DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The status of the 02/02/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1 and 5 have been amended; Claims 10-20 have been withdrawn; Claim 7 has been canceled; and claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 8:
The limitation "The electric range according to claim 7" in line 1 renders the claim indefinite because claim 7 has been canceled.
For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed to read “The electric range according to claim 1".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egea (EP 3628931A1, published on 04/01/2020) in view of Dehnert (US 20140374411)
Regarding Claim 1, Egea discloses an electric range (induction hob 10a; figs. 1-3), comprising:
a case (housing unit 34a; figs. 2-3) that defines an external appearance of the electric range (hob 10a) (para. 0045);
at least one heater (heating unit) that heats an item (para. 0034-0035); and
a support (support unit 22a and support section 28a; fig. 4) disposed under the heater (heating unit) (para. 0056, 0060, and 0035), wherein the support (support unit 22a and support section 28a) comprises a first region (support unit 22a) on which an air blower fan (blower unit 12a) is mounted (para. 0056), and a second region (support section 28a) on which a printed circuit board (electronic unit 30a) is mounted (para. 0060), wherein an upper surface of the first region is located higher than an upper surface of the second region (annotated fig. 4), wherein a lower surface of the first region is separated upward from the case (housing unit 34a) and the second region by a rib (annotated fig. 4) that extends along a periphery of the first region, and wherein an intake space (air duct unit 18a, para. 0055) having a predetermined width (annotated fig. 4) in an upward-downward direction is formed between a bottom surface of the case and the lower surface of the first region.
Egea does not disclose an upper bracket that is disposed under the at least one heater to support the at least one heater.
However, Dehnert discloses an electric range (induction cooking hob 10) comprising:
an upper bracket (supporting structure 24; figs. 1-2) that is disposed under the at least one heater (coil 20) to support the at least one heater (para. 0028) (it is the supporting structure 24 is the “upper” bracket with respect to the position of the printed circuit board 28),
wherein the printed circuit board 28 disposed under the upper bracket (supporting structure 24) (para. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least heater of Egea to include the upper bracket (i.e. supporting structure 24 of Dehnert) that is disposed under the at least one heater as taught by Dehnert, in order to provide supporting means to the at least on heater to ensure that the heater is securely mounted at desired position within the casing.
The modification would result in the structure in which the support (support unit 22a and support section 28a; fig. 4 of Egea) disposed under the upper bracket (supporting structure 24 of Dehnert).
Regarding Claim 2, Egea discloses the electric range (induction hob 10a; fig. 1), further comprising:
an upper plate (support plate 44a; fig. 1) disposed over the case (housing unit 34a) and having an upper surface on which an item (cooking utensil) to be heated is disposed (para. 0033 and 0045), and wherein the at least one heater (heating unit) is disposed under the upper plate (para. 0035).
Regarding Claim 3, Egea discloses the electric range (induction hob 10a; fig. 1), wherein:
the air blower fan (blower unit 12a) comprises an inlet (intake opening 14a; fig. 7) disposed at a lower portion thereof and through which air is drawn into the air blower fan (para. 0049);
the support further comprises an intake hole (annotated fig. 6) formed in the first region at a location corresponding to the inlet of the air blower fan (intake opening 14a of blower unit 12a) (it is noted the intake hole of the support is fluidly connected to the intake opening 14a to direct outside air to the blower unit 12a);
the case (housing unit 34a) comprises an intake portion (inlet opening 20a) that is formed at a location corresponding to the intake hole (annotated fig. 6) and provides a passage through which air is drawn into the air blower fan (it is noted the inlet opening 20a is fluidly connected to the intake hole of the support 22a to direct outside air to the blower unit 12a); and
the intake portion and the intake hole are separated vertically from each other (annotated fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 5, Egea discloses the electric range (induction hob 10a; fig. 1), wherein the rib extends downward from the first region (support unit 22a) and surrounds the intake hole (annotated fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 8, Egea discloses the electric range (induction hob 10a; fig. 1), wherein the air blower fan (blower unit 12a) comprises an outlet (exhaust opening 70a; fig. 6) through which air is discharged from the air blower fan, the outlet having a lower surface located higher than a lower surface of the printed circuit board (electronic unit 30a) (para. 0050; fig. 6).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Egea (EP 3628931A1, published on 04/01/2020) and Dehnert (US 20140374411) as applied to claim 3, further in view of Rehak (US 20220030742)
Regarding Claim 4, the modification does not disclose the intake portion has an area larger than an area of the inlet of the air blower fan.
However, Rehak discloses the intake portion (air inlet 602 of top portion 616; figs. 1 and 2A) has an area larger than an area of the inlet of the air blower fan (para. 0244).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intake portion of Egea to have the area larger than the area of the inlet of the fan as taught by Rehak, in order to effectively introduce cool air into the fan through the intake portion to cool the electronics (para. 0244 of Rehak).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Egea (EP 3628931A1, published on 04/01/2020) and Dehnert (US 20140374411) as applied to claim 3, further in view of Rehak (US 20220030742) and Yen (US 20210090826)
Regarding Claim 6, the modification does not disclose the intake portion has a porous structure including a plurality of holes and comprises a vertically bent portion therein.
However, Rehak discloses the intake portion (air inlet 602; figs. 1 and 6) has a porous structure including a plurality of holes (openings as shown in fig. 6 to let air through) (para. 0243).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intake portion of Egea to comprise porous structure including a plurality of holes as taught by Rehak, in order to effectively to allow outside air to be pulled through the plurality of holes to cool the electronics while preventing foreign object from being sucked in through the intake portion.
The modification does not disclose the intake portion comprises a vertically bent portion therein.
However, Yen discloses a baseplate 2 comprises a vertically bent portion (recess groove 22 in the form of a blind hole by stamping) therein (para. 0050) (it is noted the recess groove 22 is formed by stamping that results in the curved surface to some degrees within the groove 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the intake portion of Egea in view of Dehnert and Rehak (i.e. air inlet 602 of Rehak) to include the vertically bent portion therein by stamping the intake portion to form the recess groove in the form of the blind hole that would result the curved surface to some degrees in the recess groove, as taught by Yen. Doing so would increase the rigidity of the intake portion of Rehak (para. 0050 of Yen).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Egea (EP 3628931A1, published on 04/01/2020) and Dehnert (US 20140374411) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Takahasi (US 20110063799)
Regarding Claim 9, Egea discloses the air blower fan (blower unit 12a) comprises a securing portion (annotated fig. 6).
The modification does not disclose:
the securing portion through which a bolt passes;
the support comprises a fan securing hole through which the bolt passes; and
the bolt is fastened to the case through the securing portion and the fan securing hole.
However, Takahasi discloses an air blower fan (fan 101) comprises a securing portion (mounting holes 150a to 150d; figs. 25A-25B) through which a bolt (bosses) passes (para. 0011; figs. 26A to 26C);
the bolt (bosses) is fastened to the case (chassis 126) through the securing portion (mounting holes 150a to 150d) (para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the c8laimed invention to modify the electric range of Egea to include the bosses such that the bosses are inserted into the holes of the fan and the support unit 22a as taught by Takahasi, in order to secure the fan to the case by using the bolts/bosses as the fastening means.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are respectfully considered moot in view of new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761