DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, corresponding to claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 10/2/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/2/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8 should read “a first position and a second position”
Claim 1, lines 9-11 should read “and configured to cause at least a portion of the support segment to move to resulting” for clarity
Claim 11, line 6 should read “a first position and a second position”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Per para [0126] of the instant specification, “the first curve…may be having no curve,” i.e. “a curve” according to claim 15 is understood to encompass a straight extension.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: release mechanism in claim 6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Per the instant specification at para [0139] and in view of instant Fig. 14, the disclosed “release mechanism” is a hinged handle housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lo (US 2014/0378766 A1; hereinafter “Lo”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Lo discloses a tracheal intubation system (Figs. 2-4 and 7; abstract), comprising:
a stylet (stylet 2) configured to mount an endotracheal tube (endotracheal tube 1) (Figs. 2-3 and 7), the stylet including:
an articulating segment (leading section 21) extending between a distal tip of the stylet and a joint of the stylet (weakened area 223) (Fig. 3), the articulating segment configured to move relative to the joint (Figs. 3 and 11; paras [0041], [0046] and [0048-49]);
a support segment (comprising body section 22 and tail section 23) extending between the joint of the stylet and a proximal tip of the stylet (Figs. 3-4), the support segment configured to cause the articulating segment to move between a first position a second position (Figs. 3 and 11; paras [0041], [0046] and [0048-49]); and
a handle (graspable controller 3) configured to couple with the support segment of the stylet and cause at least a portion of the support segment to move that results in the articulating segment of the stylet to move (Figs. 3-4 and 11; paras [0041], [0046] and [0048-49]).
Regarding claim 2, Lo discloses the tracheal intubation system of claim 1, wherein the support segment comprises a longitudinal split (comprising slits 24) (Figs. 3 and 13) that divides the support segment into a first portion (first driven sheet 231) configured to be secured in a fixed position relative to the handle (the first gear 3211 may be omitted from the first connecting unit 321…the first rack 3213 [and by extension, the first driven sheet 231] is secured to the shell, para [0049]) and a second portion (second driven sheet 232) configured to be moveable relative to the first portion and to the handle (Figs. 3-4 and 7; paras [0046] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Lo discloses the tracheal intubation system of claim 2, wherein the handle further includes an actuator (driving mechanism 32 with operating member 33) configured to cause the second portion of the support segment to move relative to the first portion in response to movement of the actuator (Figs. 3-4, 7 and 11; paras [0046] and [0048-49]).
Regarding claim 4, Lo discloses the tracheal intubation system of claim 3, wherein the actuator further comprises: a trigger (operating member 33) configured to cause rotational movement in a disk (primary gear 323 and/or second connecting unit 322) in response to the trigger moving from a third position to a fourth position, wherein the disk is configured to cause linear movement of the second portion of the support segment in response to the rotational movement of the disk, wherein the linear movement of the second portion of the support segment is configured to cause the articulating segment to move between the first position and the second position (Figs. 3-4, 7 and 11; paras [0041], [0043], [0046] and [0048-49]).
Regarding claim 5, Lo discloses the tracheal intubation system of claim 4, wherein the disk is configured to couple with a grooved track (rack 3222) of the second portion of the support segment (Fig. 6-7, where rack 3222 is considered as part of the sheet 232 because it is an extension thereof).
Regarding claim 15, Lo discloses the stylet of claim 11, wherein:
the first position of the articulating segment comprises a first curve; and
the second position of the articulating segment comprises a second curve (Fig. 11; paras [0041], [0046] and [0048-49]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo in view of Runnels et al. (US 2018/0110950 A1; hereinafter “Runnels”).
Regarding claim 6, Lo discloses the tracheal intubation system of claim 1, Lo is silent regarding wherein the handle further includes: a release mechanism configured to selectively couple the handle with the stylet, because the portions of the handle of Lo are connected via tongue-and-groove rather than a hinge (para [0040]). However, Runnels teaches that it was known in the tracheal stylet art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a handle to include a release mechanism that is a hinge configured to selectively couple the handle with the stylet (Figs. 48-49; para [0239]).Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle of Lo to include a release mechanism that is a hinge configured to selectively couple the handle with the stylet as taught by Runnels, in order to provide the predictable result of a handle housing where the portions of the housing are retained together after opening in order to avoid unintentional separation or loss of a housing portion when inserting/removing the stylet from the handle.
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 12, Lo discloses the tracheal intubation system of claim 1 and stylet of claim 11, but Lo is silent regarding wherein the stylet further comprises: a plurality of depth assessment bands located on the articulating segment, each depth assessment band visually distinct from an adjacent depth assessment band, a first depth assessment band located near the distal tip and having a first visual representation configured to whether an insertion depth of the distal tip is appropriate when positioned adjacent to an anatomical structure of a patient. However, Runnels teaches that it was known in the tracheal stylet art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a handle to include a plurality of depth assessment bands (depth assessment bands 142) located on an articulating segment, each depth assessment band visually distinct from an adjacent depth assessment band (see the key in Fig. 5), a first depth assessment band located near the distal tip and having a first visual representation configured to whether an insertion depth of the distal tip is appropriate when positioned adjacent to an anatomical structure of a patient, wherein the anatomical structure of the patient is a vocal cord (vocal cords V) of the patient (Figs. 3-5 and 10-13; paras [0134] and [0137-143]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylet of Lo to include a plurality of depth assessment bands located on the articulating segment, each depth assessment band visually distinct from an adjacent depth assessment band, a first depth assessment band located near the distal tip and having a first visual representation configured to whether an insertion depth of the distal tip is appropriate when positioned adjacent to an anatomical structure of a patient as taught by Runnels, in order to provide the predictable result of a known means by which to inform a user as to the relative depth and positioning of the articulating segment (Runnels paras [0134] and [0137-143]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Esnouf (US 2016/0279365; Fig. 21), Berman (US 3,930,507; Figs. 1 and 4-5), Frankel (US 4,672,960) and Salem et al. (US 3802440; Fig. 6) teach that tongue-and-groove connection means between slidable members were known in the tracheal stylet/introducer art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, but there is no motivation to include such a connection means, e.g. as seen in instant Fig. 13, in Lo because there is an intentional space/channel between the split portions of Lo to accommodate a camera/light via body 41, see Lo Fig. 13, which would be eliminated if Lo were modified to have a tongue-and-groove connection means as claimed/disclosed/taught by the prior art, thus rendering the device of Lo unable to function as intended, i.e. as a means for guiding a camera/light.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references regarding hinged handle portions and/or depth assessment bands: Runnels et al. (US 2021/0093817 A1); Horrisberger et al. (US 2024/0307644 A1; Figs. 9-11); Hipolito et al. (US 6,668,832). Additional references regarding a stylet with articulating segment that is moved relative to a joint as a result of movement of a portion of a support segment: Chen (US 2009/0065000 A1); McIntyre et al. (US 2009/0069632 A1); Venticinque et al. (US 2021/0213224 A1, e.g. Figs. 11A-B); Mccormick et al. (US 2014/0123976 A1); Karlsson et al. (US 2020/0023151 A1); Smith, Jr. (US 3,314,431); Caine (US 2,541,402); Nobis et al. (US 7,959,642 B2; Fig. 8). Additional references regarding a split tracheal stylet/introducer segment: Schroeder (US 5,259,377).
/KATHRYN E DITMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785