DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-12, 14, 15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”) in view of “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”) and KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”).
As for claim 1, Mickelson discloses a hydrogen sensor assembly comprising:
a sensor portion (substrate, microheater, insulating layer and nanomaterial sensing layer in Fig. 15) disposed adjacent to the mounting portion; and
wherein the sensor portion comprises a metal oxide semiconductor (col. 6, lines 29-36) comprising tin (IV) oxide (col. 6, line 31) having a hydrogen sensing surface (col. 6, lines 37-40) and the hydrogen sensing surface comprises a noble metal dopant comprising gold (col. 6, line 48), and
wherein the sensing surface is free of metal dopants other than gold (col. 6, line 57 - “combinations thereof” implies that gold does not have to be in a combination).
Michelson does not explicitly disclose that the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant, or a combination thereof. Instead, Michelson discloses that the noble metal is gold with a generic structure that is used with the metal oxide semiconductor to detect hydrogen (see Table 1).
However, Drmosh discloses a noble metal dopant that has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (“with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24), a hydrogen sensing surface that comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (see Fig. 1), or a combination thereof. Drmosh discloses that the noble metal is gold with a generic structure that is used with a metal oxide semiconductor to detect hydrogen (Abstract).
Because Drmosh and Mickelson both disclose a noble metal dopant that is gold and that is used with a metal oxide semiconductor to detect hydrogen, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the gold metal dopant of Drmosh for the gold metal dopant of Mickelson to achieve the predictable result of providing a metal dopant that is used with a metal oxide semiconductor to detect hydrogen.
Michelson as modified by Drmosh does not disclose a mounting portion and wire or ribbons as recited.
However, KR 10-0450046 discloses a mounting portion (10) comprising protrusions (11); and
wires (402) or ribbons anchoring a sensor portion (701) to the protrusions (11).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the hydrogen sensor assembly of Michelson and Drmosh to include the mounting portion and wires or ribbons as disclosed by KR 10-0450046 in order to reduce heat loss and damage to the sensor portion (KR 10-0450046: see the paragraph beginning “The tubular sensor and the planar sensor structure are all in the form of elements suspended in the air by the lead wires …”).
As for claim 7, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (Drmosh: “with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24).
As for claim 8, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (Drmosh: see Fig. 1).
As for claim 9, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is configured to be maintained at a temperature of 110 to 250°C during operation (Mickelson: 200º C; col.10, line 61).
As for claim 10, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is configured to be maintained at a temperature of 140 to 230°C during operation (Mickelson: 200º C; col. 10, line 61).
As for claim 11, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is configured to be maintained at a temperature of 190 to 220°C during operation (Mickelson: 200º C; col. 10, line 61).
As for claim 12, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor has a detection range for hydrogen from (i.e. greater than or equal to) 100 parts per billion (Mickelson: col. 12, lines 50-58).
As for claim 14, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the metal oxide semiconductor comprises an additional metal dopant Mickelson: (implied by “combinations thereof”; col. 6, line 35) disposed within the metal oxide semiconductor (Mickelson: col. 6, lines 29-36).
As for claim 15, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses contacting the sensor portion (Michelson: col. 17, lines 63-66) with a gas and measuring the change in electrical resistance (Michelson: col. 15, lines 24-26 and col. 7, lines 61-63).
As for claim 17, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor portion has a detection range for hydrogen from (i.e. greater than or equal to) 100 parts per billion (Mickelson: col. 12, lines 50-58).
As for claim 18, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor portion is maintained at a temperature of 140 to 230°C (Mickelson: 200º C; col. 10, line 61).
As for claim 19, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor portion is maintained at a temperature of 190 to 220°C (Mickelson: 200º C; col. 10, line 61).
As for claim 20, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that that the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (Drmosh: “with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24) and the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (Drmosh: see Fig. 1).
As for claim 21, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses that that the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (Drmosh: “with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24) and the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (Drmosh: see Fig. 1).
Claims 1, 7-12, 14, 15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”) and KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”).
As for claim 1, Drmosh discloses a hydrogen sensor assembly comprising:
a mounting portion (substrate, see Fig. 1 for example); and
a sensor portion (AuNs@ZnO thin film in Fig. 1) disposed adjacent to the mounting portion; and
wherein the sensor portion comprises a metal oxide semiconductor (ZnO; Abstract) having a hydrogen sensing surface (Au nanostructures; Abstract) and the hydrogen sensing surface comprises a noble metal dopant comprising gold (Abstract),
wherein the sensing surface is free of metal dopants other than gold (see Fig. 1), and
wherein the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (“with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24), the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (see Fig. 1) or a combination thereof.
Drmosh does not disclose that the metal oxide semiconductor comprises tin (IV) oxide. Instead, Drmosh discloses that the metal oxide semiconductor comprises Zinc Oxide that, along with the noble metal dopant, is used to detect hydrogen (Abstract). Drmosh also discloses that the sensor operates at an elevated temperature (Drmosh: 200º C; page 62, col. 2 and Fig. 8).
However, Mickelson discloses a metal oxide semiconductor that comprises tin (IV) oxide. Mickelson discloses that the metal oxide semiconductor, along with the noble metal dopant, is used to detect hydrogen (see Table 1). Michelson discloses that the sensor operates at an elevated temperature, and provides a heater to create the elevated temperature (col. 10, lines 54-65).
Because Drmosh and Mickelson both disclose sensor comprising a metal oxide semiconductor that, along with a noble metal dopant, is used to detect hydrogen at elevated temperature, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the metal oxide semiconductor and heater of Mickelson for the metal oxide semiconductor of Drmosh to achieve the predictable result of providing a metal oxide semiconductor to detect hydrogen.
Drmosh as modified by Michelson does not disclose protrusions and wire or ribbons as recited.
However, KR 10-0450046 discloses a mounting portion (10) comprising protrusions (11); and
wires (402) or ribbons anchoring a sensor portion (701) to the protrusions (11).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the mounting portion and hydrogen sensor assembly of Drmosh and Michelson to include the protrusions and wires or ribbons as disclosed by KR 10-0450046 in order to reduce heat loss and damage to the sensor portion (KR 10-0450046: see the paragraph beginning “The tubular sensor and the planar sensor structure are all in the form of elements suspended in the air by the lead wires …”).
As for claim 7, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (Drmosh: “with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24).
As for claim 8, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (Drmosh: see Fig. 1).
As for claim 9, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is configured to be maintained at a temperature of 110 to 250°C during operation (Drmosh: 200º C; page 62, col. 2 and Fig. 8).
As for claim 10, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is configured to be maintained at a temperature of 140 to 230°C during operation (Drmosh: 200º C; page 62, col. 2 and Fig. 8).
As for claim 11, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is configured to be maintained at a temperature of 190 to 220°C during operation (Drmosh: 200º C; page 62, col. 2 and Fig. 8).
As for claim 12, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor has a detection range for hydrogen from (i.e. greater than or equal to) 100 parts per billion (Drmosh: see Fig. 8).
As for claim 14, Drmosh as presently modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046discloses the hydrogen sensor assembly of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Drmosh as presently modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046does not disclose that the metal oxide semiconductor comprises an additional metal dopant Mickelson.
However, Mickelson discloses that the metal oxide semiconductor comprises an additional metal dopant Mickelson: (implied by “combinations thereof”; col. 6, line 35) disposed within the metal oxide semiconductor (Mickelson: col. 6, lines 29-36).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the metal oxide semiconductor of Drmosh, Mickelson and KR 10-0450046to include an additional metal dopant as disclosed by Mickelson in order to detect hydrogen gas (Mickelson: see Table 1).
As for claim 15, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses a contacting the sensor portion (Drmosh: Abstract) with a gas and measuring the change in electrical resistance (Drmosh: see page 58, section 2.3).
As for claim 17, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor has a detection range for hydrogen from (i.e. greater than or equal to) 100 parts per billion (Drmosh: see Fig. 8).
As for claim 18, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is maintained at a temperature of 140 to 230°C (Drmosh: 200º C; page 62, col. 2 and Fig. 8).
As for claim 19, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that the sensor is maintained at a temperature of 190 to 220°C (Drmosh: 200º C; page 62, col. 2 and Fig. 8).
As for claim 20, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that that the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (Drmosh: “with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24) and the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (Drmosh: see Fig. 1).
As for claim 21, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses that that the noble metal dopant has a thickness of 0.5 to 50 nanometers (Drmosh: “with Au nanostructures varying in size between 20 and 90 nm; page 59, col. 2, lines 23-24) and the hydrogen sensing surface comprises islands of the noble metal dopant (Drmosh: see Fig. 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”) in view of “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”) and KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 4,030,340 issued to Chang (“Chang”).
As for claim 3, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses the hydrogen sensor assembly of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above) and that the sensor portion comprises a thermally conductive substrate (substrate in Fig. 15, the material of the substrate is thermally conductive to at least a limited extent) and a heater (heater in Fig. 15).
Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 does not disclose a temperature measurement device.
However, Chang discloses a temperature measurement device (24).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the hydrogen sensor assembly of Mickelson , Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 to include the temperature measurement device as disclosed by Chang in order to measure the temperature of the sensor.
Mickelson as presently modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 and Chang does not explicitly disclose that the metal oxide semiconductor is adjacent to the thermally conductive substrate. Mickelson discloses that heater is between the metal oxide semiconductor and the thermally conductive substrate (Mickelson: see Fig. 15).
However, Chang discloses an arrangement of a hydrogen sensor assembly in which a metal oxide semiconductor (Chang: 10) is adjacent (Chang: see Fig. 3) to a thermally conductive substrate (Chang: 11).
Because Mickelson and Chang both disclose arrangements of a hydrogen sensor assembly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the arrangement of Chang for the arrangement of Mickelson to achieve the predictable result of providing a hydrogen sensor assembly that includes a substrate, heater and a metal oxide semiconductor.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”) in view of “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”), KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”) and U.S. Patent 4,030,340 issued to Chang (“Chang”) as applied to claim 3, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,261,472 issued to Kimura (“Kimura”) and U.S. Patent 9,810,653 issued to Shankar et al. (“Shankar”).
As for claim 4, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh, KR 10-0450046 and Chang discloses the hydrogen sensor assembly of claim 3 (see the rejection of claim 3 above).
Mickelson as modified by Drmosh, KR 10-0450046 and Chang does not explicitly disclose that the sensor portion maintains sensor temperature control to less than ±0.1 °C deviation from a set temperature.
However, Kimura discloses that it is necessary to control the temperature of a hydrogen sensor to be stable in order to detect small amounts of hydrogen (Kimura: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 3). Shankar discloses that a hydrogen sensor should be operated within a small temperature range at which the sensor has a peak sensitivity in order to accurately detect hydrogen (co. 1, lines 49-55 and col. 5, lines 1-8). Also, it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05 and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to optimize the sensor portion of Mickelson, Drmosh, KR 10-0450046 and Chang to maintain a temperature control to less than +0.1 °C deviation from a set temperature in order to allow the sensor to accurately detect small amounts of hydrogen (Kimura: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 3 and Shankar: co. 1, lines 49-55 and col. 5, lines 1-8).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”) in view of “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”) and KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0018691 by Jeffress et al. (“Jeffress”).
As for claim 13, Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 discloses the hydrogen sensor assembly of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Mickelson as modified by Drmosh and KR 10-0450046 does not disclose a pressure sensor, an ambient temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, or a combination thereof.
However, Jeffress discloses disclose a hydrogen sensor assembly (paragraph [0129]) comprising a pressure sensor (116; paragraph [0129]), an ambient temperature sensor (116; paragraph [0129]), a humidity sensor (116; paragraph [0129]), or a combination thereof (paragraph [0129]).
Jeffress and the Mickelson-Drmosh-KR 10-0450046 combination disclose each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the hydrogen sensor of the Mickelson-Drmosh combination with the pressure, temperature and humidity sensors of Jeffress by providing them as an array of sensors within the housing 100 of Jeffress as suggested by Jeffress (see Fig.1 of Jeffress) and that in combination, the hydrogen sensor of the Mickelson-Drmosh combination and the pressure, temperature and humidity sensors of Jeffress merely perform the same functions as each does separately.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the hydrogen sensor assembly of the Mickelson-Drmosh-KR 10-0450046 combination to include the pressure, temperature and humidity sensors of Jeffress in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a sensor array that can sense environmental conditions.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”) and KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 4,030,340 issued to Chang (“Chang”).
As for claim 3, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses the hydrogen sensor assembly of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above) and that the sensor portion comprises a thermally conductive substrate (substrate in Fig. 5, the material of the substrate is thermally conductive to at least a limited extent).
Drmosh as presently modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 does not disclose a heater. Instead, Drmosh discloses a test chamber that can be raise the temperature of the sensor (Drmosh: see Section 2.3)
However, Mickelson discloses a heater (heater in Fig. 15). Mickelson discloses that the heater can raise the temperature of the sensor (col. 15, lines 39-49).
Because Drmosh and Mickelson both disclose structures that can raise the temperature of the sensor, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the heater of Mickelson for the heated test chamber of Drmosh in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a structure that can raise the temperature of the sensor.
Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 does not disclose a temperature measurement device.
However, Chang discloses a temperature measurement device (24).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the hydrogen sensor assembly of Drmosh and Mickelson to include the temperature measurement device as disclosed by Chang in order to measure the temperature of the sensor.
Drmosh as presently modified by Mickelson, KR 10-0450046 and Chang does not explicitly disclose that the metal oxide semiconductor is adjacent to the thermally conductive substrate. Mickelson discloses that heater is between the metal oxide semiconductor and the thermally conductive substrate (Mickelson: see Fig. 15).
However, Chang discloses an arrangement of a hydrogen sensor assembly in which a metal oxide semiconductor (Chang: 10) is adjacent (Chang: see Fig. 3) to a thermally conductive substrate (Chang: 11).
Because Mickelson and Chang both disclose arrangements of a hydrogen sensor assembly, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the arrangement of Chang for the arrangement of Mickelson to achieve the predictable result of providing a hydrogen sensor assembly that includes a substrate, heater and a metal oxide semiconductor.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”), KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”) and U.S. Patent 4,030,340 issued to Chang (“Chang”) as applied to claim 3, further in view of U.S. Patent 9,261,472 issued to Kimura (“Kimura”) and U.S. Patent 9,810,653 issued to Shankar et al. (“Shankar”).
As for claim 4, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson, KR 10-0450046 and Chang discloses the hydrogen sensor assembly of claim 3 (see the rejection of claim 3 above).
Drmosh as modified by Mickelson, KR 10-0450046 and Chang does not explicitly disclose that the sensor portion maintains sensor temperature control to less than ±0.1 °C deviation from a set temperature.
However, Kimura discloses that it is necessary to control the temperature of a hydrogen sensor to be stable in order to detect small amounts of hydrogen (Kimura: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 3). Shankar discloses that a hydrogen sensor should be operated within a small temperature range at which the sensor has a peak sensitivity in order to accurately detect hydrogen (co. 1, lines 49-55 and col. 5, lines 1-8). Also, it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05 and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to optimize the sensor portion of Drmosh, Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 and Chang to maintain a temperature control to less than +0.1 °C deviation from a set temperature in order to allow the sensor to accurately detect small amounts of hydrogen (Kimura: col. 2, line 64 - col. 3, line 3 and Shankar: co. 1, lines 49-55 and col. 5, lines 1-8).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Synthesis, characterization, and hydrogen gas sensing properties of AuNs-catalyzed ZnO sputtered thin films” by Drmosh et al. (“Drmosh”) in view of U.S. Patent 9,791,403 issued to Mickelson et al. (“Mickelson”) and KR 10-0450046 (“KR 10-0450046”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0018691 by Jeffress et al. (“Jeffress”).
As for claim 13, Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 discloses the hydrogen sensor assembly of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Drmosh as modified by Mickelson and KR 10-0450046 does not disclose a pressure sensor, an ambient temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, or a combination thereof.
However, Jeffress discloses disclose a hydrogen sensor assembly (paragraph [0129]) comprising a pressure sensor (116; paragraph [0129]), an ambient temperature sensor (116; paragraph [0129]), a humidity sensor (116; paragraph [0129]), or a combination thereof (paragraph [0129]).
Jeffress and the Drmosh-Mickelson-KR 10-0450046 combination disclose each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the hydrogen sensor of the Drmosh-Mickelson combination with the pressure, temperature and humidity sensors of Jeffress by providing them as an array of sensors within the housing 100 of Jeffress as suggested by Jeffress (see Fig.1 of Jeffress) and that in combination, the hydrogen sensor of the Drmosh-Mickelson combination and the pressure, temperature and humidity sensors of Jeffress merely perform the same functions as each does separately.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the hydrogen sensor assembly of the Drmosh-Mickelson-KR 10-0450046 combination to include the pressure, temperature and humidity sensors of Jeffress in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a sensor array that can sense environmental conditions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 5-7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Mickelson provides no indication of a deficiency in the disclosed suspended beam or reason to add complexity and cost of additional steps and materials. Although the examiner acknowledges that Mickelson does not criticize itself, the examiner’s position is that one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit disclosed by KR 10-0450046 that suspending the sensor portion (including the sensor substrate) by wires to a protrusion would provide the additional benefit of thermally isolating the sensor portion.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853