Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 03/05/2026 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claims 1, 4, 7-11, 14 and 16-20 has /have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending in the application with claims 3 and 13 previously withdrawn. An action on the merits for claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-20 are as follow.
The previous Objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in accordance with applicant's amendment to the claims, the drawings, and the specification with no new matter added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a working coil” in line 3 rendering the claim indefinite, because it is unclear what the relation between this “a working coil” and a working coil mentioned in lines 3 claim 1 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a working coil” in line 3 rendering the claim indefinite, because it is unclear what the relation between this “a working coil” and a working coil mentioned in lines 2 claim 11 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the temperature sensing circuit” in line 2 rendering the claim indefinite, because it is unclear what the relation between this “the temperature sensing circuit” and a first temperature sensing circuit/ a second temperature sensing circuit mentioned in lines 3 and 5 respectively of claim 15 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the thermal fuse” in line 2 rendering the claim indefinite, because it is unclear what the relation between this “the thermal fuse” and a first thermal fuse/ a second thermal fuse mentioned in lines 6 and 7 respectively of claim 14 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
The rest of the claims are also been rejected because each claim depends on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN (KR 10 2158235 B1) in view of Perry et al. (US 2018/0058700 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, SHIN discloses an electric range (a hybrid multi-range (100), [0024], Fig 1), comprising:
a cover plate (a flat glass (11), [0025], Fig 5) on which a heating target is disposed (a body provided with glass on the upper surface so that an object to be heated is seated, Abstract);
a heater comprising a working coil (an induction coil unit (40), [0024]) to which high-frequency power is applied and configured to heat the heating target using a magnetic field generated from the working coil (a high frequency magnetic field using induction heating, [0004]);
a plate temperature sensor (an induction temperature sensor (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) provided in each of the induction coil sections (40), [0052], Fig 1) disposed in the heater and configured to sense a temperature of the cover plate (see Fig 1);
a fuse (equipped with a fuse (45), [0052], Fig 4) disposed in the heater (Fig 4); and
a controller (control unit (60), [0053], Fig 6) configured to supply the high-frequency power to the working coil and having the plate temperature sensor and the fuse electrically connected thereto, wherein the plate temperature sensor and the fuse are connected to each other in series (see fuse 45 and temperature sensor 45c connected to each other in series in Fig 3; a fuse (45) to short-circuit at a preset cut-off temperature, [0052]. Note: A fuse designed to short-circuit at a preset cut-off temperature is a safety device that automatically stops current flow when it detects a dangerous surge.) and connected to the controller to form a temperature sensing circuit (see Fig 6), and wherein when overheating occurs in the cover plate, the temperature sensing circuit is opened by the thermal fuse and the controller stops the supply of the high-frequency power supply to the working coil (control unit (60) may block power supply to the induction coil unit (40) when the detected temperature difference between each of the induction temperature sensors (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) in the induction mode is greater than a preset value, [0080]),
SHIN discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose the fuse (taught by SHIN already) is a thermal fuse disposed in the heater (“disposed in the heater” aught by SHIN already) and configured to sense overheating of the cover plate; and wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved.
Perry et al. teach an electric range (a cooktop 10, [0026], Fig 2), comprising: a thermal fuse (include a temperature- sensing control (e.g., a thermal switch) for controlling the operation of a burner of a cooking appliance, [0025], Fig 1) disposed in the heater and configured to sense overheating of the cover plate (a temperature- sensing control 60 senses that the cooking temperature exceeds a first, predetermined upper threshold temperature, [0025], see Fig 3. Note: “the fuse disposed in the heater” and “the cover plate” taught by SHIN already); and wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved (The temperature-sensing control 60 can then restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20 when the control 60 senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify SHIN with Perry et al.’s further teaching of the fuse is a thermal fuse disposed in the heater and configured to sense overheating of the cover plate; and wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved; because Perry et al. teach, in Para. [0009] that providing an excellent temperature control to control the operation of a cooktop burner element of a cooking appliance to reduce the opportunity for overheating of the burner element and/or the cooktop.
Claim 2, wherein the plate temperature sensor and the thermal fuse are separately formed and disposed in the heater (see 44c and 45 are separately formed and disposed in 40, Fig 3. Note: “the thermal fuse” taught by Perry et al.).
Claim 4, wherein the heater comprises a first heater and a second heater (a first induction coil portion (40A), a second induction coil portion (40B), [0034], Fig 1) spaced a predetermined distance apart from each other (Figs 1 and 3), each of the first heater and the second heater having a working coil (Figs 1 and 3), wherein the plate temperature sensor comprises a first plate temperature sensor disposed in the first heater and a second plate temperature sensor disposed in the second heater (induction temperature sensors (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) may be equipped with a fuse (45), [0052]), and wherein the thermal fuse comprises a first thermal fuse disposed in the first heater and a second thermal fuse disposed in the second heater (a temperature- sensing control (e.g., a thermal switch) for controlling the operation of a burner of a cooking appliance, [0025], Fig 1, Perry et al. Note: fuses disposed in the first heater and disposed in the second heater” taught by SHIN already).
Claim 5, wherein the temperature sensing circuit comprises:
a first temperature sensing circuit connected to the first plate temperature sensor and the first thermal fuse in series (see enlarged in Fig 3. Note: “the first thermal fuse” taught by Perry et al. already) and connected to the controller (Fig 6); and
a second temperature sensing circuit connected to the second plate temperature sensor and the second thermal fuse in series (see enlarged in Fig 3. Note: “the second thermal fuse” taught by Perry et al. already)) and connected to the controller (Fig 6).
Claim 6, wherein when sensing overheating, the first thermal fuse opens the first temperature sensing circuit, and when the overheating is resolved, the first thermal fuse restores the first temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state (temperature-sensing control 60 can then restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20 when the control 60 senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025], Figs 1-3, Perry et al.), and when sensing overheating, the second thermal fuse opens the second temperature sensing circuit, and when the overheating is resolved, the second thermal fuse restores the second temperature sensing circuit to an original closed state (temperature-sensing control 60 can then restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20 when the control 60 senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025], Figs 1-3, Perry et al.).
Claim 7, wherein when the supply of the high-frequency power to the first heater and the second heater starts, the controller separately receives an output signal from the first temperature sensing circuit and an output signal from the second temperature sensing circuit, and wherein the controller determines whether the first temperature sensing circuit and the second temperature sensing circuit are open based on the received output signals (the hybrid multi-range (100) may further include an induction temperature sensor (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) provided in each of the induction coil sections (40) to detect the temperature of the heated body, [0052]; the control unit (60) be connected to… the induction temperature sensor (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) … by a circuit so as to control the heating cooking unit (20) in response to the cooking operation mode, [0054], Figs 3 and 6).
Claim 8, wherein once determining that the first temperature sensing circuit is open among the first and second temperature sensing circuits, the controller stops the supply of the high-frequency power to the working coil of the first heater and the working coil of the second heater (each of the above induction temperature sensors (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) may be
equipped with a fuse (45) to short-circuit at a preset cut-off temperature or higher, [0052]).
Claim 9, wherein after stopping the supply of the high-frequency power to the first heater, the controller re-receives the output signal from the first temperature sensing circuit and the output signal from the second temperature sensing circuit, and determines whether the first temperature sensing circuit is restored to the original closed state based on the output signals re-received from the first temperature sensing circuit and the second temperature sensing circuit (restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20, when senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025], Perry et al.).
Claim 10, wherein once identifying that the first temperature sensing circuit is restored to the closed state, the controller restarts the supply of the high-frequency power to the working coil of the first heater and the working coil of the second heater (control device can then restore the operation of the surface heating unit, Abstract, Perry et al).
Regarding Independent Claim 11, SHIN discloses a method for controlling an electric range (a hybrid multi-range (100), [0024], Fig 1), the electric range comprising a cover plate (a flat glass (11), [0025], Fig 5) on which a heating target is disposed (an object to be heated is seated, Abstract); a heater comprising a working coil (an induction coil unit (40), [0024]) to which high-frequency power is applied and configured to heat the heating target using a magnetic field generated from the working coil (a high frequency magnetic field using induction heating, [0004]); a plate temperature sensor (an induction temperature sensor (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) provided in each of the induction coil sections (40), [0052], Fig 1) disposed in the heater and configured to sense a temperature of the cover plate (see Fig 1); a fuse (equipped with a fuse (45), [0052], Fig 4) disposed in the heater (Fig 4); and a controller (control unit (60), [0053], Fig 6) configured to supply the high-frequency power to the working coil and having the plate temperature sensor and the fuse electrically connected thereto, wherein the plate temperature sensor and the fuse are connected to each other in series and connected to the controller to form a temperature sensing circuit (see Figs 3 and 6), the method comprising:
when overheating occurs in the cover plate, opening the temperature sensing circuit via the thermal fuse and stopping the supply of the high-frequency power to the working coil via the controller (control unit (60) may block power supply to the induction coil unit (40) when the detected temperature difference between each of the induction temperature sensors (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) in the induction mode is greater than a preset value, [0080]), wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved;
SHIN discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose the fuse (taught by SHIN already) is a thermal fuse and configured to sense overheating of the cover plate; the method comprising: sensing overheating of the cover plate via the thermal fuse, wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved;
Perry et al. teach an electric range (a cooktop 10, [0026], Fig 2), comprising: a thermal fuse (include a temperature- sensing control (e.g., a thermal switch) for controlling the operation of a burner of a cooking appliance, [0025], Fig 1) and configured to sense overheating of the cover plate (a temperature- sensing control 60 configured to sense overheating of the cover plate 24, see Fig 3. Note: “the fuse disposed in the heater” and “the cover plate” taught by SHIN already); the method comprising: sensing overheating of the cover plate via the thermal fuse (see Abstract, [0025] and Figs 1-3), wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved (The temperature-sensing control 60 can then restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20 when the control 60 senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify SHIN with Perry et al.’s further teaching of the fuse is a thermal fuse and configured to sense overheating of the cover plate; the method comprising: sensing overheating of the cover plate via the thermal fuse, wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved; because Perry et al. teach, in Para. [0009] that providing an excellent temperature control to control the operation of a cooktop burner element of a cooking appliance to reduce the opportunity for overheating of the burner element and/or the cooktop.
Claim 12, wherein the plate temperature sensor and the thermal fuse are separately formed and disposed in the heater (see 44c and 45 are separately formed and disposed in 40, Fig 3. Note: “the thermal fuse” taught by Perry et al.).
Claim 14, wherein the heater comprises a first heater and a second heater (a first induction coil portion (40A), a second induction coil portion (40B), [0034], Fig 1) spaced a predetermined distance apart from each other (Figs 1 and 3), each of the first heater and the second heater having a working coil (Figs 1 and 3), wherein the plate temperature sensor comprises a first plate temperature sensor disposed in the first heater and a second plate temperature sensor disposed in the second heater (induction temperature sensors (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) may be equipped with a fuse (45), [0052]), and wherein the thermal fuse comprises a first thermal fuse disposed in the first heater and a second thermal fuse disposed in the second heater (a temperature- sensing control (e.g., a thermal switch) for controlling the operation of a burner of a cooking appliance, [0025], Fig 1, Perry et al. Note: fuses disposed in the first heater and disposed in the second heater” taught by SHIN already).
Claim 15, wherein the temperature sensing circuit comprises a first temperature sensing circuit formed by the first plate temperature sensor and the first thermal fuse which are connected in series and connected to the controller (see enlarged in Fig 3. Note: “the first thermal fuse” taught by Perry et al. already) and connected to the controller (Figs 3 and 6); and
a second temperature sensing circuit formed by the second plate temperature sensor and the second thermal fuse in series (see enlarged in Fig 3. Note: “the second thermal fuse” taught by Perry et al. already) which are connected in series and connected to the controller (Figs 3 and 6).
Claim 16, wherein the opening of the temperature sensing circuit via the thermal fuse and the stopping of the supply of the high-frequency power to the working coil via the controller when the overheating occurs in the cover plate comprises:
opening the first temperature sensing circuit via the first thermal fuse, and when the overheating is resolved, restoring the first temperature sensing circuit to an original closed state (temperature-sensing control 60 can then restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20 when the control 60 senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025], Figs 1-3, Perry et al.); and
opening the second temperature sensing circuit via the second thermal fuse when sensing overheating, and when the overheating is resolved, restoring the second temperature sensing circuit to an original closed state via the second thermal fuse (temperature-sensing control 60 can then restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20 when the control 60 senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025], Figs 1-3, Perry et al.).
Claim 17, further comprising: separately receiving via the controller an output signal from the first temperature sensing circuit and an output signal from the second temperature sensing circuit when the supply of the high-frequency power to the first heater and the second heater starts (the hybrid multi-range (100) may further include an induction temperature sensor (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) provided in each of the induction coil sections (40) to detect the temperature of the heated body, [0052], Figs 3 and 6); and
determining whether the first temperature sensing circuit and the second temperature sensing circuit are opened based on the output signals received by the controller (the control unit (60) be connected to… the induction temperature sensor (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) … by a circuit so as to control the heating cooking unit (20) in response to the cooking operation mode, [0054], Fig 6).
Claim 18, further comprising: stopping via the controller the supply of the high-frequency power to the working coil of the first heater and the working coil of the second heater, once it is determined that the first temperature sensing circuit is open among the first temperature sensing circuit and the second temperature sensing circuit (each of the above induction temperature sensors (44a, 44b, 44c, 44d) may be equipped with a fuse (45) to short-circuit at a preset cut-off temperature or higher, [0052]).
Claim 19, further comprising: separately re-receiving via the controller the output signal from the first temperature sensing circuit and the output signal from the second temperature sensing circuit, after the supply of the high-frequency power to the first heater is stopped (and a control part connected by a circuit to the induction temperature sensor… the detection sensors transmit the detection signal to the control part when the area where the heated object is placed in any one area of the induction coil parts, [0014]); and
determining whether the first temperature sensing circuit is restored to an original closed state based on the output signals re-received by the controller (restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20, when senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025], Perry et al.).
Claim 20, further comprising: re-starting via the controller the supply of the high-frequency power to the working coil of the first heater and the working coil of the second heater, when the first temperature sensing circuit is restored to the original closed state (restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20, when senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025], Perry et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The same prior art used under the Non-Final Rejection been able to cover all the limitations of the amended claims.
A. The applicant's argument on Remarks, namely “Shin discloses hybrid multi-range 100 including induction temperature sensor 44a, 44b, 44c, 44d for sensing a temperature of an object, and fuse 45 which is opened when the temperature is above a predetermined temperature. However, Shin is entirely silent as the electrical series connection between the induction temperature sensor 44a, 44b, 44c, 44d and the fuse 45. The Examiner alleged that it is disclosed that each of the induction temperature sensors may be provided with a fuse so as to be short-circuited at a predetermined cut-off temperature or higher in paragraph [0052] of Shin. As described in paragraph [0052] of Shin, the induction temperature sensor 44a, 44b, 44c, 44d is short circuited by the fuse 45, NOT open-circuited. Thus, the electrical connection between the induction temperature sensor 44a, 44b, 44c, 44d and the fuse 45 must be parallel, NOT series. Also, SHIN is entirely silent as to restoring the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating sensed by the fuse 45 is resolved. Perry fails to overcome the deficiencies of Shin. For at least the above reasons, the rejection of independent claims 1 and 11 over Shin and Perry should be withdrawn. Dependent claims 2, 4-10, 12, and 14-20, as well as withdrawn claims 3 and 13, are allowable over Shin and Perry at least for the reasons discussed above with respect to independent claims 1 and 11, from which they respectively depend, as well as for their added features”.
The examiner’s response: The combination of SHIN (KR 10 2158235 B1) in view of Perry et al. (US 2018/0058700 A1) disclosed exactly an electric range / a method for controlling an electric range as claimed under Independent Claims 1 and 11 respectively, fully discloses all the recited limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 11 as set forth in this office action shown above. SHIN disclosed exactly the plate temperature sensor and the fuse are connected to each other in series (a fuse (45) to short-circuit at a preset cut-off temperature, [0052]; see fuse 45 and temperature sensor 45c connected to each other in series in Fig 3. Note: the only requirement would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to understand that: a fuse designed to short-circuit at a preset cut-off temperature is a safety device that automatically stops current flow when it detects a dangerous surge. Therefore, after fuse (45) been burned out caused by the “short-circuit”, the series connected fuse 45 and temperature sensor 45c will become a “open-circuit” as claimed.) in this office action shown above; and Perry et al. teach an electric range (a cooktop 10, [0026], Fig 2), comprising: a thermal fuse (include a temperature- sensing control (e.g., a thermal switch) for controlling the operation of a burner of a cooking appliance, [0025], Fig 1) disposed in the heater and configured to sense overheating of the cover plate (a temperature- sensing control 60 senses that the cooking temperature exceeds a first, predetermined upper threshold temperature, [0025], see Fig 3. Note: “the fuse disposed in the heater” and “the cover plate” taught by SHIN already); and wherein the thermal fuse is configured to open the temperature sensing circuit when sensing the overheating, and restore the temperature sensing circuit to its original closed state when the overheating is resolved (The temperature-sensing control 60 can then restore the connection between the power source 16 and the burner 20 when the control 60 senses that the cooking temperature falls below a second predetermined, [0025]); brining in Perry et al. for the purpose of providing an excellent temperature control to control the operation of a cooktop burner element of a cooking appliance to reduce the opportunity for overheating of the burner element and/or the cooktop (Para. [0009]). During examination, a claim must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. Because the applicant has the opportunity to amend claims during prosecution, giving a claim its broadest reasonable interpretation will reduce the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Yamamoto, 740 F.2d 1569, 1571 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989)”. “Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention” (MPEP 2173.01(I)). Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761