DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on December 18, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 7, 12, 17, 18, and 26 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-21, 23, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO 2020/238632) in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0367287).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising (“The device 805 may be an example of or include the components of device 505, device 605, or a UE 115 as described herein” – See [0160]):
one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors (“The processor 840 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (for example, the memory 830) to cause the device 805 to perform various functions” – See [0166]; See also Fig. 8) to cause the apparatus to:
receive, via a first resource, a channel state information-reference signal associated with estimation of a channel between the first UE and a network node, the first resource spanning a first bandwidth comprising one or more subbands (“In some examples, the first device 415-a may measure a reference signal (for example, a CSI-RS) from the network equipment 405 to estimate a signal matrix for a DL channel” – See [0126]; “The base station may transmit a DL transmission to the first UE using the same time and frequency resources (for example, on a same frequency band and in a same time slot) that the base station uses to receive an UL transmission from the second UE” – See [0049]; “a scheduling of frequency subbands may lead to a dynamic selection of the candidate subset of TPMIs” – See [0112]; The first device 415-a (first UE) receives a CSI-RS from the base station (network node) to measure the channel quality between the first device 415-a and the base station, wherein the bandwidth includes a plurality of subbands);
receive, from a second UE via a second resource that spans a second bandwidth, a reference signal associated with estimation of a cross link interference channel between the first UE and the second UE (“The network may configure the first UE to measure the strength of an SRS transmitted by the second UE. In some examples, the first UE may measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the SRS and transmit a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) to a base station of the cell. The RSSI may correspond to CLI between the first UE and the second UE” – See [0052]; “At 425, the second device 415-b may transmit the SRS on the configured physical resources. In some examples, the second device 415-b may transmit the SRS periodically or semi-persistently based on signaling from the network equipment 405. Additionally or alternatively, the second device 415-b may transmit the SRS based on receiving an aperiodic trigger from the network equipment 405. The first device 415-a and the network equipment 405 may receive the SRS on the configured physical resources” – See [0111]; “physical resources (for example, time and frequency resources)” – See [0098]; The first device 415-a receives, from second device 415-b (second UE), an SRS (reference signal associated with estimation of a cross link interference) in order to measure the CLI (cross link interference) between devices 415-a and 415-b, wherein the SRS is received via second frequency resources/bandwidth);
estimate cross link interference between the first UE and the second UE to obtain estimated cross link interference based at least in part on the cross link interference channel and a set of precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE (“the base station may determine a candidate subset of TPMIs for each SRS resource and indicate the candidate subsets to the first set of UEs 115” – See [0094]; “At 435, the network equipment 405 may in some examples transmit to the first device 415-a an indication of the candidate subsets of TPMIs corresponding to the one or more selected devices, including the candidate subset of TPMIs corresponding to the second device 415-b” – See [0113]; “the first device 415-a may calculate a number of equivalent interference matrices by multiplying each codeword in a set of TPMIs (for example, the candidate subset of TPMIs) with the calculated interference matrix associated with the received SRS. The first device 415-a may then select a number of TPMIs based on the equivalent interference matrices and an associated SINR threshold. In some examples, the first device 415-a may select the TPMIs associated with equivalent interference matrices that exceed the SINR threshold” – See [0125]; “In some examples, determining the interference metric may include determining an interference matrix” – See [0152]; The first UE receives an indication of candidate TPMIs that correspond to uplink SRSs transmitted by the second UE (a set of precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE). The first UE receives SRSs from the second UE to measure the cross link interference channel and generate an interference matrix. The first UE multiplies codewords from the candidate TMPIs/precoding parameters with the interference matrix generated from the SRS measurements to determine an estimate of the cross link interference. Thus, the estimate of cross link interference between first device 415-a (first UE) and second device 415-b (second UE) is based on the measured SRSs (cross link interference channel) and the candidate TMPIs (precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE)); and
transmit a report comprising channel state information that is generated based at least in part on one or more measurements of the channel state information-reference signal and the estimated cross link interference (“the first device 415-a may transmit the indication in a CSI report” – See [0128]; “the UE may include a non-zero power CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) associated with the CSI-IM resource in the CSI report” – See [0051]; “the CSI report further includes one or more of an RI, a PMI, or a CQI based on the determined interference metric. In some examples, one or more TPMIs in the second set of TPMIs are associated with one or more of the RI, the PMI, or the CQI” – See [0155]; The first device 415-a (first UE) transmits a CSI report comprising information generated based on the CSI-RS measurements (one or more measurements of the channel state information-reference signal) and RI/PMI/CQI that is generated based on the estimated cross link interference).
Huang does not explicitly teach that the one or more measurements are based at least in part on the second bandwidth at least partially overlapping with the first bandwidth in accordance with a measurement rule for the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth.
However, Chen teaches that that the one or more measurements are based at least in part on the second bandwidth at least partially overlapping with the first bandwidth in accordance with a measurement rule for the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth (“Since the SRS and the CSI-RS have the same sequence structure and are transmitted in the same time-frequency resource, the UE may be able to decode the SRS and the CSI-RS and perform the CLI measurement. The SRS may be transmitted by a UE. The CSI-RS may be transmitted by a TRP. The UE may not need to know the sources of the SRS and the CSI-RS (e.g., a UE or a TRP). The UE may solely determine whether any interference is presented” – See [0028]; The frequency resources for the SRS (second bandwidth) and frequency resources for the CSI-RS (first bandwidth) are the same (i.e., overlapping), in accordance with a measurement rule for the bandwidth and the second bandwidth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang such that the one or more measurements are based at least in part on the second bandwidth at least partially overlapping with the first bandwidth in accordance with a measurement rule for the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth. Motivation for doing so would be to provide a more flexible and efficient CLI measurement (See Chen, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 2, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive a control message that indicates the first resource for the channel state information-reference signal and the second resource for the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel, wherein the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel is measured via the second bandwidth spanned by the second resource in accordance with the measurement rule (“the UE may be configured with a time and frequency resource for measuring interference, which may be referred to as a channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) resource. The base station may refrain from transmitting signals to the UE in the CSI-IM resource to allow the UE to measure interference. The UE may report the measured interference to the base station in a channel state information (CSI) report, which may include reports associated with one or more parameters of a communication channel between the base station and the UE. For example, the UE may include a non-zero power CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) associated with the CSI-IM resource in the CSI report” – See [0051]; “The base station 205 may configure physical resources (for example, time and frequency resources) for reference signal (for example, SRSs) and indicate the configured physical resources to the UEs 215” – See [0098]; The first UE receives indications of a first resource for the CSI-RS and a second resource for the SRS (reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel), wherein the SRS is measured via the second bandwidth in accordance with a measurement rule as shown above with respect to Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to receive the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel by being executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel via the first bandwidth based at least in part on the measurement rule indicating that the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth are a same bandwidth (“The first device 415-a and the network equipment 405 may receive the SRS on the configured physical resources” – See [0111]; “the base station 105 may indicate a TPMI and a set of time and frequency resources for UL transmissions to a UE 115 in the second set of UEs 115, and the base station 105 may indicate the same set of time and frequency resources for DL transmissions to a UE 115 in the first set of UEs 115” – See [0095]; The UE receives the SRS (reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel) via first frequency resources/bandwidth, wherein the measurement rule indicates the first frequency resources/bandwidth and the second frequency resources/bandwidth are the same).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to receive the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel by being executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel via a subset of the one or more subbands based at least in part on the measurement rule indicating that the second bandwidth is included within the first bandwidth (“the base station 105 may indicate a TPMI and a set of time and frequency resources for UL transmissions to a UE 115 in the second set of UEs 115, and the base station 105 may indicate the same set of time and frequency resources for DL transmissions to a UE 115 in the first set of UEs 115” – See [0095]; The measurement rule indicates that the first bandwidth for the DL CSI-RS and the second bandwidth for the SRS are the same (i.e., the second bandwidth is included within the first bandwidth). The UE receives the SRS (reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference) in accordance with the rule).
Regarding Claim 5, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to receive the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel by being executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive the reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel via the second bandwidth based at least in part on the measurement rule indicating that the second bandwidth at least partially overlaps the first bandwidth (“The first device 415-a and the network equipment 405 may receive the SRS on the configured physical resources” – See [0111]; “the base station 105 may indicate a TPMI and a set of time and frequency resources for UL transmissions to a UE 115 in the second set of UEs 115, and the base station 105 may indicate the same set of time and frequency resources for DL transmissions to a UE 115 in the first set of UEs 115” – See [0095]; The UE receives the SRS (reference signal associated with estimation of the cross link interference channel) via second frequency resources/bandwidth, wherein the measurement rule indicates the first frequency resources/bandwidth and the second frequency resources/bandwidth are the same (i.e., at least partially overlapping)).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 5. Huang further teaches that the measurement rule indicates that the second bandwidth at least partially overlaps each bandwidth spanned by a set of resources for a set of channel state information-reference signals that comprises the channel state information-reference signal (“the base station 105 may indicate a TPMI and a set of time and frequency resources for UL transmissions to a UE 115 in the second set of UEs 115, and the base station 105 may indicate the same set of time and frequency resources for DL transmissions to a UE 115 in the first set of UEs 115” – See [0095]; The measurement rule indicates that the second bandwidth for receiving the SRS is the same as (i.e., at least partially overlaps) the bandwidth spanned by the time/frequency resources that comprise downlink transmissions/CSI-RS from the base station).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive a control message that indicates the set of precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE and a first subset of subbands of the one or more subbands associated with the set of precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE, wherein the channel state information corresponds to the first subset of subbands based at least in part on the control message (“The base station 205 may configure physical resources (for example, time and frequency resources) for reference signal (for example, SRSs) and indicate the configured physical resources to the UEs 215” – See [0098]; “The first device may determine a candidate subset of possible TPMIs the second device may use for UL transmissions for full-duplex communications” – See [0005]; “At 435, the network equipment 405 may in some examples transmit to the first device 415-a an indication of the candidate subsets of TPMIs corresponding to the one or more selected devices, including the candidate subset of TPMIs corresponding to the second device 415-b” – See [0113]; The first UE receives a control message indicating the candidate TPMIs for the second UE (set of precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE) and a set of frequency resources for measuring the SRS transmitted by the second UE (first subset of subbands of the one or more subbands associated with the set of precoding parameters). As shown above with respect to Claim 1, the channel state information in the report corresponds to the subbands and precoding information that were configured in the control message).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 1. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: estimate the cross link interference channel based at least in part on the measurement rule indicating that the cross link interference channel is zero outside of the second bandwidth; and generate the channel state information based at least in part on the estimated cross link interference at the first UE corresponding to an uplink transmission associated with the second UE (“The network may use CLI mitigation techniques to measure interference over a relatively long duration (for example, tens of slots or hundreds of slots) and allocate non-overlapping time and frequency resources to the first UE and the second UE” – See [0052]; Non-overlapping resources (i.e., resources outside of the second bandwidth) have no CLI. As shown above with respect to Claim 1, the first UE generates the channel state information in the report based on the SRS measurements which are used to measure cross link interference at the first UE based on the SRS transmissions (uplink transmissions) from the second UE, and further based on the TPMI information (precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE)).
Regarding Claim 12, Huang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (“The device 805 may be an example of or include the components of device 505, device 605, or a UE 115 as described herein” – See [0160]), comprising:
one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors (“The processor 840 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (for example, the memory 830) to cause the device 805 to perform various functions” – See [0166]; See also Fig. 8) to cause the apparatus to:
receive a control message indicating one or more candidate precoding matrices associated with uplink precoding at a second UE (“The first device may determine a candidate subset of possible TPMIs the second device may use for UL transmissions for full-duplex communications” – See [0005]; “At 435, the network equipment 405 may in some examples transmit to the first device 415-a an indication of the candidate subsets of TPMIs corresponding to the one or more selected devices, including the candidate subset of TPMIs corresponding to the second device 415-b” – See [0113]; The first UE receives a control message indicating one or more candidate TPMIs (candidate precoding matrices) used by the second UE for uplink transmissions);
receive, via a first bandwidth, a channel state information-reference signal associated with estimation of a channel between the first UE and a network node (“In some examples, the first device 415-a may measure a reference signal (for example, a CSI-RS) from the network equipment 405 to estimate a signal matrix for a DL channel” – See [0126]; The first UE receives a CSI-RS from the base station (network node) to measure the channel quality between the first device 415-a and the base station);
estimate cross link interference between the first UE and the second UE to obtain estimated cross link interference based at least in part on a reference signal received via a second bandwidth from the second UE associated with estimation of a cross link interference channel between the first UE and the second UE and the one or more candidate precoding matrices (“the base station may determine a candidate subset of TPMIs for each SRS resource and indicate the candidate subsets to the first set of UEs 115” – See [0094]; “At 425, the second device 415-b may transmit the SRS on the configured physical resources … The first device 415-a and the network equipment 405 may receive the SRS on the configured physical resources” – See [0111]; “physical resources (for example, time and frequency resources)” – See [0098]; “At 435, the network equipment 405 may in some examples transmit to the first device 415-a an indication of the candidate subsets of TPMIs corresponding to the one or more selected devices, including the candidate subset of TPMIs corresponding to the second device 415-b” – See [0113]; “the first device 415-a may calculate a number of equivalent interference matrices by multiplying each codeword in a set of TPMIs (for example, the candidate subset of TPMIs) with the calculated interference matrix associated with the received SRS. The first device 415-a may then select a number of TPMIs based on the equivalent interference matrices and an associated SINR threshold. In some examples, the first device 415-a may select the TPMIs associated with equivalent interference matrices that exceed the SINR threshold” – See [0125]; “In some examples, determining the interference metric may include determining an interference matrix” – See [0152]; The first UE receives an indication of candidate TPMIs that correspond to uplink SRSs transmitted by the second UE (candidate precoding matrices). The first UE receives SRSs via second frequency resources/bandwidth from the second UE (reference signal from the second UE associated with estimation of a cross link interference channel between the first UE and the second UE) to measure the cross link interference channel and generate an interference matrix. The first UE multiplies codewords from the candidate TMPIs/precoding parameters with the interference matrix generated from the SRS measurements to determine an estimate of the cross link interference. Thus, the estimate of cross link interference between first device 415-a (first UE) and second device 415-b (second UE) is based on the measured SRSs from the second UE and the candidate TMPIs (precoding parameters associated with uplink precoding at the second UE)); and
transmit a report comprising channel state information that is generated based at least in part on a measurement of the channel state information-reference signal and the estimated cross link interference (“the first device 415-a may transmit the indication in a CSI report” – See [0128]; “the UE may include a non-zero power CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) associated with the CSI-IM resource in the CSI report” – See [0051]; “the CSI report further includes one or more of an RI, a PMI, or a CQI based on the determined interference metric. In some examples, one or more TPMIs in the second set of TPMIs are associated with one or more of the RI, the PMI, or the CQI” – See [0155]; The first device 415-a (first UE) transmits a CSI report comprising information generated based on the CSI-RS measurements (one or more measurements of the channel state information-reference signal) and RI/PMI/CQI that is generated based on the estimated cross link interference).
Huang does not explicitly teach that the measurement is based at least in part on the second bandwidth at least partially overlapping with the first bandwidth.
However, Chen teaches that that the measurement is based at least in part on the second bandwidth at least partially overlapping with the first bandwidth (“Since the SRS and the CSI-RS have the same sequence structure and are transmitted in the same time-frequency resource, the UE may be able to decode the SRS and the CSI-RS and perform the CLI measurement. The SRS may be transmitted by a UE. The CSI-RS may be transmitted by a TRP. The UE may not need to know the sources of the SRS and the CSI-RS (e.g., a UE or a TRP). The UE may solely determine whether any interference is presented” – See [0028]; The frequency resources for the SRS (second bandwidth) and frequency resources for the CSI-RS (first bandwidth) are the same (i.e., overlapping)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang such that the measurement is based at least in part on the second bandwidth at least partially overlapping with the first bandwidth for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 12. Huang further teaches that the control message indicates a plurality of candidate precoding matrices associated with uplink precoding at the second UE, and the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: select a candidate precoding matrix from the plurality of candidate precoding matrices; and generate the estimated cross link interference based at least in part on the selected candidate precoding matrix (“The first device may determine a candidate subset of possible TPMIs the second device may use for UL transmissions for full-duplex communications” – See [0005]; “At 435, the network equipment 405 may in some examples transmit to the first device 415-a an indication of the candidate subsets of TPMIs corresponding to the one or more selected devices, including the candidate subset of TPMIs corresponding to the second device 415-b” – See [0113]; “At 440, the first device 415-a may determine a subset of TPMIs based on an interference calculation” – See [0124]; “At 445, the first device 415-a may transmit an indication of the determined subset of TPMIs to the network equipment 405” – See [0127]; The control message indicates a plurality of candidate TPMIs (precoding matrices) used by the second UE for UL transmissions. As shown above with respect to Claim 12, the first UE selects a subset of the candidate TPMIs (candidate precoding matrix) and generates the estimated cross link interference based at least in part on the selected candidate precoding matrix).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 13. Huang further teaches that the report comprises an indication of the selected candidate precoding matrix (As shown above with respect to Claim 13, the report transmitted by the first UE in step 445 includes the selected candidate TPMIs (precoding matrix)).
Regarding Claim 15, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 12. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: select a subset of precoding parameters of precoding parameters associated with the one or more candidate precoding matrices; and generate the estimated cross link interference based at least in part on the subset of precoding parameters (As shown above with respect to Claim 12, the first UE selects a subset of the candidate TPMIs (precoding parameters) and generates the estimated cross link interference based at least in part on the selected candidate precoding matrix).
Regarding Claim 16, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 15. Huang further teaches that the subset of precoding parameters are selected based at least in part on a coherence capability of the first UE (“In some examples, such as when the first UE includes multiple receive antennas for coherent antenna reception, the strength of the interference may additionally depend on a spatial direction of the UL transmission signal from the second UE” – See [0050]; “At 440, the first device 415-a may determine a subset of TPMIs based on an interference calculation” – See [0124]; The interference depends on a coherent reception capability of the first UE, wherein the selection of the TPMIs/precoding parameters is further based on the interference).
Claim 17 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claim 18 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claim 20 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 4.
Claim 21 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 5.
Claim 23 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 8.
Claim 26 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 12.
Claim 27 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 28, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 27. Huang further teaches that the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: generate, based at least in part on the channel state information, second channel state information associated with the channel between the second UE and the network node that is based at least in part on a second candidate precoding matrix of the plurality of candidate precoding matrices (“At 450, the network equipment 405 may determine to pair the first device 415-a and the second device 415-b (or potentially another device configured for UL transmissions) based on the determined subset of TPMIs. In some examples, the network equipment 405 may additionally determine the pairing based on measuring an UL channel matrix of the second device 415-b. In some examples, if the determined subset of TPMIs includes preferable TPMIs, the network equipment 405 may multiply each codeword in the preferable subset of TPMIs with the UL channel matrix to determine equivalent UL channel matrices for each TPMI. The network equipment 405 may calculate a receiving SINR value based on each equivalent UL channel matrix and determine whether a largest SINR value exceeds a threshold” – See [0131]; The base station/network node generates second channel state information in step 450 based on the channel state information received in step 450, wherein the second channel state information indicates a SINR associated with the channel between the second UE and the network node and a second candidate precoding matrix of the plurality of candidate precoding matrices).
Regarding Claim 29, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 26. Huang further teaches that the control message indicates a single candidate precoding matrix, and the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: generate, based at least in part on the channel state information, second channel state information associated with the channel between the second UE and the network node that is based at least in part on a second candidate precoding matrix (“the network equipment 405 may reduce signaling overhead by dividing the n possible TPMI subsets into a number of TPMI groups, in which each TPMI group may include one or more TPMIs” – See [0118]; “At 450, the network equipment 405 may determine to pair the first device 415-a and the second device 415-b (or potentially another device configured for UL transmissions) based on the determined subset of TPMIs. In some examples, the network equipment 405 may additionally determine the pairing based on measuring an UL channel matrix of the second device 415-b. In some examples, if the determined subset of TPMIs includes preferable TPMIs, the network equipment 405 may multiply each codeword in the preferable subset of TPMIs with the UL channel matrix to determine equivalent UL channel matrices for each TPMI. The network equipment 405 may calculate a receiving SINR value based on each equivalent UL channel matrix and determine whether a largest SINR value exceeds a threshold” – See [0131]; The control message indicates one or more candidate TPMIs (e.g., a single candidate precoding matrix). After receiving the channel state information from the first UE in step 445, the base station generates second channel state information for the second UE in step 450, wherein the second channel state information indicates a SINR associated with the channel between the second UE and the network node and a second candidate precoding matrix).
Regarding Claim 30, Huang in view of Chen teaches the apparatus of Claim 29. Huang further teaches that the control message includes the single candidate precoding matrix in accordance with a rule for reporting channel state information that is based at least in part on a candidate precoding matrix associated with uplink precoding at the first UE (“the network equipment 405 may reduce signaling overhead by dividing the n possible TPMI subsets into a number of TPMI groups, in which each TPMI group may include one or more TPMIs” – See [0118]; The control message indicates one or more candidate TPMIs (e.g., a single candidate precoding matrix), wherein the first UE reports channel state information that is based on the one or more candidate TPMIs, and wherein the one or more candidate TPMIs are used by for uplink transmissions by the UE).
Response to Arguments
On pages 13-14 of the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that Huang does not teach “one or more measurements [that] are based at least in part on the second bandwidth at least partially overlapping with the first bandwidth in accordance with a measurement rule for the first bandwidth and the second bandwidth,” as recited in amended independent claim 1. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection. In response to the amended limitations, the Examiner relies upon the newly-cited Chen reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 10, 22, 24, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478