DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 09/22/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 17, 21-28, 30 and 35-36 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 17, 21-25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Li et al. (US 2025/0089018 A1), hereinafter “LI” in view of Hossain et al. (US 2023/0397158 A1
hereinafter “HOSSAIN”.
Regarding claim 1, LI teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication by a user equipment
(UE), comprising:’ (Paragraph [0002], a field of wireless communication, a method, a communication device):
‘receiving, from a network entity,’ (Paragraph [0003], UE can receive downlink data),
‘a first discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a first radio resource control (RRC)
state, wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic first paging time window (PTW),’ (Paragraph [0050], an RRC inactive state, abbreviated as an inactive state. Paragraph [0059], the inactive-state eDRX parameter may include an inactive-state eDRX cycle. The inactive-state eDRX parameter may further include an inactive-state PTW),
‘and a second DRX mode configuration for a second RRC state, wherein the second DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic second PTW;’ (Paragraph [0049], a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, abbreviated as an idle state. Paragraph [0060], the idle-state eDRX parameter may include an
idle-state eDRX cycle. The idle-state eDRX parameter may further include an idle-state PTW);
‘entering the first RRC state;’ (Paragraph [0051], If the UE enters the inactive state (corresponds to first RRC state));
‘and monitoring for different types of paging, when the UE is in the first RRC state, according to a schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration,’ (Paragraph [0051], if the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio
Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message. Paragraph [0053], S110, a paging monitoring parameter of an inactive-state UE is determined according to a configuration situation of an inactive-state eDRX parameter and an idle-state eDRX parameter),
LI does not explicitly teach but HOSSAIN teaches, ‘wherein monitoring for different types of
paging according to the schedule comprises:’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], the RAN may configure its own paging but also consider the CN-paging location and collocates the paging time to avoid multiple synchronization):
‘determining that a duration of the second PTW is greater than a duration of the first PTW:’
(HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], due to that the Joint-PTW (corresponds to second PTW) may have a longer paging window than S-PTW (corresponds to first PTW)):
‘and monitoring for one or more second types of paging during a second duration after making the determination, wherein the second duration corresponds to a portion of the second PTW that is non-overlapping with the first PTW,’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], the RAN may configure its own paging but also consider the CN-paging location and collocates the paging time to avoid multiple synchronization (corresponds to defining specific, non-overlapping monitoring durations). The UE can retransmit within the TRS cycle during DRX OFF duration. With the J-PTW, the device can be in light sleep mode as illustrated in FIG. 9. Also, RAN depends up the ration of CN and RAN paging request configure the light sleep and can flexibly extend or decrease the PTW (corresponds to non-overlapping)),
‘and the second duration occurs with a periodicity determined based on a UE-specific paging cycle being configured for the UE.’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraphs [0073]-[0074], the RAN initiated paging policy is configured by indicating ran-PagingCycle in RRCResume to eMTC UE. In this case, the eMTC UE, as part of legacy procedure, applies the shortest of the ran-PagingCycle (if configured), the (UE specific) paging cycle (if indicated by upper layers), and the defaultPagingCycle included in the radioResourceConfigCommon. RAN and CN can coordinate the paging cycle to in case of eDRX for
CN-initiated paging. The ng-RAN or gNB indicates support for eDRX in system information like SIB1 and the UE is configured by upper layers. Periodic paging cycle and paging monitoring window length i.e. PTW may be configured by an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, of a CN if PTW is applied. To indicate the RAN or ng-RAN or gNB, AMF can include the extended DRX cycle length and
the PTW length in the NG control plane interface (NG-C) or NGAP or NG-Connection or connection establishment indication or RAN assistance information message to assist the NG-RAN nodes in determining the paging cycle and monitoring window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HOSSAIN with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HOSSAIN into LI is that HOSSAIN provides for configuring paging, particularly in RRC_INACTIVE states, to provide increased power efficiency. Performed by a wireless device for receiving transmissions, obtaining an indication, and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmissions from a base station or core network based on the obtained indication. (See paragraphs [0033], [0035], HOSSAIN)
Regarding claims 4 and 25, LI and HOSSAIN teach, the method of claim 1, ‘further comprising:’
‘monitoring for one or more first types of paging during a first duration in which the first PTW and the second PTW overlap.’ (Paragraphs [0141], the first PTW (corresponds to idle-state eDRX parameter) being greater than the second PTW (corresponds to inactive-state eDRX parameter) and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring configuration for the inactive-state UE to monitor a CN paging and a RAN paging (corresponds to first type of paging) within the first PTW).
Regarding claim 17, LI teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication by a radio access network (RAN) entity, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0022], FIG. 1, wireless communication system can include several user equipment (UE) 11 and several access devices 12. Paragraph [0023], the UE 11 can communicate with one or more core networks (CNs) through a Radio Access Network (RAN)):
‘transmitting, to a user equipment (UE),’ (FIG. 1, several user equipment (UE) 11, Paragraph [0003], UE can receive downlink data),
‘a first discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a first radio resource control (RRC) state, wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic first paging time window (PTW),’ (Paragraph [0050], an RRC inactive state, abbreviated as an inactive state. Paragraph [0059], the inactive-state eDRX parameter may include an inactive-state eDRX cycle. The inactive-state eDRX parameter may further include an inactive-state PTW),
‘and a second DRX mode configuration for a second RRC state, wherein the second DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic second PTW,’ (Paragraph [0049], a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, abbreviated as an idle state. Paragraph [0060], the idle-state eDRX parameter may include an
idle-state eDRX cycle. The idle-state eDRX parameter may further include an idle-state PTW);
‘and wherein start times of at least some first PTWs of the periodic first PTW align with start times of at least some second PTWs of the periodic second PTW;’ (Paragraph [0102], FIG. 5, according to a configuration specification between the second PTW in the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW in the idle-state eDRX cycle, a starting point of the first PTW and a starting point of the second PTW may be aligned);
‘and transmitting paging from a core network (CN) network entity during a second duration according to a schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration.’ (Paragraph [0102], FIG. 5, in the time domain, the second PTWs of some inactive-state eDRX cycles may overlap with the first PTWs of the idle-state eDRX cycles … It should be noted that a paging monitoring object can be the CN paging and/or the RAN paging),
LI does not explicitly teach but HOSSAIN teaches, ‘wherein: the second duration corresponds to a portion of the second PTW that is non-overlapping with the first PTW, and the second duration occurs with a periodicity determined based on a UE- specific paging cycle being configured for the UE.’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], the RAN may configure its own paging but also consider the CN-paging location and collocates the paging time to avoid multiple synchronization (corresponds to defining specific, non-overlapping monitoring durations). The UE can retransmit within the TRS cycle during DRX OFF duration. With the J-PTW, the device can be in light sleep mode as illustrated in FIG. 9. Also, RAN depends up the ration of CN and RAN paging request configure the light sleep and can flexibly extend or decrease the PTW (corresponds to non-overlapping). Paragraphs [0073]-[0074], the RAN initiated paging policy is configured by indicating ran-PagingCycle in RRCResume to eMTC UE. In this case, the eMTC UE, as part of legacy procedure, applies the shortest of the ran-PagingCycle (if configured), the (UE specific) paging cycle (if indicated by upper layers), and the defaultPagingCycle included in the radioResourceConfigCommon. RAN and CN can coordinate the paging cycle to in case of eDRX for CN-initiated paging. The ng-RAN or gNB indicates support for eDRX in system information like SIB1 and the UE is configured by upper layers. Periodic paging cycle and paging monitoring window length i.e. PTW may be configured by an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, of a CN if PTW is applied. To indicate the RAN or ng-RAN or gNB, AMF can include the extended DRX cycle length and
the PTW length in the NG control plane interface (NG-C) or NGAP or NG-Connection or connection establishment indication or RAN assistance information message to assist the NG-RAN nodes in determining the paging cycle and monitoring window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HOSSAIN with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HOSSAIN into LI is that HOSSAIN provides for configuring paging, particularly in RRC_INACTIVE states, to provide increased power efficiency. Performed by a wireless device for receiving transmissions, obtaining an indication, and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmissions from a base station or core network based on the obtained indication. (See paragraphs [0033], [0035], HOSSAIN)
Regarding claim 21, LI teaches, ‘A user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0002], a field of wireless communication, a communication device):
‘at least one memory comprising instructions;’ (Paragraph [0007], communication device including a memory, and an executable program stored on the memory);
‘and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to:’ (Paragraph [0007], a processor, … and an executable program stored on the memory and executable by the processor. When the processor executes the executable program, the processor performs):
‘receive, from a network entity,’ (Paragraph [0003], UE can receive downlink data),
‘a first discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a first radio resource control (RRC) state, wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic first paging time window (PTW),’ (Paragraph [0050], an RRC inactive state, abbreviated as an inactive state. Paragraph [0059], the inactive-state eDRX parameter may include an inactive-state eDRX cycle. The inactive-state eDRX parameter may further include an inactive-state PTW),
‘and a second DRX mode configuration for a second RRC state, wherein the second DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic second PTW;’ (Paragraph [0049], a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, abbreviated as an idle state. Paragraph [0060], the idle-state eDRX parameter may include an
idle-state eDRX cycle. The idle-state eDRX parameter may further include an idle-state PTW);
‘enter the first RRC state;’ (Paragraph [0051], If the UE enters the inactive state (corresponds to first RRC state));
‘and monitor for different types of paging, when the UE is in the first RRC state, according to a schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration,’ (Paragraph [0051], if the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message. Paragraph [0053], S110, a paging monitoring parameter of an inactive-state UE is determined according to a configuration situation of an inactive-state eDRX parameter and an idle-state eDRX parameter),
LI does not explicitly teach but HOSSAIN teaches, ‘wherein to monitoring for different types of paging according to the schedule, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], the RAN may configure its own paging but also consider the CN-paging location and collocates the paging time to avoid multiple synchronization):
‘determine that a duration of the second PTW is greater than a duration of the first PTW:’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], due to that the Joint-PTW (corresponds to second PTW) may have a longer paging window than S-PTW (corresponds to first PTW)):
‘and monitor for one or more second types of paging during a second duration after making the determination, wherein the second duration corresponds to a portion of the second PTW that is non-overlapping with the first PTW,’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], the RAN may configure its own paging but also consider the CN-paging location and collocates the paging time to avoid multiple synchronization (corresponds to defining specific, non-overlapping monitoring durations). The UE can retransmit within the TRS cycle during DRX OFF duration. With the J-PTW, the device can be in light sleep mode as illustrated in FIG. 9. Also, RAN depends up the ration of CN and RAN paging request configure the light sleep and can flexibly extend or decrease the PTW (corresponds to non-overlapping)),
‘and the second duration occurs with a periodicity determined based on a UE-specific paging cycle being configured for the UE.’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraphs [0073]-[0074], the RAN initiated paging policy is configured by indicating ran-PagingCycle in RRCResume to eMTC UE. In this case, the eMTC UE, as part of legacy procedure, applies the shortest of the ran-PagingCycle (if configured), the (UE specific) paging cycle (if indicated by upper layers), and the defaultPagingCycle included in the radioResourceConfigCommon. RAN and CN can coordinate the paging cycle to in case of eDRX for
CN-initiated paging. The ng-RAN or gNB indicates support for eDRX in system information like SIB1 and the UE is configured by upper layers. Periodic paging cycle and paging monitoring window length i.e. PTW may be configured by an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, of a CN if PTW is applied. To indicate the RAN or ng-RAN or gNB, AMF can include the extended DRX cycle length and
the PTW length in the NG control plane interface (NG-C) or NGAP or NG-Connection or connection establishment indication or RAN assistance information message to assist the NG-RAN nodes in determining the paging cycle and monitoring window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HOSSAIN with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HOSSAIN into LI is that HOSSAIN provides for configuring paging, particularly in RRC_INACTIVE states, to provide increased power efficiency. Performed by a wireless device for receiving transmissions, obtaining an indication, and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmissions from a base station or core network based on the obtained indication. (See paragraphs [0033], [0035], HOSSAIN)
Regarding claim 22, LI teaches, ‘A radio access network (RAN) entity configured for wireless communication, comprising: (Paragraph [0022], FIG. 1, wireless communication system can include several user equipment (UE) 11 and several access devices 12. Paragraph [0023], the UE 11 can communicate with one or more core networks (CNs) through a Radio Access Network (RAN)):
‘at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions;’ (Paragraph [0008], the computer storage medium stores an executable program),
‘and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the RAN entity to:’ (Paragraph [0008], after the executable program is executed by a processor, … can be implemented. Paragraph [0023], the UE 11 can communicate with one or more core networks (CNs) through a Radio Access Network (RAN)):
‘transmit, to a user equipment (UE),’ (FIG. 1, several user equipment (UE) 11, Paragraph [0003], UE can receive downlink data),
‘a first discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a first radio resource control (RRC) state, wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic first paging time window (PTW),’ (Paragraph [0050], an RRC inactive state, abbreviated as an inactive state. Paragraph [0059], the inactive-state eDRX parameter may include an inactive-state eDRX cycle. The inactive-state eDRX parameter may further include an inactive-state PTW),
‘and a second DRX mode configuration for a second RRC state, wherein the second DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic second PTW,’ (Paragraph [0049], a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, abbreviated as an idle state. Paragraph [0060], the idle-state eDRX parameter may include an
idle-state eDRX cycle. The idle-state eDRX parameter may further include an idle-state PTW);
‘and wherein start times of at least some first PTWs of the periodic first PTW align with start times of at least some second PTWs of the periodic second PTW;’ (Paragraph [0102], FIG. 5, according to a configuration specification between the second PTW in the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW in the idle-state eDRX cycle, a starting point of the first PTW and a starting point of the second PTW may be aligned);
‘and transmit paging from a core network (CN) network entity during a second duration according to a schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration,’ (Paragraph [0102], FIG. 5, in the time domain, the second PTWs of some inactive-state eDRX cycles may overlap with the first PTWs of the idle-state eDRX cycles … It should be noted that a paging monitoring object can be the CN paging and/or the RAN paging),
LI does not explicitly teach but HOSSAIN teaches, ‘wherein: the second duration corresponds to a portion of the second PTW that is non-overlapping with the first PTW, and the second duration occurs with a periodicity determined based on a UE-specific paging cycle being configured for the UE.’ (HOSSAIN - Paragraph [0102], the RAN may configure its own paging but also consider the CN-paging location and collocates the paging time to avoid multiple synchronization (corresponds to defining specific, non-overlapping monitoring durations). The UE can retransmit within the TRS cycle during DRX OFF duration. With the J-PTW, the device can be in light sleep mode as illustrated in FIG. 9. Also, RAN depends up the ration of CN and RAN paging request configure the light sleep and can flexibly extend or decrease the PTW (corresponds to non-overlapping). Paragraphs [0073]-[0074], the RAN initiated paging policy is configured by indicating ran-PagingCycle in RRCResume to eMTC UE. In this case, the eMTC UE, as part of legacy procedure, applies the shortest of the ran-PagingCycle (if configured), the (UE specific) paging cycle (if indicated by upper layers), and the defaultPagingCycle included in the radioResourceConfigCommon. RAN and CN can coordinate the paging cycle to in case of eDRX for CN-initiated paging. The ng-RAN or gNB indicates support for eDRX in system information like SIB1 and the UE is configured by upper layers. Periodic paging cycle and paging monitoring window length i.e. PTW may be configured by an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, of a CN if PTW is applied. To indicate the RAN or ng-RAN or gNB, AMF can include the extended DRX cycle length and
the PTW length in the NG control plane interface (NG-C) or NGAP or NG-Connection or connection establishment indication or RAN assistance information message to assist the NG-RAN nodes in determining the paging cycle and monitoring window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HOSSAIN with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HOSSAIN into LI is that HOSSAIN provides for configuring paging, particularly in RRC_INACTIVE states, to provide increased power efficiency. Performed by a wireless device for receiving transmissions, obtaining an indication, and determining a paging cycle for listening to a downlink channel for transmissions from a base station or core network based on the obtained indication. (See paragraphs [0033], [0035], HOSSAIN)
Regarding claim 23, LI and HOSSAIN teach, the UE of claim 21, ‘wherein: the first RRC state is an RRC inactive state;’ (Paragraph [0050], an RRC inactive state, abbreviated as an inactive state. Paragraph [0059], the inactive-state eDRX parameter may include an inactive-state eDRX cycle. The inactive-state eDRX parameter may further include an inactive-state PTW);
‘and the second RRC state is an RRC idle state.’ (Paragraph [0049], a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, abbreviated as an idle state. Paragraph [0060], the idle-state eDRX parameter may include an idle-state eDRX cycle. The idle-state eDRX parameter may further include an idle-state PTW).
Regarding claim 24, LI and HOSSAIN teach, the UE of claim 21, ‘wherein: the first DRX mode configuration also specifies a first DRX cycle length;’ (Paragraphs [0033]-[0036], the eDRX function has one or more of the following eDRX parameters: an eDRX cycle, which can be represented by TeDRX H·);
‘an interval between a beginning of adjacent first PTWs corresponds to the first DRX cycle length;’ (Paragraph [0155], the paging monitoring parameter may indicate a window length and a time-domain starting point position of the PTW. Paragraphs [0033]-[0036], the eDRX function has one or more of the following eDRX parameters: a starting time-domain position of a Paging Time Window (PTW); a length of the PTW; an eDRX cycle, which can be represented by TeDRX H· Paragraph [0065], the PTW defined in the inactive-state eDRX parameter is also known as an inactive-state PTW or a second PTW (corresponds to first PTW). Paragraph [0070], determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to … a second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter);
‘the second DRX mode configuration also specifies a second DRX cycle length;’ (Paragraphs [0033]-[0036], the eDRX function has one or more of the following eDRX parameters: an eDRX cycle, which can be represented by TeDRX H·);
‘an interval between a beginning of adjacent second PTWs corresponds to the second DRX cycle length;’ (Paragraph [0155], the paging monitoring parameter may indicate a window length and a time-domain starting point position of the PTW. Paragraphs [0033]-[0036], the eDRX function has one or more of the following eDRX parameters: a starting time-domain position of a Paging Time Window (PTW); a length of the PTW; an eDRX cycle, which can be represented by TeDRX H· Paragraph [0065], the PTW defined in the idle-state eDRX parameter may also be known as an idle-state PTW or a first PTW (corresponds to second PTW). Paragraph [0071], the first PTW, which is a time window for monitoring paging messages, and can be the PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter);
‘and start times of at least some of the first PTWs align with start times of at least some of the second PTWs.’ (Paragraph [0102], FIG. 5, according to a configuration specification between the second PTW in the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW in the idle-state eDRX cycle, a starting point of the first PTW and a starting point of the second PTW may be aligned).
Regarding claim 30, LI and HOSSAIN teach, the UE of claim 21, ‘wherein the one or more second types of paging comprise:’ (Paragraph [0128], the UE may also continue monitoring the CN paging (corresponds to second types of paging)):
‘paging from a core network (CN) network entity indicating downlink data for the UE.’ (Paragraphs [0042]-[0048], interacting the eDRX parameter between the UE and the core network (corresponds to second network) in FIG. 3. The MME of the core network sends the eDRX parameter of the eDRX function to the UE. Paragraph [0004], within each eDRX cycle that is greater than a certain duration, a PTW can be set, and the UE can monitor a paging channel according to a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle within the PTW to receive the downlink data, and the terminal is in the sleep mode for the rest of the time).
Claims 5, 26-28 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view HOSSAIN in view of Agiwal et al. (US 2021/0314979 A1), hereinafter “AGIWAL”
Regarding claims 5 and 26, LI and HOSSAIN teach, the method of claim 4, ‘wherein the different types of paging comprise:’ (Paragraph [0128], the time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW (corresponds to idle-state eDRX parameter) and the second PTW (corresponds to inactive-state eDRX parameter), in addition to monitoring the CN paging and the RAN paging according to the second PTW in the time-domain overlap part between the first PTW and the second PTW):
‘…, paging from a first network entity indicating downlink data for the UE, or paging from a second network entity indicating downlink data for the UE.’ (Paragraphs [0042]-[0048], interacting the eDRX parameter between the UE and the core network (corresponds to second network) in FIG. 3, an eNB (corresponds to first network) sends an indication of an allowed eDRX function (eDRX allowed), an indication of a specific cell (Cell-specific DRX), and a Hyper system Frame Number (H-SFN) to the UE through a System Information Block (SIB). The MME of the core network sends the eDRX parameter of the eDRX function to the UE through the eNB. Paragraph [0004], within each eDRX cycle that is greater than a certain duration, a PTW can be set, and the UE can monitor a paging channel according to a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle within the PTW to receive the downlink data, and the terminal is in the sleep mode for the rest of the time).
LI and HOSSAIN do not explicitly teach but AGIWAL teaches, ‘paging indicating system information (SI) updates,’ (AGIWAL - paragraph [0076], in the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wakes up at regular intervals (i.e., every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. SI update and emergency notifications are included in DCI and PDCCH carrying this DCI is addressed to P-RNTI. Paragraph [0167], the gNB has at least one of SI update/ Emergency Notification or paging message for transmission),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of AGIWAL with LI and HOSSAIN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of AGIWAL into LI and HOSSAIN is that AGIWAL provides in RRC_INACTIVE state, a UE specific DRX may be configured by upper layers or by RRC layer. A UE monitors short messages transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI, monitors a paging channel for CN paging using 5G-S-TMSI and RAN paging using full inactive RNTI (I-RNTI), performs neighboring cell measurements and cell (re-)selection, performs RAN-based notification area updates periodically and when moving outside the configured RAN-based notification area, acquires system. (See paragraph [0074], AGIWAL)
Regarding claim 27, LI, HOSSAIN and AGIWAL teach, the UE of claim 26, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the first network entity is associated with a radio access network (RAN) entity and the second network entity is associated with a core network (CN) network entity.’ (FIG. 3 and Paragraph [0051], the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN (corresponds to second network entity), as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message (corresponds to first network entity)).
Regarding claim 28, LI, HOSSAIN and AGIWAL teach, the UE of claim 26, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the first duration occurs with a periodicity determined based on a minimum of: a default paging cycle, a cycle for paging from the first network entity, and a cycle for paging from the second network entity.’ (Paragraphs [0132]-[0133], a monitoring cycle for monitoring the CN paging and the RAN paging in the second PTW within the inactive-state eDRX cycle that overlaps (corresponds to first duration) with the idle-state eDRX cycle in the time domain may include at least one of the following: Min {a default paging cycle, a CN paging cycle (a UE-specific cycle – corresponds to second network entity), a RAN paging cycle (corresponds to first network entity)).
Regarding claim 35, LI, HOSSAIN and AGIWAL teach, the UE of claim 26, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies a first DRX cycle length that is shorter than a second DRX cycle length specified by the second DRX mode configuration, and wherein, to monitor for different types of paging according to the schedule, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:’ (Paragraph [0079], the inactive-state eDRX cycle (corresponds to first DRX cycle) included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter is relatively small (corresponds to shorter than). The inactive-state UE may monitor the paging messages according to the idle-state eDRX parameter (corresponds to second DRX cycle), thus the paging monitoring parameter can be determined based on the idle-state eDRX parameter. Paragraph [0128], the time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW (corresponds to idle-state eDRX parameter) and the second PTW (corresponds to inactive-state eDRX parameter), in addition to monitoring the CN paging and the RAN paging according to the second PTW in the time-domain overlap part between the first PTW and the second PTW):
‘monitor during first PTWs that are non-overlapping with second PTWs, for … and paging from the first network entity indicating downlink data for the UE.’ (Paragraph [0115], the first PTW is greater than the second PTW, and there is a second PTW that overlaps with the first PTW in the time domain, and a second PTW that does not overlap with the first PTW in the time domain. Monitoring the RAN (corresponds to first network entity) paging is performed on the second PTW that does not overlap with the first PTW in the time domain. Paragraphs [0042]-[0048], interacting the eDRX parameter between the UE and the core network in FIG. 3, an eNB (corresponds to first network) sends an indication of an allowed eDRX function (eDRX allowed), an indication of a specific cell (Cell-specific DRX), and a Hyper system Frame Number (H-SFN) to the UE through a System Information Block (SIB). The MME of the core network sends the eDRX parameter of the eDRX function to the UE through the eNB. Paragraph [0004], within each eDRX cycle that is greater than a certain duration, a PTW can be set, and the UE can monitor a paging channel according to a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle within the PTW to receive the downlink data, and the terminal is in the sleep mode for the rest of the time).
LI and HOSSAIN do not explicitly teach but AGIWAL teaches, ‘… paging indicating SI updates …’ (AGIWAL - paragraph [0076], in the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wakes up at regular intervals (i.e., every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. SI update and emergency notifications are included in DCI and PDCCH carrying this DCI is addressed to P-RNTI. Paragraph [0167], the gNB has at least one of SI update/ Emergency Notification or paging message for transmission),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of AGIWAL with LI and HOSSAIN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of AGIWAL into LI and HOSSAIN is that AGIWAL provides in RRC_INACTIVE state, a UE specific DRX may be configured by upper layers or by RRC layer. A UE monitors short messages transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI, monitors a paging channel for CN paging using 5G-S-TMSI and RAN paging using full inactive RNTI (I-RNTI), performs neighboring cell measurements and cell (re-)selection, performs RAN-based notification area updates periodically and when moving outside the configured RAN-based notification area, acquires system. (See paragraph [0074], AGIWAL)
Regarding claim 36, LI, HOSSAIN and AGIWAL teach, the UE of claim 35, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:’ (Paragraph [0007], a processor, … and an executable program stored on the memory and executable by the processor. When the processor executes the executable program, the processor performs):
‘monitor for … and for paging from the first network entity indicating downlink data for the UE during the first PTWs that are non-overlapping with second PTWs, wherein the first PTWs that are non-overlapping with second PTWs occur with a periodicity determined based on a default paging cycle or a cycle for paging from the first network entity.’ (Paragraphs [0042]-[0048], interacting the eDRX parameter between the UE and the core network in FIG. 3, an eNB (corresponds to first network) sends an indication of an allowed eDRX function (eDRX allowed), an indication of a specific cell (Cell-specific DRX), and a Hyper system Frame Number (H-SFN) to the UE through a System Information Block (SIB). The MME of the core network sends the eDRX parameter of the eDRX function to the UE through the eNB. Paragraph [0004], within each eDRX cycle that is greater than a certain duration, a PTW can be set, and the UE can monitor a paging channel according to a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle within the PTW to receive the downlink data, and the terminal is in the sleep mode for the rest of the time. Paragraph [0115], the first PTW is greater than the second PTW, and there is a second PTW that overlaps with the first PTW in the time domain, and a second PTW that does not overlap with the first PTW in the time domain. A paging cycle defined by the determined paging monitoring parameter may be a RAN (corresponds to first network entity) paging cycle, or Min (the RAN paging cycle, a default paging cycle).
LI and HOSSAIN do not explicitly teach but AGIWAL teaches, ‘… paging indicating SI updates …’ (AGIWAL - paragraph [0076], in the RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE state UE wakes up at regular intervals (i.e., every DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging, to receive SI update notification and to receive emergency notifications. SI update and emergency notifications are included in DCI and PDCCH carrying this DCI is addressed to P-RNTI. Paragraph [0167], the gNB has at least one of SI update/ Emergency Notification or paging message for transmission),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of AGIWAL with LI and HOSSAIN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of AGIWAL into LI and HOSSAIN is that AGIWAL provides in RRC_INACTIVE state, a UE specific DRX may be configured by upper layers or by RRC layer. A UE monitors short messages transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI, monitors a paging channel for CN paging using 5G-S-TMSI and RAN paging using full inactive RNTI (I-RNTI), performs neighboring cell measurements and cell (re-)selection, performs RAN-based notification area updates periodically and when moving outside the configured RAN-based notification area, acquires system. (See paragraph [0074], AGIWAL)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to HAESHIL J CHOI whose telephone number is (703)756-5409. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday ET.
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479