DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 07/08/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 & 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-14, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Doc ID. US20130063185A1 (Hereinafter Ye) in view of CN Doc ID. CN113241941A (Hereinafter Guo) and US Doc ID. US6181079B1 (Hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 1, Ye discloses a voltage converter [e.g. Fig. 1, element 100], comprising: an isolation barrier having primary side terminals [e.g. Fig. 1, element T1]; a switch network coupled across the primary side terminals of the isolation barrier [e.g. Fig. 1, circuit on primary terminals; Fig. 2, element 106]; and a control circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, having control outputs [e.g. Fig. 2, elements OUTAC and OUTM] coupled to the switch network [e.g. Fig. 1, circuit on primary terminals; Fig. 2, element 106].
Ye fails to disclose a control circuit configurable to: receive, before the switch network is enabled and via the primary side terminals of the isolation barrier, a signal indicative of an end of a first switching cycle or a start of a second switching cycle; responsive to the signal, determine a first duration and a second duration within the second switching cycle; and provide control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs, in which the control signals have first states in the first duration and have second states in the second duration, the switch network is disabled responsive to the control signals having the first states, and the switch network is enabled responsive to the control signals having the second states.
Chang teaches a control circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, element 7] configurable to: receive, before the switch network is enabled and via the primary side terminals of the isolation barrier, a signal indicative of an end of a first switching cycle or a start of a second switching cycle [e.g. paragraph 0018, “the current IL2 through inductor 13 or the transformer T1 primary winding becomes zero and via the control winding 14 of the transformer, the control circuit 7 receives a turn-on signal and immediately produces a turn-on signal for transistor switch Q1 over gate control line 8”];
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include a control circuit configurable to: receive, before the switch network is enabled and via the primary side terminals of the isolation barrier, a signal indicative of an end of a first switching cycle or a start of a second switching cycle as taught by Chang to improve the control function of the switches.
Guo teaches a control circuit, responsive to a signal [e.g. Fig. 5, first signal fsw], determine a first duration [e.g. Fig. 8a, between Vcot_S and Turnon_S] and a second duration [e.g. Fig. 8a, between Turnon_S and Vcot_S; Fig. 5, Vcot_S is determined by fsw] within the second switching cycle; and provide control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs [e.g. Fig. 8a, Vcot_S and Turnon_S], in which the control signals have first states in the first duration and have second states in the second duration [e.g. paragraph 0032, “The first logic circuit 22 generates a control signal Gate_S for turning on or off the first switch 11 by processing the signal Turnon_S or Turnoff_S”], the switch network is disabled responsive to the control signals having the first states [e.g. Fig. 8a, Turnoff_S], and the switch network is enabled responsive to the control signals having the second states [e.g. Fig. 8a, Turnon_S].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include a control circuit, responsive to a signal , determine a first duration and a second duration within the second switching cycle; and provide control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs, in which the control signals have first states in the first duration and have second states in the second duration, the switch network is disabled responsive to the control signals having the first states, and the switch network is enabled responsive to the control signals having the second states as taught by Guo to increase adaptability to different load conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Ye fails to disclose the voltage converter of claim 1, wherein the control circuit comprises: a first current generator configurable to generate a first current during the first duration; and a second current generator configurable to generate a second current based on the first current.
Guo teaches a voltage converter [e.g. Fig. 2], wherein the control circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, element 20] comprises: a first current generator [e.g. Fig. 5, element 261] configurable to generate a first current [e.g. Fig. 6, current through C1] during the first duration [I1 current is generated during the first duration and the second duration]; and a second current generator [e.g. Fig. 5, element 263] configurable to generate a second current [e.g. Fig. 5, current going through C2] based on the first current [e.g. Fig. 5, Q3 is switched based on the first current which effects the second voltage]
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include the voltage converter of claim 1, wherein the control circuit comprises: a first current generator configurable to generate a first current during the first duration; and a second current generator configurable to generate a second current based on the first current as taught by Guo to increase adaptability to different load conditions.
Regarding claim 3, Ye fails to disclose the voltage converter of claim 2, wherein the first current generator includes: a capacitor; a current source circuit coupled to the capacitor and configurable to provide the first current to the capacitor during the first duration; and a circuit coupled to configurable to set the first current responsive to whether a voltage at the capacitor exceeds a threshold and responsive to the signal.
Guo teaches the voltage converter of claim 2, wherein the first current generator [e.g. Fig. 5, element 261] includes: a capacitor [e.g. Fig. 5, element C1]; a current source circuit [e.g. Fig. 5, elements I1 and Q1] coupled to the capacitor [e.g. Fig. 5, element C1] and configurable to provide the first current [e.g. Fig. 5, current through C1] to the capacitor during the first duration [I1 current is generated during the first duration and the second duration]; and a circuit [e.g. coupled to configurable to set the first current responsive to whether a voltage at the capacitor exceeds a threshold [e.g. Fig. 5, Comp 1 compares voltage at the capacitor vs a reference which is then used to determine whether to turn off or on the switch which effects fsw and thus the first current] and responsive to the signal [fsw affects Q1 which affects the first current].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include wherein the first current generator includes: a capacitor; a current source circuit coupled to the capacitor and configurable to provide the first current to the capacitor during the first duration; and a circuit coupled to configurable to set the first current responsive to whether a voltage at the capacitor exceeds a threshold and responsive to the signal.as taught by Guo to increase adaptability to different load conditions.
Regarding claim 12, Ye fails to disclose the voltage converter of claim 11, wherein the control circuit is configurable to: responsive to the signal, determine a first duration and a second duration within the second switching cycle; and provide the control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs, in which the control signals have first states in the first duration and have second states in the second duration, the switch network is disabled responsive to the control signals having the first states, and the switch network is enabled responsive to the control signals having the second states.
Guo teaches a control circuit, responsive to a signal [e.g. Fig. 5, first signal fsw], determine a first duration [e.g. Fig. 8a, between Vcot_S and Turnon_S] and a second duration [e.g. Fig. 8a, between Turnon_S and Vcot_S; Fig. 5, Vcot_S is determined by fsw] within the second switching cycle; and provide control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs [e.g. Fig. 8a, Vcot_S and Turnon_S], in which the control signals have first states in the first duration and have second states in the second duration [e.g. paragraph 0032, “The first logic circuit 22 generates a control signal Gate_S for turning on or off the first switch 11 by processing the signal Turnon_S or Turnoff_S”], the switch network is disabled responsive to the control signals having the first states [e.g. Fig. 8a, Turnoff_S], and the switch network is enabled responsive to the control signals having the second states [e.g. Fig. 8a, Turnon_S].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include a control circuit, responsive to a signal , determine a first duration and a second duration within the second switching cycle; and provide control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs, in which the control signals have first states in the first duration and have second states in the second duration, the switch network is disabled responsive to the control signals having the first states, and the switch network is enabled responsive to the control signals having the second states as taught by Guo to increase adaptability to different load conditions.
Regarding claim 13, the voltage converter of claim 12, wherein the control circuit includes: a first current generator configurable to generate a first current during the first duration; and a second current generator configurable to generate a second current based on the first current.
Guo teaches a voltage converter [e.g. Fig. 2], wherein the control circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, element 20] comprises: a first current generator [e.g. Fig. 5, element 261] configurable to generate a first current [e.g. Fig. 6, current through C1] during the first duration [I1 current is generated during the first duration and the second duration]; and a second current generator [e.g. Fig. 5, element 263] configurable to generate a second current [e.g. Fig. 5, current going through C2] based on the first current [e.g. Fig. 5, Q3 is switched based on the first current which effects the second voltage]
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include the voltage converter of claim 1, wherein the control circuit comprises: a first current generator configurable to generate a first current during the first duration; and a second current generator configurable to generate a second current based on the first current as taught by Guo to increase adaptability to different load conditions.
Regarding claim 14, the voltage converter of claim 13, wherein the first current generator includes: a capacitor; a current source circuit coupled to the capacitor and configurable to provide the first current to the capacitor during the first duration; and a circuit configurable to set the first current responsive to whether a voltage at the capacitor exceeds a threshold and responsive to the signal.
Guo teaches the voltage converter of claim 14, wherein the first current generator [e.g. Fig. 5, element 261] includes: a capacitor [e.g. Fig. 5, element C1]; a current source circuit [e.g. Fig. 5, elements I1 and Q1] coupled to the capacitor [e.g. Fig. 5, element C1] and configurable to provide the first current [e.g. Fig. 5, current through C1] to the capacitor during the first duration [I1 current is generated during the first duration and the second duration]; and a circuit [e.g. coupled to configurable to set the first current responsive to whether a voltage at the capacitor exceeds a threshold [e.g. Fig. 5, Comp 1 compares voltage at the capacitor vs a reference which is then used to determine whether to turn off or on the switch which effects fsw and thus the first current] and responsive to the signal [fsw affects Q1 which affects the first current].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include wherein the first current generator includes: a capacitor; a current source circuit coupled to the capacitor and configurable to provide the first current to the capacitor during the first duration; and a circuit coupled to configurable to set the first current responsive to whether a voltage at the capacitor exceeds a threshold and responsive to the signal.as taught by Guo to increase adaptability to different load conditions.
Regarding claim 21, Ye discloses the voltage converter of claim 1, further comprising: a rectifier circuit [e.g. Fig. 2. 110] having secondary side terminals [e.g. Fig. 2, terminals on secondary side of transformer T1] and an output [e.g. Fig. 2, Vout]; a transformer [e.g. Fig. 2, element 106] having a first side coupled between to the primary side terminals [e.g. Fig. 2, terminals on primary side] and a second side coupled to the secondary side terminals [e.g. Fig. 2, terminals on secondary side]; and
Ye fails to disclose a circuit configurable to generate the signal based on comparing a voltage at the output of the rectifier circuit and a threshold.
Guo teaches a circuit [e.g. Fig. 3, 20] configurable to generate the signal [e.g. Fig. 3, fsw] based on comparing a voltage at the output of the rectifier and a threshold circuit [e.g. paragraph 0032, “Moreover, the signal Turnon_S indicative of the turn-on instant for the first switch is determined by the off-time control unit 23 based on a detected feedback voltage signal Vfb reflecting the output voltage Vout and a predefined reference voltage Vref”; Turnon_S determines the fsw].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include a circuit configurable to generate the signal based on comparing a voltage at the output of the rectifier circuit and a threshold as taught by Guo to increase adaptability to different load conditions.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Doc ID. US20130063185A1 (Hereinafter Ye) in view of US Doc ID. US6181079B1 (Hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 11, Ye discloses a voltage converter [e.g. Fig. 2, element 200], comprising: a switch network [e.g. Fig. 1, element 106; Fig. 2, element 106]; a rectifier [e.g. Fig. 1, element 110; Fig. 2, element 110]; a transformer having a first side coupled to the switch network and a second side coupled to the rectifier [e.g. Fig. 2, element T1]; and a control circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, element 102] having control outputs coupled to the switch network [e.g. Fig. 2, elements OUTAC & OUTM] and
Ye fails to disclose a control circuit configurable to: receive a signal indicative of an end of a first switching cycle or a start of a second switching cycle via the transformer; and responsive to the signal, provide control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs.
Chang teaches a control circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, element 7] configurable to: receive a signal indicative of an end of a first switching cycle or a start of a second switching cycle via the transformer; and responsive to the signal, provide control signals of the second switching cycle at the control outputs. [e.g. paragraph 0018, “the current IL2 through inductor 13 or the transformer T1 primary winding becomes zero and via the control winding 14 of the transformer, the control circuit 7 receives a turn-on signal and immediately produces a turn-on signal for transistor switch Q1 over gate control line 8”];
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ye to further include a control circuit configurable to: receive, before the switch network is enabled and via the primary side terminals of the isolation barrier, a signal indicative of an end of a first switching cycle or a start of a second switching cycle as taught by Chang to improve the control function of the switches.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, & 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 16, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed invention in which a voltage converter wherein “control circuit having an input coupled to a primary side of the transformer” and “a counter having an input coupled to at least one of the outputs of the control circuit; and a signal circuit having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input coupled to an output of the counter, the second input coupled to the input of the control circuit, and an output coupled to the outputs of the control circuit”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of the respective claims are believed to render the aforementioned indicated claim and any dependent claims thereof patentable over the art of record.
Conclusion
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JARED RAYMOND HAUSMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2838