DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 17/825555 following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 07/09/25
2. Claims 1-5 and 8-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 20 are being amended.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: Applicant acknowledges that Doostnejed describes multiplexing multiple beams in space and frequency. However, the multiplexed beams in Doostnejad are either wide beams or narrow beams with a bandwidth of the same size (e.g. A or 6 in FIG. 7), Doostnejad does not disclose multiplexing beams having different bandwidths and whose bandwidths are overlapped.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Doostnejad discloses in some demonstrative embodiments, a two-layer codebook may include a first layer to generate beams of a first width (“wide beams”). A codeword of the first layer, e.g., each code word, may be associated with a codebook in a second layer, which may generate a plurality of beams of a second width (“narrow beams”), e.g., having a beam width which is narrower than the first width, for example, in an angular range of the first layer code word, e.g., as described below.(see paragraph [0201]). Doostnejad further discloses, In some demonstrative embodiments, the BS may transmit from the N.sub.b RF chains directional narrower corresponding to the best wide BS transmit sector (BS−ψ.sub.i).sub.Δ selected at stage-I, e.g., for every i-th UE. (see paragraph [0250]).
Thus it seems Doostnejad uses both a wide and narrow beam. Further there is nothing in the current claim language which states different bandwidths overlapping.
Further in response to Applicant’s argument, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the combination of Doostnejad in view of Akkarakaran are both dealing with SS and beams(see,Doostnejad [0155] Akkarakaran paragraph [[0031]]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filled data of the claimed invention to improve system reliability and energy efficiency (see paragraph [0006])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Doostnejad et al(US 2018/0006702) in view of AKKARAKARAN et al(US 2018/0359717A1)
Regarding claim 1, Doostneijad teaches a method for communication by a base station in a high frequency network, the method comprising: generating a first beam having a first beamwidth in a first area of a cell: (see Fig. 7-9, Doostnejad paragraph [0157] explains devices 102 and/or 140 may be configured to perform hybrid UE/Cell and/or beam acquisition in mmWave multiuser wireless communications, for example, using SC modulation, e.g., as described below. In other embodiments, devices… paragraph [0160] explains demultiplex plurality of received SS beamformed in the plurality of directions)
determining a plurality of second beamwidths for a plurality of second beams wherein the plurality of second beamwidths divide the first beamwidth of the first beam, and each beamwidth of the plurality of second beams is narrower than the first beamwidth;(see Doostnejad paragraph [0160] explains demultiplex plurality of received SS beamformed in the plurality of directions….see paragraph [0298], the method may include simultaneously transmitting, during a second hybrid beamforming training, via multiplexed beams of the plurality of RF chains of the first wireless station, a second plurality of spatially multiplexed SS beamformed in a plurality of narrow beam directions, which correspond to, e.g., which are included in, associated with, and/or covered by, the one or more reported wide beam directions) generating the plurality of second beams having the determined plurality of second beamwidths;( see Doostnejad paragraph [0159], [0160] ) and transmitting at least one synchronization message to a plurality of user equipments (UEs) via the first beam and the plurality of second beams which are based on multiplexing the first beam with the plurality of second beams. (see Doostnejad paragraph [0159], [0160] explains….device 102 may be configured to modulate a plurality of SS according to a SC modulation, and to utilize a spatial-frequency multiplexing scheme to spatially multiplex the plurality of SS beamformed in a plurality of directions, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may include, operate as, and/or perform one or more functionalities of, a modulator 129, which may be configured to apply the spatial-frequency multiplexing scheme to the SS, e.g., as described below…..or example, controller 154 may include, operate as, and/or perform one or more functionalities of, a demodulator 159, which may be configured to process the received SS according to the spatial-frequency multiplexing scheme, e.g., as described below….see paragraph [0298], the method may include simultaneously transmitting, during a second hybrid beamforming training, via the plurality of RF chains of the first wireless station, a second plurality of spatially multiplexed SS beamformed in a plurality of narrow beam directions, which correspond to, e.g., which are included in, associated with, and/or covered by, the one or more reported wide beam directions, also see paragraph [0202],[00244],[0249],[0250],[0295]-[0299])
While it can be understood Doostnejad explains a first beamwidth in a first area of a cell (see Fig. 7)
However analogous art Akkarakran is introduced to further show or clarify this limitation (see paragraph [0031] explains a first group may include a number of beams (e.g., fewer beams compared with a second group), and each beam in the first group has a broad or wide beam width (e.g., compared with a second group), to cover the whole cell in angular domain but with low beamforming gain.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Doostnejad include Akkarakran’s signaling of synchronization block patterns. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the filing date of the claimed invention to improve system reliability and energy efficiency (see paragraph [0006])
Regarding claim 2, the modified Doostnejad taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Doostnejad further teaches wherein the first beamwidth is for providing a maximum coverage in the first area of the cell. (see Doostnejad paragraph [0298], the method may include simultaneously transmitting, during a second hybrid beamforming training, via the plurality of RF chains of the first wireless station, a second plurality of spatially multiplexed SS beamformed in a plurality of narrow beam directions, which correspond to, e.g., which are included in, associated with, and/or covered by, the one or more reported wide beam directions, were wide beam can be considered to be maximum coverage)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Doostnejad taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Doostnejad further teaches, wherein the first beam is generated subsequent to determining the first area. (see Akarakaran paragraph [0031] explains a first group may include a number of beams (e.g., fewer beams compared with a second group), and each beam in the first group has a broad or wide beam width (e.g., compared with a second group), to cover the whole cell in angular domain but with low beamforming gain. Also see paragraph [0038] explains coverages and beam direction)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Doostnejad taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Doostnejad further teaches further comprising: receiving a response to the at least one synchronization message from at least one UE amongst the plurality of UEs over one of the first beam or the plurality of second beams; and establishing a connection with the at least one UE over one of the first beam or the plurality of second beams. (see Doostnejad paragraph [0296], [0297] explains… first feedback messages from one or more second wireless stations, to identify one or more reported wide beam directions of the plurality of wide beam directions…..)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Doostnejad taught the method of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the at least one synchronization message with the first beam and the plurality of second beams is transmitted periodically. (see paragraph [0244] explains SS beamformed in directions and multiplex multiple beams in space and frequency…IFDM)
6. (Cancelled)
7. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 8, the modified Doostnejad taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified Doostnejad further teaches wherein the at least one synchronization message is transmitted via the first beam and the plurality of second beams during an initial access procedure. (see paragraph [0298], the method may include simultaneously transmitting, during a second hybrid beamforming training, via the plurality of RF chains of the first wireless station, a second plurality of spatially multiplexed SS beamformed in a plurality of narrow beam directions, which correspond to, e.g., which are included in, associated with, and/or covered by, the one or more reported wide beam directions, were wide beam can be considered to be maximum coverage)
Regarding claim 20, Doostnejad teaches a base station for communication in a high frequency network, the base station comprising: memory storing instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the base station to: generate a first beam having a first beamwidth in a first area of a cell, (see Fig. 7-9, Doostnejad paragraph [0157] explains devices 102 and/or 140 may be configured to perform hybrid UE/Cell and/or beam acquisition in mmWave multiuser wireless communications, for example, using SC modulation, e.g., as described below. In other embodiments, devices… paragraph [0160] explains demultiplex plurality of received SS beamformed in the plurality of directions)
determine a plurality of second beamwidths for a plurality of second beams wherein the plurality of second beamwidths divide the first beamwidth of the first beam, ;(see Doostnejad paragraph [0160] explains demultiplex plurality of received SS beamformed in the plurality of directions….see paragraph [0298], the method may include simultaneously transmitting, during a second hybrid beamforming training, via the plurality of RF chains of the first wireless station, a second plurality of spatially multiplexed SS beamformed in a plurality of narrow beam directions, which correspond to, e.g., which are included in, associated with, and/or covered by, the one or more reported wide beam directions) and each beamwidth of the plurality of second beams is narrower than the first beamwidth, generate the plurality of second beams having the determined plurality of second beamwidths, ;( see Doostnejad paragraph [0159], [0160] ) and transmit at least one synchronization message to a plurality of user equipments (UEs) via multiplexed beams of the first beam and the plurality of second beams, which are based on multiplexing the first beam with the plurality of second beams. (see Doostnejad paragraph [0159], [0160] explains….device 102 may be configured to modulate a plurality of SS according to a SC modulation, and to utilize a spatial-frequency multiplexing scheme to spatially multiplex the plurality of SS beamformed in a plurality of directions, e.g., as described below. For example, controller 124 may include, operate as, and/or perform one or more functionalities of, a modulator 129, which may be configured to apply the spatial-frequency multiplexing scheme to the SS, e.g., as described below…..or example, controller 154 may include, operate as, and/or perform one or more functionalities of, a demodulator 159, which may be configured to process the received SS according to the spatial-frequency multiplexing scheme, e.g., as described below….see paragraph [0298], the method may include simultaneously transmitting, during a second hybrid beamforming training, via the plurality of RF chains of the first wireless station, a second plurality of spatially multiplexed SS beamformed in a plurality of narrow beam directions, which correspond to, e.g., which are included in, associated with, and/or covered by, the one or more reported wide beam directions also see paragraph [0202],[00244],[0249],[0250],[0295]-[0299])
While it can be understood Doostnejad explains a first beamwidth in a first area of a cell (see Fig. 7)
However Akkarakran is introduced to further show or clarify this limitation (see paragraph [0031] explains a first group may include a number of beams (e.g., fewer beams compared with a second group), and each beam in the first group has a broad or wide beam width (e.g., compared with a second group), to cover the whole cell in angular domain but with low beamforming gain.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Doostnejad include Akkarakran’s signaling of synchronization block patterns. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the filing date of the claimed invention to improve system reliability and energy efficiency (see paragraph [0006])
6. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Doostnejad et al(US 2018/0006702) in view of AKKARAKARAN et al(US 2018/0359717A1) in further view of Park et al(US 2020/0275493A1)
Regarding claim 9, the modified Doostnejad taught the method of claim 1, Doostnejad alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with Park further teaches comprising:
allowing or disabling transmission of at least one synchronization message via the first beam and the plurality of second beams using a bit map;
indicating the allowing or disabling to a receiver through at least one of higher layer signaling, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a medium access control (MAC) Control Element (MAC CE); and indicating a transmit power of a beam with one beamwidth and offsets for other
| beamwidth through at least one of a broadcast message, a master information block (MIB), or the RRC reconfiguration message. (see Park paragraph [0084], [0085],[0090] explains beam type and bitmap)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to create the invention of the modified Doostnejad to include Park’s variable random access channel signature mapping. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the filing date of the claimed invention to improve communication with multi access technologies (see paragraphs [0005])
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 10-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478