DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
• This action is in reply to the Application Number 17/825,843 filed on 05/26/2022.
• Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
• This action is made FINAL in response to the “Amendment” and “Remarks” filed on 07/30/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 and 05/26/2022 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US20210354591A1) in view of Tominaga (US20130134940A1), further in view of Tesla (Model 3 Owner’s Manual, 2020).
Regarding Claims 1, 15 and 18:
Iida teaches:
A method comprising: receiving a request to charge a battery of an electric vehicle at a charge point; (Iida, para[0076], “ECU 100 ( charging schedule setter 102 ) determines whether a use reservation for external charging facility M is received ”, and para [0046], “ECU 100 includes , for example , central processing unit ( CPU ) 100a , read only memory ( ROM ) 100b , random access memory ( RAM )”)
determining a battery temperature operating range for the battery; (Iida, Fig.7 and para[0060], “as illustrated in FIG . 7 , the allowable value of the charging current of battery 1 becomes large when the temperature of battery 1 falls within a predetermined range ( corresponding to a range of 15 ° C. to 30 ° C”)
determining a battery temperature function that predicts a battery temperature of the battery based on an environmental condition at the charge point; (Iida, Fig.9 and para[0065],” operation plan generator 103 generates an “ operation plan ” such that the temperature of battery 1 becomes the target temperature at the charging start point. Note that , a target temperature of battery 1 at a time of starting charging is desirably set based on charging rate information on battery 1 , battery degradation information on battery 1 , environmental information outside a vehicle or the like… Environmental information outside a vehicle ( for example , air temperature ) affects a heat dissipation characteristic when battery 1 is charged , and the higher the air temperature , the higher the temperature of battery 1 during charging , for example . Accordingly , in consideration of these elements , in a case where it is predicted that the temperature of battery 1 becomes high during charging , it is possible to shorten a charging time more efficiently by setting the target temperature low”)
… based on the battery temperature operating range, the battery temperature function, (Iida, para[0060], “the temperature of battery 1 falls within a predetermined range ( corresponding to a range of 15 ° C. to 30 ° C”, Fig.8 and para[0071],” a time between T2 and T3 of FIG . 8 represents a state in which controller 104 operates cooling apparatus 4 at the maximum output , but the temperature of battery 1 increases as charging of battery 1 starts”)
Iida does not explicitly teach, but Tominaga teaches:
determining a recommended charging time window for charging the battery… (Tominaga, para[0062], “the time period setting portion 114 sets … a recommended charging time period”)
wherein the determining of the recommended charging time window comprises determining a beginning and an end of the recommended charging time window; (Tominaga, para[0070], “the time period setting portion 114 sets a start time Tps and an end time Tpe”)
and wherein the recommended charging time window is based, at least in part, on predicted weather information during the recommended charging time window; (Tominaga, para[0065], “a time period in which control of the storage battery B is enabled is estimated… a charging timing and/or a discharging timing are determined”, and para[0067], “The charging/discharging control section 11 may obtain information related to current or future weather conditions (for example, whether or not there is sunshine, an air temperature, a humidity, a precipitation amount, and so on)”)
and initiating a charging of the battery of the electric vehicle at a point in time corresponding to the recommended charging time window of the output.(Tominaga, para[73], “perform charging … the storage battery B in accordance with a charging… control pattern of Type 1”, and para[75], “FIG. 4 is a diagram showing the charging/discharging control pattern of Type 1”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida to include these above teachings from Tominaga in order to determining a recommended charging time window for charging the battery based on the battery temperature operating range and the battery temperature function, wherein the determining of the recommended charging time window comprises determining a beginning and an end of the recommended charging time window, and wherein the recommended charging time window is based, at least in part, on predicted weather information during the recommended charging time window, and initiating a charging of the battery of the electric vehicle at a point in time corresponding to the charging time window of the output. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “reduce the amount of carbon dioxide emitted as a result of the power generation” (Tominaga, Description)
Iida does not explicitly teach, but Tesla teaches:
determining a recommended charging time window for charging the battery based on…and an expected start of a next travel event, wherein the next travel event is a planned future use of the electric vehicle after a current journey, (Tesla, page 160, “Scheduled Departure: For any location, such as Home, you can simply plug in Model 3 and select a time for when you want your vehicle to be ready to drive. Once your specified time is set, Model 3 prepares itself by determining the best time to start charging to optimize energy costs, Battery longevity, and ensure charging completes in time for your drive”)
and providing the recommended charging time window as an output.( Tesla, page 134, “Trip Planner selects a route and provides charging times to minimize the amount of time you spend driving and charging…display an alert”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida to include these above teachings from Tesla in order to include determining a recommended charging time window for charging the battery based on an expected start of a next travel event, wherein the next travel event is a planned future use of the electric vehicle after a current journey and provide the recommended charging time window as an output. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “optimize energy costs, Battery longevity, and ensure charging completes in time for your drive” (Tesla, page 160)
Regarding Claim 7:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a current battery temperature of the battery at the time of the request, wherein the charging time window, the charge point, or a combination thereof is determined based on using the battery temperature function to predict when or where the current battery temperature will be in the battery temperature operating range during, before, or after the charging time window. (Iida, para[0045],” temperature sensor da configured to detect a temperature ( for example , housing temperature ) of battery”, Fig.8 and para [0070],” The vertical axis of FIG . 8 represents the temperature [ ° C . ] of battery 1 , and the horizontal axis represents the elapse of time from time To when the operation plan is set . In FIG . 8 , T1 represents a time at which the cooling capacity of cooling apparatus 4 set in the operation plan is increased , T2 represents a time at which charging of battery 1 starts , and T3 represents a time at which the charging of battery 1 ends . Further , in FIG . 8 , a first target temperature ( for example , 40 ° C. ) represents a target temperature when battery 1 is discharged , and a second target temperature ( for example , 15 ° C. ) represents a target temperature of battery 1 at a time of starting charging”, and Fig.9 and para[0065],” operation plan generator 103 generates an “ operation plan ” such that the temperature of battery 1 becomes the target temperature at the charging start point. Note that , a target temperature of battery 1 at a time of starting charging is desirably set based on charging rate information on battery 1 , battery degradation information on battery 1 , environmental information outside a vehicle or the like… Environmental information outside a vehicle ( for example , air temperature ) affects a heat dissipation characteristic when battery 1 is charged , and the higher the air temperature , the higher the temperature of battery 1 during charging , for example . Accordingly , in consideration of these elements , in a case where it is predicted that the temperature of battery 1 becomes high during charging , it is possible to shorten a charging time more efficiently by setting the target temperature low”)
Regarding Claim 11:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a current temperature of the battery is within the battery temperature operating range, wherein the charging time windows is determined so that charging of the battery is initiated before the current temperature falls outside of the battery temperature operating range. (Iida, para[0045],” temperature sensor da configured to detect a temperature ( for example , housing temperature ) of battery”, Fig.8 and para [0070],” The vertical axis of FIG . 8 represents the temperature [ ° C . ] of battery 1 , and the horizontal axis represents the elapse of time from time To when the operation plan is set . In FIG . 8 , T1 represents a time at which the cooling capacity of cooling apparatus 4 set in the operation plan is increased , T2 represents a time at which charging of battery 1 starts , and T3 represents a time at which the charging of battery 1 ends . Further , in FIG . 8 , a first target temperature ( for example , 40 ° C. ) represents a target temperature when battery 1 is discharged , and a second target temperature ( for example , 15 ° C. ) represents a target temperature of battery 1 at a time of starting charging”, and Fig.9 and para[0065],” operation plan generator 103 generates an “ operation plan ” such that the temperature of battery 1 becomes the target temperature at the charging start point. Note that , a target temperature of battery 1 at a time of starting charging is desirably set based on charging rate information on battery 1 , battery degradation information on battery 1 , environmental information outside a vehicle or the like… Environmental information outside a vehicle ( for example , air temperature ) affects a heat dissipation characteristic when battery 1 is charged , and the higher the air temperature , the higher the temperature of battery 1 during charging , for example . Accordingly , in consideration of these elements , in a case where it is predicted that the temperature of battery 1 becomes high during charging , it is possible to shorten a charging time more efficiently by setting the target temperature low”)
Regarding Claim 12:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida does not explicitly teach, but Tesla teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the charge point is determined further based on the expected start of the next travel event.( Tesla, page 134, “When Trip Planner is enabled and charging is required to reach your destination, the turn by-turn direction list includes Supercharger stops and a recommended charging time at each Supercharger”, and page 160, “Scheduled Departure…Once your specified time is set, Model 3 prepares itself by determining the best time to start charging to optimize energy costs, Battery longevity, and ensure charging completes in time for your drive”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida to include these above teachings from Tesla in order to include wherein the charge point is determined further based on the expected start of the next travel event. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “optimize energy costs, Battery longevity, and ensure charging completes in time for your drive” (Tesla, page 160)
Regarding Claim 13:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the charge point is part of a charge network comprising at least one other charge point, and wherein the at least one other charge point serves at least one other electric vehicle. ( Iida, para [0021], “Charging system U according to the present embodiment is a system that allows vehicle C to make a use reservation at charging station M1 or M2 in advance when battery 1 mounted on vehicle C is charged at the charging station”)
Regarding Claim 14:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 13. Iida teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the charging time window, the charge point, or a combination thereof is further determined based on at least one of: battery data associated with the at least one other electric vehicle; another charging time window determined for the at least one other electric vehicle; or another environmental condition at the at least one other charge point.( Iida, Fig.3 and para [0021], “Charging system U according to the present embodiment is a system that allows vehicle C to make a use reservation at charging station M1 or M2 in advance when battery 1 mounted on vehicle C is charged at the charging station”, and para [0023], “Charging system U according to the present embodiment includes vehicle C , management server P , and charging stations M1 and M2 disposed on the road . Note that , FIG . 2 illustrates vehicle C and charge stations M1 and M2 on a map . Vehicle C travels toward destination GO . Charge stations M1 and M2 are disposed on the road”)
Claim(s) 2, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US20210354591A1) in view of Tominaga (US20130134940A1), Tesla (Model 3 Owner’s Manual, 2020), in further view of Singuru (US11203268B2).
Regarding Claims 2, 16 and 19:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1, 15 and 18. Iida teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a temperature regulating time period for the battery, the charge point, or a combination thereof before charging based on the battery temperature, the environmental condition at the charge point, or a combination thereof, (Iida, Fig.9 and para[0078],” At this time , as an operation plan , ECU 100 sets information on timing for increasing the output of cooling apparatus 4 , and a target temperature of battery 1 such that the temperature of battery 1 falls within optimum temperature range LT1 at a charging start point of charging battery 1”, and para [0079],” In step S4 , ECU 100 waits for a temperature adjustment start time to be reached ( S4 : NO ) . In a case where the temperature adjustment start time is reached ( S4 : YES ) , ECU 100 advances the processing to step S5 .”)
wherein the battery, the charge point, or a combination thereof is cooled down or heated up to a battery temperature charging range during the temperature regulating time period; (Iida, Fig.9 and para[0081],” In step S5 , ECU 100 maximizes the output of cooling apparatus 4 in order to start control of temperature adjustment ( T1 to T2 in FIG . 8 )”
…by using the battery temperature function to predict that the environmental condition of the charge point is expected to result in the battery temperature being in the battery temperature charging range during or after the temperature regulating time period, in the battery temperature operating range during, before, or after the charging time window, or a combination thereof. (Iida, Fig.9 and para[0065],” operation plan generator 103 generates an “ operation plan ” such that the temperature of battery 1 becomes the target temperature at the charging start point. Note that , a target temperature of battery 1 at a time of starting charging is desirably set based on charging rate information on battery 1 , battery degradation information on battery 1 , environmental information outside a vehicle or the like… Environmental information outside a vehicle ( for example , air temperature ) affects a heat dissipation characteristic when battery 1 is charged , and the higher the air temperature , the higher the temperature of battery 1 during charging , for example . Accordingly , in consideration of these elements , in a case where it is predicted that the temperature of battery 1 becomes high during charging , it is possible to shorten a charging time more efficiently by setting the target temperature low”)
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla does not explicitly teach, but Singuru teaches:
and selecting the charge point… (Singuru, Abstract, “A method and associated system for selecting a charging station for a subject vehicle is described”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla to include these above teachings from Singuru in order to select the charge point by using the battery temperature function to predict that the environmental condition of the charge point is expected to result in the battery temperature being in the battery temperature charging range during or after the temperature regulating time period, in the battery temperature operating range during, before, or after the charging time window, or a combination thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “reduce waiting time and / or travel distance” (Singuru, Description)
Claim(s) 3-6, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US20210354591A1) in view of Tominaga (US20130134940A1), Tesla (Model 3 Owner’s Manual, 2020), in further view of Kohlberger (US 20140316630 A1).
Regarding Claims 3, 17 and 20:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1, 15 and 18. Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla does not explicitly teach, but Kohlberger teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the environmental condition based on a temperature sensor associated with the charge point. (Kohlberger, para [0042], “On a sunny hot summer's day, the charging station 12 is located in shadow. The passengers leave the vehicle 10 during the charging process. If the temperature control parameters were determined alone on the basis of temperature sensors positioned at the vehicle 10 or at the charging station”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla to include these above teachings from Kohlberger in order to determine the environmental condition based on a temperature sensor associated with the charge point. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “significantly increases the range” (Kohlberger, Description)
Regarding Claim 4:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1, 15 and 18. Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla does not explicitly teach, but Kohlberger teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the environmental condition based on a map label associated with the charge point in a geographic database. (Kohlberger, para [0040], “a data link 26 for bidirectional communication is setup. The vehicle 10 and the charging station 12 can communicate with one another via this data link 26 and therefore request or exchange data, wherein the data link 26 can be implemented, for example, as a cable link or radio link. In the next step, the vehicle-side means 18 for acquiring data determine the vehicle-side data D10 and the charging-station-side means 20 for acquiring data determine the charging-station side data D12”, and para [0043], “On a sunny spring day, the driver remains seated in the vehicle 10 during the charging process and the charging station 12 is in the open air in the Sun…a long uphill travel on a freeway is apparent from the Internet or from extended map material of the navigation device”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla to include these above teachings from Kohlberger in order to determine the environmental condition based on a map label associated with the charge point in a geographic database. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “significantly increases the range” (Kohlberger, Description)
Regarding Claim 5:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, Kohlberger as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 4. Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla does not explicitly teach, but Kohlberger teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the map label indicates whether the charge point is located indoors, roofed, exposed, or outdoors. (Kohlberger, para [0040], “a data link 26 for bidirectional communication is setup. The vehicle 10 and the charging station 12 can communicate with one another via this data link 26 and therefore request or exchange data, wherein the data link 26 can be implemented, for example, as a cable link or radio link. In the next step, the vehicle-side means 18 for acquiring data determine the vehicle-side data D10 and the charging-station-side means 20 for acquiring data determine the charging-station side data D12”, and para [0043], “On a sunny spring day, the driver remains seated in the vehicle 10 during the charging process and the charging station 12 is in the open air in the Sun…a long uphill travel on a freeway is apparent from the Internet or from extended map material of the navigation device”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla to include these above teachings from Kohlberger in order to include wherein the map label indicates whether the charge point is located indoors, roofed, exposed, or outdoors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “significantly increases the range” (Kohlberger, Description)
Regarding Claim 6:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla does not explicitly teach, but Kohlberger teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the environmental condition is determined based on weather data associated with the charge point. (Kohlberger, para [0040], “a data link 26 for bidirectional communication is setup. The vehicle 10 and the charging station 12 can communicate with one another via this data link 26 and therefore request or exchange data, wherein the data link 26 can be implemented, for example, as a cable link or radio link. In the next step, the vehicle-side means 18 for acquiring data determine the vehicle-side data D10 and the charging-station-side means 20 for acquiring data determine the charging-station side data D12”, and para [0044], “It is winter and the temperatures are below freezing. The passengers leave the vehicle 10 while it is connected to a charging station 12 in an underground garage. By means of measurements of a weather station which is connected in a network to the charging station 12 it is known that the outside temperature is significantly lower than the temperature in the underground garage.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla to include these above teachings from Kohlberger in order to include wherein the environmental condition is determined based on weather data associated with the charge point. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “significantly increases the range” (Kohlberger, Description)
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US20210354591A1) in view of Tominaga (US20130134940A1), further in view of Tesla (Model 3 Owner’s Manual, 2020) and Jiang (US20220320872A1).
Regarding Claim 8:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida does not explicitly teach, but Jiang teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the charging time window, the charge point, or a combination thereof is determined further based on a current state of charge of the battery, an expected required range until a next charge opportunity, a next charge point on route, or a combination thereof. ( Jiang, para [0078], “The charging time is calculated based on the charging current of the battery and the future charging state of the battery , that is , the remaining SOC of the battery”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida to include these above teachings from Jiang in order to include wherein the charging time window, the charge point, or a combination thereof is determined further based on a current state of charge of the battery, an expected required range until a next charge opportunity, a next charge point on route, or a combination thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “make the estimated charging time more accurate” (Jiang, Description)
Regarding Claim 9:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida does not explicitly teach, but Jiang teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring the charge point to provide a charging capability to the electric vehicle only during the charging time window. ( Jiang, para [0134], “Allocate a charging current of the battery , a distribution current of the thermal management system , and power of the battery and the thermal management system”, and para [0135],” in a charging process , a capability of the charging pile may be less than a maximum charging requirement of the battery . Therefore , the charging current Ibat_charge of the battery and the current Ithermal_ charge of the thermal management system are distributed based on a current Imax of the charging pile , the required current Ibat_req of the battery , and the required current Ithermal_req of the thermal management system”, and para [0175], “The charging time calculation module 8300 calculates , based on the charging current of the battery obtained from the estimation module , a time required from a current moment to the end of charging”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida to include these above teachings from Jiang in order to configure the charge point to provide a charging capability to the electric vehicle only during the charging time window. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “make the estimated charging time more accurate” (Jiang, Description)
Regarding Claim 10:
Iida in view of Tominaga and Tesla, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Iida does not explicitly teach, but Jiang teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the charging time window, the charge point, or a combination thereof is further determined based on an expected time to charge, an expected energy level to charge, an expected energy level for maintaining the battery temperature in the battery temperature operating range. ( Jiang, para [0175], “The charging time calculation module 8300 calculates , based on the charging current of the battery obtained from the estimation module , a time required from a current moment to the end of charging”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the control device for temperature adjustment device of Iida to include these above teachings from Jiang in order to include wherein the charging time window, the charge point, or a combination thereof is further determined based on an expected time to charge, an expected energy level to charge, an expected energy level for maintaining the battery temperature in the battery temperature operating range. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “make the estimated charging time more accurate” (Jiang, Description)
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
103 rejection. The applicant argues that none of the cited references teaches the amended claim limitations of “determining a recommended charging time window for charging the battery based on…and an expected start of a next travel event, wherein the next travel event is a planned future use of the electric vehicle after a current journey”.
In repose of A. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAI NMN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667