DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 04/14/2026 (“Amendment”). Claims 1-9 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 3, and 5.
The objection(s) to the drawings, specification, and/or claims, the interpretation(s) under 35 USC 112(f), and/or the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112 not reproduced below has/have been withdrawn in view of the corresponding amendments.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over various teachings of International Application Publication WO 2018/168797 (“Ota,” with the below citations to US Patent Application Publication 2019/0380624, which is considered an English-language translation) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0160834 (“Fong”), US Patent Application Publication 2019/0212798 (“Yang”), US Patent 5,178,152 (“Ozawa”), and US Patent Application Publication 2016/0193468 (“Rondoni”).
Regarding claim 1, Ota teaches [a] sphygmomanometer having an automatic blood pressure measurement mode for automatically starting blood pressure measurement according to a predetermined schedule (Fig. 1, nocturnal blood pressure measurement mode 3a, ¶ 0035), the sphygmomanometer comprising: a sphygmomanometer main body configured to be mounted on a measured part (¶ 0029, a blood pressure measuring apparatus attachable to the wrist); an operation unit that is mounted, as a hardware element, on the sphygmomanometer main body (¶ 0031, operation unit 16 including buttons, a touch panel, etc. Also see Fig. 1, measurement posture determining unit 2, height detection unit 6, measurement mode unit 3, etc., controlled by controller 15 as described in ¶ 0030. Although it is not explicit that the buttons of ¶ 0031 are the buttons that control the above units (except e.g. for mode selection as described in ¶ 0034), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these buttons on the device body for performing operations, for the purpose of controlling measurement settings and obtaining inputs - ¶ 0031), …, and the operation unit including an automatic blood pressure measurement mode switch to which an automatic blood pressure measurement mode instruction is input for switching a mode to the automatic blood pressure measurement mode (Fig. 1, nocturnal blood pressure measurement mode 3a, via selector 5 (¶ 0034)); and a processor (Fig. 1, controller 15), … .
Ota does not appear to explicitly teach the operation unit including a power supply instruction switch to which an instruction to turn on or off a power supply of the sphygmomanometer is input (although this is implied by the use of a power source in general), wherein when the power supply instruction switch is operated to turn on the power supply of the sphygmomanometer and the automatic blood pressure measurement mode switch is operated so that the sphygmomanometer is set in the automatic blood pressure measurement mode(i.e., when the device is in the automatic mode), the processor is configured to function as a restriction unit to … (ii) restrict cancellation of the automatic blood pressure measurement mode.
Fong teaches use of a power button with an electronic device (¶ 0044, on/off button 15). It also teaches requiring a button to be pressed continuously for five seconds before the button activation is confirmed, and maintaining current function otherwise, including the display of an on/off indicator (¶ 0044).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a power button into Ota as in Fong, for the purpose of being able to control when the device was used, and for conserving power, as already contemplated (Ota: ¶ 0036; Fong: ¶ 0044). It would have been obvious to, when the device was on and in the automatic mode of Ota, make the processor function as a restriction unit to (ii) restrict cancellation of the automatic blood pressure measurement mode by e.g. requiring a long button press (including during a particular intermittent measurement – Ota: ¶¶s 0007, 0035, etc.), as in Fong, and to maintain current function otherwise, for the purpose of ensuring that the change was not accidentally made (Fong: ¶ 0044).
Ota-Fong does not appear to explicitly teach when the device is in the automatic mode as above, the processor is configured to function as a restriction unit to (i) set a state in which no instruction to turn off the power supply of the sphygmomanometer is input in response to an operation of the power supply instruction switch.
Yang teaches disabling a power button when the device is in a disabled power event state (Abstract), which corresponds to contexts where it appears that the device is not being actively operated by the user (¶¶s 0009, 0013, 0014, etc.).
Ozawa teaches preventing cut-off in power during a blood pressure measurement mode (col. 7, lines 51-60).
Rondoni teaches taking measures to prevent accidental engagement of an “off” button during the night (¶ 0054).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, when the device is in the automatic/night-time mode of Ota (and thus upcoming scheduled automatic measurements are expected, but the device is not being actively operated (as contemplated by Yang)), set a state in which no instruction to turn off the power supply is input (i.e., disable the power button as in Yang), for the purpose of preventing accidental operation of the button (Yang: ¶ 0008; Rondoni: ¶ 0054), since measurements are still desired to be obtained (Ozawa: col. 7, lines 51-60; Rondoni: ¶ 0054; Ota: ¶¶s 0007, 0035), and to prevent damage to the device (Yang: ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 2, Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni further teaches wherein the operation unit includes a manual blood pressure measurement switch to which a blood pressure measurement instruction is input for a manual blood pressure measurement mode in which the blood pressure measurement is performed according to an input of the blood pressure measurement instruction (Ota: Fig. 1, normal blood pressure measurement mode 3b, via e.g. a button associated with selector 5), and the processor is configured to function as the restriction unit to restrict performing the blood pressure measurement according to the blood pressure measurement instruction by the manual blood pressure measurement switch when the sphygmomanometer is set in the automatic blood pressure measurement mode (Ota: ¶ 0034, the selector 5 selects one of the modes, such that the normal mode is restricted when the nocturnal mode is selected).
Regarding claim 3, Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni further teaches wherein the automatic blood pressure measurement mode switch is provided separately from the power supply instruction switch (Ota: ¶ 0031, different operation buttons for different operations; Fong: Fig. 1 and ¶ 0044, different buttons for different functions. It would have been obvious to use separate buttons for the purpose of enabling the separate control already contemplated).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni further teaches wherein the measured part is a wrist (Ota: ¶ 0029), further comprising: a blood pressure measuring cuff provided integrally with the sphygmomanometer main body (Ota: Fig. 1, cuff 11), wherein the processor is mounted on the sphygmomanometer main body (Ota: Fig. 1, in the blood pressure measuring apparatus 1), and the processor is configured to function as a blood pressure measurement unit that temporarily presses the wrist by the blood pressure measuring cuff and performs the blood pressure measurement by an oscillometric method that detects pressure in the cuff (Ota: ¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 9, Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni further teaches wherein turning off the power supply of the sphygmomanometer requires the cancellation of the automatic blood pressure measurement mode prior to the operation of the power supply instruction switch to input an instruction to turn off the power supply (because as above, the power button would have been obvious to disable in the automatic/night-time mode).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni in view of US Patent Application Publication 2008/0161654 (“Teller”).
Regarding claim 4, Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the automatic blood pressure measurement mode switch is a self-return type switch configured to be in an on-state only while being pressed, and to return to an off-state when released.
Teller teaches using a button to control a momentary switch of a medical diagnostic device (¶¶s 0131, 0142, 0197, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the automatic blood pressure measurement mode switch of the combination a self-return type switch, as in Teller, as the simple substitution of one type of switch for another, with predictable results (on-off control of the mode), and for the purpose of triggering events (Teller: ¶ 0131).
Regarding claim 5, Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni-Teller teaches all the features with respect to claim 4, as outlined above. Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni-Teller further teaches wherein the sphygmomanometer main body includes a display device (Ota: Fig. 1, display 17), and the processor is configured to function as the restriction unit to: cause the display device to maintain a display indicating that the sphygmomanometer is set in the automatic blood pressure measurement mode until a predetermined display time elapses after the automatic blood pressure measurement mode switch is operated when the sphygmomanometer is set in the automatic blood pressure measurement mode (Ota: ¶ 0031, describing displaying the blood pressure operation), and cancel the automatic blood pressure measurement mode only by the automatic blood pressure measurement mode switch being continuously pressed for longer than a predetermined input time at a predetermined time interval when the display device maintains the display (Fong teaches requiring a button to be pressed continuously for five seconds before the button activation is confirmed, and maintains current function otherwise, including the display of an on/off indicator (¶ 0044). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to restrict mode cancellation by requiring a long button press (including during a particular intermittent measurement – Ota: ¶¶s 0007, 0035), as in Fong, and to maintain current function otherwise, for the purpose of ensuring that the change was not accidentally made (Fong: ¶ 0044)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0239040 (“Takeoka”).
Regarding claim 6, Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Ota-Fong-Yang-Ozawa-Rondoni further teaches wherein the operation unit includes a clock setting instruction switch to which a clock setting instruction is input for performing a clock setting of the sphygmomanometer (Ota: ¶¶s 0035,0036, etc., a clock for setting measurement times and intervals), but does not appear to explicitly teach the processor is configured to function as the restriction unit to restrict performing of the clock setting by operation of the clock setting instruction switch when the sphygmomanometer is set in the automatic blood pressure measurement mode.
Takeoka teaches restricting clock-setting when a blood pressure device is in lock mode, which is a mode designed to restrict certain functions (Fig. 4, no clock-setting in lock mode branch – also see ¶ 0056).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to restrict certain functions when in the nocturnal blood pressure measurement mode of Ota, including a clock-setting function as in Takeoka, for the purpose of saving power (Ota: ¶ 0036), and for preventing undesirable changes (Takeoka: ¶ 0008, Fig. 4, S16, S17).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,412,955 (“Omron”) in view of Ota, Fong, Yang, Ozawa, Rondoni, Teller, and/or Takeoka. Claim 2 of Omron teaches all features except for those made up by Ota, Fong, Yang, Ozawa, Rondoni, Teller, and/or Takeoka as outlined above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Fong teaches preventing accidental button presses be requiring a long press (which would have been obvious to apply to a mode selection button). Yang teaches power button disabling, including in contexts where it appears that the device is not being actively operated by the user. These and other references provide motivations for combination. Thus, the two-step structure would have been obvious to achieve. There is no requirement for a single reference to teach the two-step structure. All claims remain rejected in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791