DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14, 17 and 19-20 are pending.
Claims 3, 8, 15-16 and 18 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13 and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14, 17 and 19-20 are examined as follow:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
In claims 6 and 19, the limitation of “first and second electrical wire” for the “sensor” is not shown on the drawing, the drawing only shown one single wire (#63 in fig.7).
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 and 19-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 6, the limitation “…the electric wire including a first electric wire and a second electric …” is not disclosed in the specification or the drawing, such that constitute new matter. The specification or the drawing only disclosing a single wire (#63, fig.7) for the sensor (#60, fig.6).
In claim 19, the limitation “…the electric wire including a first electric wire and a second electric wire…” is not disclosed in the specification or the drawing, such that constitute new matter. The specification or the drawing only disclosing a single wire (#63, fig.7) for the sensor (#60, fig.6).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claims 6-7 and 19-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, the limitation “…the electric wire including a first electric wire and a second electric wire, wherein the first electric wire is disposed below the spirally wound portion in a widthwise direction of the spirally wound portion between the central portion of the spirally wound portion and the outer edge of the spirally wound portion, wherein a first end of the first electric wire is electrically connected to the sensor, and the second electric wire extends from a second end of the first electric wire, wherein the recessed portion is further configured to accommodate the first electric wire, and wherein the at least one insertion hole further includes a wire insertion hole configured to pass the second electric wire to the lower side of the first bracket to electrically connect to the circuit board…” is indefinite, since the specification or the drawing does not describe or shown, it is unclear how does the one electric wire turn out to be two different wires. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, through best understanding and the person skilled in the art, Examiner assumed that such amendment is meant to claim the electric wire has two different portions of the same wire not two separated wires.
In claim 19, the limitation “…wherein a first end of the first electric wire is electrically connected to the sensor, and the second electric wire extends from a second end of the first electric wire…” is indefinite, since the specification or the drawing does not describe or shown, it is unclear how does the one electrical wire turn out to be two different wires. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, through best understanding and the person skilled in the art, Examiner assumed that such amendment is mean to claim the electrical wire has two different portions of the same wire not two separated wire.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6 9-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling et al (US7786414B2 previously cited) herein set forth as Schilling, in view of Eckman et al (US5780817 previously cited) herein set forth as Eckman.
Regarding claim 1, Schilling discloses an electric range (#50, fig.7), comprising:
a case (#54, fig.7);
a cover plate (#51, fig.7) coupled to an upper end of the case (#54, fig.7) and having an upper surface ( refer to the surface of #51, fig.7) on which an object to be heated is disposed;
at least one heater (#13-#15 and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5) disposed below the cover plate (#51, fig.7) and configured to heat the object to be heated, the at least one heater (#13-#15 and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5) including a working coil (#13, fig.5);
a first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) disposed below the at least one heater (#13-#15, and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5) to support the at least one heater (#13-#15, #18 and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5), and in which a recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5 ) and at least one insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) are formed, and
a circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5) disposed below the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) and electrically connected to the working coil (#13, fig.5), wherein the working coil (#13, fig.5) includes:
a spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5);
a first side (refer to #16a on fig.1a) connected to a central portion (refer to the central portion of #10 where #16a located in fig.1a) of the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5) and including a first portion (refer to the portion of #16a shown in fig.4) and an extension portion (refer to the portion of #16a in fig.1b);
a second side (refer to #16b on fig.1a) connected to an outer edge (refer to #16b side edge of the #13 in fig.1a) of the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5), and the extension portion (refer to the portion of #16a in fig.1b) extends from the second end of the first portion (refer to the portion of #16a shown in fig.4), where in the first portion (refer to the portion of #16a shown in fig.4) is disposed below the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5) wherein a first end (refer to #16a that is connected to #13 in fig.4 and 5) of the first portion (refer to the portion of #16a shown in fig.4) is connected to the central portion (refer to the central portion of #10 where #16a located in fig.1a) of the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5), the at least one insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) including a first working coil insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) configured to pass the extension portion (refer to the portion of #16a in fig.1b) to a lower side of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) to electrically connect to the circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5), and a second working coil insertion hole (refer to the second #27 for #16b insertion in fig.1b) configured to pass the second side (refer to #16b on fig.1a) to the lower side of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) to electrically connect to the circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5); wherein the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5 ) below the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5), is configured to accommodate the first portion to prevent the first portion from interfering with the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5), and wherein the at least one insertion hole (refer to the second #27 for #16b insertion in fig.1b) is formed at a position (refer to the position of #27 for #16b in fig. 1b) corresponding to the outer edge (refer to #16b side edge of the #13 in fig.1a) of the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5).
Schilling does not explicitly disclose wherein the first portion is disposed below the spirally wound portion in a widthwise direction of the spirally wound portion between the central portion of the spirally wound portion and the outer edge of the spirally wound portion, wherein the recessed portion below the spirally wound portion, extends in a widthwise direction the spirally wound portion; the at least one insertion hole including a first working coil insertion hole configured to pass the extension portion to a lower side of the first bracket to electrically connect to the circuit board, and a second working coil insertion hole configured to pass the second side to the lower side of the first bracket to electrically connect to the circuit board.
In the similar field of stove element for electric range, Eckman discloses wherein the recessed portion (refer to the shape of #12, fig.2) below the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wired heater of #10 in fig.2), extends in a widthwise direction (refer to the recessed direction of #12 in fig.2) the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wired heater of #10 in fig.2) is configured to accommodate the first portion (refer to the wire #28 portion that coming down into the recess #12 in fig.2) to prevent the first portion (refer to the wire #28 portion that coming down into the recess #12 in fig.2) from interfering with the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wired heater of #10 in fig.2), and wherein the at least one insertion hole (#30, fig.2) is formed at a position (refer to the position of #30 in fig.2) corresponding to the outer edge (refer to the edge of #10 in fig.2) of the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wired heater of #10 in fig.2), the at least one insertion hole (#30, fig.2) including a first working coil insertion hole (refer to the hole that allow #28 pass through #12, fig.4) configured to pass the extension portion to a lower side of the first bracket (#12, fig.2), and a second working coil insertion hole (refer to the hole that allow #29 pass through #12, fig.4) configured to pass the second side (refer to the second wire of #29 fig.4) to the lower side of the first bracket (#12, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schilling’s electric range with wherein the first portion is disposed below the spirally wound portion in a widthwise direction of the spirally wound portion between the central portion of the spirally wound portion and the outer edge of the spirally wound portion, wherein the recessed portion below the spirally wound portion, extends in a widthwise direction the spirally wound portion; the at least one insertion hole including a first working coil insertion hole configured to pass the extension portion to a lower side of the first bracket to electrically connect to the circuit board, and a second working coil insertion hole configured to pass the second side to the lower side of the first bracket to electrically connect to the circuit board, as taught by Eckman, in order to provide stove element that is efficient and reduce electric shock risk, such that be safer to operate and/or replacement the stove element (refer to Col 1, line 47 to 51 cited: “…there is a need for an electrical resistance stove element which can be easily replaced by homeowners, but which is efficient to use and does not pose a risk of serious electric shock…”).
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling further discloses wherein the at least one heater (#13-#15, and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5) further includes a core frame (#20, fig. 1a, 4-5) on which the working coil (#13, fig.5) is wound, the core frame (#20, fig. 1a, 4-5) being mounted in a first region (refer to whole area of #26 in fig 1a, 4-5, a clearer drawing description in fig. 4) on the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5), and at least a portion (note: the annotated “recessed portion” connected to central #27 is also on #26) of the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to the central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5) is formed on an inner side (refer to fig.1b and 4, the side that #26 that is facing the #20 in fig.1a, 4-5) of the first region (refer to whole area of #26 in fig 1a, 4-5, a clearer drawing description in fig. 4) of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Schilling further discloses wherein the first side (refer to the annotated “recessed portion” opening that facing #20 in fig. 4-5) of the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to the central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5) is formed at a position (refer the annotated “recessed portion” connected to central #27’s position on #26 n fig. 4-5) of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) corresponding to a central portion (refer to the center of #27 on #20 in fig.1a, 4-5) of the core frame (#20, fig. 1a, 4-5), and a second side (refer to #16b on fig.1b) of the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to the central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5) is formed at a position (refer the annotated “recessed portion” connected to central #27’s position in fig. 4-5) of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) corresponding to an outer edge (refer to the outer edge of #13in fig.1b, 4-5) of the core frame (#20, fig. 1a, 4-5).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Schilling further discloses wherein a boundary (refer to the boundary of #27 on #26 in fig.4) of the first region (refer to boundary line of area of #26 in fig 1a, 4-5, a clearer drawing description in fig. 4) of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) has a same shape as an edge (refer to annotated “#20 edge” in fig.5 and the edge of #20 in fig.1b, 4-5) of the core frame (#20, fig. 1a, 4-5) (refer to fig.4 for clearer looks of “same shape”).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling further discloses a sensor (#18, fig.1a) mounted on the central portion (refer to the central of the #13, fig. 4-5) of the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5), and an electric wire (#19, fig.1a) is a portion of an electric wire (#19, fig.1a-b and 4-5) electrically connected to the sensor (#18, fig.1a) to the circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5), the electric wire (#19, fig.1a-b and 4-5) including a first electric wire and a second electric wire (refer as different portion of #19 in fig. 1a-b and 4-5), wherein the first electric wire (refer to one portion of the #19 in fig.1b) is disposed below the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7) refer to the central portion of #10 where #16a located in fig.1a) of the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7) and an outer edge (refer to #16b side edge of the #13 in fig.1a) of the working coil (#19, fig.1b), wherein a first end (refer to #19 is connected to sensor #18 in fig.1b) of the first electric wire (refer to the one portion of the two #19 shown in fig.1b) is electrically connected to the sensor (#18, fig.1a), and the second electric wire (refer to the other one portion of the #19 in fig.1b) extends from a second end of the first electric wire (#19, fig.1b), wherein the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5 ) is formed below the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7), #19, fig.1b) to prevent the first electric wire (refer to one portion of #19, fig.1b) from interfering with the at least one heater (#13-#15 and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5), and wherein the at least one insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) is formed at a position (refer to the position of #27 for #16b in fig. 1b) corresponding to the outer edge (refer to #16b side edge of the #13 in fig.1a) of the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7), the at least one insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) including a wire insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) configured to pass the second electric wire (refer to a portion of #19 that go through #27 in fig.1b) to a lower side of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) to electrically connect to the circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5).
Schilling does not explicitly disclose wherein the first electric wire is disposed below the working coil in a widthwise direction of the working coil; wherein the recessed portion is extended in the widthwise direction of the working coil.
In the similar field of stove element for electric range, Eckman discloses wherein the first electric wire (refer to the wire connect to #28, fig.2) is disposed below the working coil (#10, fig.2) in a widthwise direction (refer to the direction of #28 traveling in fig.2) of the working coil (#10, fig.2); wherein the recessed portion (refer to the shape of #12 in fig.2) is extended in the widthwise direction (refer to the direction of the shape of #12 travel in fig.2) of the working coil (#10, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schilling’s electric range with wherein the first electric wire is disposed below the working coil in a widthwise direction of the working coil; wherein the recessed portion is extended in the widthwise direction of the working coil, as taught by Eckman, in order to provide stove element that is efficient and reduce electric shock risk, such that be safer to operate and/or replacement the stove element (refer to Col 1, line 47 to 51 cited: “…there is a need for an electrical resistance stove element which can be easily replaced by homeowners, but which is efficient to use and does not pose a risk of serious electric shock…”).
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling does not disclose wherein the at least one insertion hole is spaced apart from the recessed portion.
In the similar field of stove element for electric range, Eckman further discloses wherein a first bracket (#12 fig.2) for supporting the heating unit (#10, fig.2), the first bracket (#12, fig.2) has a recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.2) and the at least one insert hole (#16, fig.1) that is spaced apart (refer to fig.1 and noted that #16 and #12 spaced apart).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schilling’s recessed portion with the insertion hole is spaced apart from the recessed portion, as taught by Eckman, in order to provide more space and distance between the recessed portion and insertion hole, such that the wiring would not be bunched together at the same area.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 9, Schilling further discloses wherein the at least one insertion hole (refer as the central #27 on #26 in fig.4) partially overlaps an edge (refer to “#20 edge” annotated in fig.1b 4-5, especially in fig.1b arrow pointing the overlap edge) of the spiral wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5).
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling further discloses wherein the at least one insertion hole (refer as the central #27 on #26, fig.1a, and 4) does not to overlap (refer to “outside edges” annotated in fig.5,) an edge (refer to “outside edge” annotated in fig.5) of the spiral wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5).
Regarding claim 12, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling further discloses wherein the at least one insertion hole (refer to the central #27 on #26 in fig.4-5) is connected to the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.5 connected to the central #27 on #26 in fig.1a, 4-5).
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling further discloses wherein a second bracket (#32, fig.1a, 5) disposed below the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) and on which a circuit board (#31-#35, #37 fig.1a, 5) is mounted.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling does not disclose wherein an edge of the recessed portion is bent upward and connected to the first bracket.
In the similar field of stove element for electric range, Eckman further discloses a first bracket (#12, fig.2) for supporting the heating unit (#10, fig.2), the first bracket (#12, fig.2) has a recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.2) and an insert hole (refer to #30’s hole in fig.2), wherein an edge (referring the upward bent of “recessed portion” annotated in fig.2) of the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.2) is bent upward and connected to the first bracket (#12, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substitute Schilling’s recessed portion with Eckman’s recessed portion, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and such substitution would have yielded predictable result of support for heating unit and accommodation and prevent interfering.
Regarding claim 19, Schilling discloses An electric range (#50, fig.7), comprising:
a case (#54, fig.7);
a cover plate (#51, fig.7) coupled to an upper end of the case (#54, fig.7);
at least one heater (#13-#15 and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5) disposed below the cover plate (#51, fig.7) and including a working coil (#13, fig.5) wound in a spiral (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.4-5);
a sensor (#18, fig.1a) mounted on a central portion (refer to the central portion where #18 located on #13 in fig.1b) of the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7);
a first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) configured to support the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7) and in which a recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5 ) and at least one insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) formed;
a circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5) disposed below the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) and electrically connected to the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7) and the sensor (#18, fig.1a);
a second bracket (#32, fig.1a, 5) disposed below the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) and on which the circuit board (#31-#35, #37 fig.1a, 5) is mounted; and
an electric wire (#19, fig.1b) that connects the sensor (#18, fig.1a) to the circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5), the electric wire (#19, fig.1b) including a first electric wire and a second electric wire (refer to the two different portion of #19 shown in fig.1b), wherein the first electric wire (refer to one portion of the #19 in fig.1b) is disposed below the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7) refer to the central portion of #10 where #16a located in fig.1a) of the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7) and an outer edge (refer to #16b side edge of the #13 in fig.1a) of the working coil (#19, fig.1b), wherein a first end (refer to #19 is connected to sensor #18 in fig.1b) of the first electric wire (refer to the one portion of the two #19 shown in fig.1b) is electrically connected to the sensor (#18, fig.1a), and the second electric wire (refer to the other one portion of the #19 in fig.1b) extends from a second end of the first electric wire (#19, fig.1b), wherein the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.4-5 connected to central #27 on #26 in fig. 4-5 ) is formed below the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7), wire (#19, fig.1b) to prevent the first electric wire (refer to one portion of #19, fig.1b) from interfering with the at least one heater (#13-#15 and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5), and wherein the at least one insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) is formed at a position (refer to the position of #27 for #16b in fig. 1b) corresponding to the outer edge (refer to #16b side edge of the #13 in fig.1a) of the working coil (#13, fig.1b, 4-5 and 7), the at least one insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) including a wire insertion hole (#27, fig.1 and 4-5) configured to pass the second electric wire (refer to a portion of #19 that go through #27 in fig.1b) to a lower side of the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5) to electrically connect to the circuit board (#37, fig.1a and 5).
Schilling does not explicitly disclose wherein the first electric wire is disposed below the working coil in a widthwise direction of the working coil; wherein the recessed portion is extended in the widthwise direction of the working coil.
In the similar field of stove element for electric range, Eckman discloses wherein the first electric wire (refer to the wire connect to #28 from #10, fig.2) is disposed below the working coil (#10, fig.2) in a widthwise direction (refer to the direction of #28 traveling in fig.2) of the working coil (#10, fig.2); wherein the recessed portion (refer to the shape of #12 in fig.2) is extended in the widthwise direction (refer to the direction of the shape of #12 travel in fig.2) of the working coil (#10, fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schilling’s electric range with wherein the first electric wire is disposed below the working coil in a widthwise direction of the working coil; wherein the recessed portion is extended in the widthwise direction of the working coil, as taught by Eckman, in order to provide stove element that is efficient and reduce electric shock risk, such that be safer to operate and/or replacement the stove element (refer to Col 1, line 47 to 51 cited: “…there is a need for an electrical resistance stove element which can be easily replaced by homeowners, but which is efficient to use and does not pose a risk of serious electric shock…”).
Regarding claim 20, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 19, Schilling further discloses wherein the sensor (#18, fig.1a) comprise a temperature sensor (#18, fig.1a, and refer as temperature sensor #18 in Col 6 line 16).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling et al (US7786414B2 previously cited) herein set forth as Schilling, in view of Eckman et al (US5780817 previously cited) herein set forth as Eckman, and further in view of Logan (US5828038 previously cited) herein set forth as Logan.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Schilling or Eckman does not disclose wherein the first bracket includes a first plate forming a bottom surface of the first bracket and a second plate bent upward or downward from an edge of the first plate, wherein the recessed portion is formed in a first region of the first plate, and wherein the at least one heating unit is mounted above the first region of the first plate.
In the similar field of electric range structure, Logan discloses a first bracket (#12, #14, #16 and #20, fig.1) for supporting the heating unit (#10, fig.1), the first bracket (#12, #14, #16 and #20, fig.1) has a recessed portion (#12, fig.1) and an insert hole (#16, fig.1); wherein the first bracket (#12, #14, #16 and #20, fig.1) includes a first plate (referring the plate that forming #12 and bottom surface in fi.g1) forming a bottom surface (referring to the bottom surface form by #12 in fig.1) of the first bracket (#12, #14, #16 and #20, fig.1) and a second plate bent upward or downward (refer to “upward or downward bent” annotated in fig.1 below) from an edge (referring the edge of #12 at #14 in fig.1) of the first plate (referring the plate that forming #12 and bottom surface in fig. 1), wherein the recessed portion (#12, fig.1) is formed in a first region (referring the recessed bowl shape of #12 formed in fig.1) of the first plate (referring the plate that forming #12 and bottom surface in fig. 1), and wherein the at least one heating unit (#10, fig.1) is mounted above the first region (referring the recessed bowl shape of #12 formed in fig.1) of the first plate (referring the plate that forming #12 and bottom surface in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substitute Schilling’s recessed portion and insertion hole with Logan’s recessed portion and insertion hole, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and such substitution would have yielded predictable result of support for heating unit and accommodation and prevent interfering.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling et al (US7786414B2 previously cited) herein set forth as Schilling, in view of Eckman et al (US5780817 previously cited) herein set forth as Eckman, and further in view of Matsui et al (US9295110B2 previously cited) herein set forth as Matsui.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Schilling and Eckman discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, Schilling further discloses wherein the at least one heater (#13-#15 and #25 in fig.1a, 4-5) further includes a core frame (#20, fig. 1a, 4-5) mounted in a first region (refer to the position where #20 attached to #26 in fig.4-5) on the first bracket (#26, fig.1a, 4-5); wherein the sensor bracket (refer to where #18 is attached on #20 in fig.1a, 4-5) is refer to the central portion of #20 in fig.1a-b and 4-5) of the core frame (#20, fig. 1a, 4-5) corresponding to the central portion (refer to the central of #13 in fig.1a-b and 4-5) of the spirally wound portion (refer to the spiral wiring of #13 in fig.1a-b and 4-5); the sensor (#18, fig.1a) position does not interfere with the recessed portion (refer to “recessed portion” annotated in fig.5 connected to the central #27 on #26 in fig.1a, 4-5).
Schilling does not specifically disclose a sensor bracket configured to mount the sensor on the core frame, wherein the sensor bracket is detachably mounted on the core frame.
In the field of inductive heating device, Matsui discloses a sensor bracket (#12a, fig.4) configured to mount the sensor (#14, fig.4) on the core frame (#5A, fig. 4), wherein the sensor bracket (#12a, fig.4) is detachably mounted on the core frame (#5A, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schilling’s invention with a sensor bracket configured to mount the sensor on the core frame, wherein the sensor bracket is detachably mounted on the core frame and a portion of the recessed portion formed at a position corresponding to the mounting position of the sensor bracket has a shape that does not interfere with the sensor bracket, as taught by Matsui, in order to monitoring the temperature of the heated object and provide output signal for better control for heating the object.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants argue: “…That is, regarding independent claim 1, inner terminal 16a of Schilling is arranged vertically and directly passes through hole 27 formed in a center of support device20/ aluminum plate 26 to be electrically connected to control electronics 37. In contrast, in the claimed working coil, the first portion of the first side of the working coil is disposed below the claimed spirally wound portion in a widthwise direction between a central portion and an outer edge of the spirally wound portion, and the claimed extension portion of the first side passes through the first working coil insertion hole formed at a position corresponding to the outer edge of the spirally wound portion to be electrically connected to the circuit board. Because inner terminal 16a directly passes through hole 27 formed in the center, the problem of the inner terminal 16a interfering with coil wire 15 does not occur in Schilling. Accordingly, no structure corresponding to the recessed portion and widthwise detour routing of the claimed first portion of the first side of the working coil exists in Schilling.…”, Remark Page 13.
The examiner's response: The applicant's arguments above are not persuasive.
It is expressed that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the secondary Eckman reference is used to disclose the teaching of “…widthwise direction of the spirally wound portion …” of the electric wires or recesses, all the other limitations disclosed/suggested by the primary Schilling reference, just as cited in the above rejection, obviousness motivation also refer to the above rejection.
The applicants argue: “…Eckman fails to overcome the deficiencies of Schilling. More specifically, in Eckman, heating element 10 and element support 14 are disposed inside of housing bowl 12, and the heating element 10 is supported by the element support 14. Terminal end portions 28, 29 of the heating element 10 pass through openings formed in the housing bowl 12, extend externally, and are joined to clips via welding. The space provided below the heating element 10 is intended to reflect radiant heat from the heating element 10 to cooking top 20. Thus, this space is an internal space of the housing bowl 12 provided below the heating element 10 and the element support 14, corresponding merely to the internal space of the case provided below the working coil and the first bracket of the claimed features. Further, no recessed shape is formed in the element support 14. Thus, no structure corresponding to the claimed recessed portion exists in Eckman.…”, Remark Page 13.
The examiner's response: The applicant's arguments above are not persuasive.
It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitation from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (refer to MPEP 2145. VI). In this case, the argued terms are not as cited in the rejected claims, the rejected claims limitation is mapped to show that which elements in Eckman teaches which rejected limitation, the recess shape is formed on #12, and #14 in Eckman was not mapped or used in the rejection.
The applicants argue: “…the terminal end portions 28, 29 are not disposed in a widthwise direction below the heating element 10, but are bent downward, drawn out of the housing bowl 12, and welded to clips. Therefore, the claimed first side of the working coil, which is disposed in the widthwise direction below the spirally wound portion and then electrically connected to the circuit board disposed below the first bracket via the first working coil insertion hole, is completely distinct from the terminal end portions 28, 29 of Eckman.…”, Remark Page 13.
The examiner's response: The applicant's arguments above are not persuasive.
It is expressed that the features of “…a widthwise direction below the heating element 10…” is clearly disclosed. Refer to applicant argued on “but are bent downward, drawn out of the housing bowl #12”, please refer to the direction that the “drawn out” of the wire connected to #28 or #29, which is widthwise direction below the heating element #10, therefore Eckman teaches such limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 October 14, 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761