DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 05/12/2026 has been entered.
Remarks
This office action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 12 May 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn
No claims are cancelled
No claims are newly added
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, and 18-20 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haarer et al. (US 2013/0224875 A1), hereinafter “Haarer”, in view of Eroglu (Eroglu, Abdullah. “Introduction to RF Power Amplifier Design and Simulation.”, CRC Press, 2015.), hereinafter “Eroglu”, and Hof et al. (US PAT 5,745,039 A), hereinafter “Hof”.
Regarding Claim 1, Haarer teaches a process indicator system, comprising:
chromatography paper that provides a defined path (Para. [0143] discusses the “porous insulating layer/dielectric spacer” of Figs. 4D-E as a paper layer in a preferred embodiment, and further discusses flow of the viscoelastic layer into the porous layer upon phase change of the viscoelastic layer. – Chromatography paper is interpreted broadly herein as encompassing any porous paper material capable of wicking a mobile/liquid phase as in thin layer chromatography.),
a dye material pellet ([0032]: “viscoelastic component” – Further, as the viscoelastic component in Haarer begins as a formed solid, the dye material of Haarer is provided as a pellet, a small compressed or hardened mass of a substance.) that has a melting point at a predetermined sterilization temperature and ([0032]: “The viscoelastic component is characterized by that when being exposed to temperatures higher than a certain threshold temperature specific for said viscoelastic component, it undergoes a change in its mobility and ability to dissolve and transport other chemical substances and propagate in porous solids. This certain temperature (freezing point) may be selected to be within a temperature range relevant for a specific application...” – Further, given that steam causes the melting of the dye onto the wicking strip, it is interpreted as steam forcing the dye through the defined path.)
the dye material pellet including an ink or dye, wherein the ink or dye provides a resistive or capacitive property ([0020]: “Generally, the TTI structure is configured to define at least one component (e.g., capacitor, resistor, diode, inductance coil, RF circuit or an active or passive antenna), the electrical properties of which are changed as a result of the time and temperature dependent physical and/or chemical process.” – As the dye material flowing across the electrical component changes an electrical property of the component to trigger a detection, the dye material including ink or dye thereby provides a resistive or capacitive property.);
wherein the dye material pellet is melted by steam provided at the predetermined sterilization temperature, to cause the ink or dye to be moved along the defined path of the chromatography paper and alter an electronic property value of a process indicator (See Figs. 4A-C and [0016, 0025-0026] discussing flow of the viscoelastic material upon phase change. – Examiner further notes that the recitation “…the dye material pellet is melted by steam…” is drawn to a process recitation and, as the claims are drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). As the device of Haarer teaches selecting a viscoelastic material with a particular melting point for a particular application ([0095, 0119-0122]), Haarer is fully capable of use in Applicant’s claimed steam sterilization process and would not be expected to perform differently given that the function of melting and flowing of the viscoelastic material remains the same.),
a radio frequency antenna that communicates the electronic property value of the process indicator wirelessly ([0136]: “RF tag includes an antenna attached to a resonance or oscillatory circuit (typically including capacitive, inductive and resistive elements), which is energized (e.g., by the received interrogation signal) and which, when energized, excites the antenna to transmit an RF response signal at a resonance frequency of the circuit.”);
wherein the electronic property value is dependent on a position of the ink or dye in the defined path of the chromatography paper (See paras. [0141-0143] discussing flow of the viscoelastic component along the porous spacer (paper) layer as affecting the electric properties of the electrodes E1 and E2, thereby being dependent on a position of the viscoelastic component: not detected while it is sequestered as a solid, detected when its position moves to being between the electrodes. – Further, as seen through Figs. 4A-C, the viscoelastic polymer fills the space between the electrodes procedurally, not all at once. Therein, one would fully expect the degree of integration to affect the capacitance and/or resistance experienced by the electrodes as the polymer fills more and more space between them. – See also [0033]: “...a viscoelastic component may be used as a passive reactant to penetrate the porous component at a rate that is temperature dependent and thereby cause either a sudden short in the capacitor or a gradual change in the capacitance due to the difference in the dielectric constants of the pure porous solid and the porous solid filled with the viscoelastic component.”),
as in Claim 1.
Further regarding Claim 1, Haarer does not specifically teach the process indicator discussed above wherein the predetermined sterilization temperature is greater than 100 degrees Celsius, as in Claim 1.
However, Hof teaches a respective remote sterilization monitor comprising a transmitter arrangement coupled with a solid material arranged within an electronic sensing arrangement (Figs. 3-4 – see also Fig. 5 showing the wick paper 5, through which the melted solid material flows to trigger the sensor.) wherein the melting point of the solid material is greater than the sterilization temperature, which is itself greater than 100 decrees Celsius (“The compound 5 selected should have a normal melting point about 5 to about 50 degrees F. greater than the temperature of the monitored steam sterilization process; typically, about 8 to about 40 degrees F. For example, the range may be from about 10 to about 30 degrees F. greater than the temperature of the monitored steam process, more preferably about 20 degrees F. greater.” – “250 degrees F. to 270 degrees F., the temperature at which hospital sterilization processes are typically carried out”) so as to indicate if the sterilization temperature was successfully reached.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the process indicator of Haarer wherein the predetermined sterilization temperature is greater than 100 degrees Celsius, such as suggested by Hof, so as to enable the use of Haarer in sterilization indication, which would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Haarer discusses substituting the viscoelastic component material for those having different melting points depending on the application ([0095, 0119-0122]).
Further regarding Claim 1, Haarer does not specifically teach the process indicator discussed above wherein an amplifier is coupled with the radio frequency antenna that amplifies the radio frequency, as in Claim 1.
However, Eroglu teaches a signal amplifier as a core element within RF transmitter applications so as to boost weak RF signals to a detectable level (See the Introduction section on page 1.).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Haarer wherein an amplifier is coupled with the radio frequency antenna that amplifies the radio frequency, such as suggested by Eroglu, so as to boost weak RF signals to a detectable level; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Haarer does not specifically teach the process indicator discussed above further comprising a flexible metal wire of a predetermined length that couples the radio frequency antenna to the amplifier at a distance, as in Claim 2.
However, Eroglu teaches a signal amplifier as a core element within RF transmitter applications so as to boost weak RF signals to a detectable level, wherein Fig. 1.1 (page 2) shows the amplifier connected to an antenna via a wire (implicitly metal and flexible) so as to electrically couple the elements for transmission of the amplified signal.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious when modifying the device of Haarer with a signal amplifier, as discussed above regarding Claim 1, to electrically couple the amplifier to the antenna for transmission of the amplified RF signals.
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above wherein the ink or dye of the dye material pellet conducts electricity ([0033]: “...a viscoelastic component may be used as a passive reactant to penetrate the porous component at a rate that is temperature dependent and thereby cause...a sudden short in the capacitor...” – Therein, given that the viscoelastic component may cause a capacitor short (allowing the plates to become a single conductor by eliminating the insulating layer between plates), the viscoelastic component must thereby be electrically conductive to cause such a short.), as in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 3 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above wherein the electronic property value of the process indicator is resistance, and the resistance between two metal portions varies based on a position of the ink or dye in the chromatography paper when the dye material pellet is melted and the ink or dye moves along the defined path ([0033]: “...a viscoelastic component may be used as a passive reactant to penetrate the porous component at a rate that is temperature dependent and thereby cause either a sudden short in the capacitor or a gradual change in the capacitance due to the difference in the dielectric constants of the pure porous solid and the porous solid filled with the viscoelastic component.” – An ideal capacitor has infinite resistance when charged, wherein said resistance drops as the plates are connected to form a circuit. – See also Figs. 4A-C. -- Further note that the claim is predicated on a conditional process “when the dye material pellet is melted” which is both not necessitated by the claim and, as the claim is drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). As discussed above, the indicator of Haarer is fully capable of the claimed steam-induced melting.), as in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 4 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above further comprising:
a first dielectric polymer layer S (Fig. 4D and [0111]: “The substrate S is a substantially transparent layer, such as...polymer film...” – [0143]: “In the example of FIG. 4D, a TTI structure 400D includes an electrically insulating substrate layer S...”), wherein the two metal portions E1 and E2 are overlaid on the first dielectric polymer layer (Fig. 4D and [0143]: “an electrically conductive layer on top of the substrate patterned to define electrodes E1 and E2”); and a second dielectric polymer layer (Sealed enclosure) overlaid on the dye material pellet (Fig. 4D: Sealed enclosure. – While Haarer does not specifically discuss the sealing layer as a dielectric polymer layer, one skilled in the art would find it obvious to provide the sealing layer as dielectric given that a conductive sealing layer would result in an electrified outer layer upon mobilization of the viscoelastic component, resulting in electrification danger to a user. Therein, given that Haarer teaches the substrate as a dielectric polymer, one skilled in the art would find it obvious to utilize a similar or identical dielectric polymer to reduce material costs and unnecessary device complexity. – See also Fig. 2A wherein both the substrate and upper enclosure are listed as “transparent layer” and indicated as the same material (white fill).),
as in Claim 5.
Further regarding Claim 5, Haarer does not specifically teach the process indicator discussed above wherein the dye layer is overlaid on the first dielectric polymer layer (on the same plane), and the second dielectric polymer layer overlaid on the two metal portions E1 and E2, as in Claim 5.
However, mere change in orientation or position of elements absent any criticality or unexpected result is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Herein, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the device having the claimed relative arrangement of layers would not perform differently than the prior art device (given that the prior art device merely provides flow of the viscoelastic component from above the electrodes as opposed from the side, thereby providing the same result of changing electrical properties between the capacitive plates), absent evidence of criticality, non-obviousness, or unexpected results associated with the position of the layers.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above wherein the ink or dye of the dye material pellet has a capacitive property ([0025]: “Alternatively, a viscous substance, being a dielectric material, may present the active reactant of the TTI structure, as for example in the case of a capacitor electric component: the viscoelastic substance fills a porous dielectric spacer that is located in between the capacitor plates, and the degree of penetration of this viscoelastic liquid, being a function of the elapsed time-temperature, changes the capacitance.” – Dielectric materials are electrical insulators that can be polarized by an applied electric field.), as in Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 6 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above further comprising:
a first metal layer; a first dielectric polymer layer overlaid on the first metal layer the chromatography paper overlaid on the first dielectric polymer layer; a second dielectric polymer layer overlaid on the chromatography paper; and a second metal layer overlaid on the second dielectric polymer layer (See the rejection of Claims 1 and 5 above, Fig. 4A, and further [0144]: “It should be understood that two additional insulating layers may be used in the structures 400A and 400B that insulate the conductive layers from any ionic conductance that may occur if the viscoelastic layer is an ionic or charge conductor.” – See also paras. [0108, 0111, 0143] discussing the insulating layer as a polymer film or paper layer in preferred embodiments – see also Figs. 4A-E.),
wherein the ink or dye of the dye material pellet, when melted, is disposed in at least a portion of the chromatography paper, between the first dielectric polymer layer and the second dielectric polymer layer (See Figs. 4A-C showing the dye material/viscoelastic component flowing into the porous material (paper layer) upon melting and exiting the holding reservoir. – See also para. [0143] discussing the porous layer as a paper material layer in preferred embodiments.),
as in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 7 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above wherein the electronic property value of the process indicator is capacitance and the capacitance between the first metal layer and the second metal layer varies based on a position of the ink or dye in the chromatography paper when the dye material pellet is melted and the ink or dye moves along the defined path ([0033]: “...a viscoelastic component may be used as a passive reactant to penetrate the porous component at a rate that is temperature dependent and thereby cause either a sudden short in the capacitor or a gradual change in the capacitance due to the difference in the dielectric constants of the pure porous solid and the porous solid filled with the viscoelastic component.” – An ideal capacitor has infinite resistance when charged, wherein said resistance drops as the plates are connected to form a circuit. – See also Figs. 4A-C. Further note that the claim is predicated on a conditional process “when the dye material pellet is melted” which is both not necessitated by the claim and, as the claim is drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). As discussed above, the indicator of Haarer is fully capable of the claimed steam-induced melting.), as in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above further comprising a power source that powers broadcast of the electronic property value ([0016]: “...radiation that is intrinsically generated by the TTI device, relaying on internal energy resources such as batteries...”), as in Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 18, Haarer teaches a process indicator system, comprising:
chromatography paper that provides a defined path (Para. [0143] discusses the “porous insulating layer/dielectric spacer” of Figs. 4D-E as a paper layer in a preferred embodiment, and further discusses flow of the viscoelastic layer into the porous layer upon phase change of the viscoelastic layer. – Chromatography paper is interpreted broadly herein as encompassing any porous paper material capable of wicking a mobile/liquid phase as in thin layer chromatography.),
a dye material pellet ([0032]: “viscoelastic component” – Further, as the viscoelastic component in Haarer begins as a formed solid, the dye material of Haarer is provided as a pellet, a small compressed or hardened mass of a substance.) that has a melting point at a predetermined sterilization temperature ([0032]: “The viscoelastic component is characterized by that when being exposed to temperatures higher than a certain threshold temperature specific for said viscoelastic component, it undergoes a change in its mobility and ability to dissolve and transport other chemical substances and propagate in porous solids. This certain temperature (freezing point) may be selected to be within a temperature range relevant for a specific application...”.);
the dye material pellet including an ink or dye, wherein the ink or dye provides a resistive or capacitive property ([0020]: “Generally, the TTI structure is configured to define at least one component (e.g., capacitor, resistor, diode, inductance coil, RF circuit or an active or passive antenna), the electrical properties of which are changed as a result of the time and temperature dependent physical and/or chemical process.” – As the dye material flowing across the electrical component changes an electrical property of the component to trigger a detection, the dye material including ink or dye thereby provides a resistive or capacitive property.);
wherein the dye material pellet is melted by steam provided at the predetermined sterilization temperature, to cause the ink or dye to be moved along the defined path of the chromatography paper and alter an electronic property value of a process indicator (See Figs. 4A-C and [0016, 0025-0026] discussing flow of the viscoelastic material upon phase change. – Examiner further notes that the recitation “…the dye material pellet is melted by steam…” is drawn to a process recitation and, as the claims are drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). As the device of Haarer teaches selecting a viscoelastic material with a particular melting point for a particular application ([0095, 0119-0122]), Haarer is fully capable of use in Applicant’s claimed steam sterilization process and would not be expected to perform differently given that the function of melting and flowing of the viscoelastic material remains the same.),
a radio frequency antenna that communicates the electronic property value of the process indicator wirelessly ([0136]: “RF tag includes an antenna attached to a resonance or oscillatory circuit (typically including capacitive, inductive and resistive elements), which is energized (e.g., by the received interrogation signal) and which, when energized, excites the antenna to transmit an RF response signal at a resonance frequency of the circuit.”);
wherein the electronic property value is dependent on a position of the ink or dye in the defined path of the chromatography paper (See paras. [0141-0143] discussing flow of the viscoelastic component along the porous spacer (paper) layer as affecting the electric properties of the electrodes E1 and E2, thereby being dependent on a position of the viscoelastic component: not detected while it is sequestered as a solid, detected when its position moves to being between the electrodes. – Further, as seen through Figs. 4A-C, the viscoelastic polymer fills the space between the electrodes procedurally, not all at once. Therein, one would fully expect the degree of integration to affect the capacitance and/or resistance experienced by the electrodes as the polymer fills more and more space between them. – See also [0033]: “...a viscoelastic component may be used as a passive reactant to penetrate the porous component at a rate that is temperature dependent and thereby cause either a sudden short in the capacitor or a gradual change in the capacitance due to the difference in the dielectric constants of the pure porous solid and the porous solid filled with the viscoelastic component.”),
as in Claim 18.
Further regarding Claim 1, Haarer does not specifically teach the process indicator discussed above wherein the predetermined sterilization temperature is greater than 100 degrees Celsius, as in Claim 1.
However, Hof teaches a respective remote sterilization monitor comprising a transmitter arrangement coupled with a solid material arranged within an electronic sensing arrangement (Figs. 3-4 – see also Fig. 5 showing the wick paper 5, through which the melted solid material flows to trigger the sensor.) wherein the melting point of the solid material is greater than the sterilization temperature, which is itself greater than 100 decrees Celsius (“The compound 5 selected should have a normal melting point about 5 to about 50 degrees F. greater than the temperature of the monitored steam sterilization process; typically, about 8 to about 40 degrees F. For example, the range may be from about 10 to about 30 degrees F. greater than the temperature of the monitored steam process, more preferably about 20 degrees F. greater.” – “250 degrees F. to 270 degrees F., the temperature at which hospital sterilization processes are typically carried out”) so as to indicate if the sterilization temperature was successfully reached.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the process indicator of Haarer wherein the predetermined sterilization temperature is greater than 100 degrees Celsius, such as suggested by Hof, so as to enable the use of Haarer in sterilization indication, which would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Haarer discusses substituting the viscoelastic component material for those having different melting points depending on the application ([0095, 0119-0122]).
Further regarding Claim 18, Haarer does not specifically teach the process indicator discussed above wherein an amplifier that amplifies the radio frequency, wherein the amplifier is coupled to the radio frequency antenna with a predetermined length of flexible wire that allows the radio frequency antenna to be positioned outside a sterilization container while the chromatography paper, the dye material pellet, and the amplifier are inside the sterilization container, as in Claim 18.
However, Eroglu teaches a signal amplifier as a core element within RF transmitter applications so as to boost weak RF signals to a detectable level (See the Introduction section on page 1.). Further, Fig. 1.1 (page 2) shows the amplifier connected to an antenna via a wire (implicitly metal and flexible) so as to electrically couple the elements for transmission of the amplified signal. Therein, the figure indicates the antenna can be placed at a different location from the amplifier via the wire.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Haarer wherein an amplifier is coupled with the radio frequency antenna that amplifies the radio frequency, such as suggested by Eroglu, so as to boost weak RF signals to a detectable level; and wherein the amplifier is coupled to the radio frequency antenna with a predetermined length of flexible wire, such as suggested by Eroglu, so as to couple the antenna and the amplifier as separately placeable elements; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Examiner further notes that the commensurately structured indicator, amplifier, wire, and antenna of the prior art are fully capable of “allowing” the device to be positioned as claimed with the antenna outside of the sterilization container which is not a positively required functionality given the sterilization container is not positively claimed in this inferential recitation, as the prior art commensurately provides a wire of a predetermined length connected between the amplifier and RF antenna.
Regarding Claim 19, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 18 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above wherein the electronic property value of the process indicator is resistance, and the resistance between two metal portions varies based on a position of the ink or dye in the chromatography paper when the dye material pellet is melted and the ink or dye moves along the defined path ([0033]: “...a viscoelastic component may be used as a passive reactant to penetrate the porous component at a rate that is temperature dependent and thereby cause either a sudden short in the capacitor or a gradual change in the capacitance due to the difference in the dielectric constants of the pure porous solid and the porous solid filled with the viscoelastic component.” – An ideal capacitor has infinite resistance when charged, wherein said resistance drops as the plates are connected to form a circuit. – See also Figs. 4A-C. – See also para. [0143] discussing the porous material as a paper material penetrated by the viscoelastic component when melted. – Further note that the claim is predicated on a conditional process “when the dye material pellet is melted” which is both not necessitated by the claim and, as the claim is drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). As discussed above, the indicator of Haarer is fully capable of the claimed steam-induced melting.), as in Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 18 as discussed above. Further, Haarer teaches the process indicator discussed above wherein the electronic property value of the process indicator is capacitance and the capacitance between a first metal layer and a second metal layer varies based on a position of the ink or dye in the chromatography paper when the dye material pellet is melted and the ink or dye moves along the defined path ([0033]: “...a viscoelastic component may be used as a passive reactant to penetrate the porous component at a rate that is temperature dependent and thereby cause either a sudden short in the capacitor or a gradual change in the capacitance due to the difference in the dielectric constants of the pure porous solid and the porous solid filled with the viscoelastic component.” – An ideal capacitor has infinite resistance when charged, wherein said resistance drops as the plates are connected to form a circuit. – See also Figs. 4A-C. -- See also para. [0143] discussing the porous material as a paper material penetrated by the viscoelastic component when melted. -- Further note that the claim is predicated on a conditional process “when the dye material pellet is melted” which is both not necessitated by the claim and, as the claim is drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). As discussed above, the indicator of Haarer is fully capable of the claimed steam-induced melting.), as in Claim 20.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haarer in view of Eroglu and Hof, as applied to Claims 1-8, 10, and 18-20 above, and in further view of Foley (US PAT 4,448,548 A), hereinafter “Foley”.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Haarer/Eroglu does not specifically teach the process indicator discussed above further comprising a printed indication of a location of the ink or dye on the defined path that indicates that a sterilization condition has been met, as in Claim 9.
However, Foley teaches a respective steam sterilization completeness indicator comprising a dye tablet 4 which melts and moves along a predefined path 5, wherein when the melted dye passes a printed location indicator 8, a user may view the indicator and determine the sterilization process is complete. Therein in Haarer/Eroglu, this mechanism would provide an additional layer of confirmational redundancy, thereby reducing errors drawn to incomplete sterilization.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Haarer/Eroglu further comprising a printed indication of a location of the dye material on the path that indicates that a sterilization condition has been met, such as suggested by Foley, so as to provide an additional layer of confirmational redundancy, thereby reducing errors drawn to incomplete sterilization/ and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein given the transparency of substrates in Haarer.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 112(b)
Applicant’s amendments sufficiently overcome those rejections over Claims 1-10 and 18-20 as being indefinite under 35 USC 112(b). As such, those rejections of Claims 1-10 and 18-20 under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn herein. Note the new grounds of rejection provided in the body of the action.
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments are on the alleged grounds that Haarer does not suggest the use of chromatography paper that provides a defined path for the dye material to flow, as in Claims 1 and 18.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Haarer discusses the use of paper as a dye-flow path in para. [0143]. Therein, as the paper disclosed by Haarer is operative to wick a liquid along its length, such as seen in Haarer Figs. 4A-4C, the paper wicking layer of Haarer is interpreted as a chromatography paper. If applicant intends a specific type of paper corresponding to the recited “chromatography”, Applicant may wish to recite the particular material of the paper.
Applicant’s arguments are further on the alleged grounds that Haarer does not suggest the dye material as being an ink or dye moved along the path of the chromatography paper when melted.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the viscoelastic element (passive reactant) which melts along the chromatography paper, such as seen in Haarer Figs. 4A-4C, is comprised of a printed ink ([0048] – see also [0160] discussing color change of the ink – see also [0032] discussing the viscoelastic component as the passive reactant.).
Applicant further argues on the alleged grounds that Haarer does not suggest the use of steam-based temperatures for melting the dye material.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Applicant’s claimed requirements relating to steam-based melting of the dye are based in process recitations and, as the claims are drawn to a device, such process recitation is not afforded patentable weight when the prior art device is capable of performing the claimed process. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. – MPEP 2114(II). As the device of Haarer teaches selecting a viscoelastic material with a particular melting point for a particular application ([0095, 0119-0122]), Haarer is fully capable of use in Applicant’s claimed steam sterilization process and would not be expected to perform differently given that the function of melting and flowing of the viscoelastic material remains the same.
Applicant further argues that additional particulars of the amended claims further emphasize the distinctions relating to chromatography paper wicking, the use of an ink/dye, and the steam-based melting of the ink/dye.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the amended language merely adds further detail to the previously generally disclosed elements of the dye material and behavior of the process indicator and does not overcome any of the discussions above relating to Applicant’s disputed chromatography paper wicking, the use of an ink/dye, and the steam-based melting of the ink/dye in Haarer. Haarer accounts for all of these amended particulars to the previously required elements and processes.
Applicant further asserts that a skilled artisan could not arrive at the claimed invention by modifying Haarer as the instant claims require steam sterilization, the dye material having a melting point above 100 C, while Haarer is drawn to food monitoring/refrigeration failure.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because while Haarer is generally drawn to food temperature monitoring, Haarer teaches selecting a viscoelastic material with a particular melting point for a particular application ([0095, 0119-0122]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to substitute the viscoelastic component of Haarer for a higher-melting-point material such as that of Hof teaching a solid material melted at a predetermined sterilization temperature over 100 C in a hospital steam-sterilization autoclave process – see above in the body of the action.
Thus, Examiner sets forth the rejection of Claims 1 and 18, and dependents thereof, under 35 USC 103 over at least Haarer in view of Eroglu and Hof, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Dependent Claims
Applicant’s arguments are on the alleged grounds that Claims depending from independent Claims 1 and 18 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on the allegedly allowable Claims 1 and 18, and that Foley does not cure the alleged deficiencies of Haarer.
Applicant’sd argument is not persuasive because, as discussed above, Claims 1 and 18 are maintained as rejected under 35 USC 103, Examiner having added the Hof reference to account for the amended sterilization temperature over 100 C. Thus, Applicant’s argument is moot as the dependent claims do not depend from an allowable claim. Further, Applicant’s argument against Foley is also moot as Foley is not relied upon for curing any deficiencies in Haarer in Claims 1 or 18.
Thus, Examiner sets forth the rejection of Claims 2-10 and 19-20 under 35 USC 103 over at least Haarer in view of Eroglu and Hof, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENJAMIN KASS whose telephone number is (703)756-5501. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Capozzi, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3638. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/B.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798