DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation the energy level difference between the HOMO energy level of the second organic material and the HOMO energy level of the at least one host material is less than 0.25 eV, and the claim also recites preferably, the energy level difference between the HOMO energy level of the second organic material and the HOMO energy level of the at least one host material is less than 0.2 eV which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 8 and 18 recites the broad recitation an energy level difference between the HOMO energy level of the second organic material and a LUMO energy level of the first organic material is less than 0.23 eV, and the claim also recites preferably, the energy level difference between the HOMO energy level of the second organic material and the LUMO energy level of the first organic material is less than 0.2 eV; more preferably, the energy level difference between the HOMO energy level of the second organic material and the LUMO energy level of the first organic material is less than or equal to 0.1 eV which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 10 and 19 recites the broad recitation the second organic layer has a thickness of greater than 125 nm, and the claim also recites preferably, the second organic layer has a thickness of greater than 150 nm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 2020/0062778) (hereafter “Cui”) as referenced by Seo et al. (US 2016/0028022) (hereafter “Seo”), in view of Choi et al. (US 2008/299365) (hereafter “Choi”).
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-20, Cui teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, electron injection layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0270]-[0293] and [0301]-[0304]). Cui teaches that the electron injection layer is composed of Liq (paragraphs [0270] and [0301]). Cui teaches that the light emitting layer can be composed of a host material and a dopant (paragraphs [0270]-[0293] and [0301]-[0304]). Cui teaches that the host material can be
or
(paragraphs [0270]-[0293] and [0301]-[0304]).
has a HOMO of -5.53 and
as a HOMO of -5.39 as taught by the applicant’s specification. Cui teaches the hole injection material can be
or
(paragraphs [0270]-[0293] and [0301]-[0304]), which are the same as claimed by the applicant and have a LUMO of -5.11 eV and -5.17 eV as taught by the applicant’s specification. Cui teaches that the hole transporting layer is composed of
and can have a thickness of 80 nm or 120 nm (paragraphs [0270]-[0293] and [0301]-[0304]). Seo shows that the HOMO of
is -5.36 eV (paragraph [0276]). Cui teaches that an electron blocking layer can be between the hole transporting layer and the light emitting layer and when the layer is present the change in voltage is not 110% difference and the thickness is 90% to 110% of the thickness of the hole injection layer (paragraphs [0270]-[0293] and [0301]-[0304]). Cui teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in a display assembly (paragraph [0061]).
Cui does not teach were the anode is made of ITO/Al and the cathode is composed of Mg-Ag and where the hole transporting layer is thicker than 125 nm.
Choi teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, which is reflective and made of ITO/Ag, and a cathode at is transparent and composed of Mg-Ag, and between the two electrodes are a hole transporting layer, light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer (paragraphs [0110]-[0113]). Choi teaches that the thickness of the hole transporting layer can be changed to improve the resonance of the layer and improve efficiency of the device (paragraph [0078]). Choi teaches that the thickness of the hole transporting layer can range from 10 nm to 200 nm (paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cui to use the anode and cathode of Choi and the change the thickness of the hole transporting layer to improve the efficiency of the resonance and improve the efficiency of the device. Given that one would change the thickness of the hole transporting layer to find the best efficiency it would have been obvious to make the layer thicker than 125 nm given that Choi teaches that the layer can range from 10 to 200 nm.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 2020/0062778) (hereafter “Cui”) as referenced by Seo et al. (US 2016/0028022) (hereafter “Seo”), in view of Choi et al. (US 2008/299365) (hereafter “Choi”) as applied to claims 1-12 and 14-20 above, and further in view of Thomson et al. (US 6,242,115) (hereafter “Thomson”).
Regarding claim 13, Cui does not limit the material of the hole transporting layer.
Cui in Choi does not teach a hole transporting material that meets the applicant’s claimed invention.
Thomson teaches hole transporting material that can be used in electroluminescent devices (column 28 lines 66-67 and column 29 lines 1-10). Thomson teaches that the hole transporting material can have the following structure,
,
, and
are a few examples (columns 9-22). Thomson teaches that the compounds act like other hole transporting materials that are used in electroluminescent devices (column 28 lines 66-67 and column 29 lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the hole transporting of Cui in view of Choi with the hole transporting material of Thomson,
,
, and
. The substitution would have been one known hole transporting material with another know hole transporting material. The substitution would have been with an art recognized equivalent hole transporting material as discussed by Thomson. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the device of Cui in view of Choi to act in a similar manner when the compounds of Thomson are used as the hole transporting material.
Conclusion
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759