DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence filed 6/10/2026. Claims 10-17 and 24-30 were previously withdrawn due to an election/restriction requirement. Claims 18-23 are currently under examination. All the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are found insufficient to place the instantly examined claims in condition for allowance. Specifically, all the rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 18-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088 teach or render obvious all the steps and elements as recited in instant claims 18-23. Specifically, claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088 teach all the steps and elements recited in instant claim 18. In addition, the other features as recited in instant claims 19-23 are also taught or rendered obvious by claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 18-20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uemori et al. (WO 2016/039377 A1, using the published U.S. national stage application, US 2017/0253909 A1, as an English translation).
Regarding claim 18
Uemori et al. teach, throughout the whole document, a method for identifying a mismatched nucleotide in a double-stranded nucleic acid, comprising: (a) reacting a sample comprising the double-stranded nucleic acid with EndoMS (i.e., NucS or mismatch-specific endonuclease. See the term “EndoMS” as defined in the paragraph spanning pages 5-6 of the specification as filed) to produce a reaction product, wherein the EndoMS cleaves both strands of the double-stranded nucleic acid only if it contains a mismatch (see paragraphs [0091]-[0092] and [0098], where the “mismatch endonuclease” used is NucS as described in paragraph [0025] and Examples 1-6); (b) subjecting the reaction product of (a) to amplification under conditions that amplify the double-stranded nucleic acid if it is uncleaved but not if it is cleaved (see paragraphs [0091]-[0092] and [0098]); and (c) detecting the presence of an amplification product, wherein the presence of the product indicates that the double-stranded nucleic acid does not have a mismatched nucleotide and the absence of a product indicates that the double-stranded nucleic acid has a mismatched nucleotide (see paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 19
The method according to Uemori et al., wherein step (b) is done by PCR, using primers that flank the mismatch (see paragraphs [0091]-[0093]).
Regarding claim 20
The method according to Uemori et al., wherein mismatch is at a ligation junction (see paragraphs [0091]-[0092] and [0098]. Since the mismatch site is in the internal portion of the double-stranded nucleic acid, such site can be a hypothetical ligation junction (if the double-stranded nucleic acid were to be generated by the ligation of the two corresponding fragments flanking the ligation junction) because any such site can be a hypothetical ligation junction.).
Regarding claim 22
The method according to Uemori et al., wherein the double-stranded nucleic acid is genomic DNA (see paragraph [0105]).
Regarding claim 23
The method according to Uemori et al., wherein the detecting step (c) comprises quantifying the amount of the amplification product (see paragraph [0111]).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments (as filed on 6/10/2026) directed at the rejections have been fully considered but are found to be unpersuasive.
Double Patenting Rejection
Applicant argues that the Office action has provided no evidence or argument to substantiate its position beyond the conclusory statement that “claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088 teach all the steps and elements recited in instant claim 18”.
This is not found persuasive because all the steps and elements recited in instant claim 18 are clearly taught by claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088. Specifically, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088 teaches step (a) of the instantly claimed method, where: (1) the sample is the “ligation products that comprise: (i) adapter-ligated double-stranded nucleic acid fragments and (ii) double-stranded adapter dimers that comprise a T:T mismatch at the ligation junction”, and (2) said sample is reacted with EndoMS which cleaves “both strands of the adapter dimers” (because the adapter dimers comprise a T:T mismatch), producing a reaction product comprising only “adapter-ligated double-stranded nucleic acid fragments” (which are uncleaved by EndoMS). Claims 2-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088 further teach step (b) of the instantly claimed method, where the reaction product, namely the “adapter-ligated double-stranded nucleic acid fragments”, is subjected to amplification under conditions that amplify the double-stranded nucleic acid if it is uncleaved but not if it is cleaved. The amplification as recited in claims 2-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,371,088 also imply a step of detecting the presence of the amplification product, because the very purpose of the amplification is to obtain the amplification product (which would necessarily involve detecting the presence of the amplification product).
Rejection under 35 USC 102
Applicant argued the following:
This is not found persuasive because Uemori et al. do teach forming an EndoMS reaction product and subjecting the EndoMS reaction product to amplification. Specifically, in the method taught by Uemori et al., an EndoMS reaction product is formed in earlier cycles of the amplification process (where any double-stranded nucleic acid having a mismatched base pair generated by incorporation of an incorrect nucleotide during these earlier cycles of the amplification process is cleaved, forming an EndoMS reaction product that has the correct nucleic acid sequence), and said EndoMS reaction product is then subjected to later cycles of the amplification process to produce an amplification product that has “a decreased error rate” (see paragraph [0092]).
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAIJIANG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684