DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks filed on 1/2/2026.
The amendments filed on 1/2/2026 have been entered. Accordingly claims 1-5 and 7-9 remain pending. Claims 6 and 10-14 are cancelled.
The claim rejections under35 USC 112 have been withdrawn in light of the amendments and the applicant’s remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hirakawa JP2010107239A in view of Wysocki et al (US 20120057841), (published on March 8, 2012, provisional filed on September 1, 2010 which the copy is attached to this office action in order to provide compact prosecution) and Shacklette (US20110103740A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hirakawa teaches method for reducing end-reflection of an optical shape-sensing fiber (“shape measuring apparatus includes: the optical fiber sensor 2 wherein a plurality of optical fiber Bragg grating sensor units 3” abst; “shape measuring apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the optical fiber sensor is formed with a plurality of optical fiber Bragg grating sensor portions that reflect different specific light of the same wavelength.” Claim 1 of Hirakawa), the method comprising:
providing a tip portion having a length dimension (“the distal end portion of the three closest to DE FBG sensor section” pg. 7 also see figs. 1, 2 and 12 as well as the associated pars.);
coupling the tip portion to an end portion of an optical fiber configured for optical shape-sensing (“end portion 4B is disposed at the end portion of the optical fiber” pg. 2), the tip portion being indexed matched to the optical fiber (“optical fiber Bragg grating sensor units 3 which reflect light of the same specific wavelength by reflectivities different respectively are formed” abst); and
adjusting the absorption properties of the tip portion using back reflections (“The reflectivity of the FBG sensor unit 3 can be adjusted by the number of gratings, and the reflectivity increases as the number of gratings increases” pg. 3) as feedback to provide the optical fiber to reduce the back reflections (“end portion 4B is disposed at the end portion of the optical fiber sensor 2A to prevent reflection of light and leakage of light to the outside.” Pg. 3).
Hirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above except for coupling the tip portion a polymer to an end portion of an optical fiber by fusing the interface; and provide an absorption length for light traveling in the optical fiber to reduce the back reflections.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches to eliminate back reflections in a small volume requires a material that is highly absorptive. It is necessary to match the effective refractive index of the fiber optic to reduce reflections from the interface where there is a discontinuity in the refractive index. If a material is found that matches the effective index of the fiber it is necessary to ensure that the material does not scatter too much light as some of the scattered light will scatter back into the optical fiber. It is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg. 1).
We have demonstrated that it is possible to terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica-based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica-based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric (pg. 1).
Coating the surface of the colored glass with a strong absorber. The surface of the colored glass can be coated with a strong absorber such as carbon black or black rubber. Loctite 380 with Black Max® [known as polymer] is one non-limiting example. While applying Black Max ® to the end of an optical fiber would have produced back reflections that are too large we find that applying Black Max © to the outer surface of colored glass that is approximately 2 mm long produces low back reflections (page 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with optical fiber to reduce the back reflections as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg 1 of Wysocki).
As can be clearly seen above, the combination teaches all the claimed limitations under BRI including coupling the tip portion a polymer to an end portion of an optical fiber by fusing the interface.
However, if one argues in a narrower interpretation that the combination does not teach (which the office does not concede) coupling the tip portion a polymer to an end portion of an optical fiber by fusing the interface, Shacklette has been introduced in an effort to provide compact prosecution to show the narrow interpretations.
In the same field of endeavor, Shacklette teaches optical fiber switch which may include first and second angled optical fibers having respective first and second end faces. Each of the first and second angled optical fibers may include a core having a core index of refractions. The optical fiber switch may further include a first index matching elastomeric solid layer having a proximal face coupled to the first end face. The first index matching elastomeric solid layer may have an index of refraction matching at least the index of refraction of the core (abst).
The first index matching elastomeric solid layer may comprise an acrylate polymer [0009] also see [0038], [0061]-[0067], [0071]-[0075].
The material of the second mated object is fused silica [0036]. The first index matching elastomeric solid layer 40 also advantageously has an index of refraction n1 matching at least the index of refraction n1 of the cores 35, 36. Bonding the first index matching elastomeric solid layer 40 to the first end face 41, the layer may thereby remain permanently in place while temporary connections are repeatedly made with the second mating end face 34 [0037].
The low-tack distal end face 42 may be repeatably directly mechanically coupled to the second end face. For example, the low-tack distal face of the first index matching elastomeric solid layer may have surface properties defining a wetted interface [0039]. The mating faces to be uniformly filled, thus reducing the loss of light through reflection and scattering at the interface [0043]. The elastomeric nature of the layer 140 allows small discontinuities in the mating faces 131, 132 to be uniformly filled, thereby preventing the loss of light through reflection and scattering at the interface. The mode matched guiding structure thus advantageously provides for reduced loss and back reflection [0046] also see [0057]-[0060].
It would also have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with coupling the tip portion a polymer to an end portion of an optical fiber by fusing the interface as taught by Shacklette because it provides a relatively durable with desired optical coupling properties ([0007] Shacklette).
Regarding claim 3, Hirakawa teaches wherein the tip portion comprises a length dimension that is less than 5 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches to eliminate back reflections in a small volume requires a material that is highly absorptive. It is necessary to match the effective refractive index of the fiber optic to reduce reflections from the interface where there is a discontinuity in the refractive index. If a material is found that matches the effective index of the fiber it is necessary to ensure that the material does not scatter too much light as some of the scattered light will scatter back into the optical fiber. It is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg. 1).
We have demonstrated that it is possible to terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric (pg. 1).
Coating the surface of the coiored glass with a strong absorber. The surface of the colored glass can be coated with a strong absorber such as carbon black or black rubber. Loctite 380 with Black Max® is one non-limiting example. While applying Black Max ® to the end of an optical fiber would have produced back reflections that are too large we find that applying Black Max ® to the outer surface of colored glass that is approximately 2 mm long produces low back reflections. Other surface absorbing materials could be used such as an appropriately thin layer of metal (pg. 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with length dimension that is less than about 5 mm as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg 1 of Wysocki).
Regarding claim 4, Hirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above except for the tip portion comprises a media having light absorbing dopants or particulates and the step of adjusting the absorption properties comprises adjusting a concentration of dopants or particulates.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches to eliminate back reflections in a small volume requires a material that is highly absorptive. It is necessary to match the effective refractive index of the fiber optic to reduce reflections from the interface where there is a discontinuity in the refractive index. If a material is found that matches the effective index of the fiber it is necessary to ensure that the material does not scatter too much light as some of the scattered light will scatter back into the optical fiber. It is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg. 1).
We have demonstrated that it is possible to terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric (pg. 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with optical fiber to reduce the back reflections as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg 1 of Wysocki).
Regarding claim 5, Hirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above except for wherein the light absorbing dopants or particulates comprise one or more of graphite, nanotubes, buckyballs, a metal complex or particles, cations, anions, a modified metal material fabricated by femtosecond etching lasers for surface modification of a metallic substrate and a dye.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches to eliminate back reflections in a small volume requires a material that is highly absorptive. It is necessary to match the effective refractive index of the fiber optic to reduce reflections from the interface where there is a discontinuity in the refractive index. If a material is found that matches the effective index of the fiber it is necessary to ensure that the material does not scatter too much light as some of the scattered light will scatter back into the optical fiber. It is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg. 1).
We have demonstrated that it is possible to terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric. Additional heating the materials will blend together to reduce, and even completely eliminate the reflection from the interface. Boron-silica based plass, is particularly beneficial in this regard because boron has a high rate of diffusion. Another type of colored glass could be a silica based glass with absorbers such as chromium or cobalt added (pg. 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with absorbing dopants as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg 1 of Wysocki).
Regarding claim 7, Hirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above except for wherein the light absorbing dopants or particulates have a minimum reflection extinction coefficient (kmin) for a given length dimension of the tip portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches to eliminate back reflections in a small volume requires a material that is highly absorptive. It is necessary to match the effective refractive index of the fiber optic to reduce reflections from the interface where there is a discontinuity in the refractive index. If a material is found that matches the effective index of the fiber it is necessary to ensure that the material does not scatter too much light as some of the scattered light will scatter back into the optical fiber. It is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber [i.e., region of effective index n1 to region of effective index n2 is: R = ( n 2 - n 1 n 2 + n 1 )] (pg. 1).
We have demonstrated that it is possible to terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric (pg. 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with light absorbing dopants or particulates have a minimum reflection extinction coefficient as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg. 1 of Wysocki).
Regarding claim 8, Hirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above except for wherein the tip portion comprises a material with an index of refraction matched to that of the optical fiber and a minimum reflection extinction coefficient (kmin) for a given length dimension of the tip portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches to eliminate back reflections in a small volume requires a material that is highly absorptive. It is necessary to match the effective refractive index of the fiber optic to reduce reflections from the interface where there is a discontinuity in the refractive index. If a material is found that matches the effective index of the fiber it is necessary to ensure that the material does not scatter too much light as some of the scattered light will scatter back into the optical fiber. It is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber [i.e., region of effective index n1 to region of effective index n2 is: R = ( n 2 - n 1 n 2 + n 1 )] (pg. 1).
We have demonstrated that it is possible to terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric (pg. 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with light absorbing dopants or particulates have a minimum reflection extinction coefficient as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg. 1 of Wysocki).
Regarding claim 9, Hirakawa teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above except for the tip portion with a distal end surface comprising a light dispersive shape or finish.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches to eliminate back reflections in a small volume requires a material that is highly absorptive. It is necessary to match the effective refractive index of the fiber optic to reduce reflections from the interface where there is a discontinuity in the refractive index. If a material is found that matches the effective index of the fiber it is necessary to ensure that the material does not scatter too much light as some of the scattered light will scatter back into the optical fiber. It is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber [i.e., region of effective index n1 to region of effective index n2 is: R = ( n 2 - n 1 n 2 + n 1 )] (pg. 1).
We have demonstrated that it is possible to terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric (pg. 1). 5) Round the end of the colored glass fiber with an intermediate power arc (pg. 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with tip portion with a distal end surface comprising a light dispersive shape or finish as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg. 1 of Wysocki).
Claim 2 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hirakawa in view of Wysocki and Shacklette further in view of Oron (US20070127870A1).
Regarding claim 2, the above noted combination teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above except for the tip portion comprising an absorption length having at least one material on interior and exterior portions of the absorption length that is configured to absorb and scatter light within the length dimension.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wysocki teaches terminate an optical fiber by fusing a dissimilar material onto the fiber in a manner that greatly reduces the back reflection below anything that is previously reported. In a particular embodiment the optical fiber is a silica based glass with germanium doped cores. The terminating material is a colored glass with a boron-silica matrix that is doped with absorbers such as cobalt or chromium, although other dopants could be used. In the example below the silica based fiber would be one type of fiber optic and the boron-silica glass with absorbers would be one type of colored dielectric (pg. 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with absorption length having at least one material on interior and exterior portions of the absorption length that is configured to absorb and scatter light within the length dimension as taught by Wysocki because it is difficult to create a material with high absorption, low scatter, and an index of refraction that matches the effective index of a fiber and that can be attached to the end of an optical fiber (pg 1 of Wysocki).
Although, it is deemed obvious and common knowledge in the art that the skilled artisan could modify the length, the above noted combination does not point out the specifics of wherein the absorption length for light traveling in the optical fiber is less than the length dimension.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Oron teaches in FIG. 2, there is shown an optical hot tip device 2 composed of a fiber with a core 4 and cladding 6 (e.g., a single-mode silica SMF 28 fiber). The light propagates through the core 4 affixed to an optical fiber of similar dimensions that has a scattering core 8 produced by the “Fiber Fuse” method. The scattered light 10 goes through the silica cladding 6 into an absorber 12, which covers the entire external area of cladding. The absorber 12 has a surface area that is about 100 times that of the surface area of the scattering core 8. The larger area of the absorber 12 allows better heat conduction outwardly. The absorber 12 should be a relatively short distance from the fiber in order to more easily conduct or convect the heat. Preferably, the absorber 12 should, at a maximum, be 100 microns away from the scattering core 8. Preferably, the absorber should be between about 50 microns and 70 microns away from the scattering core 8. The absorber 12 may be an optical black paint or epoxy paint, thus allowing for a wide range of wavelengths to be absorbed. In other embodiments, the absorber 12 includes a metal made of tantalum, molybdenum, or a combination thereof. In other embodiments, other metals may be used [0039].
FIG. 5 illustrates the result of the process and method of FIG. 4, showing a highly scattering and absorbing volume 24 (that includes the conductors 16 and the dielectric layer 18) having dimensions of about 1-2 micrometers in length and a diameter of, e.g., 125 micrometers [0043].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with absorption length for light traveling in the optical fiber is less than the length dimension as taught by Oron because it helps to achieve maximal absorption and high temperature operation ([0028] of Oron).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797