DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 07/09/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1, 5, 17, 21-22, 24, 26-28, 30, 35 and 37 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 17, 21-22, 24, 26-28, 30, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2025/0089018 A1), hereinafter “LI” in view of Jeong et al. (US 2024/0357552 A1), hereinafter “JEONG”.
Regarding claim 1, LI teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:’ (Paragraph [0005]: A first aspect of embodiments of the present disclosure provides a method for determining a paging monitoring parameter performed by a use equipment (UE), and the method includes):
‘receiving, from a network entity ,a first discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a first radio resource control (RRC) state, wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic first paging time window (PTW) and the first RRC state is an RRC inactive state, and wherein a first DRX cycle length of the first DRX mode configuration is an extended DRX (eDRX) cycle that is greater than 10.24 seconds,’ (Paragraphs [0055]-[0056]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the UE is in an inactive state, which can be referred to as an inactive-state UE. Both the inactive-state eDRX parameter and the idle-state eDRX parameter can be issued by a network side or determined based on a communication protocol; Paragraphs [0162]-[0163]: In an embodiment, if the base station provides an eDRX cycle of the inactive-state eDRX parameter, which is greater than 10.24 seconds… In an embodiment, if the inactive-state eDRX cycle provided by the base station is greater than 10.24 seconds, the RAN PTW parameter may also be provided),
‘and a second DRX mode configuration for a second RRC state, wherein the second DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic second PTW and the second RRC state is an RRC idle state, and wherein a second DRX cycle length of the second DRX mode configuration is an eDRX cycle that is greater than 10.24 seconds;’ (Paragraphs [0057]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter may be issued by a core network; Paragraph [0163]: In an embodiment, if the idle-state eDRX cycle provided by the core network is greater than 10.24 seconds, the CN PTW parameter may also be provided);
‘entering the first RRC state;’ (Paragraphs [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message);
‘and monitoring for different types of paging, when the UE is in the first RRC state, according to a schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration,’ (Paragraph [0058]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the inactive-state UE may determine its own paging monitoring parameter for monitoring a paging message according to the configuration situation of its own inactive-state eDRX parameters and idle-state eDRX parameter),
‘wherein monitoring for the different types of paging according to the schedule comprises: monitoring for one or more first types of paging during a first duration in which the first PTW and the second PTW overlap, wherein: the first duration occurs with a first periodicity determined based on a minimum of a default paging cycle, the first DRX cycle length of the first DRX mode configuration, and the second DRX cycle length of the second DRX mode configuration that is configured for the UE,‘ (Paragraphs [0103]-[0107]: This type of paging from the core network is called a CN paging… Therefore, in embodiments of the disclosure, both the CN paging and the RAN paging may be monitored in the first PTW in which the inactive-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the idle-state eDRX cycle in the time domain. A monitoring cycle for monitoring the paging messages during the first PTW can be one of the following: a CN paging cycle… a RAN paging cycle; Min (the CN paging cycle, the RAN paging cycle, a default paging cycle)),
‘and the first PTW and the second PTW are configured to start at a same time in the first duration;’ (Paragraph [0152]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter includes an idle-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter includes an inactive-state eDRX cycle and the second PTW. When the idle-state eDRX cycle and the inactive-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the inactive-state eDRX cycle in the time domain, a time-domain starting point position of the first PTW and a time-domain starting point position of the second PTW are the same);
‘monitoring for one or more second types of paging during a second duration after making a determination that a duration of the second PTW is greater than a duration of the first PTW, wherein: the second duration corresponds to a portion of the second PTW that is non-overlapping with the first PTW, and the second duration occurs with a second periodicity determined based on the second DRX cycle length or the default paging cycle that is configured for the UE;’ (Paragraph [0166): Scenario 1: the PTW2 provided by the base station is greater than the PTW1, that is, the window length of the PTW2 is greater than the window length of the PTW1; Paragraph [0175]: Scenario 2: the PTW2 provided by the base station is less than the PTW1, that is, the window length of the PTW2 is less than the window length of the PTW1; Paragraph [0183]: If there is a time-domain overlap between the PTW2 in the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the PTW1 in the idle-state eDRX cycle, monitoring of the CN paging is performed within a remaining PTW window outside of the time-domain overlap between the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the idle-state eDRX cycle, i.e. within a time-domain range defined by subtracting PTW2 from PTW1; Paragraph [0184]: There are multiple ways to set the paging monitoring cycle. In an embodiment, the paging cycle can be min { a default paging cycle, a UE-specific cycle}, and the monitoring of the CN paging may be performed according to the min { the default paging cycle, the UE-specific cycle} (Note: PTW1 represents the Idle/CN PTW, and PTW2 represents the Inactive/RAN PTW. Thus, PTW1 > PTW2 in LI corresponds to PTW Idle > PTW Inactive in claim 1)
‘and monitoring for… during a third duration after making a determination that the duration of the first PTW is greater than the duration of the second PTW, wherein: the third duration corresponds to a portion of the first PTW that is non-overlapping with the second PTW,’ (Paragraph [0128]: In the case of the time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW… as the first PTW is larger than the second PTW, the UE may also continue monitoring the CN paging in the time-domain position corresponding to the part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW in the time domain; Paragraph [0130]: Referring to FIG. 6, the inactive-state UE monitors both the CN paging and the RAN paging within the overlap between the first PTW and the second PTW, and continues to monitor the CN paging in the remaining portion of the first PTW that does not overlap with the second PTW);
‘and the third duration occurs with a third periodicity determined based on the first DRX cycle
length or the default paging cycle that is configured for the UE.’ (Paragraphs [0134]-[0136]: A monitoring cycle for monitoring the CN paging in a part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW in the inactive-state eDRX cycle… may include one of the following: Min { a default paging cycle, a CN paging cycle (a UE-specific cycle)}).
LI does not explicitly teach but JEONG teaches, ‘one or more third types of paging’ (JEONG –
Paragraph [0055]: The UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state may not always monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) but may periodically ( e.g., in every DRX cycle) monitor a PDCCH for a short time so as to receive a paging occasion, receive a system information (SI) update notification (corresponds to third type of paging), or receive an emergency notification; Paragraph [0183]: If the current occasion is not included in the PTW CN but is included in the PTW _RAN, the procedure proceeds operation 1i-80, and the UE may monitor paging per a RAN paging cycle. Alternatively, in order to receive a notification associated with system information modification or an emergency, the UE may use, as a paging monitoring cycle
(Paging cycle), a smallest value among values of 1) a Default cycle and 2) a RAN paging cycle which are configured for the UE)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to have known to combine the teachings of JEONG with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of JEONG into LI is that JEONG provides for paging, including sending short messages over paging channels to indicate System Information (SI) modification (systemInfoModification) and exchanging CN/RAN assist parameters (TeDRX_CN, TeDRX_RAN) between core networks, base stations, and UEs via NAS and RRC signaling, and the network interface procedures (e.g., NGAP/XnAP signaling) for transmitting these CN and RAN parameters to the base station and UE. This ensures that the UE reliably receives both SI updates and data notifications while minimizing power consumption during eDRX sleep states. (See paragraph [0055], [0080], [0109], [0111], [0132], JEONG).
Regarding claims 5 and 26, LI and JEONG teach, The method of claim 1, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more first types of paging comprise:’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message):
‘paging from a first network entity indicating downlink data for the UE,’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message; Paragraph [0170]: Within the PTW1 window of the inactive-state eDRX cycle, monitoring of the RAN paging is performed; Paragraph [0103]: Therefore, in embodiments of the disclosure, both the CN paging and the RAN paging may be monitored in the first PTW in which the inactive-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the idle-state eDRX cycle in the time domain (Note: In 3GPP standards, a RAN paging message sent by a RAN network entity/base station notifies an RRC_INACTIVE UE of pending downlink data));
‘or paging from a second network entity indicating downlink data for the UE.’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN): Paragraph [0171]: Monitor of the CN paging is performed within the PTW1 window of the idle-state eDRX cycle; Paragraph [0103]: in embodiments of the disclosure, both the CN paging and the RAN paging may be monitored in the first PTW in which the inactive-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the idle-state eDRX cycle in the time domain (Note: In 3GPP standards, a CN paging message sent by a Core Network entity notifies the UE of pending downlink data/NAS signaling)).
LI does not explicitly teach but JEONG teaches, ‘paging indicating system information (SI) updates,’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0055]: The UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_ INACTIVE state may not always monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) but may periodically ( e.g., in every DRX cycle) monitor a PDCCH for a short time so as to receive a paging occasion, receive a system information (SI) update notification; Paragraph [0080]: Table 2 below defines a Short Message. Bit 1 indicates a most significant bit. Table 2: Bit 1: systemlnfoModification If set to 1: indication of a BCCH modification other than SIB6, SIB7 and SIB8 (Note: paging messages include Short Messages indicating system information updates (systemInfoModification) monitored during paging occasions)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to have known to combine the teachings of JEONG with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of JEONG into LI is that JEONG provides for paging, including sending short messages over paging channels to indicate System Information (SI) modification (systemInfoModification) and exchanging CN/RAN assist parameters (TeDRX_CN, TeDRX_RAN) between core networks, base stations, and UEs via NAS and RRC signaling, and the network interface procedures (e.g., NGAP/XnAP signaling) for transmitting these CN and RAN parameters to the base station and UE. This ensures that the UE reliably receives both SI updates and data notifications while minimizing power consumption during eDRX sleep states. (See paragraph [0055], [0080], [0109], [0111], [0132], JEONG).
Regarding claim 17, LI teaches, ‘that is greater than 10.24 seconds,’ (Paragraphs [0055]-[0056]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the UE is in an inactive state, which can be referred to as an inactive-state UE. Both the inactive-state eDRX parameter and the idle-state eDRX parameter can be issued by a network side or determined based on a communication protocol; Paragraph [0163]: In an embodiment, if the inactive-state eDRX cycle provided by the base station is greater than 10.24 seconds, the RAN PTW parameter may also be provided),
‘and wherein start times of at least some first PTWs of the periodic first PTW align with start times of at least some second PTWs of the periodic second PTW’ (Paragraph [0152]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter includes an idle-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter includes an inactive-state eDRX cycle and the second PTW. When the idle-state eDRX cycle and the inactive-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the inactive-state eDRX cycle in the time domain, a time-domain starting point position of the first PTW and a time-domain starting point position of the second PTW are the same)
‘and wherein a second DRX cycle length of the second DRX mode configuration is an eDRX cycle that is greater than 10.24 seconds;’ (Paragraph [0163]: In an embodiment, if the idle-state eDRX cycle provided by the core network is greater than 10.24 seconds, the CN PTW parameter may also be provided);
‘transmitting one or more first types of paging during a first duration in which the first PTW and the second PTW overlap according to a schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration, wherein: the first duration occurs with a first periodicity determined based on a minimum of a default paging cycle, the first DRX cycle length of the first DRX mode configuration, and the second DRX cycle length of the second DRX mode configuration that is configured for the UE, and the first PTW and the second PTW are configured to start at a same time in the first duration;’ (Paragraphs [0103]-[0107]: Therefore, in embodiments of the disclosure, both the CN paging and the RAN paging may be monitored in the first PTW in which the inactive-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the idle-state eDRX cycle in the time domain. A monitoring cycle for monitoring the paging messages during the first PTW can be one of the following: a CN paging cycle… a RAN paging cycle; Min (the CN paging cycle, the RAN paging cycle, a default paging cycle): Paragraph [0152]: a time-domain starting point position of the first PTW and a time-domain starting point position of the second PTW are the same);
‘transmitting, after making a determination that a duration of the second PTW is greater than a duration of the first PTW, paging from a core network (CN) network entity during a second duration according to the schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration, wherein: the second duration corresponds to a portion of the second PTW that is non-overlapping with the first PTW, and the second duration occurs with a second periodicity determined based on the second DRX cycle length or the default paging cycle that is configured for the UE;’ (Paragraph [0175]: Scenario 2: the PTW2 provided by the base station is less than the PTWl1 that is, the window length of the PTW2 is less than the window length of the PTW1; Paragraphs [0183]-[0184]: If there is a time-domain overlap between the PTW2 in the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the PTW1 in the idle-state eDRX cycle, monitoring of the CN paging is performed within a remaining PTW window outside of the time-domain overlap between the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the idle-state eDRX cycle, i.e. within a time-domain range defined by subtracting PTW2 from PTW1. There are multiple ways to set the paging monitoring cycle. In an embodiment, the paging cycle can be min { a default paging cycle, a UE-specific cycle}, and the monitoring of the CN paging may be performed according to the min { the default paging cycle, the UE-specific cycle} (Note: PTW1 represents the Idle/CN PTW, and PTW2 represents the Inactive/RAN PTW. Thus, PTW1 > PTW2 in LI corresponds to PTW Idle > PTWO Inactive in claim 17, and the network transmits CN paging accordingly during the non-overlapping portion));
‘and transmitting, after making a determination that the duration of the first PTW is greater than the duration of the second PTW, paging during a third duration according to the schedule determined based on the first DRX mode configuration and the second DRX mode configuration, wherein: the third duration corresponds to a portion of the first PTW that is non-overlapping with the second PTW, and the third duration occurs with a third periodicity determined based on the first DRX cycle length or the default paging cycle that is configured for the UE.’ (Paragraph [0128]: In the case of the time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW… as the first PTW is larger than the second PTW, the UE may also continue monitoring the CN paging in the time-domain position corresponding to the part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW in the time domain; Paragraph [0130]: Referring to FIG. 6, the inactive-state UE monitors both the CN paging and the RAN paging within the overlap between the first PTW and the second PTW, and continues to monitor the CN paging in the remaining portion of the first PTW that does not overlap with the second PTW; Paragraphs [0134]-[0136]: A monitoring cycle for monitoring the CN paging in a part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW in the inactive-state eDRX cycle… may include one of the following: a CN paging cycle (a UE-specific cycle); Min { a default paging cycle, a CN paging cycle (a UE-specific cycle)} (Note: PTW Inactive > PTW Idle and transmitting/monitoring paging during the non-overlapping tail duration based on min (default, DRX))).
LI does not explicitly teach but JEONG teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication by a radio access network (RAN) entity, comprising:’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0029]: Hereinafter, a base station is an entity that allocates resources to a terminal, and may be at least one of a gNode B, an eNode B, a Node B, a base station (BS), a radio access unit, a BS controller, or a node on a network; Paragraph [0118]: A RAN (i.e., the BS) may determine an eDRX parameter (e.g., TeDRX_ RAN and L_RAN) for RAN paging):
‘transmitting, to a user equipment (UE),a first discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a first radio resource control (RRC) state, wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic first paging time window (PTW) and the first RRC state is an RRC inactive state,’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0118]: A RAN (i.e., the BS) may determine an eDRX parameter (e.g., TeDRX_RAN and L_RAN) for RAN paging. The RAN may configure the UE with the eDRX parameter for RAN paging by RRC signaling. For example, an RRC Release message, SIB, a new message for eDRX, or the like may be used),
‘and wherein a first DRX cycle length of the first DRX mode configuration is an extended DRX (eDRX) cycle’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0109]: In order to solve this problem (i.e., in order for the UE in an inactive mode to enter a sleep mode so as to save power consumption), the present disclosure proposes a scheme of separately defining an eDRX operation for CN paging and an eDRX operation for RAN paging… Also, an eDRX cycle (i.e., TeDRX_CN) for CN paging and an eDRX cycle (TeDRX_RAN) for RAN paging may be differently used)
‘and a second DRX mode configuration for a second RRC state, wherein the second DRX mode configuration specifies a periodic second PTW, … and the second RRC state is an RRC idle state,’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0111]: A CN may determine an eDRX parameter (e.g., T eDRX_CN and L_ CN) for CN paging. The CN may configure a UE -with an eDRX parameter for CN paging by NAS signaling… In order for a BS to identify CN paging timing or in order to help the BS determining a RAN paging eDRX parameter, the CN may transmit the eDRX parameter to the BS),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to have known to combine the teachings of JEONG with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of JEONG into LI is that JEONG provides for paging, including sending short messages over paging channels to indicate System Information (SI) modification (systemInfoModification) and exchanging CN/RAN assist parameters (TeDRX_CN, TeDRX_RAN) between core networks, base stations, and UEs via NAS and RRC signaling, and the network interface procedures (e.g., NGAP/XnAP signaling) for transmitting these CN and RAN parameters to the base station and UE. This ensures that the UE reliably receives both SI updates and data notifications while minimizing power consumption during eDRX sleep states. (See paragraph [0055], [0080], [0109], [0111], [0132], JEONG).
Regarding claim 21, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding apparatus/system, and the rejection to claim 1 are applied hereto.
LI does not explicitly teach but JEONG teaches, ‘A user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and one or more processors coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0009]: Provided is a UE operating in a wireless communication system… including a transceiver and a processor coupled with the transceiver. The processor may be configured to establish an RRC connection with a camped-on cell, receive, in an RRC connected mode via the transceiver, a first eDRX parameter for CN paging from a CN, receive, via the transceiver, a second eDRX parameter for RAN paging from a BS):
Regarding claim 22, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 17. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 17 in order to define the corresponding apparatus/system, and the rejection to claim 17 are applied hereto.
LI does not explicitly teach but JEONG teaches, ‘A radio access network (RAN) entity configured for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and one or more processors coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the RAN entity to:’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0206]: As illustrated in FIG. 1K, the BS may include an RF processor 1k-10, a baseband processor 1k-20, a backhaul communicator 1k-30, a storage 1k-40, and a controller 1k-50; Paragraphs [0209]-[0210]: The storage 1k-40 may store basic programs, application programs, and data, e.g., configuration information, for operations of the BS… The controller 1k-50 may control overall operations of a primary BS… To this end, the controller 1k-50 may include at least one processor):
Regarding claim 24, LI and JEONG teach, The UE of claim 21, wherein: LI further teaches, ‘an interval between a beginning of adjacent first PTWs corresponds to the first DRX cycle length;’ (Paragraphs [0065]-[0066]: The PTW defined in the idle-state eDRX parameter may also be known as an idle-state PTW or a first PTW. The PTW defined in the inactive-state eDRX parameter is also known as an inactive-state PTW or a second PTW. Referring to FIG. 5 and FIG. 6, the idle-state PTW can be PTWT, which can be distributed periodically or nonperiodically in a time domain according to a duration of the idle-state eDRX cycle);
‘an interval between a beginning of adjacent second PTWs corresponds to the second DRX cycle length;’ (Paragraph [0066]: The inactive-state PTW can be PTW2, and similarly, it can be distributed periodically or nonperiodically in the time domain according to a duration of the inactive-state eDRX cycle);
‘and start times of at least some of the first PTWs corresponding to the first duration align with start times of at least some of the second PTWs.’ (Paragraph [0102]: According to a configuration specification between the second PTW in the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW in the idle-state eDRX cycle, a starting point of the first PTW and a starting point of the second PTW may be aligned; Paragraph [0152]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter includes an idle-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter includes an inactive-state eDRX cycle and the second PTW. When the idle-state eDRX cycle and the inactive-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the inactive-state eDRX cycle in the time domain, a time-domain starting point position of the first PTW and a time-domain starting point position of the second PTW are the same).
Regarding claim 27, LI and JEONG teach, The UE of claim 26, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the first network entity is associated with a radio access network (RAN) entity’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message; Paragraph [0057]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter may be issued by a core network, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter may be issued by an access network)
‘and the second network entity is associated with a core network (CN) network entity.’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message; Paragraph [0057]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter may be issued by a core network, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter may be issued by an access network)
Regarding claim 28, LI and JEONG teach, The UE of claim 21, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the first DRX cycle length of the first DRX mode configuration is associated with a radio access network (RAN) entity’ (Paragraph [0057]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter may be issued by a core network, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter may be issued by an access network; Paragraph [0059]: The inactive-state eDRX parameter may include an inactive-state eDRX cycle. In some embodiments, the inactive- state eDRX parameter may further include an inactive-state PTW)
‘and the second DRX cycle length of the second DRX mode configuration is associated with a core network (CN) network entity.’ (Paragraph [0057]: In an embodiment, the idle-state eDRX parameter may be issued by a core network, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter may be issued by an access network; Paragraph [0060]: The idle-state eDRX parameter may include an idle-state eDRX cycle. In some embodiments, the idle-state eDRX parameter may further include an idle-state PTW).
Regarding claim 30, LI and JEONG teach, The UE of claim 21, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more second types of paging comprise:’ (Paragraph [0058]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the inactive-state UE may determine its own paging monitoring parameter for monitoring a paging message according to the configuration situation of its own inactive-state eDRX parameters and idle-state eDRX parameter):
‘paging from a core network (CN) network entity’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN); Paragraph [0103]: In some cases, although the UE is in an inactive state, if the core network loses the context of the UE, the core network may also page the UE. This type of paging from the core network is called a CN paging)
‘indicating downlink data for the UE.’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN); Paragraphs [0183]-[0184]: If there is a time-domain overlap between the PTW2 in the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the PTW1 in the idle-state eDRX cycle, monitoring of the CN paging is performed within a remaining PTW window outside of the time-domain overlap between the inactive-state eDRX cycle and the idle-state eDRX cycle, i.e. within a time-domain range defined by subtracting PTW2 from PTW1. There are multiple ways to set the paging monitoring cycle. In an embodiment, the paging cycle can be min { a default paging cycle, a UE-specific cycle}, and the monitoring of the CN paging may be performed according to the min { the default paging cycle, the UE-specific cycle}).
Regarding claim 35, LI and JEONG teach, The UE of claim 21, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies that the first DRX cycle length is shorter than the second DRX cycle length specified by the second DRX mode configuration,’ (Paragraph [0100]: As shown in FIG. 5, a distribution density of the inactive-state eDRX cycles in the time domain may be higher than that of the idle-state eDRX cycles. Therefore, in some cases, PTWs of some inactive-state eDRX cycles overlap with PTWs of the idle-state eDRX cycles in the time domain, while PTW s of some inactive-state eDRX cycles do not overlap with the PTWs of the idle-state eDRX cycles in the time domain (Note: A higher distribution density of inactive-state eDRX cycles relative to idle-state eDRX cycles represents an eDRX Inactive cycle length that is shorter than the eDRX Idle cycle length)),
‘and wherein, to monitor for different types of paging according to the schedule, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: monitor during the third duration in which first PTWs that are non-overlapping with second PTWs,’ (Paragraphs [0100]-[0101]: That is, part of the first PTW s and part of the second PTWs are overlapped in the time domain, while part of the second PTWs do not overlap with the first PTWs. For the situation where there is no time-domain overlap between the first PTW and the second PTW, the paging monitoring is performed according to the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX cycle. That is, within the eDRX cycle where the second PTW having no time-domain overlap with the first PTW is located, the RAN paging is monitored according to the inactive-state eDRX parameter),
‘and paging from a radio access network (RAN) entity indicating downlink data for the UE.’ (Paragraph [0051]: If the UE enters the inactive state, the UE may receive a paging message (i.e. the CN paging message) sent by the CN, as well as a paging message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN), i.e. a RAN paging message; Paragraph [0101]: That is, within the eDRX cycle where the second PTW having no time-domain overlap with the first PTW is located, the RAN paging is monitored according to the inactive-state eDRX parameter… A monitoring object is the RAN paging).
LI does not explicitly teach but JEONG teaches, ‘for the one or more third types of paging that include paging indicating system information (ST) updates’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0055]: The UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state may not always monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) but may periodically ( e.g., in every DRX cycle) monitor a PDCCH for a short time so as to receive a paging occasion, receive a system information (SI) update notification, or receive an emergency notification: Paragraph [0080]: Table 2 below defines a Short Message. Bit 1indicates a most significant bit. Table 2: Bit 1: systemlnfoModification If set to 1: indication of a BCCH modification other than SIB6, SIB7 and SIB8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to have known to combine the teachings of JEONG with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of JEONG into LI is that JEONG provides for paging, including sending short messages over paging channels to indicate System Information (SI) modification (systemInfoModification) and exchanging CN/RAN assist parameters (TeDRX_CN, TeDRX_RAN) between core networks, base stations, and UEs via NAS and RRC signaling, and the network interface procedures (e.g., NGAP/XnAP signaling) for transmitting these CN and RAN parameters to the base station and UE. This ensures that the UE reliably receives both SI updates and data notifications while minimizing power consumption during eDRX sleep states. (See paragraph [0055], [0080], [0109], [0111], [0132], JEONG).
Regarding claim 37, LI and JEONG teach, The UE of claim 21, LI further teaches, ‘wherein the first DRX mode configuration specifies that the first DRX cycle length is longer than the second DRX cycle length specified by the second DRX mode configuration,’ (Paragraph [0100]: As shown in FIG. 5, a distribution density of the inactive-state eDRX cycles in the time domain may be higher than that of the idle-state eDRX cycles. Therefore, in some cases, PTWs of some inactive-state eDRX cycles overlap with PTWs of the idle-state eDRX cycles in the time domain, while PTW s of some inactive-state eDRX cycles do not overlap with the PTWs of the idle-state eDRX cycles in the time domain (Note: configuring different eDRX cycles for inactive-state [RAN] and idle-state [CN] eDRX configurations where one cycle is longer than the other. eDRX1 > eDRX2, where the first DRX cycle length [inactive/RAN] is longer than the second DRX cycle length [idle/CN], resulting in non-overlapping PTW instances)),
‘and wherein, to monitor for different types of paging according to the schedule, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to: monitor during the second duration in which second PTWs that are non-overlapping with first PTWs,’ (Paragraphs [0100]-[0101]: That is, part of the first PTW s and part of the second PTWs are overlapped in the time domain, while part of the second PTWs do not overlap with the first PTWs. For the situation where there is no time-domain overlap between the first PTW and the second PTW, the paging monitoring is performed according to the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX cycle; Paragraphs [0112]-[0113]: In some possible implementations… in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a RAN paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle),
LI does not explicitly teach but JEONG teaches, ‘for the one or more second types of paging that include paging indicating system information (SI) updates for the UE.’ (JEONG – Paragraph [0055]: The UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state may not always monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) but may periodically ( e.g., in every DRX cycle) monitor a PDCCH for a short time so as to receive a paging occasion, receive a system information (SI) update notification, or receive an emergency notification; Paragraph [0080]: Table 2 below defines a Short Message. Bit 1indicates a most significant bit. Table 2: Bit 1: systemlnfoModification If set to 1: indication of a BCCH modification other than SIB6, SIB7 and SIB8; Paragraph [0183]: If the current occasion is not included in the PTW CN but is included in the PTW _RAN, the procedure proceeds operation 1i-80, and the UE may monitor paging per a RAN paging cycle. Alternatively, in order to receive a notification associated with system information modification or an emergency, the UE may use, as a paging monitoring cycle
(Paging cycle), a smallest value among values of 1) a Default cycle and 2) a RAN paging cycle which are configured for the UE (Note: during non-overlapping PTW durations where only RAN PTW exists, the UE monitors paging occasions for system information modification/updates in addition to RAN paging)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the invention to have known to combine the teachings of JEONG with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of JEONG into LI is that JEONG provides for paging, including sending short messages over paging channels to indicate System Information (SI) modification (systemInfoModification) and exchanging CN/RAN assist parameters (TeDRX_CN, TeDRX_RAN) between core networks, base stations, and UEs via NAS and RRC signaling, and the network interface procedures (e.g., NGAP/XnAP signaling) for transmitting these CN and RAN parameters to the base station and UE. This ensures that the UE reliably receives both SI updates and data notifications while minimizing power consumption during eDRX sleep states. (See paragraph [0055], [0080], [0109], [0111], [0132], JEONG).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to HAESHIL J CHOI whose telephone number is (703)756-5409. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday ET.
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479