DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response
Applicant’s response, filed 06/29/2026, has been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are examined.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The rejection of claims 6 and 19 under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendments submitted.
The rejection of claims 1, 4, 10, 14, and 17 under 35 USC 103 over Poteet et al. in view of Bi et al. is withdrawn in view of the arguments submitted in Applicant’s Response filed 06/29/2026.
The rejection of claims 2, 3, 5-9, 12, 13, 15, 26, and 18-20 under 35 USC 103 over Poteet et al. in view of Bi et al. and further in view of Cui et al. is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 103 over Poteet et al. in view of Bi et al. and further in view of Lim et al. is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 06/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has therefore been considered. A signed copy of the IDS document is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to an abstract idea of mental steps, mathematic concepts, or a natural law without significantly more. The rejection is maintained from the previous Office Action.
The MPEP at MPEP 2106.03 sets forth steps for identifying eligible subject matter:
(1) Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of
matter?
(2A)(1) Are the claims directed to a judicially recognized exception, i.e. a law of nature,
a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
(2A)(2) If the claims are directed to a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the
judicial exception integrated into a practical application?
(2B) If the claims are directed to a judicial exception and do not integrate the judicial
exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept?
With respect to step (1): Yes, the claims are directed to a method and a machine-accessible non-transitory medium.
With respect to step (2A)(1): The claims are directed to an abstract idea of mathematical concepts.
“Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas (such as a mathematical formula or equation), natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection” (MPEP 2106.04). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships and mathematical calculations), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes (procedures for observing, evaluating, analyzing/judging and organizing information (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). Laws of nature or natural phenomena include naturally occurring principles/relations that are naturally occurring or that do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature (MPEP 2106(b)).
Mathematic concepts recited in claims 1 and 14:
performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output and the second emission spectral output to generate fused data
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-13, and 15-20 recite additional steps that either are directed to abstract ideas or further limit the judicial exceptions in independent claims 1 and 14, and as such, are further directed to abstract ideas. Hence, the claims explicitly recite numerous elements that individually and in combination constitute abstract ideas. The relevant recitations are:
Claims 2 and 15: “applying artificial intelligence (Al) of an Al module to the fused data to identify a coronavirus (CoV-2) in saliva from a panel of viruses of the sample”
Claims 3 and 16: “utilizing machine learning to extract absorption features from the first absorption spectral output; and utilizing machine learning to extract emission features from the second emission spectral output”
Claims 4 and 17: “performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output, the second emission spectral output, and third spectral output to generate fused data”
Claims 5 and 18: “wherein combining UV absorption and UV fluorescence to generate fused data in combination with machine learning allows measured concentrations down to approximately 103 copies/ml (viral load) range”
Claims 6 and 19: “simulating variation in the first absorption spectral output and the second emission spectral output due to different types of multiplicative and additive artificial noise to generate spectra; and performing feature extraction from the generated spectra and performing one or more unsupervised machine learning techniques to build a model”
Claims 7 and 20: “wherein the extracted features are represented as numerical vectors that encode salient information about each spectrum”
Claim 8: “wherein the extracted features are jointly combined and inputted into a neural network”
Claim 9: “developing a classifier using a weighted K-nearest neighbors (KNN) algorithm to predict an accuracy for virus detection as well as a confidence score for virus detection measurements”
Claim 11: “plotting two dimensions of principal component analysis (PCA) features that were extracted from original viral samples with each plot providing a visualization of each generated spectra's features plotted in a color for a type of virus family”
Claim 12: “determining whether a spectrum from a data sample is viable; and when the data sample is deemed viable, preprocessing is performed to characterize the data sample including quantifying a number of spectral channels, determining statistics of the spectrum that can be queried for analysis, and determining a signal-to-noise ratio for the spectrum; and identifying a targeted virus from a data set of known virus spectra”
Claim 13: “determining learned features from a self-supervised autoencoder, and from trained supervised networks”
The abstract ideas in the claims are evaluated under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined herein to each cover mathematic concepts because the claims recite no more than performing statistical analysis on spectroscopy data.
With respect to step (2A)(2): The claims must therefore be examined further to determine whether they integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). The claimed additional elements are analyzed alone or in combination to determine if the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).I.; MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the judicial exception, the claim fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).III).
Claims 1 and 14 recite the following additional elements that are not abstract ideas:
generating, with a first miniature UV absorption spectrometer of a multi-spectral optical device, a first absorption spectral output based on receiving an absorbance light channel from a sample
generating, with a second miniature UV fluorescence spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a second emission spectral output based on receiving an emission light channel from the sample
a machine-accessible non-transitory medium containing executable computer program instructions
The steps of generating the spectral outputs are directed to steps of data gathering as they gather the data on which the judicial exceptions are performed. Data gathering does not impose any meaningful limitation on the abstract idea, or how the abstract idea is performed. Data gathering steps are not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The element of a non-transitory storage medium is directed to generic computer elements. Hence, these are interpreted as mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, and therefore the claim does not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application. The courts have weighed in and consistently maintained that when, for example, a memory, display, processor, machine, etc. ... are recited so generically (i.e., no details are provided) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer, and these limitations may be viewed as nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Dependent claims 4, 10, and 17 are directed to further steps of data gathering or limitations as to how the data is gathered. Dependent claim 10 is further directed to outputting of the results of the judicial exceptions, thus an ancillary extra-solution step that does not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application.
None of these dependent claims recite additional elements, alone or in combination, which would integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Lastly, the claims have been evaluated with respect to step (2B): Because the claims recite an abstract idea, and do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application, the claims lack a specific inventive concept. Under said analysis, Applicant is reminded that the judicial exception alone cannot provide that inventive concept or practical application (MPEP 2106.05). Identifying whether the additional elements beyond the abstract idea amount to such an inventive concept requires considering the additional elements individually and in combination to determine if they provide significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.A i-vi).
With respect to the instant claims, the additional elements described above do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. As set forth in the MPEP at 2106.05(d)(I), determinations of whether or not additional elements (or a combination of additional elements) may provide significantly more and/or an inventive concept rests in whether or not the additional elements (or combination of elements) represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Said assessment is made by a factual determination stemming from a conclusion that an element (or combination of elements) is widely prevalent or in common use in the relevant industry, which is determined by either a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during prosecution that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
With respect to claims 1 and 14: The additional elements of generating with a miniature UV absorption spectrometer and a miniature UV fluorescence spectrometer, and a machine-accessible non-transitory medium do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. With respect to the non-transitory medium, as exemplified in the MPEP at 2106.05(f) with reference to Alice Corp. 573 US at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983 “claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible”. Therefore, the device constitutes no more than a general link to a technological environment, which is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP 2105(b)I-III). Furthermore, with respect to generating spectral output using miniature UV absorption and miniature UV fluorescence spectrometers, the prior art Hossain et al. (“Combined “dual” absorption and fluorescence smartphone spectrometers”, Optics Letters, published 2015) discloses a combined dual absorption and fluorescence smartphone spectrometer (Abstract), the prior art Malic et al. (“Integrated miniaturized optical detection platform for fluorescence and absorption spectroscopy”, Sensors and Actuators A: Physical, published April 2007) discloses a miniaturized optical detection system for sensing in microchannels allowing the implementation of both absorption and fluorescence measurements (Abstract), and the prior art Šesták et al. (“Compact optical detector utilizing light emitting diodes, 50nL L-shaped silica capillary cell and CCD spectrometer for simultaneous multi-wavelength monitoring of absorbance and fluorescence in microcolumn liquid chromatography”, Analytica Chimica Acta, published May 2020) discloses a compact optical detector for simultaneous monitoring of absorbance and fluorescence (Abstract). As such, it is recognized that these additional limitations are routine, well understood, and conventional in the art. These limitations do not improve the functioning of a computer, or comprise an improvement to any other technical field, they do not require or set forth a particular machine, they do not affect a transformation of matter, nor do they provide a non-conventional or unconventional step. As such, these limitations fail to rise to the level of significantly more.
With respect to claims 4 and 17: The additional element of generating, with a third miniature UV reflectance spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a third spectral output based on the sample does not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. The prior art to Bacon et al. (“Miniature spectroscopic instrumentation: Applications to biology and chemistry”, Review of Scientific Instruments”, published January 2004) discloses that there are dozens of commercial spectrometers available and discloses that miniature spectrophotometers are being used in the field for on-site chemical analysis (page 1, column 1, paragraph 1). Bacon et al. also teaches that bench top spectrophotometers have been used extensively in chemistry and biology laboratories for decades and that biological applications of spectroscopy include absorption, fluorescence, and reflectance measurements of biological samples (page 6, column 1, Section A). Bacon et al. also teaches prior art examples of a handheld probe measuring fluorescence and reflectance (page 8, column 2, paragraph 3), an online process stream for measuring fluorescence, absorbance, and reflectance (page 10, column 1, Section 1), and further examples of monitoring spectral reflectance or fluorescence and reflectance (page 11). As such, it is recognized that these additional limitations are routine, well understood, and conventional in the art. These limitations do not improve the functioning of a computer, or comprise an improvement to any other technical field, they do not require or set forth a particular machine, they do not affect a transformation of matter, nor do they provide a non-conventional or unconventional step. As such, these limitations fail to rise to the level of significantly more.
With respect to claim 10: The additional elements of output an identification of a pathogen or virus in the sample, wherein the multi-spectral optical device is a handheld multi-spectral optical device, and wherein the absorbance light channel passes through a linear UV filter to the first miniature UV absorption spectrometer having a linear UV detector do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. The prior art to Bacon et al. discloses that bench top spectrophotometers have been used extensively in chemistry and biology laboratories for decades and that biological applications of spectroscopy include absorption, fluorescence, and reflectance measurements of biological samples (page 6, column 1, Section A) and discloses that linearity is an important characteristic of a photodetector (page 3, column 1 paragraph 5) and that optical filters are regularly employed as the component for wavelength selectivity and that optical filters are categorized as either absorptive or interference (page 3, column 2, Section 1). As such, it is recognized that these additional limitations are routine, well understood, and conventional in the art. These limitations do not improve the functioning of a computer, or comprise an improvement to any other technical field, they do not require or set forth a particular machine, they do not affect a transformation of matter, nor do they provide a non-conventional or unconventional step. As such, these limitations fail to rise to the level of significantly more.
In combination, the collection or generation of the data, acted upon by the judicial exception, fail to rise to the level of significantly more. The data gathering steps provide the data for the judicial exception. No non-routine step or element has clearly been identified.
The claims have all been examined to identify the presence of one or more judicial exceptions. Each additional limitation in the claims has been addressed, alone and in combination, to determine whether the additional limitations integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Each additional limitation in the claims has been addressed, alone and in combination, to determine whether those additional limitations provide an inventive concept which provides significantly more than those exceptions. Individually, the limitations of the claims and the claims as a whole have been found lacking.
Response to Arguments
Applicant states “The rejection identifies ‘performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output and the second emission spectral output to generate fused data’ as a mathematical concept. That characterization is overbroad because the claims do not recite a mathematical formula, an equation, or a standalone calculation. The data fusion is inseparable from the claimed physical acquisition of two different spectra generated by two different miniature UV spectrometers from optical interactions with a real sample. The claimed process therefore is not one that can practically be performed in the human mind; a human mind is not equipped to generate UV absorption spectral output and UV fluorescence emission spectral output from absorbance and emission light channels of a sample using the claimed miniature spectrometers. […] The specification confirms that the claims are directed to a concrete spectroscopic detection architecture, not to analysis of information in the abstract. The application describes the field as chemical detection, inspection, and classification, including pathogen detection with an optical instrument, and explain that a ‘radical new spectroscopy architecture’ integrates two or more miniaturized spectrometer optical components into one instrument, performs multimodal data fusion on different types of spectra, and uses machine learning for patter recognition and identification. […] The disclosed EPS system includes multiple spectrometers that each generate a respective spectrum output, together with a data fusion component and machine learning for pattern recognition and data treatment. [..] Thus, under a proper broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims as a whole are directed to a particular multispectral optical measurement process rather than an abstract mathematical idea.”
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. The step of performing data fusion is a standalone calculation. As described in paragraph [0033] of the specification, the data fusion step is an algorithm, and thus a mathematical calculation to fuse the spectral data outputs. Furthermore, the 101 analysis is not interpreting the data fusion step as a mental process, thus arguments that it is not feasible to fuse the data in the human mind are not persuasive. Additionally, one could, using a pencil and paper, plot spectral outputs in one graph using one’s mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.B). The spectrometers are not interpreted as judicial exceptions, but what is done with the data is. Thus, the spectroscopy serves as data gathering for the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC 101 is maintained.
Applicant states that “the claims integrate that alleged idea into a practical application. The Examiner characterizes the spectrometer limitations as mere data gathering, but the recited spectrometers and light channels are not generic pre-solution activity. They define the specific technological environment and measurement architecture in which the alleged fusion occurs: a multi-spectral optical device that obtains complementary UV absorption and UV fluorescence information from a sample and fuses those particular spectral outputs to improve detection. The specification expressly ties this architecture to a technical improvement in spectroscopy-based detection. It explains that the new spectrometer architecture combines at least two spectral processes, fully integrated with multimodal data fusion and embedded AI into one handheld unit, to identify and quantify a targeted substance with high sensitivity and accuracy against a complex background, including concentrations that would not be possible with a single spectroscopy. […] The disclosed UVF/UVA EPS system for viral detection includes a UV source/cassette, a sample holder, a UV absorbance channel, and a UV fluorescent emission channel, with the channels passing through UV filters to respective spectrometers. […] The application further states that multispectral EPS integrating two spectroscopic techniques can detect and identify CoV-2 with high sensitivity and fidelity, and that combining UV absorption and UV fluorescence with data fusion and machine learning enables measurement down to about 10^3 copies/ml viral load. […] These are practical, technology-rooted improvements in optical detection, sensitivity, and classification of complex samples. The claims therefore are analogous to claims that apply data processing in a specific technological process to improve a technical field, rather than claims that merely instruct a generic computer to apply an abstract idea. See Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187-88 (1981); Enfish, LLc v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016).”
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. In the independent claims, the architecture of an embedded AI in the handheld unit is not included and neither is the identification or quantification of a target substance, or the specific structure described. The claims require emission spectral outputs. These generate the data on which the judicial exceptions are performed. Data gathering does not impose any meaningful limitation on the abstract idea, or how the abstract idea is performed. Data gathering steps are not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Furthermore, identification of a virus, etc. is not necessarily a practical application as this can also be broadly interpreted as an abstract idea to identify a virus in a sample based on data. The claims are directed to performing an analysis and using algorithms to identify patterns in data. The instant claims are not analogous to Diamond v. Diehr because the invention of Diamon v. Diehr has a clear practical application of opening a rubber press to correctly cure the rubber. The instant claims do not comprise a step wherein the result of the judicial exception is used in such a practical way. For a practical application, the additional elements must implement the judicial exceptions beyond just an extra-solution step (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The instant claims are also not analogous to Enfish because in Enfish there was a clear improvement to the functioning of a computer through faster searching and more efficient storage. The fusion of the spectral data in the instant claims is not providing an improvement to the multi-spectral optical device itself. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC 101 is maintained.
Furthermore, Applicant states that “The claims also recite significantly more than the alleged abstract idea. The Office Action relies on Sandhu et a. as allegedly showing that commercial UV sensors, wearable UV exposure meters, and fused readings from multiple sensors were well-understood, routine, and convention. That citation does not establish that Applicant’s claimed multispectral pathogen-detection architecture was widely prevalent or in common use in the relevant industry. At most, Sandhu et al. is cited for UV exposure meters and sensor readings from multiple sensors being fused. The cited disclosure is not a factual showing that a device including miniature UV absorption and miniature UV fluorescence spectrometers, generating absorption and emission spectral outputs from corresponding light channels of a sample, and fusing those modality-specific spectra within a multispectral optical device for enhanced detection was well-understood, routine, and convention. The distinction is material. The specification describes data fusion between absorption and emission spectral collected with the spectrometers for the purpose of improving virus detection and identification with higher accuracy and confidence than using either spectral modality alone. […] The specification further explains that the fused absorption and emission features may be jointly combined and input to a neural network to make a virus-identification decision and may improve auxiliary tasks such as viral-load concentration determination. […] These teachings show a specific, integrated multispectral measurement and analysis pipeline that improves the capabilities of the spectrometer, not a generic instruction to fuse arbitrary sensor readings.”
It is respectfully submitted that this is not persuasive. While it is acknowledged that the disclose of Sandhu does not provide sufficient evidence that the claimed combination of a miniature UV absorption and a miniature UV fluorescence spectrometer is convention, based on a search of the prior art, this architecture does not appear to provide an inventive concept. The prior art Hossain et al. (“Combined “dual” absorption and fluorescence smartphone spectrometers”, Optics Letters, published 2015) discloses a combined dual absorption and fluorescence smartphone spectrometer (Abstract), the prior art Malic et al. (“Integrated miniaturized optical detection platform for fluorescence and absorption spectroscopy”, Sensors and Actuators A: Physical, published April 2007) discloses a miniaturized optical detection system for sensing in microchannels allowing the implementation of both absorption and fluorescence measurements (Abstract), and the prior art Šesták et al. (“Compact optical detector utilizing light emitting diodes, 50nL L-shaped silica capillary cell and CCD spectrometer for simultaneous multi-wavelength monitoring of absorbance and fluorescence in microcolumn liquid chromatography”, Analytica Chimica Acta, published May 2020) discloses a compact optical detector for simultaneous monitoring of absorbance and fluorescence (Abstract). It is the additional elements that are examined to determine if there is an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05.A i-vi). Thus, the pathogen detection and data fusion are not considered under Step 2B as these are abstract ideas and not additional elements. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC 101 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Šesták et al. (“Compact optical detector utilizing light emitting diodes, 50nL L-shaped silica capillary cell and CCD spectrometer for simultaneous multi-wavelength monitoring of absorbance and fluorescence in microcolumn liquid chromatography”, Analytica Chimica Acta, published May 2020). This is a new ground of rejection.
Regarding claim 1, Šesták et al. teaches a method comprising:
Šesták et al. teaches a compact optical detector equipped with two different LEDs for absorbance measurements and two LEDs for fluorescence excitation. Šesták et al. teaches that this setup is capable of simultaneous multi-wavelength monitoring of absorbance and fluorescence when light produced by the individual LEDs and light emitted by the fluorescence analytes is resolved in the spectrum output by the CCD spectrometer (Abstract). Šesták et al. teaches a fusion of the spectral outputs (Graphical Abstract; page 2, column 2, Section 2.3, paragraph 4; Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Šesták et al., as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above, in view of Cui et al. (“Advancing Biosensors with Machine Learning”, ACS Sensors, published 2020, cited in prior Office Action). This is a new ground of rejection.
Regarding claim 14, Šesták et al. teaches a compact optical detector equipped with two different LEDs for absorbance measurements and two LEDs for fluorescence excitation. Šesták et al. teaches that this setup is capable of simultaneous multi-wavelength monitoring of absorbance and fluorescence when light produced by the individual LEDs and light emitted by the fluorescence analytes is resolved in the spectrum outputted by the CCD spectrometer (Abstract). Šesták et al. teaches a fusion of the spectral outputs (Graphical Abstract; page 2, column 2, Section 2.3, paragraph 4; Figure 4).
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim elements of a machine-accessible non-transitory medium containing executable computer program instruction which when executed by a handheld optical device cause the handheld optical device to perform a method.
However, Cui et al. teaches advancing biosensors with machine learning. Cui et al. teaches that biosensors have the advantages of speed, low cost, nondestructive property, and on-site detection, with having been used extensively in fundamental bioresearch and disease diagnostics. Cui et al. teaches that machine learning enables biosensors to become intelligent biosensors that can automatically predict species or concentration of analytes based on a decision system (page 3346, column 1). Thus, because Cui et al. is teaching a biosensor with a machine learning decision system, it inherently teaches a machine-accessible non-transitory medium containing program instructions for the biosensor to perform a method.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the claims are directed to applying artificial intelligence (AI) of an AI module to the fused data to identify a coronavirus (CoV-2) in saliva from a panel of viruses of the sample. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches the medium of claim 14 in view of Cui et al.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim elements of applying AI of an AI module to the fused data to identifying a coronavirus in saliva from a panel of viruses of the sample.
However, Cui et al. teaches applying AI to spectroscopy data, including spectra-based biosensors and fluorescence biosensors, and discussed multibiosensor data fusion (Abstract). Furthermore, Cui et al. teaches coupling physiological data with state-of-the-art machine learning techniques will create a valuable platform to detect COVID-19 infection (page 3353, column 2, paragraph 2), and teaches machine learning being employed in the biosensor field as a tool for data processing and analysis such as extracting features or predicting the species and concentration of the analytes (page 3348, Section “Various ML Algorithms and their Merits for Biosensors”, paragraph 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the claims are directed to utilizing machine learning to extract absorption features from the first absorption spectral output; and utilizing machine learning to extract emission features from the second emission spectral output. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches the medium of claim 14 in view of Cui et al.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim elements of utilizing machine learning to extract absorption features from the first absorption spectral output; and utilizing machine learning to extract emission features from the second emission spectral output.
However, Cui et al. teaches machine learning being a system or computer program capable of acquiring knowledge by extracting features from raw data (page 3348, Section “Various ML Algorithms and their Merits for Biosensors”, paragraph 1) and teaches applications of machine learning models such as a KNN to fluorescence based biosensors to extract small features (Table 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the claims are directed to combining UV absorption and UV fluorescence to generate fused data in combination with machine learning allowing measured concentrations down to approximately 103 copies/ml (viral load) range. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches the medium of claim 14 in view of Cui et al. Šesták et al. teaches detection of molecules down to micromolar concentrations (Abstract).
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim element of combining UV absorption and UV fluorescence to generate fused data in combination with machine learning allowing measured concentrations down to approximately 103 copies/ml (viral load) range.
However, Cui et al. teaches the machine learning allowing for identification and pattern recognition (page 3347, column 2, paragraph 1). Although Cui et al. does not specifically teach the element of measuring viral concentrations down to 103 copies/ml, the combined references that teach the instant claim limitations in combination would allow to measure a viral load concentration of 103 copies/ml, and thus would be prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, the claims are directed to simulating variation in the first absorption spectral output and the second emission spectral output due to different types of multiplicative and additive artificial noise to generate spectra; and performing feature extraction from the generated spectra and performing one or more unsupervised machine learning techniques to build a model. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches the medium of claim 14 in view of Cui et al. Šesták et al. discusses different prior art examples where noise was reduced via use of software averaging (page 81, column 1, paragraph 2) and teaches spectrum smoothing by application of digital filter and spectra averaging as two different ways of the spectrum noise suppression (page 85, column 1, paragraph 2).
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim element of performing feature extraction from the generated spectra and performing unsupervised machine learning techniques such as principal component analysis (PCA) to build a model.
However, Cui et al. teaches training machine learning models to distinguish the actual signal from the noise (page 3347, column 2, paragraph 1), teaches using an autoencoder to de-noise or reduce dimensionality (page 3348, column 2, paragraph 2), and teaches using PCA to build a model to extract features of data (page 3357, column 1, paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the claims are directed to the extracted features being represented as numerical vectors that encode salient information about each spectrum. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 6 and the non-transitory medium of claim 19 in view of Cui et al.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim element of extracted features being represented as numerical vectors that encode salient information about each spectrum.
However, Cui et al. teaches extracted features of data being represented as numerical vectors (page 3352, column 2, paragraph 1; page 3353, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is directed to the extracted features being jointly combined and inputted into a neural network. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 7 in view of Cui et al.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim element of extracted features being jointly combined and inputted into a neural network.
However, Cui et al. teaches using a kNN for application of fluorescent based biosensors, wherein the input is features extracted from the data (Table 1) and teaches using CNNs with features extracted from spectral data being the input, wherein the data can be preprocessed using PCA (page 3351, column 2, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is directed to developing a classifier using a weighted K-nearest neighbors (KNN) algorithm to predict an accuracy for virus detection as well as a confidence score for virus detection measurements. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim element of developing a classifier using a weighted K-nearest neighbors (KNN) algorithm to predict an accuracy for virus detection as well as a confidence score for virus detection measurements.
However, Cui et al. teaches 100% pattern recognition accuracy for kNN with the application of fluorescent spectra (Table 2),
Regarding claim 10, the claim is directed to outputting, with the multi-spectral optical device, an identification of a pathogen or virus in the sample, based on using fused data wherein the muti-spectral optical device is a handheld multi-spectral optical device, wherein the absorbance light channel passes through a linear UV filter to the first miniature UV absorption spectrometer having a linear UV detector. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1. Šesták et al. also teaches a compact design for absorbance and fluorescence (Abstract) and teaches other prior art example of a hand-held photometer (page 81, column 1, paragraph 2). Šesták et al. teaches that prior art examples require the use of optical filters to achieve linearity but teaches that their device does not require the use of optical filter (page 81, column 2). Šesták et al. teaches a linear array (page 82, column 2, Section 2.3), and observance of linear ranges (page 86, Section 3.4).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is directed to determining whether a spectrum from a data sample is viable; and when the data sample is deemed viable, preprocessing being performed to characterize the data sample including quantifying a number of spectral channels, determining statistics of the spectrum that can be queries for analysis, and determining a signal-to-noise ratio for the spectrum; and identifying a targeted virus from a data set of known virus spectra. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1. Šesták et al. teaches determining a signal-to-noise ratio from the spectrum (Figure 4, SNR).
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim elements of determining whether a spectrum from a data sample is viable; and when the data sample is deemed viable, preprocessing being performed to characterize the data sample including quantifying a number of spectral channels, determining statistics of the spectrum that can be queries for analysis, and identifying a targeted virus from a data set of known virus spectra.
However, Cui et al. teaches that machine learning can be used to analyze the raw sensing data from a biosensor through categorization so that the sensing signals can be sorted into various categories based on the target analyze, anomaly detection, and noise reduction (page 3347, column 1, Section How ML Can Benefit Biosensors). Cui et al. teaches preprocessing of data through compression, elimination of baseline drifts, normalization, transformation, and so forth (page 3348, column 2, paragraph 2). Cui et al. teaches the four-color spaces of the colorimetric biosensor and teaches determining the color changes within the channels of the different color spaces and teaches determining differentiability and sensitivity (page 3355, column 2, paragraph 2). Furthermore, Cui et al. teaches application of machine learning in biosensors to improve the signal-to-noise ratio for single molecule, single particle, or single cell detection (page 3357, column 2, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is directed to determining learned features from a self-supervised autoencoder, and from trained supervised networks. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim elements of determining learned features from a self-supervised autoencoder, and from trained supervised networks.
However, Cui et al. teaches applying an autoencoder to denoise and reduce dimensionality of data (page 3348, column 2, paragraph 2), and teaches trained supervised networks having achieved great progress for spectrometric biosensors (page 3348, column 1, paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the machine learning aspects of Cui et al. to the method of Šesták et al. because both Šesták et al. and Cui et al. are directed to spectroscopy systems (see Abstract of both). Šesták et al. is directed to a multi-spectral setup that is simple, compact, and can be easily operated (Abstract). Cui et al. teaches that biosensors have the advantages of speed, low cost, nondestructive property, and on-site detection, with having been used extensively in fundamental bioresearch and disease diagnostics. Cui et al. teaches that machine learning enables biosensors to become intelligent biosensors that can automatically predict species or concentration of analytes based on a decision system (page 3346, column 1). Thus, one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of using the multi-spectral system with integrated computing for machine learning and would be motivated to do so in order to easily operate a low cost biosensor to use for on-site detection for disease diagnostics.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Šesták et al., as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above in view of Hug et al. (“Improved sensing using simultaneous deep-UV Raman and fluorescence detection-II”, CBRNE Sensing, published May 2014).
The claim is directed to generating, with a third miniature UV reflectance spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a third spectral output based on the sample; and performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output, the second emission spectral output, and third spectral output to generate fused data. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim elements of a third miniature UV reflectance spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a third spectral output based on the sample; and performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output, the second emission spectral output, and third spectral output to generate fused data.
However, Hug et al. teaches improved sensing using simultaneous deep-UV Raman and fluorescence detection. Hug et al. teaches the development of next generation sensors to improve the spectral resolution for both Raman and fluorescence emissions as well as to reduce the size and weight of the overall sensor package (page 7, Section 6) and teaches results demonstrated the ability to obtain both Raman and fluorescence spectra from a wide range of materials using existing commercial lasers and detector compatible with hand-held or small arm mounted robotic operations (page 10, Section 7, paragraph 2). Hug et al. teaches a fused combination of Raman and fluorescence spectroscopy to increase the probability of detection and reduce the probability of false detection compared to other miniature sensor methods (page 1, Section 1), and fusing of the spectral outputs of both the fluorescence and reflectance detectors (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the miniature reflectance spectrometer to the multi-spectral optical device of Šesták et al. because Šesták et al. is directed to a miniature combination of spectrometers (Abstract) and Hug et al. is directed to simultaneous detection of reflectance and fluorescence (Abstract) and teaches the ability to obtain both Raman and fluorescence spectra from a wide range of materials using existing commercial lasers and detector compatible with hand-held or small arm mounted robotic operations (page 10, Section 7, paragraph 2). Hug et al. teaches a fused combination of Raman and fluorescence spectroscopy to increase the probability of detection and reduce the probability of false detection compared to other miniature sensor methods (page 1, Section 1). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success of a miniature device with absorbance, fluorescence, and reflectance spectrometers, and would be motivated to do so in order to increase the probability of detection and reduce the probability of false detections.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Šesták et al., as applied to claim 1, in view of Lim et al. (“Identification of Newly Emerging Influenza Viruses by Detecting the Virally Infected Cells Based on Surface Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy and Principal Component Analysis”, Analytical Chemistry, published 2019, cited in prior Office Action).
The claim is directed to plotting two dimensions of PCA features that were extracted from original viral samples with each plot providing visualization of each generated spectra’s features plotted in a color for a type of virus family. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 1.
Šesták et al. does not teach the claim element of plotting two dimensions of PCA features that were extracted from original viral samples with each plot providing visualization of each generated spectra’s features plotted in a color for a type of virus family.
However, Lim et al. teaches the identification of influenza viruses in cells using Raman spectroscopy and PCA features (Abstract). Lim et al. teaches two dimensionally plotting PCA features of viral samples wherein the features are color coordinated for each virus type, either the influenza virus or the newly emerging influenza virus (Figure 1). Lim et al. teaches PCA allowing for comparison of spectra as a whole between cells infected by different types of viruses and systemically extracting the key features of the spectra corresponding to each type of virus and finally successfully distinguishing cell infected by different strains (page 5679, column 1, paragraph 1)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the plotting of the PCA features of Lim et al. to the method of Šesták et al. because Šesták et al. is directed to an easy and efficient device to use for separation of mixed analytes (Abstract) and Lim et al. is directed to use of spectroscopy for identifying influenza viruses (Abstract). Lim et al. teaches that rapid diagnosis of influenza virus mutant-infected people is critical (Abstract) and that the use of PCA allows the extraction of key features of the spectral outputs (page 5679, column 1, paragraph 1). Thus, one would have a reasonable expectation of success of using the miniature multi-spectral optical device of Šesták et al. in diagnosis viral diseases because of its efficient and simplistic structure and would be motivated to use PCA in order to diagnose samples because PCA is able to extract key features from the spectral outputs.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Šesták et al. in view of Cui et al., as applied to claims 2, 3, 5-10, 12-16, are 18-20, and further in view of Hug et al.
The claim is directed to generating, with a third miniature UV reflectance spectrometer, a third spectral output based on the sample; and performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output, the second emission spectral output, and third spectral output to generate fused data. Šesták et al. teaches the method of claim 14 in view of Cui et al.
Neither Šesták et al. nor Cui et al. teach the claim elements of generating, with a third miniature UV reflectance spectrometer, a third spectral output based on the sample; and performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output, the second emission spectral output, and third spectral output to generate fused data.
However, Hug et al. teaches improved sensing using simultaneous deep-UV Raman and fluorescence detection. Hug et al. teaches the development of next generation sensors to improve the spectral resolution for both Raman and fluorescence emissions as well as to reduce the size and weight of the overall sensor package (page 7, Section 6) and teaches results demonstrated the ability to obtain both Raman and fluorescence spectra from a wide range of materials using existing commercial lasers and detector compatible with hand-held or small arm mounted robotic operations (page 10, Section 7, paragraph 2). Hug et al. teaches a fused combination of Raman and fluorescence spectroscopy to increase the probability of detection and reduce the probability of false detection compared to other miniature sensor methods (page 1, Section 1), and fusing of the spectral outputs of both the fluorescence and reflectance detectors (Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the miniature reflectance spectrometer to the multi-spectral optical device of Šesták et al. in view of Cui et al. because Šesták et al. is directed to a miniature combination of spectrometers (Abstract) and Hug et al. is directed to simultaneous detection of reflectance and fluorescence (Abstract) and teaches the ability to obtain both Raman and fluorescence spectra from a wide range of materials using existing commercial lasers and detector compatible with hand-held or small arm mounted robotic operations (page 10, Section 7, paragraph 2). Hug et al. teaches a fused combination of Raman and fluorescence spectroscopy to increase the probability of detection and reduce the probability of false detection compared to other miniature sensor methods (page 1, Section 1). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success of a miniature device with absorbance, fluorescence, and reflectance spectrometers, and would be motivated to do so in order to increase the probability of detection and reduce the probability of false detections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are considered but are moot as new grounds of rejection have been set forth.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 10, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12487178. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims limitations are obvious over the Patent’s Specification. Any newly recited portion is necessitated by claim amendments.
Instant Claims
Patent ‘178
Claim
Limitations
Claim
Limitations
1, 14
A method comprising: generating, with a first miniature UV absorption spectrometer of a multi-spectral optical device, a first absorption spectral output based on receiving an absorbance light channel from a sample; generating, with a second miniature UV fluorescence spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a second emission spectral output based on receiving an emission light channel from the sample; and performing, with the multi-spectral optical device, data fusion between the first absorption spectral output and the second emission spectral output to generate fused data.
1
A method for multi-spectral analysis comprising: providing two or more separate and independent types of spectroscopies with a spectrometer system, the spectrometer system providing at least a first spectroscopy with a first miniature spectrometer and at least a second spectroscopy with a second miniature spectrometer to examine a fluid after that fluid has passed through one or more sample preparation processes to increase a purity of a target biological entity in the fluid to enhance signal to noise ratios in measurements and related data analysis operations performed by the spectrometer system; generating, with the first miniature spectrometer, a first absorption spectral output signal based on the fluid; generating, with the second miniature spectrometer, a second emission spectral output signal based on the fluid; performing a data fusion with the first absorption spectral output signal and the second emission spectral output signal to generate output data
5
wherein the first miniature spectrometer comprises a first miniature UV absorption spectrometer and the second miniature spectrometer comprises a second miniature UV fluorescence spectrometer
3, 16
utilizing machine learning to extract absorption features from the first absorption spectral output; and utilizing machine learning to extract emission features from the second emission spectral output
11
wherein the processing system is further configured to generate multiple independent spectra during a single analysis corresponding to each of multiple spectroscopies, and wherein the multiple spectra are treated by one or more of the following to develop a pre-processed data set: summing of the multiple spectra generated by each of the multiple spectroscopies separately to achieve a single multi-dimensional spectrum corresponding to each of the spectroscopies and having a lower signal-to-noise ratio than corresponding original spectra, wherein the single multi-dimensional spectrum includes extracted characteristic features from the multiple independent spectra; truncating averaged spectra to include specific frequency ranges of interest for the first and second spectra wherein a type of wavelength selection process is done before and after data collections; smoothing and reduction of data sets by using one or more curve-fitting techniques; smoothing and reduction of data sets by using signal processing techniques; normalizing data sets as needed, by one or more of the parameters from the curve-fitting, and normalizing input into a machine learning model; developing a reduced set of characteristic parameters for each data set to compare with future measurements producing data sets as inputs to signal processing algorithms and machine learning models that are developed to be used as pre-determination of target molecules; and utilizing training sets and machine learning models to match a new sample with a known set by normalizing data sets to a specific machine learning model, replacing the normalized data sets by set of parameters generated by curve-fitting, and using the fit-parameters as input into other machine learning models
4, 17
generating, with a third miniature UV reflectance spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a third spectral output based on the sample; and performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output, the second emission spectral output, and third spectral output to generate fused data
10
a third miniature spectrometer of to provide a third spectroscopy to generate a spectral reflectance output signal based on spectral reflectance properties of a particle of interest in the fluid, wherein the processing system performs data fusion with the absorption spectral output signal, the emission spectral output signal and the spectral reflectance output signal
10
output, with the multi-spectral optical device, an identification of a pathogen or virus in the sample, based on using fused data wherein the multi-spectral optical device is a handheld multi-spectral optical device, wherein the absorbance light channel passes through a linear UV filter to the first miniature UV absorption spectrometer having a linear UV detector
1
the spectrometer system providing at least a first spectroscopy with a first miniature spectrometer and at least a second spectroscopy with a second miniature spectrometer
2
generating, with one or more additional miniature spectrometers one or more additional spectral outputs based on the fluid; and utilizing spectral filters at a location of input optical energy of the spectrometer system with wavelengths to excite emissions and induce absorption in molecules of the target biological entity
Although the claims of patent ‘178 are silent with regard to a non-transitory medium, the Specification of the patent discloses in column 11, line 18 that the multi-spectral detection system may comprise a data storage system including a machine-accessible non-transitory medium on which is stored one or more sets of instructions. Thus, it would be obvious to include a non-transitory storage medium comprising stored instructions to perform the method.
Furthermore, although the claims of patent ‘178 are silent with regard to the device being handheld as recited in claim 10, the claims do recite the limitation that the spectrometers are miniature, and the Specification of the patent discloses in column 3, line 66, that any of the spectrometer system can be handheld miniature spectrometer systems.
Claims 1-4, 10, and 14-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12292376. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims limitations are obvious over the Patent’s Specification. Any newly recited portion is necessitated by claim amendments.
Instant Claims
Patent ‘376
Claim
Limitations
Claim
Limitations
1, 14
A method comprising: generating, with a first miniature UV absorption spectrometer of a multi-spectral optical device, a first absorption spectral output based on receiving an absorbance light channel from a sample; generating, with a second miniature UV fluorescence spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a second emission spectral output based on receiving an emission light channel from the sample; and performing, with the multi-spectral optical device, data fusion between the first absorption spectral output and the second emission spectral output to generate fused data.
1
A miniature multi-spectral system comprising: a first Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) miniature spectrometer to generate a first spectral output based on receiving a first light channel from a sample; a second miniature spectrometer to generate a second spectral output based on receiving a second light channel from the sample; a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) infrared (IR) light source for the first FTIR miniature spectrometer; a movable FTIR beamsplitter for a sample Fourier scan; a beamsplitter actuator to move the movable FTIR beamsplitter by a distance d1; and one or more processors coupled to the first and the second miniature spectrometers, wherein the one or more processors is configured to execute instructions to perform data fusion of the first and second spectral outputs, to generate fused data and to apply artificial intelligence (AI) of an AI module to the fused data to identify a pathogen, biomarker, or any compound from the sample.
5
wherein the first miniature spectrometer and the second miniature spectrometer comprise two of a UV Fluorescence spectrometer, a UV absorption/reflection spectrometer, a near-IR (NIR) spectrometer, a Raman spectrometer, or Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) spectrometer
2, 15
applying artificial intelligence (Al) of an Al module to the fused data to identify a coronavirus (CoV-2) in saliva from a panel of viruses of the sample
1
apply artificial intelligence (AI) of an AI module to the fused data to identify a pathogen, biomarker, or any compound from the sample
3, 16
utilizing machine learning to extract absorption features from the first absorption spectral output; and utilizing machine learning to extract emission features from the second emission spectral output
1
apply artificial intelligence (AI) of an AI module to the fused data to identify a pathogen, biomarker, or any compound from the sample
4, 17
generating, with a third miniature UV reflectance spectrometer of the multi-spectral optical device, a third spectral output based on the sample; and performing data fusion between the first absorption spectral output, the second emission spectral output, and third spectral output to generate fused data
6
further comprising: a third miniature spectrometer to generate a third spectral output based on the sample
7
wherein the third miniature spectrometer comprises a Raman spectrometer or a Fourier Transform Infrared (FTIR) spectrometer
10
output, with the multi-spectral optical device, an identification of a pathogen or virus in the sample, based on using fused data wherein the multi-spectral optical device is a handheld multi-spectral optical device, wherein the absorbance light channel passes through a linear UV filter to the first miniature UV absorption spectrometer having a linear UV detector
10
wherein the miniature multi-spectral system is a handheld optical instrument for optical detection
Although the claims of patent ‘376 are silent with regard to a claimed non-transitory medium, the Specification of the patent discloses in column 6, line 50, that Figure 5 illustrates a diagrammatic representation of a machine in the exemplary form of a computer system or device within which a set of instructions for causing the machine to performing the method may be executed and column 7, line 5, discloses this exemplary device comprises RAM. Thus, it would be obvious to store executable code in order to perform the given method on a computer storage device.
Furthermore, although the claims of patent ‘376 are silent with regard to the identification of CoV-2, as recited in the instant claims 2 and 15, the Specification of the patent discloses in column 8, line 34, that the methodology allows for detecting and characterizing of pathogens, in particular SARS-COV2 in bodily fluid. Thus, is would be obvious to use the methodology to identify SARS-COV2 in a sample.
Furthermore, although the claims of patent ‘376 are silent with regard to the absorbance light channel passing through a linear UV filter to the first miniature UV absorption spectrometer having a linear UV detector, as recited in claim 10, the Specification of the patent discloses in column 4, line 58, that the system for viral detection includes a UV absorbance channel, wherein the channel passes through a linear UV filter to a spectrometer having a linear UV detector.
Response to Arguments
Applicant requests that the non-statutory double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until the claims have been found to be allowable.
It is respectfully submitted that the double patenting rejections may not be held abeyance, as a filing of a terminal disclaimer or a filing that the claims are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of claims. Only compliance with an objection or requirement as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. See MPEP 804.I.B.1.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/E.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/OLIVIA M. WISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1685