DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 9/17/2025.
The Examiner notes claims 14-15, 17, 19-27, 29-31, & 33-38 are currently pending and have been examined; claim(s) 14, 17, 19, 26, 31, & 35 is/are currently amended, claim(s) 36-38 are newly added, all other claims are original or previously presented.
Please see the Response to Amendments and Response to Arguments sections below for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
And/or
Claim(s) 35 & 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heatley-Adams et al. (US 20110083289), hereinafter Heatley.
Regarding claim 35. Heatley discloses a brush head [66] comprising: an attachment feature configured to secure the brush head for rotation about a rotation axis [Fig 1 & 5; 66 is connected to a drive axis similar to the one shown in Fig 1, see A2, that secures 66 for rotation about A2], and an outer surface [Fig 5] including a first planar segment extending at a first angle relative to the rotation axis [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5] and a second planar segment extending at a second angle relative to the rotation axis different from the first angle such that the second planar segment is angled relative to the first planar segment [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5], at least the second angle being non-perpendicular and non-parallel with respect to the rotation axis [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5], the first planar segment and the second planar segment forming a rectilinear side profile as viewed perpendicular to a reference plane including the rotation axis [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5]; a first bristle extending outwardly from the first planar segment [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5]; and a second bristle extending outwardly from the second planar segment [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5].
Figure 1
Regarding claim 38. Loeb discloses the brush head of claim 35, wherein the first planar segment extends parallel to the rotation axis [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5], and the second planar segment is longer in a direction parallel to the rotation axis than the first planar segment as viewed perpendicular to the reference plane [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-27, 29-30, 33-34, & 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al. (US 20180242722) in view of Schregardus et al. (US 20180338655), hereinafter Schregardus.
Regarding claim 14. Patterson discloses a brush head [Fig 8; 100] comprising:
a central portion [Fig 5 & 8; ¶72; the portion of 166 that 102 connects to is the central portion],
an attachment feature [102] configured to secure the brush head for rotation about the rotation axis [Fig 4; ¶72],
a plurality of lobes [Fig 5 & 8; ¶72; 102 divides 166 in to two lobes] extending radially outwardly from the central portion [Fig 5, 8, & 10], the least one of the plurality of lobes extending along a rectilinear path [Fig 8; a straight path is a rectilinear path], the rectilinear path having an inner segment and an outer segment [Fig 8; one half of 166 can be divided into two parts an inner segment closer to 102 and an outer segment farthest from 102], wherein the outer segment is located radially outwardly from the inner segment [Fig 8], …, the at least one of the plurality of lobes having a proximal portion extending along the inner segment and a distal portion extending along the outer segment [Fig 8], the proximal portion defining an inner non-curved outer edge along one side of the at least one of the plurality of lobes, and the distal portion defining an outer non-curved outer edge along the one side of the at least one of the plurality of lobes [Fig 8; when each half of 166 is divided into an inner and an outer segment each segment has an non-curved outer edge]; and an outer ring extending circumferentially about the plurality of lobes and located radially outwardly from the plurality of lobes [Fig 8 & 10; ¶72; 168], with the distal portion of the at least one of the plurality of lobes coupled to the outer ring and the proximal portion located radially inwardly of the outer ring relative to the rotation axis [Fig 8 & 10; ¶72; 168 is a ring which is connected to the outer segments (distal portions) of the lobes].
Patterson is silent in regards to the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis.
However Schregardus teaches a brush [Fig 6A; 106] with rectilinear lobes [170] with inner segments [174] and outer segments [176], wherein the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis [Fig 6A & 6E; ¶66; the inner and outer segments are at non-zero angle A3 plus 90 degrees relative to each other to each other measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis as 174 extends radially outward from the center].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rectilinear path of the inner and outer segments as disclosed by Patterson to have the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis as taught by Schregardus for the purpose of reducing stress concentrations along the lobes during rotation and use [Schregardus: ¶66].
Regarding claim 15. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, further comprising a first bristle coupled to the proximal portion and a second bristle coupled to the distal portion [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8; ¶56 & ¶72; bristles (120) extend from both portions of the lobes].
Regarding claim 17. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, further comprising a bristle coupled to the outer ring [Patterson: Fig 8 & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; 120, which is bristles as disclosed in ¶56, is coupled to 166 & 168], wherein the bristle is one of a first plurality of bristles provided on a curved radially outer surface of the outer ring [Patterson: Fig 8 & 10], the first plurality of bristles extending away from the rotation axis and with a first angle relative to the rotation axis, the first angle being approximately 90 degrees [Patterson: Fig 8 & 10].
Regarding claim 19. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 17, further comprising a second plurality of bristles provided on the curved radially outer surface of the outer ring, the second plurality of bristles extending in a direction away from the rotation axis and with a second angle relative to the rotation axis, the second angle being less than 90 degrees [Patterson: Fig 5, 8, & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; the bristles on 166 extend downward, away from 102 while the bristles on 168 above the connection of 166 and 168 extend outwardly from the rotation axis at 90 degrees to the bristles on 166].
Regarding claim 20. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 19, further comprising a third plurality of bristles provided on the curved radially outer surface of the outer ring, the third plurality of bristles extending in a direction away from the rotation axis and with a third angle relative to the rotation axis, the third angle being less than the second angle [Patterson: Fig 2, 5, 8, & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; Fig 2-5 show the details of 120 that is connected to 166 & 168; as particularly shown in Fig 5, 120 has bristles extending at a variety of different angles at the curved portion of 120 which corresponds to the connection between the horizontal component and the vertical component; 166 & 168 are the horizontal and vertical component in Fig 8 & 10 but use the same 120 therefore the same variety of bristle angles also is present].
Regarding claim 21. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, but is silent in regards to wherein the plurality of lobes includes three lobes.
However it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lobes as disclosed by Patterson as modified to have three lobes as pursuant of MPEP 2144.04-VI-B, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance absent of new and unexpected results produced by the claimed invention as compared to the prior art, it considered to be matters of design/engineering choice which a person skilled in the art would have found obvious.
Regarding claim 22. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the plurality of lobes are circumferentially evenly spaced about the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 8].
Regarding claim 23. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 22, wherein the inner segment and the outer segment of each of the plurality of lobes are angled relative to one another about a same circumferential direction about the rotation axis [Schregardus: Fig 6E].
Regarding claim 24. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the non-zero angle between the outer segment and the inner segment is equal to or greater than 100 degrees and equal to or lesser than 140 degrees [Schregardus: Fig 6E; ¶66; A3 is between 30-60 degrees plus 90 degrees would make the non-zero angle between the outer and inner segments between 120-150 degrees].
Regarding claim 25. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the proximal portion of at least one lobe of the plurality of lobes is oriented perpendicular to the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8].
Regarding claim 26. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the proximal portion of each of the lobes of the plurality of lobes is oriented perpendicular to the rotational axis [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8].
Regarding claim 27. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the brush head has an outer surface that is hemispherical in shape [Patterson: Fig 2, 5, 8, & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; Fig 2-5 show the details of 120 that is connected to 166 & 168; as particularly shown in Fig 5, 120 has a curved portion which corresponds to the connection between the horizontal component and the vertical component; 166 & 168 are the horizontal and vertical component in Fig 8 & 10 but use the same 120 therefore the curved portion on 168 would form a hemispherical shape as an outer surface of the brush head].
Regarding claim 29. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the attachment feature includes a ramp configured to engage a scrubber head [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8; ¶55 & ¶72; the end of 102 is press fit into 166 which would require the receiving hole in 166 to have a slightly smaller dimension than the shaft which would create a ramp as the shaft is inserted/press fit into the hole].
Regarding claim 30. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the angle of the inner segment relative to the outer segment is a non-zero angle that is less than 180 degrees [Schregardus: Fig 6E; ¶66; A3 is between 30-60 degrees plus 90 degrees would make the non-zero angle between the outer and inner segments between 120-150 degrees].
Regarding claim 33. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the rectilinear path extends through the central portion [Patterson: Fig 8].
Regarding claim 34. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the central portion is centered about the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 8], and the plurality of lobes extend radially outwardly from the central portion and the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 8].
Regarding claim 36. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the central portion, the plurality of lobes, and the outer ring together define a plurality of openings located radially inwardly from the outer ring [Patterson: Fig 8], wherein the plurality of openings define circumferential gaps between portions of the plurality of lobes [Patterson: Fig 8].
Claim(s) 14-27, 29-30, 33-34, & 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson et al. (US 20180242722) in view of Lee et al. (US D463965), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 14 (An alternative rejection). Patterson discloses a brush head [Fig 8; 100] comprising:
a central portion [Fig 5 & 8; ¶72; the portion of 166 that 102 connects to is the central portion],
an attachment feature [102] configured to secure the brush head for rotation about the rotation axis [Fig 4; ¶72],
a plurality of lobes [Fig 5 & 8; ¶72; 102 divides 166 in to two lobes] extending radially outwardly from the central portion [Fig 5, 8, & 10], the least one of the plurality of lobes extending along a rectilinear path [Fig 8; a straight path is a rectilinear path], the rectilinear path having an inner segment and an outer segment [Fig 8; one half of 166 can be divided into two parts an inner segment closer to 102 and an outer segment farthest from 102], wherein the outer segment is located radially outwardly from the inner segment [Fig 8], …, the at least one of the plurality of lobes having a proximal portion extending along the inner segment and a distal portion extending along the outer segment [Fig 8], the proximal portion defining an inner non-curved outer edge along one side of the at least one of the plurality of lobes, and the distal portion defining an outer non-curved outer edge along the one side of the at least one of the plurality of lobes [Fig 8; when each half of 166 is divided into an inner and an outer segment each segment has an non-curved outer edge]; and an outer ring extending circumferentially about the plurality of lobes and located radially outwardly from the plurality of lobes [Fig 8 & 10; ¶72; 168], with the distal portion of the at least one of the plurality of lobes coupled to the outer ring and the proximal portion located radially inwardly of the outer ring relative to the rotation axis [Fig 8 & 10; ¶72; 168 is a ring which is connected to the outer segments (distal portions) of the lobes].
Patterson is silent in regards to the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis.
However Lee teaches disk that can remove/clean dirt or other debris from a surface that teaches a disk with a central portion and an outer ring with a plurality of rectilinear lobes therebetween; the rectilinear lobes have inner segments and outer segments, wherein the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis [Figure 1 of this action; the inner and outer segments are angled relative to each other by non-zero angles measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis].
Figure 2
However the Applicant has not disclosed that having the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Accordingly, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lobes of Patterson to have the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis because the angle between the outer and inner segments do not appear to provide any unexpected results and Lee teaches lobes on rotating disk connecting a central portion to an outer ring can have inner and outer segments formed along a rectilinear paths with the outer segment being angled relative to the inner segment by a non-zero angle measured in a plane perpendicular to the rotation axis [Lee: Figure 1 of this action and Fig 3].
Regarding claim 15. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, further comprising a first bristle coupled to the proximal portion and a second bristle coupled to the distal portion [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8; ¶56 & ¶72; bristles (120) extend from both portions of the lobes].
Regarding claim 17. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, further comprising a bristle coupled to the outer ring [Patterson: Fig 8 & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; 120, which is bristles as disclosed in ¶56, is coupled to 166 & 168], wherein the bristle is one of a first plurality of bristles provided on a curved radially outer surface of the outer ring [Patterson: Fig 8 & 10], the first plurality of bristles extending away from the rotation axis and with a first angle relative to the rotation axis, the first angle being approximately 90 degrees [Patterson: Fig 8 & 10].
Regarding claim 19. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 17, further comprising a second plurality of bristles provided on the curved radially outer surface of the outer ring, the second plurality of bristles extending in a direction away from the rotation axis and with a second angle relative to the rotation axis, the second angle being less than 90 degrees [Patterson: Fig 5, 8, & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; the bristles on 166 extend downward, away from 102 while the bristles on 168 above the connection of 166 and 168 extend outwardly from the rotation axis at 90 degrees to the bristles on 166].
Regarding claim 20. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 19, further comprising a third plurality of bristles provided on the curved radially outer surface of the outer ring, the third plurality of bristles extending in a direction away from the rotation axis and with a third angle relative to the rotation axis, the third angle being less than the second angle [Patterson: Fig 2, 5, 8, & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; Fig 2-5 show the details of 120 that is connected to 166 & 168; as particularly shown in Fig 5, 120 has bristles extending at a variety of different angles at the curved portion of 120 which corresponds to the connection between the horizontal component and the vertical component; 166 & 168 are the horizontal and vertical component in Fig 8 & 10 but use the same 120 therefore the same variety of bristle angles also is present].
Regarding claim 21. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, but is silent in regards to wherein the plurality of lobes includes three lobes.
However it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lobes as disclosed by Patterson as modified to have three lobes as pursuant of MPEP 2144.04-VI-B, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance absent of new and unexpected results produced by the claimed invention as compared to the prior art, it considered to be matters of design/engineering choice which a person skilled in the art would have found obvious.
Regarding claim 22. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the plurality of lobes are circumferentially evenly spaced about the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 8].
Regarding claim 23. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 22, wherein the inner segment and the outer segment of each of the plurality of lobes are angled relative to one another about a same circumferential direction about the rotation axis [Lee: Figure 1 of this action & Fig 3].
Regarding claim 24. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the non-zero angle between the outer segment and the inner segment is equal to or greater than 100 degrees and equal to or lesser than 140 degrees.
However it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the angle between the outer and inner segments as taught by Patterson as modified to be equal to or greater than 100 degrees and equal to or lesser than 140 degrees since it has been held that "where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device" MPEP 2144.04-IV-A. In the instant case, the brush as taught by Patterson as modified would not operate differently with the claimed angle. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed in the specification (see ¶47 of the Applicant’s specification).
Regarding claim 25. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the proximal portion of at least one lobe of the plurality of lobes is oriented perpendicular to the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8].
Regarding claim 26. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the proximal portion of each of the lobes of the plurality of lobes is oriented perpendicular to the rotational axis [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8].
Regarding claim 27. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the brush head has an outer surface that is hemispherical in shape [Patterson: Fig 2, 5, 8, & 10; ¶56 & ¶72; Fig 2-5 show the details of 120 that is connected to 166 & 168; as particularly shown in Fig 5, 120 has a curved portion which corresponds to the connection between the horizontal component and the vertical component; 166 & 168 are the horizontal and vertical component in Fig 8 & 10 but use the same 120 therefore the curved portion on 168 would form a hemispherical shape as an outer surface of the brush head].
Regarding claim 29. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the attachment feature includes a ramp configured to engage a scrubber head [Patterson: Fig 5 & 8; ¶55 & ¶72; the end of 102 is press fit into 166 which would require the receiving hole in 166 to have a slightly smaller dimension than the shaft which would create a ramp as the shaft is inserted/press fit into the hole].
Regarding claim 30. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the angle of the inner segment relative to the outer segment is a non-zero angle that is less than 180 degrees [Claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24].
Regarding claim 33. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the rectilinear path extends through the central portion [Patterson: Fig 8].
Regarding claim 34. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the central portion is centered about the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 8], and the plurality of lobes extend radially outwardly from the central portion and the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 8].
Regarding claim 36. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, wherein the central portion, the plurality of lobes, and the outer ring together define a plurality of openings located radially inwardly from the outer ring [Patterson: Fig 8], wherein the plurality of openings define circumferential gaps between portions of the plurality of lobes [Patterson: Fig 8].
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson in view of Schregardus further in view of KR 20140003527, hereinafter KR27.
Regarding claim 31. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 19, wherein the second plurality of bristles is coupled to the curved radially outer surface of the outer ring along a … path extending circumferentially about the rotation axis[Patterson: Fig 2 & 5],….
Patterson as modified is silent in regards to the bristles coupled along a nonlinear path on the outer surface, and wherein the nonlinear path is a wave.
KR27 teaches a brush with the bristles coupled along a nonlinear, wave path on the outer surface [Fig 3; each row of bristles (14) extends in a nonlinear wave path]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second plurality of bristles as taught by Lee as modified to extend along a nonlinear path as taught by KR27 for the purpose of increasing the brush’s effectiveness for cleaning complex structures with cracks and crevasses [KR27: ¶8].
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson in view of Schregardus further in view of KR 20140003527, hereinafter KR27.
Regarding claim 31. It is rejected for the same reasons as above for claim 31.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson in view of Schregardus further in view of Prucha (US 2682675), hereinafter Prucha.
Regarding claim 37. Patterson as modified teaches the brush head of claim 14, further comprising a plurality of lobe bristles coupled to the plurality of lobes and a plurality of outer ring bristles coupled to the outer ring [Patterson: Fig 8 & 10], wherein the plurality of lobe bristles … each extend parallel to the rotation axis [Patterson: Fig 8].
Patterson as modified may not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of lobe bristles and the plurality of outer ring bristles each extend parallel to the rotation axis.
However Prucha teaches a brush wherein the plurality of lobe bristles [62] and the plurality of outer ring bristles [60] each extend parallel to the rotation axis [Fig 1-2 & 4].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer ring as taught by Patterson as modified to have the plurality of outer ring bristles each extend parallel to the rotation axis as taught by Prucha for the purposes of additional cleaning bristles cleaning in the same direction as the lobe bristles [Prucha: Fig 1-2 & 4].
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patterson in view of Lee further in view of Prucha (US 2682675), hereinafter Prucha.
Regarding claim 37. It is rejected for the same reasons as above for claim 37.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Rejection
Applicant's amendments and arguments regarding the 102 rejections, see Pages 6-10, filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the rejection of 6/17/2025 are withdrawn. However the amendments have raised new 102 rejection, see above.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 103 rejections, see Pages 11-13, filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant claims that Schregardus cannot be combined with Patterson because Schregardus teaches lobes that have multiple segments at relative angles to each other in two planes and the bristles of Schregardus are only at the end of the lobes.However Schregardus is only relied on to teach that lobes can be rectilinear to each other which Schregardus does teach. In arguendo another alternative rejection has been made, see above for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723