skin layer (Autran para. 0069).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12, 14-18, 22, 23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 17/951,668. Although the claims 1-10, 12, 14-18, 22, 23, and 25 at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present invention contain each and every limitation of claims of the 17/951,668 application as well as additional features. The claims of the instant application are a broader recitation of the claims of the 17/951,668 application in that the ‘668 application does not set forth a specific moisture vapor transmission rate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781